Virtue Feed & Grain Reviews

36 | Alexandria, VA
See photos, pricing and details

36 Reviews for Virtue Feed & Grain

Recommended by 99%

36
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

6 User photos

Virtue Feed & Grain 1
Virtue Feed & Grain 2
Virtue Feed & Grain 3
Virtue Feed & Grain 4
Virtue Feed & Grain 5
Virtue Feed & Grain 6
Sort by:
  • T

    Teresa · Married on 11/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emily, Amber and their team did a fantastic job with our wedding reception! The venue was set up exactly the way we requested, the food and drinks were delicious and the staff were totally accommodating and made sure our guests always had everything they wanted. From the first planning meeting through the end of our reception, everything was handled beautifully and our guests raved about everything. Thanks so very much and we look forward to hosting future events at Virtue Feed and Grain.

  • Ashley

    Ashley · Married on 10/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Wedding Experience

    Amber, the Events Manager at Virtue, Feed & Grain was absolutely fantastic to work with. She had a great attitude and a very calming demeanor, which really helped minimize any of my stress. We held a wedding reception for 30 people in the Porch Room and everything came out great. We met with Amber multiple times and she was always happy to meet with us. We were able to see the room set up for another event and test out the music and photo presentation. Regarding the photo presentation that we displayed on the TV screen, she let us know ahead of time that PowerPoint is usually not compatible with the device so we were able to look for alternatives from the beginning. She was also very flexible when it came to the food menu and allowed us to customize the menu (two courses) and bring in our own cake, which the staff cut for us.

    The staff helped set everything up before the event, including escort cards, gift table, guest book and In Loving Memory Table. Amber allowed us to drop off the decorations early on the day of the wedding, which really helped keep the bridal party on schedule. The staff also provided menus on each plate and handled the clean up as well. Everyone was very attentive and made sure the drink refills were flowing.

    All of the guests thoroughly enjoyed the food and the portion sizes were huge. The room can be a bit dim, but again the staff was great and turned the lights on, which the photographer really appreciated.

    Again, Amber was amazing and I would definitely host another party there in the future!

  • LB88

    Lauren · Married on 04/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Virtue was a WONDERFUL wedding reception venue from the beginning until the end!! The events coordinator, Amber, was responsive and well-planned in the days leading up to the event. They accommodated our extra requests including making a custom cocktail for the reception and holding our decor items until the following morning when we could pick them up. The fact that we are a lesbian couple was never an issue, and in fact, we were received with joy and excitement. The wait staff was great - friendly and prompt with our guests needs. There are just a couple things I would say for others to be aware of. We rented the Porch space for a cocktail-style reception at max capacity with 55 people in attendance. We knew this would make for a "cozy" reception, but what we didn't know is that because we'd asked to clear all but 1 table, the unused tables/chairs needed to be stored somewhere. Instead of seeing the gorgeous wine rack and brick on the west side of the room, there was a black curtain and scaffolding taking up probably an extra 16-20 feet of space hiding the unused tables/chairs. This was a huge bummer for me as my guests felt too tight and it wasn't as pretty as I'd thought it would be. The only other thing to be aware of, is that if you're renting this space in the evening - it gets very loud in the restaurant with dinner chatter! It was difficult to hear the playlist even at full volume. Of course, we had a wonderful and perfect wedding day despite these little bumps. Thank you Virtue for making our day so lovely!

    Virtue Feed & Grain 7
    Virtue Feed & Grain 8
    Virtue Feed & Grain 9
    Virtue Feed & Grain 10
    Virtue Feed & Grain 11
    Virtue Feed & Grain 12
  • K

    Katie · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Virtue Feed & Grain was awesome to work with. They were flexible, friendly and gave wonderful service. Even when we had last minute changes, they accommodated us. Will definitely be recommending them to everyone I know and eating here again!

  • J

    Jordan · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding reception at Virtue was everything we could have hoped for and more. From the very beginning, Emily (and later, Amber) were responsive and accommodating. We had a small group (37 people total) and our reception was in the Porch Room. It was beautiful, romantic, and intimate...everything we wanted!

    Amber was an incredible resource for us as we planned the wedding. She was helpful, accommodating, and kind throughout the process. The two women we had setting up all of our reception decor said that Amber and her team were incredibly helpful and supportive as they were setting everything up while my husband and I were at the ceremony and having pictures done.

    We knew Virtue has great food and drinks, and our wedding menu was no exception. Each of our guests loved their meal! My mother has been having some health issues recently and Virtue was very accommodating as we had to make a specific adjustment to her meal. I knew I wanted something that screamed "autumn!" for my speciality drink, so I gave Amber a sample recipe that I thought sounded good and Amber put together a final product that was fantastic! It was a huge hit.

    Everything about our wedding reception at Virtue was perfect, and we are so pleased with our choice of venue. If you're looking for a fun venue with a supportive, professional, and kind staff, Virtue is your place!

  • Christine

    Christine · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! From the very first email to the last toast of the night, Virtue Feed and Grain was highly professional, accommodating, and personable. We could not have had such an amazing night without the help of Amber, who flawlessly executed our intimate wedding vision and provided an endless amount of support and care throughout the planning process. The entire staff at Virtue bent over backwards to make our experience personal and memorable, and took every care to ensure that all of our guests were thoughtfully considered throughout the evening. The food was delicious and everyone raved about the signature cocktail! We couldn't have asked for a better wedding reception, and it was all due in part to the wonderful services that Amber and the staff at Virtue Feed and Grain provided. Thank you!

  • Hilary

    Hilary · Married on 09/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Virtue Feed & Grain was the most incredible wedding venue and the wonderful staff there made our big day absolutely perfect. We rented out the entire upstairs which is such a cool/unique space that wow-ed all of our guests. Emily and Amber were such a pleasure to work with from the very beginning - they are friendly, patient and very organized, and answered all of my many questions quickly. They work with you to craft your perfect day, and are very accommodating to special requests. We chose to have a cocktail-style reception (serving an unlimited amount of 6 selected dishes for 3 hours) which worked so well in this venue - there is no shortage of tables and seating and guests were able to fill plates of delicious food and sit wherever they wanted. Before that we served several of their 'Alexandria Platters' which were perfect for the cocktail hour. And of course, we had an open bar which everyone enjoyed! All of the food was SO delicious and our guests kept raving about the mac & cheese, pork barbacoa sliders, and chicken wings in particular. I would strongly recommend using Virtue as a wedding venue to any future brides & grooms - you are guaranteed to have the wedding of your dreams!!

  • C

    Christopher · Married on 04/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Virtue for our rehearsal dinner, specifically the Porch Room. Having already been familiar with the restaurant we had little doubt about the quality of the food or location but their events coordinators were still very helpful in answering questions and helping us set everything up. Everything was very straight forward for us and our guests loved it, several from out of town being jealous that we get to go there whenever we want. We already Liked Virtue before our event, but afterwards it's part of some good memories that we'll treasure.

  • A

    Amber · Married on 01/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emily was so helpful leading up to our wedding. Day of the staff was so fun and amazing. We love Virtue & will be back to relive the fun wonderful memories we made there.

  • K

    Kristal · Married on 08/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love this place! The food is great and the venue is beautiful. As soon as we saw the porch room, we knew it would be perfect for our small intimate wedding reception. Emily was amazing to work with! When I came to drop off things on my wedding day, I was so happy and relieved to see her, because I knew everything would be great. She was so professional, accommodating, and responsive throughout the entire planning process. Emily and her staff setup everything very nicely and the night was beautiful! We had a wonderful time.

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't recommend a better venue! Virtue Feed & Grain was amazing to work with. The food was amazing and the servers and bartenders couldn't have been better. The events coordinator simplified the planning process, recommended a great DJ and answered any questions I had. The venue itself is beautiful and requires little to no decoration. Virtue Feed & Grain was not only affordable for the area but I couldn't be happier with my choice.

  • K

    Kate · Married on 04/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently held our wedding reception on the 2nd floor. Everything was superb. Emily and the staff were always attentive and willing to answer questions during planning and during the event. The guests all raved about the food and service. And the space barely needs decorations because it's already so beautiful. Book Virtue as often as possible for your special event! You won't regret it.

  • K

    Katie · Married on 04/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Virtue. Emily was very responsive and helpful as we planned entirely by email from Texas. The dinner was absolutely beautiful and guests raved about the food. We were extremely happy with our event.

  • A

    Angela · Married on 04/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff was incredible. Our whole experience felt seamless, under control, and with our best interest in mind. Several of our guests remarked on how cool the room was and how eager to accommodate our servers and bartenders were. We would strongly recommend Virtue to anyone looking to host an event in the DC area.

  • J

    Jeffrey · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When looking for a wedding venue, our first stop on the list of possible locations was Virtue. When we first saw the upstairs space, we knew we had found the perfect location and didn’t need to look anywhere else. From that initial contact to the actual wedding day, we had a truly perfect experience.

    First, I need to give credit to their Events Manager, Emily. She went above and beyond, attending to every single detail. We walked up the stairs for the ceremony, and Emily even took pictures of us without us knowing. She surprised us with these very special photos afterward. Such an amazing touch!

    The best thing that Virtue has to offer is its stunning design. From the barn-like feel, the gorgeous furniture, and artwork, Virtue is one of the most beautiful spaces in the area. The abundance of windows and sky lighting provides great natural light. And then as it gets dark, the upstairs takes on a completely different and equally gorgeous feel. It all leads to some incredible pictures!

    As far as food, Virtue has become my favorite restaurant, and the food at our wedding was excellent as well. Everyone raved about the Butternut Squash Bites, but the Pork Belly Sliders were my favorite from our picks from the event menu.

    Of course, you can’t have a good party without some great adult beverages, and Virtue does it well! They have an expansive beer selection that satisfied even the pickiest of beer connoisseurs, and their wine and liquor selections are impressive as well.

    Last, but not least, the entire staff was impressive. They got to know our guests by name and went out of their way to assist everyone. All of the servers and bartenders were super friendly and helpful.

    If you couldn’t tell by the lengthy essay above, the point I’m trying to make is that Virtue does it all perfectly. I cannot imagine how anyone can come close to offering what they do. Thanks to Emily and her team for making our wedding the event we had dreamed!

  • A

    Adam · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Virtue was awesome for our wedding. We had an afternoon wedding on a Saturday. We did the Virtuous Cocktail Party which was reasonably priced (especially after viewing the costs at other locations in Alexandria).

    Emily at Virtue, who was our point of contact for the wedding, was fantastic. She was very responsive and super helpful with setting everything up. I can't stress how great they were in making sure that everything went well. We originally had the wedding planned for a park nearby (Waterfront Park, right next to Virtue), but it was rained out (boo you hurricane Joaquin and the nor'easter you rode in on). However, it felt like Virtue bent over backwards to accommodate us so that we could have the wedding ceremony at Virtue before our "time" started and make sure it was the best it could be.

    We have only heard positive reviews from our friends and families. Their wait staff and bartenders were great (special shout out to Rachel who went above and beyond to make sure the bride and I were taken care of throughout the day). And oh yeah, the food was fantastic (guests raved about the Butternut Squash Bites, the Mac and Cheese, and the Old Town Crab Dip).

    All in all, I can't recommend Virtue enough for any party and/or wedding in the Alexandria area.

  • K

    Kayla · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Emily to have our rehearsal dinner in the upstairs back area of the bar. We've frequented the bar when visiting and it's just a beautiful place and a great atmosphere. The whole experience was easy and pleasant. Emily was quick to respond and very accommodating to all or requests/needs. The night of, the food was delicious and the staff was pleasant and put up with our inability to stay seated for very long. Overall a great experience and we always recommend Virtue, even just to go have a drink!

  • G

    Greylin · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Virtue is a great place for a wedding reception. Our gay wedding reception started off with a plan of about 30 guests and grew to nearly 50 people. The Virtue staff was able to help and guide us though the process and they were extremely flexible. They were happy to cater to our dietary needs (pescarian) and accommodate our larger than planned group. Everyone raved of how wonderful the food was and how great the service was.

  • M

    Claire · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so happy with every aspect of our wedding reception from the initial inquiry email to the time that we left.
    Emily Klassen is really on point with what she does as the events manager. She's pleasant to work with and has a good grasp on what will work for different party sizes, food allergies, etc. and was extremely responsive in all of our communication.
    Virtue Feed and Grain has been one of our favorite restaurants since they first opened and our family and friends have been raving about every aspect of it. "One of the best restaurants I've ever been to" coming from a foodie was one of my favorites! I fully agree.
    The price was on point and we were able to stay in budget without difficulty.

  • G

    Greg · Married on 06/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Can't say enough how great an experience it was to have our wedding at Virtue. The staff were great and I keep getting compliments on both the service and the food. They were able to make what is a stressful occasion for some and make it easy on everyone involved.

  • L

    Laura · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our 27 guest rehearsal dinner at Virtue Feed & Grain, where we had our first date, and we could not have been more pleased with the food and serviced. Emily was wonderful to work with-- quick to respond, flexible and accommodating. We were able to create our own menu for the dinner from a set of choices. They printed the menu and had one at each place setting for us. Our party was seated on the porch and it was just perfect with a view of the water and open air breeze (screen windows). After our rehearsal dinner we had a "Welcome Party" in the bar area for all wedding guests and we had a ball. We definitely recommend Virtue Feed & Grain!

  • J

    Jennie · Married on 04/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We ran across Virtue early in our wedding planning process & fell in love with the food and decor! We wanted our wedding reception to feel like guests were out at a bar with 150 of their friends and Virtue delivered on every front. We did a full restaurant buy-out because we wanted to have a band & the placement of the band required the buy out. For other folks considering Virtue, top floor buy-out would be a great option, our 150 guests fit comfortably upstairs for the majority of the event. From the beginning, Emily has been great to work with. she is very professional & so responsive, Virtue is soooo lucky to have her! She & her team were very collaborative on furniture placement & helped stage everything on a pretty short (~1 hr) timeframe. The food was fantastic & the chef accommodated our request for a taco station + a more traditional buffet station, we also received positive feedback on the appetizers & dips. All of the bartenders/servers were so nice & so fast to bring items or clear them. And of course the venue is gorgeous, so we didn't have to worry too much about decorations.

  • User4259283 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hosted our wedding event for 60 people at Virtue Feed and Grain on 2/21/15. The event coordinator was routinely helpful, answered questions and very accommodating! The event space spoke for itself, it was rustic, yet modern and perfect for our affair. The staff was very friendly to all of our guests, they were impressed! The appetizers were great and gobbled up immediately! The dinner food was great and leftovers were packed up for us after the event. We would highly recommend this space for a wedding/reception of this size!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 01/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Virtue was AMAZING! We rented out the 2nd floor space for our afternoon reception in January. The space is gorgeous, and our guests loved it. We got nothing but compliments all day, from the food (delicious) to the ambiance, to the service, etc. We had about 90 guests, and the space could easily hold more and still be comfortable (we barely even extended into the back portion of the space). But no DJ or dance floor (there was room for it, just not our style).

    We worked with their events manager, Emily K, leading up to the day of, and she was fantastic. She answered all of our questions (and there were many...) promptly and professionally, and really worked with us to tailor their offerings to meet our vision (and budget). Plus, she was onsite throughout the event to ensure everything ran smoothly.

    The staff onsite were all also wonderful. Very friendly and helpful (including bringing the groom and I plates of food - we had a buffet - to ensure we actually had a chance to eat while making our rounds to all the guests).

    The price was very reasonable too, especially considering the quality of the food (which was superb), the location, and the space itself. Plus, it is so nicely decorated, we hardly needed to add anything, which was another cost bonus.

    I highly recommend Virtue, especially for anyone looking for a more relaxed party (as opposed to a formal reception).

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review