Wedding Decor & Drapery Geri Sims Reviews

7 | Atlanta, GA
See photos, pricing and details

7 Reviews for Wedding Decor & Drapery Geri Sims

Recommended by 87% of couples

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.4

Awards

7

1 User photo

Wedding Decor & Drapery Geri Sims 1
Order by:
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 12/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Geri was extremely accommodating to our needs and wants, and really worked with our venue in order to deliver. She provided ceiling billowing and cafe lights, which really helped give our cold, warehouse-y venue a warm and soft feel. She also worked with me back and forth pretty extensively to ensure we were both on the same page about the design of our ceremony space -- which turned out PERFECT. I will say that Geri is very much a creative-minded person, so she has a different way of communicating and processing a vision.

    Sent on 04/07/2018
  • H

    Hiral · Married on 12/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Geri is amazing to work and easy to deal with she has cute amazing ideas and our wedding went just the way we wanted

    Wedding Decor & Drapery Geri Sims 2
    Sent on 04/07/2018
  • H

    Hiam · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was referred to Geri from my florist and I have to say WOW!!!!! She was absolutely AMAZING! Her and her team transformed a dull, boring, reception hall into a magical draped paradise! The effect of the draping everywhere was absolutely stunning! I can not recommend her and her team enough if your looking to make your space more elegant!

    Sent on 09/19/2016
  • J

    Julia · Married on 08/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I emailed Geri last minute to get a sheer wall to separate cocktail hour and dinner at the Trolley Barn, she did not hesitate to fit me in and get everything squared away immediately. I took comfort in the fact that she has done the Trolley Barn many times and had exactly what we needed. The guests loved the drapery, and I was so pleased with the beautiful separation of the space for our small (70 ppl) wedding. It made the Barn feel perfectly sized. Well worth the expense.

    Sent on 08/20/2013
  • Samantha

    Samantha · Married on 10/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Geri was great about listening to my ideas and looking through all of my inspiration photos to get a solid grasp of what I was looking for with my lighting and draping. She was already familiar with my wedding venue (Ambient + Studio), so she was able to make recommendations and bring her own ideas to the table that totally helped bring the look I wanted to life.

    I asked for "out-door cafe string lighting" throughout the reception space. Pretty simple, right? Geri brought in several different styles of lighting, using different size and color bulbs, and created the most beautiful web of lights that added the perfect "summer night / vintage" feel to the venue space. Truely above and beyond what I expected!

    The quality of the draping was excellent too. Geri took the time to chat with me and my stylist that morning and adjusted the draping right there on the spot based on a "lightbulb" idea that one of my girlfriends had to create a longer, more dramatic entry down the aisle for me. It turned out beautifully and I was really appreciative that she was so open to the last minute suggestion.

    The draping looks really great in all of my photos too. It made for an excellent back drop for friends wanting to snap nice family photos while they were all dressed up, and the soft glow created by the lighting onto the drapes looked lovely in our photos as well.

    Wonderful job all around!!

    Sent on 12/18/2012
  • C

    Carol · Married on 06/16/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Geri Sims is magical! She has an eye for beauty that is unsurpassed! She recently provided lighting and drapery for our wedding at the Georgia Freight Depot. When she finished with her drapery and chandeliers, the place did not even look the same. She has a million visions that she passes along to the client, and to the vendor for different ways to set up the space. Geri is really talented and can make sure you see your vision come true.

    Sent on 06/23/2012
  • M

    Myia · Married on 07/27/2019

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Geri Sims is extremely rude and unpleasant to work with. After having to change my wedding date from 08/18/18 to 07/27/2019, she told me to reach out to her the year of my wedding. She was unwilling to provide the service I submitted my deposit for on the new date. Not only that, no where in her contact she said 'non refundable/non transferable" . She took my money and gave me an major attitude. In her email she said " I was being nice by considering your new date." NICE!! ARE YOU KIDDING ME?????? Nice is applying my deposit to the new date or telling me the truth when I mentioned I had to postpone my wedding date.

    Throughout the entire time, I communicated with her. I told her I was considering postponing my wedding due to events I had no control over. She DID NOT say I would have to wait until months before my wedding to re-book her. She only said "just let me know" She was nice and understanding at that time.

    When I provided her with my new date, she said she was NOT booked that day but wouldn't transfer my deposit to the new date until
    2019. Anyone that is planning a wedding knows that you can NOT book things such as drapery or a chuppah a couple months before the date, people book such things far in advance.

    She is very rude and unpleasant. She continued to say"call me back in 2019." If I waited until 2019 to call her back, I am sure she would have said " I am booked "; leaving me with NO CHUPPAH and no one else to service me being only 7 months away from the date.

    I even had my wedding coordinator reach out to her, thinking she would be more pleasant, but she WAS NOT.

    GERI SIMS is rude, and unprofessional.

    I would stay far away from this company.

    I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND HER.

    Sent on 02/13/2018

    Wedding Decor & Drapery Geri Sims's reply:

    This bride contacted me on 5.11.17 for a wedding on 8.18.18
    She contacted me on 11.6.17 letting me know that she was postponing her wedding but did not have a date. Her exact words were "I understand that the deposit is non refundable, however I want to know if I am able to postpone your services until 2019 and provide you with the new date as soon as it is set?"
    I ask this bride to contact me the beginning of 2019 and we will discuss it at that time. I do this because my services allow me to do more than one wedding at a time. Her venue has a strict timeline and as vendors we have to follow it. I had not scheduled any other weddings the day of her wedding, in fact I had turned brides down due to this. As vendors we have to collect a deposit/retainer to save that date for a bride. When this bride canceled that date I had no way of replacing that job.
    This bride has threatened me with lawsuits, BBB, writing bad reviews and family members who will take care of this. I have all the emails to back up what I have said.
    I have been in this industry over 25 years and am very good at what I do. Ask as many vendors and venues as you can about me and you will find I am one of the best in the industry. REMEMBER... anyone can write anything about you. This does not mean it is true. My reputation speaks for itself.
    As for this bride... I cannot work with someone who has thrown me under the bus. I wish her a successful wedding and know her wedding planners, HOUSE OF BASH will make that happen.
    Geri Sims