Skip to main content
Weddings

Virtue Feed & Grain Reviews

Virtue Feed & Grain

Virtue Feed & Grain

Alexandria, VA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 43 Reviews
View more information

43 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 43
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

17 User photos

  • L
    Lori D. Married on 02/19/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Venue for a Crowd

    We were looking for a relaxed, beautiful venue for a rehearsal/welcome dinner for all invited to the wedding. This was perfect. Everyone there loved the food and space. People could sit at tables, the bar, or walk around and visit. I planned this event from out of town and couldn't have been happier with the results.
  • Kayla
    Kayla K. Married on 05/14/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing experience!

    We had a small wedding celebration at Virtue, which we chose for its great atmosphere, perfect location, and delicious food. Everything was stunning- the views, the service, and the meals wowed our guests and provided us with a warm and welcoming, stress-free experience. Amber was super responsive, had all the information we needed ready to go, and coordinated with our baker to ensure the cake was delivered on time. All of our guests loved Virtue and we can’t wait to come back to celebrate our anniversary!
  • Victoria
    Victoria K. Married on 01/03/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Classy industrial-rustic chic

    Virtue is our favorite restaurant, so it was the obvious choice for my husband and me to hold our wedding reception there. Amber was fantastic to work with throughout the planning process and was very prompt to answer our questions. The atmosphere on our wedding day was so fantastic and the food was AMAZING. Our family and friends are still telling us how much they enjoyed the food, especially the butternut squash bites. We've been back to Virtue since our wedding and it holds so many memories of the best day of our lives for us.
  • Nicole
    Nicole Married on 10/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So Perfect!

    Virtue is amazing! I could not have dreamed of a better wedding venue. My husband and I never wanted the traditional banquet hall wedding. What mattered to us was good food, good drinks, and an amazing atmosphere. Virtue delivered on all of the above. We rented out the entire top floor for a Saturday night wedding. Amber was so easy to work with and met all of our requests. Our guests couldn't say enough about how amazing the bar staff was with providing drinks and food all night long..they especially loved the chicken tenders and French fries served at the end of the night. The restaurant decor is so well done that we didn't need to add much to make it look like a wedding. Just a few extra candles, some Christmas lights and flowers and the place looked perfect. At the end of the night, the staff packed up all the decor and wedding items so efficiently and quickly that no one included in the wedding even had a chance to offer assistance. I can't say enough good things about this place and the staff. Thank you for making my wedding wonderful, stress free and overall an amazing time!
  • Terry
    Terry K. Married on 06/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Experience

    We had our afternoon wedding reception in the Porch room at Virtue Feed and Grain in June 2019. Amber was very responsive and answered every question that I had. We did a little cocktail hour before sitting down to lunch, and the service was excellent. I never had trouble finding a server. After lunch was finished they lit little candles and put them on the table which I thought was a wonderful touch. Everyone raved about the food afterwards and loved the decor in the room. I would highly recommend this venue and the Porch room in particular if your group is small enough. I look forward to having another event here in the future!
  • T
    Teresa Married on 11/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Emily, Amber and their team did a fantastic job with our wedding reception! The venue was set up exactly the way we requested, the food and drinks were delicious and the staff were totally accommodating and made sure our guests always had everything they wanted. From the first planning meeting through the end of our reception, everything was handled beautifully and our guests raved about everything. Thanks so very much and we look forward to hosting future events at Virtue Feed and Grain.
  • Ashley
    Ashley Married on 10/11/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Wedding Experience

    Amber, the Events Manager at Virtue, Feed & Grain was absolutely fantastic to work with. She had a great attitude and a very calming demeanor, which really helped minimize any of my stress. We held a wedding reception for 30 people in the Porch Room and everything came out great. We met with Amber multiple times and she was always happy to meet with us. We were able to see the room set up for another event and test out the music and photo presentation. Regarding the photo presentation that we displayed on the TV screen, she let us know ahead of time that PowerPoint is usually not compatible with the device so we were able to look for alternatives from the beginning. She was also very flexible when it came to the food menu and allowed us to customize the menu (two courses) and bring in our own cake, which the staff cut for us.

    The staff helped set everything up before the event, including escort cards, gift table, guest book and In Loving Memory Table. Amber allowed us to drop off the decorations early on the day of the wedding, which really helped keep the bridal party on schedule. The staff also provided menus on each plate and handled the clean up as well. Everyone was very attentive and made sure the drink refills were flowing.

    All of the guests thoroughly enjoyed the food and the portion sizes were huge. The room can be a bit dim, but again the staff was great and turned the lights on, which the photographer really appreciated.

    Again, Amber was amazing and I would definitely host another party there in the future!
  • LB88
    Lauren Married on 04/14/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Virtue was a WONDERFUL wedding reception venue from the beginning until the end!! The events coordinator, Amber, was responsive and well-planned in the days leading up to the event. They accommodated our extra requests including making a custom cocktail for the reception and holding our decor items until the following morning when we could pick them up. The fact that we are a lesbian couple was never an issue, and in fact, we were received with joy and excitement. The wait staff was great - friendly and prompt with our guests needs. There are just a couple things I would say for others to be aware of. We rented the Porch space for a cocktail-style reception at max capacity with 55 people in attendance. We knew this would make for a "cozy" reception, but what we didn't know is that because we'd asked to clear all but 1 table, the unused tables/chairs needed to be stored somewhere. Instead of seeing the gorgeous wine rack and brick on the west side of the room, there was a black curtain and scaffolding taking up probably an extra 16-20 feet of space hiding the unused tables/chairs. This was a huge bummer for me as my guests felt too tight and it wasn't as pretty as I'd thought it would be. The only other thing to be aware of, is that if you're renting this space in the evening - it gets very loud in the restaurant with dinner chatter! It was difficult to hear the playlist even at full volume. Of course, we had a wonderful and perfect wedding day despite these little bumps. Thank you Virtue for making our day so lovely!
  • C
    Cello Married on 12/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We love Virtue! Their entire team is incredible. We hired them about a year ahead of our wedding, and were in communication with their team constantly - sharing ideas, asking questions, working our desired layout for the day. Even when they changed their events menu a few months before our wedding, they worked with us to incorporate all the dishes we wanted from their old menu. It was awesome! Plus they don't nickel and dime you for every little thing - service and space is all included with the F&B minimum (which is SO worth it). Also - this place is spacious. We had 80 guests fit in the entire upstairs, and could have easily fit twenty more people. We had a stage, dance floor, two couch lounge areas, buffet line, dessert table, gift table, and escort card tables.

    If you haven't already, go visit them for lunch/dinner, ask to be seated upstairs, and you'll fall in love. :)
  • K
    Katie Married on 11/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Virtue Feed & Grain was awesome to work with. They were flexible, friendly and gave wonderful service. Even when we had last minute changes, they accommodated us. Will definitely be recommending them to everyone I know and eating here again!
  • J
    Jordan Married on 10/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding reception at Virtue was everything we could have hoped for and more. From the very beginning, Emily (and later, Amber) were responsive and accommodating. We had a small group (37 people total) and our reception was in the Porch Room. It was beautiful, romantic, and intimate...everything we wanted!

    Amber was an incredible resource for us as we planned the wedding. She was helpful, accommodating, and kind throughout the process. The two women we had setting up all of our reception decor said that Amber and her team were incredibly helpful and supportive as they were setting everything up while my husband and I were at the ceremony and having pictures done.

    We knew Virtue has great food and drinks, and our wedding menu was no exception. Each of our guests loved their meal! My mother has been having some health issues recently and Virtue was very accommodating as we had to make a specific adjustment to her meal. I knew I wanted something that screamed "autumn!" for my speciality drink, so I gave Amber a sample recipe that I thought sounded good and Amber put together a final product that was fantastic! It was a huge hit.

    Everything about our wedding reception at Virtue was perfect, and we are so pleased with our choice of venue. If you're looking for a fun venue with a supportive, professional, and kind staff, Virtue is your place!
  • Christine
    Christine Married on 09/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wow! From the very first email to the last toast of the night, Virtue Feed and Grain was highly professional, accommodating, and personable. We could not have had such an amazing night without the help of Amber, who flawlessly executed our intimate wedding vision and provided an endless amount of support and care throughout the planning process. The entire staff at Virtue bent over backwards to make our experience personal and memorable, and took every care to ensure that all of our guests were thoughtfully considered throughout the evening. The food was delicious and everyone raved about the signature cocktail! We couldn't have asked for a better wedding reception, and it was all due in part to the wonderful services that Amber and the staff at Virtue Feed and Grain provided. Thank you!
  • Hilary
    Hilary Married on 09/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Virtue Feed & Grain was the most incredible wedding venue and the wonderful staff there made our big day absolutely perfect. We rented out the entire upstairs which is such a cool/unique space that wow-ed all of our guests. Emily and Amber were such a pleasure to work with from the very beginning - they are friendly, patient and very organized, and answered all of my many questions quickly. They work with you to craft your perfect day, and are very accommodating to special requests. We chose to have a cocktail-style reception (serving an unlimited amount of 6 selected dishes for 3 hours) which worked so well in this venue - there is no shortage of tables and seating and guests were able to fill plates of delicious food and sit wherever they wanted. Before that we served several of their 'Alexandria Platters' which were perfect for the cocktail hour. And of course, we had an open bar which everyone enjoyed! All of the food was SO delicious and our guests kept raving about the mac & cheese, pork barbacoa sliders, and chicken wings in particular. I would strongly recommend using Virtue as a wedding venue to any future brides & grooms - you are guaranteed to have the wedding of your dreams!!
  • C
    Christopher Married on 04/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Virtue for our rehearsal dinner, specifically the Porch Room. Having already been familiar with the restaurant we had little doubt about the quality of the food or location but their events coordinators were still very helpful in answering questions and helping us set everything up. Everything was very straight forward for us and our guests loved it, several from out of town being jealous that we get to go there whenever we want. We already Liked Virtue before our event, but afterwards it's part of some good memories that we'll treasure.
  • A
    Amber Married on 01/27/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Emily was so helpful leading up to our wedding. Day of the staff was so fun and amazing. We love Virtue & will be back to relive the fun wonderful memories we made there.
  • K
    Kristal Married on 08/14/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I love this place! The food is great and the venue is beautiful. As soon as we saw the porch room, we knew it would be perfect for our small intimate wedding reception. Emily was amazing to work with! When I came to drop off things on my wedding day, I was so happy and relieved to see her, because I knew everything would be great. She was so professional, accommodating, and responsive throughout the entire planning process. Emily and her staff setup everything very nicely and the night was beautiful! We had a wonderful time.
  • L
    Lisa Married on 05/29/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I couldn't recommend a better venue! Virtue Feed & Grain was amazing to work with. The food was amazing and the servers and bartenders couldn't have been better. The events coordinator simplified the planning process, recommended a great DJ and answered any questions I had. The venue itself is beautiful and requires little to no decoration. Virtue Feed & Grain was not only affordable for the area but I couldn't be happier with my choice.
  • K
    Kate Married on 04/22/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We recently held our wedding reception on the 2nd floor. Everything was superb. Emily and the staff were always attentive and willing to answer questions during planning and during the event. The guests all raved about the food and service. And the space barely needs decorations because it's already so beautiful. Book Virtue as often as possible for your special event! You won't regret it.
  • K
    Katie Married on 04/04/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved working with Virtue. Emily was very responsive and helpful as we planned entirely by email from Texas. The dinner was absolutely beautiful and guests raved about the food. We were extremely happy with our event.
  • A
    Angela Married on 04/01/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The staff was incredible. Our whole experience felt seamless, under control, and with our best interest in mind. Several of our guests remarked on how cool the room was and how eager to accommodate our servers and bartenders were. We would strongly recommend Virtue to anyone looking to host an event in the DC area.
  • J
    Jeffrey Married on 10/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When looking for a wedding venue, our first stop on the list of possible locations was Virtue. When we first saw the upstairs space, we knew we had found the perfect location and didn’t need to look anywhere else. From that initial contact to the actual wedding day, we had a truly perfect experience.

    First, I need to give credit to their Events Manager, Emily. She went above and beyond, attending to every single detail. We walked up the stairs for the ceremony, and Emily even took pictures of us without us knowing. She surprised us with these very special photos afterward. Such an amazing touch!

    The best thing that Virtue has to offer is its stunning design. From the barn-like feel, the gorgeous furniture, and artwork, Virtue is one of the most beautiful spaces in the area. The abundance of windows and sky lighting provides great natural light. And then as it gets dark, the upstairs takes on a completely different and equally gorgeous feel. It all leads to some incredible pictures!

    As far as food, Virtue has become my favorite restaurant, and the food at our wedding was excellent as well. Everyone raved about the Butternut Squash Bites, but the Pork Belly Sliders were my favorite from our picks from the event menu.

    Of course, you can’t have a good party without some great adult beverages, and Virtue does it well! They have an expansive beer selection that satisfied even the pickiest of beer connoisseurs, and their wine and liquor selections are impressive as well.

    Last, but not least, the entire staff was impressive. They got to know our guests by name and went out of their way to assist everyone. All of the servers and bartenders were super friendly and helpful.

    If you couldn’t tell by the lengthy essay above, the point I’m trying to make is that Virtue does it all perfectly. I cannot imagine how anyone can come close to offering what they do. Thanks to Emily and her team for making our wedding the event we had dreamed!
  • A
    Adam Married on 10/03/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Virtue was awesome for our wedding. We had an afternoon wedding on a Saturday. We did the Virtuous Cocktail Party which was reasonably priced (especially after viewing the costs at other locations in Alexandria).

    Emily at Virtue, who was our point of contact for the wedding, was fantastic. She was very responsive and super helpful with setting everything up. I can't stress how great they were in making sure that everything went well. We originally had the wedding planned for a park nearby (Waterfront Park, right next to Virtue), but it was rained out (boo you hurricane Joaquin and the nor'easter you rode in on). However, it felt like Virtue bent over backwards to accommodate us so that we could have the wedding ceremony at Virtue before our "time" started and make sure it was the best it could be.

    We have only heard positive reviews from our friends and families. Their wait staff and bartenders were great (special shout out to Rachel who went above and beyond to make sure the bride and I were taken care of throughout the day). And oh yeah, the food was fantastic (guests raved about the Butternut Squash Bites, the Mac and Cheese, and the Old Town Crab Dip).

    All in all, I can't recommend Virtue enough for any party and/or wedding in the Alexandria area.
  • K
    Kayla Married on 09/05/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We worked with Emily to have our rehearsal dinner in the upstairs back area of the bar. We've frequented the bar when visiting and it's just a beautiful place and a great atmosphere. The whole experience was easy and pleasant. Emily was quick to respond and very accommodating to all or requests/needs. The night of, the food was delicious and the staff was pleasant and put up with our inability to stay seated for very long. Overall a great experience and we always recommend Virtue, even just to go have a drink!
  • M
    Claire Married on 07/11/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were so happy with every aspect of our wedding reception from the initial inquiry email to the time that we left.
    Emily Klassen is really on point with what she does as the events manager. She's pleasant to work with and has a good grasp on what will work for different party sizes, food allergies, etc. and was extremely responsive in all of our communication.
    Virtue Feed and Grain has been one of our favorite restaurants since they first opened and our family and friends have been raving about every aspect of it. "One of the best restaurants I've ever been to" coming from a foodie was one of my favorites! I fully agree.
    The price was on point and we were able to stay in budget without difficulty.
  • G
    Greylin Married on 07/11/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Virtue is a great place for a wedding reception. Our gay wedding reception started off with a plan of about 30 guests and grew to nearly 50 people. The Virtue staff was able to help and guide us though the process and they were extremely flexible. They were happy to cater to our dietary needs (pescarian) and accommodate our larger than planned group. Everyone raved of how wonderful the food was and how great the service was.