Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center Reviews

8 | Virginia Beach, VA
See photos, pricing and details

8 Reviews for Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center

Recommended by 86%

8

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.3
  • Average response time 3.8

5 User photos

Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center 1
Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center 2
Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center 3
Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center 4
Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center 5
Sort by:
  • Krystal

    Krystal · Married on 10/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream Come True

    Everyone we encountered throughout the planning process and day of were absolutely amazing! Very professional staff and the guests loved the venue!

    Sent on 01/21/2019
    Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center 6
    Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center 7
    Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center 8
    Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center 9
    Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center 10
  • J

    jessica · Married on 05/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Aquarium was a wonderful spot to have a reception. We wanted a family friendly wedding and that is what we got. Even the adults loved watching the sharks and sea turtles and petting the sting rays. The food was great and the service went off without a problem. Stacey and Cecilia were even flexible enough to change the plans of our wedding a few times until we were happy with the way the event went. This is a perfect place for anyone who wants a fun location with more than just a dance floor.

    Sent on 06/07/2012
  • K

    Kendahl · Married on 06/06/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We wanted a nice simple but fun wedding with just family and close friends but when family is actually pretty big its hard to find a place at a decent price...The aquarium did it for us. They are taking care of everything but the cake and decorations and pretty much all we have to do is show up.

    Sent on 05/01/2015
  • User2775253 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful, inexpensive venue. I have to admit that due to a staffing change, response times were sometimes slow, but our wedding day went off without a hitch, and Lisa, the catering manager, was wonderful at anticipating things we would need before we would even think of them. She and her staff added personal touches to our wedding that made it better than I could have imagined.

    Sent on 11/16/2012
  • Heather

    Heather Copas · Married on 06/01/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very Good Experience

    This venue was amazing and had plenty of activities and options. We just decided to go with another venue so we could do an outside caterer. Wonderful team to work with though!

    Sent on 12/09/2018
  • User3495726 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Beautifully put together and amazing speed

    Sent on 08/28/2013
  • H

    Hayley · Married on 08/13/2016

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Booking the venue was easy - however, communicating with the catering supervisor was extremely difficult leading up the event. Most responses were "I'll email back tomorrow" and then we would receive an email back two weeks later. Furthermore, many responses did not include answers to the questions we asked, and the information she did provide was contradictory and confusing. Due to this unreliable communication, our final menu was not decided until days before the event.

    Despite the difficulties and frustration leading up to the event, the catering supervisor was very accommodating the night of the event as we had to make an unexpected change in the start time. We really appreciated her understanding for that sudden change.

    Overall, the event ran smoothly and we had a great time. We loved being able to bring in our own dessert and our guests loved the venue (with the exception of the pirate ship driving by and yelling at us while someone was giving a toast... and the two cockroaches crawling up the wall during another toast). The biggest issue during the event was the screen/slideshow - my maid of honor spent the entire rehearsal dinner working with various people trying to figure out how to work the AV system to show a slideshow... and it never worked. She started working on it as soon as the guests went into the room for dinner and she didn't get a chance to sit down and eat, which was upsetting because we were weighing venues based on whether or not they had a screen and we ended up not having one. Besides those issues, it was a wonderful night. We love the Aquarium!

    Sent on 09/27/2016
  • Grace

    Grace Moreno · Getting married on 10/17/2020

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    No responce

    Man, let me just say I was so excited to find out that we could potentially have our wedding at the aquarium -its one of my favorite places. Unfortunately, that delight diminished as the time went on without a reply for them. Once they FINALLY reached out, they said they would be unavailable for that date. That was totally fine, no problem, yet I still requested the information on prices due to our date being flexible. AGAIN, never got a reply. So unfortunate to have experienced such unprofessionalism in regards to getting a response from the or prices.
    Other than that, I can't really say much!

    Sent on 09/17/2019

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review