Weddings

Virginia Maryland DC Wedding Officiant Reviews

Virginia Maryland DC Wedding Officiant

Virginia Maryland DC Wedding Officiant

Alexandria, VA
Rating 4.4 out of 5, 45 Reviews
View more information

45 Reviews

Rated
4.4
out of 5.0
Recommended by 89% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.5 out of 5

Awards

  • 45
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
Sort by:
  • L
    L&L Married on 05/14/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    As Mozart is to music, Mr. Lance is to weddings. Not only did he incorporate my dog in the ceremony (which was really sweet), but the inspired words that he spoke to both my fiance and myself reached into our soul and rang true with profound prophetic weight. I would absolutely recommend Mr. Lance as an officiant to couples who are looking for a truly meaningful, beautiful and unique ceremony - and I also highly recommend the Hand Fasting. Thank you Sir, for your wonderful service!!
  • A
    Aisha Married on 02/02/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Weddings by Lance! He was not only nice and easy to work with... but affordable too. Plus, he helped guide us through the vows. We are not traditional and he was able to walk us through everything easily!
    To top it off... he was soooo funny and nice! The ceremony was amazing thanks to him. He's so sweet and I have been recommending him to everyone I know :) I even ended up finding out a friend of mine used him for their wedding! Thank you Lance for a WONDERFUL wedding ceremony :)
  • MrsKAllTheWay
    Melanie Married on 10/20/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot say enough good things about Lance. He was absolutely beyond perfect. Every single person at our wedding commented how wonderful he was. I'm not exaggerating. People came up to us like, "Where did you find that guy? He is AWESOME!" They couldn't believe that we didn't have a long, intimate relationship with him. He's just that kind of guy. He's genuine and friendly and had the innate ability to make you feel like you've know him your whole life. Our ceremony was laid-back and goofy and had us all smiling and crying at the same time. If I had it to do over, I would ALWAYS pick Lance. I can totally understand why he has so many glowing reviews, and they barely hold a candle to how great he truly is. I only wish I had more time to speak to him after the ceremony, but we were rushed off to take photos, battling the sunset the whole way. Thank you again, Lance. You were an absolute joy to work with and I couldn't imagine the most important day of my life any other way.
  • User1064812 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot praise this man enough. Lance was amazing. We had a few hiccups in the ceremony (brought on by a beautiful two year old flower girl) and he breezed right through them, and even used Bible verses to link her actions back to the ceremony. Everyone in the wedding and numerous guests expressed how impressed they were by Lance.
  • J
    Jason Married on 07/21/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    To sum up Lance's service in one word, I would have to say "magnanimous" because he exceeded our expectations in every way. We had a short time to choose a officiant as many of the previous officiants we talked to we ended up deciding to go another direction. We have no regrets at all.

    My wife is from Brazil so she had some family in attendance that did not speak any English. I had the idea to say a few words in Portuguese but he took it a step further and got one of her cousins to translate. This made the ceremony go a little longer and follow a different path but it was all so much more worth it. He played off the crowd perfectly and added some special touches.

    He presented us with some pre-made ceremonies that we ended up editing and adding/subtracting things to make it more special to us. There was never any problems or reservations from Lance about this and he even added a few special touches to it as well. He even assisted us in choosing a location to place a lap top with Skype so the rest of her family back in Brazil could witness the ceremony.

    Lance mentioned a few times in talking with him how often he gets compliments from wedding attendants about his services and as it comes off a little cocky, it is absolutely true. I would recommend Lance for anyone.
  • M
    Angie Married on 05/26/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved Lance from the moment we spoke with him on the phone about our ceremony. We contracted with him right away, without even having to meet with him. The first time we met him was on the day before our wedding at the rehearsal.
    When I filled out our ceremony info on Lance's website I accidentally hit the wrong date for our wedding, he was amazing! Even though he had other plans for our "real" wedding date, he was able to work it out and once he said he would be there I never gave it another thought. He always responded to any email I sent promptly and was always a huge help!!
    Our guests are still giving us compliments on our ceremony. Everyone said the ceremony was completely us, it was PERFECT!
    If you haven't signed with Lance yet... DO IT (before he gets booked)!!!!!
  • B
    Brittni Married on 11/19/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When I met him I just knew! The story about the groomsmen walking into star wars totally had me! haha :) He is an amazing person! we had a few hiccups in the ceremony but it was so true to who we are that it was like it was meant to be! My friend recommended me and I totally will pass the word!
  • V
    Jamie Married on 11/11/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lance is great! From when we first met him through the ceremony, he was ALWAYS THERE ON TIME. He showed up for the rehearsal the night before, my FI was 'a little' late and Lance still stuck it out to make sure we were able to do a quick walk through. Mind you this is the night before he had to perform over 10 ceremonies the next day. Several people commented on how much they enjoyed his personality, humor and service. There was a little one in the crowd who was officiating for us at some point but as soon as he was done, Lance stepped in and picked up where we left off. :)
  • A
    Amanda Married on 10/08/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    You can definitely tell that Lance knows what he is doing. We found it very helpful that he had multiple sample ceremonies, with which to work, and appreciated the ability to design our own ceremony from these. Lance always responded to our inquiries promptly, despite having a busy schedule.
    On our wedding day, he only needed to ask a few questions before having an obvious handle on the situation. He even thinks quickly on the spot to make a small interruption part of the moment; for example, he made an appropriate joke when two noisy planes passed over head during our ceremony. We wanted to incorporate some Jewish traditions into our ceremony, and Lance worked with these beautifully, even enhancing them on the spot. His professionalism and calm demeanor were comforting on the day. Lance really was fantastic; everybody was very moved by his beautiful ceremony.
  • Candace
    Candace Married on 09/22/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lance was so incredible! Our guests are STILL raving about his kind words, his mannerisms, etc. Lance personalized every little touch and definitely eased our nerves, including while we were standing up there during the ceremony. He was responsive to all our questions, helped us personalize the ceremony, and truly just carried everything out perfectly! I am so glad we ended up going with Lance, and the wedding would not have been the same without him!
  • S
    Sara Married on 05/14/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lance did a wonderful job on our wedding ceremony. He made the ceremony very memorable and special! Even though i was nervous from every one staring at me, he even made me laugh! Thanks for every thing Lance, It was wonderful!!
  • S
    Sherrynjeff Married on 04/09/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired Lance as our officiant for our wedding. He provided us with a lot of options and flexibility on how we wanted to plan our ceremony. Our families are of different faiths and he helped us incorporate everyone’s traditions. He made the ceremony interesting and fun. Even guests commented on how engaging he was.
  • D
    Donna Married on 01/16/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What a wonderful ceremony!

    Our officiant cancelled on us three days before the wedding. Needless to say, I was extremely concerned and afraid I would be unable to find a replacement. The thought of having someone marry us that we had never met before was very unsettling to me.

    However, after looking at numerous sites, I contacted Lance and asked if he would be available for our ceremony. He responded quickly and we then talked on the phone. I liked him immediately. He was very calming and talked me through what needed to happen.

    He has his web site set-up so that you can pick the ceremony you want, the readings you want, anything special you want done, etc. So, not only do you get to pick everything out -- you can then print it out and keep a copy for your memories!

    We met Lance about 20 minutes before our ceremony and we all CLICKED! We had so many things in common -- he, like my husband, enjoys riding motorcycles, lives in an area we were very familiar with -- that we were immediately put at ease.

    The ceremony itself was beautiful. Lance is very charistmatic and his warmth fills a room. I honestly believe no one could have provided a better ceremony. He really did allow for our input and was then able to pull in bits and pieces about us that he had learned from us and our friends and family prior to the ceremony. It was just lovely. It could not have been any better and he solidified the memories that were created that day.

    Imagine our surprise when we found out after the ceremony that he wasn't feeling well. In fact, he was feeling poorly enough that he excused himself from staying for dinner. We were very sorry to see him leave. In a very short time he had become part of our family.

    We do hope to see him again soon -- maybe on a spring day, riding a motorcycle!
  • J
    Julia Married on 08/07/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lance is the best! He did a such a great job with our ceremony...my guests asked me how long I had known him (about two weeks). When the flowers arrived and we were one boutineer short, Lance made a quick one for us with a flower from the gift table. Fabulous man, you will not go wrong by choosing him!
  • M
    Mindi Married on 07/03/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rev. Lance Orndorff was incredible! When we first met Lance, it was as if we were speaking with a friend rather than a wedding officiant. His relaxed yet professional demeanor put us at ease. We thought he would be perfect to preside over our wedding ceremony, and we were right! His online "create-a-ceremony" tool was extremely helpful in guiding us to the type of ceremony we wanted. And, although we didn't produce a complete ceremony, we were able to send our draft to Lance and request that he fill in the gaps based on the preferences we stated during our initial meeting.

    Lance did not participate in our rehearsal, so it was somewhat of a (pleasant) surprise how the ceremony would play out. I was not at all concerned, however - believing I could trust him and his experience. I'm so glad we didn't plan out every detail of the ceremony and left it in his hands. On our wedding day, we listened with joy and anticipation, and we very much enjoyed the little unexpected additions - having our Best Man show the rings to the attendees, for instance. Additionally, Lance estimated our ceremony would last approximately 25 minutes. Reading the crowd and the almost unbearable weather conditions (it was HOT), Lance slightly sped up the ceremony for the comfort of all. I couldn't thank him enough. The wedding itself was absolutely beautiful!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 05/15/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lance was one of the biggest reasons our wedding ceremony was so perfect. He showed up on time, coordinated everything perfectly, and provided a beautiful ceremony. He took the time to get to know us and catered the ceremony to our desires and needs. It was a very personalized ceremony and anyone who heard it knew it was written just about us. We loved that it felt like our own, instead of something out of a book. Our day would not have been complete without Lance as our officiant.
  • D
    Diana Married on 10/09/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The ceremony that Lance provided for my wedding was exactly what we wanted. He worked very closely with me to help build the perfect wedding ceremony. He also went out of his way to get to know us which is so important when someone is going to marry you. He was extremely personable, professional, and helpful in every aspect of the ceremony. He even suggested a wonderful location and harpist for our wedding. I absolutely cannot say enough how lucky I feel to have found him because he is mostly responsible for the "fairytale" wedding that my husband and I felt we had. Everyone in attendance enjoyed it too! It was perfect. Thank you so much Lance!
  • P
    Peter I. Married on 10/03/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lance was very good and took care of us completely. He was calm and caring and professional. The one thing I would recommend is that you take responsibility for outlining and preparing the ceremony. Lance was totally flexible and had the ability to do various ceremonies including a traditional Fillipino wedding ... He was great with ours and Isabella and I give him a 5.0 on a 5.0 scale.

    Thanks,
    Peter & Isabella
  • N
    Alex Married on 09/26/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding by Lance was a wonderful experience. We have spent the last 9 months planning our out of country wedding and realized at the last minute we had not planned the legal ceremony in the area. Lance was extremely accomodating and helped make the day one to remember. Thank you so much for making this one day we did not have to worry about.
  • A
    Alice Married on 09/25/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lance was awesome! The ceremony was warm and personal and all of the guests commented on what a lovely ceremony we had. He put everyone in the bridal party at ease. He really delivered the perfect ceremony with just the right touch for our wedding. Ken and I highly recommend him.
  • cindylouwho821
    Cynthia Married on 09/20/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lance did an amazing job! He really took the time to get to know us and understand who we are and the ceremony we wanted to have. Our vows were beautiful, and extremely personal. Lance can really work the room and was funny and touching.
  • C
    Clyde Married on 09/20/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot say enough good things about Lance. He took the parameters we set and made the whole event special. More people commented on his performance than any other facet of our wedding, which had some really cool facets!
  • T
    Erin A. Married on 09/12/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lance did a fantastic job capturing the exact feel we wanted for our ceremony. We received many compliments on how beautiful the ceremony was. I also loved how I could customize the whole ceremony right on his website!
  • G
    Cathy Married on 07/12/2008
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lance was a delight to work with! With 2 different religions, he made it work! And on the big day the bridal party was so nervous that Lance kindly whispered to us at what to do! It was sweet! The ceremony was everything I hoped for, and I highly recommend Lance! :)
  • C
    Chrissy Married on 03/22/2008
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We absolutely loved Lance! The ceremony was beautiful and he listened very closely to what we wanted. It couldn't have been a more perfect ceremony!

    Virginia Maryland DC Wedding Officiant's reply:

    For additional comments about what other couples have to say, visit http://www.weddingsbylance.com/whatotherssay.html