Vintage Vinyl Events Reviews

27 | Portland, OR
See photos, pricing and details

27 Reviews for Vintage Vinyl Events

Recommended by 100%

27
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • B

    Bonnie · Married on 09/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    People tell me they have never seen a bride dance as much as I did on my wedding night! Seriously, the dance party was the best. DJ Freaky Outtty (Palmer Auty) killed it. He and Josh were also so kind, responsive, and really wanted to make sure that we had exactly what we needed and wanted for both our ceremony and reception. We are pretty eclectic in our music tastes and he was able to blend a lot of different genres together at the right points in the evening. Great service and I highly recommend!!!

  • H

    Howard · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It's almost a week later and my legs are still sore. I tore the pants on my suit. That's how much Palmer (aka DJ Freaky Outy) brought the party. We had a full dance floor all night as Palmer beautifully balanced different eras and brought in the crowd favorite bangers. Palmer really took time to listen to us and figure out what type of music and vibe we were feeling for the night. It came out perfectly and we're incredibly thankful for that. Not only was the music phenomenal, Palmer also helped some fun ideas we were kicking around come to life. Palmer is incredibly fun, professional, responsive, and a wizard on the wax.

  • J

    James · Married on 09/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Freaky Outty (aka Palmer) handled our wedding a couple weeks back, and we couldn't be happier. He did an absolutely fantastic job from beginning to end -- coming out to our venue months in advance to ensure he had the right equipment, juggling last-minute changes to the processional songs (and the venue itself), balancing conflicting requests from different wedding guests, etc. We couldn't have asked for someone more friendly and accommodating. And, of course, he killed it behind the turntables, seamlessly transitioning from motown to 90s hip-hop and back again over the course of the evening. We'd highly recommend Vintage Vinyl to anyone looking for a quality DJ and, equally as important, a good person to work with.

  • W

    Whitney · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Palmer made magic happen on the dance floor at our wedding! All of our guests were out cutting the rug and we heard from so many family and friends how much they enjoyed the music throughout the day. He was able to find the perfect music to set the tone all evening long and we couldn't be happier.

  • Zulander

    Whitney · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Look no further. Vintage Vinyl Events is amazing! DJ Palmer Auty had me dancing for nearly six hours straight. My husband and I both really value good music. My husband, as someone who loves electronic music and thus some of the best DJs around, was a little skeptical of hiring DJ. These ARE NOT your average wedding DJs. He was truly mixing and not just playing a playlist off of his computer. His transitions and mixes were incredible and seamless. He let the music speak for itself. Also, he looked like he was having just as much fun as any of us dancing on the dance floor.

  • J

    Joni · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I booked these DJs for a wedding and had a great experience. Our DJ was friendly and professional.

  • J

    Jamie · Married on 01/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Vintage Vinyl for our wedding and couldn't have been any happier with the outcome of their services! We are both very picky when it comes to wedding music and DJ Freaky Outty absolutely KILLED IT for us! Our guests didn't stop dancing the entire night and I had several people ask who are DJ was because he was that good. Vintage Vinyl was extremely easy to work with throughout the entire wedding planning process and I'd highly recommend them for anything!

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Of my wedding priorities, dancing and music were in the top 3 critical. I met with several DJs and while each of them were great options, only Joshua made me feel 100% confident that I would be dancing until 1am with my friends. We were very interested in his unique style and the fact that Vintage Vinyl brings real records to their events whenever possible. I never felt Joshua was treating me like another Bride in his summer booking list - he listened, brought up suggestions of songs and is seriously good at his craft. He has excellent transitions between songs, he watches the crowd to gauge their reaction and the fact that he brings actual records with their classic sound is a subtle detail we loved. Leading up to the event, we went through countless song lists, bounced ideas off one another on the feel we wanted at each stage of our event and he helped us narrow it down to a top 10 must playlist. This process really helped me trust that he had our Must Plays and the vibe we wanted, but let him have creative control to take it from there and he delivered day of in epic fashion.

    One of the concerns my mother had was the music being too loud during cocktail hour and the reception. She made a point to tell me that Joshua kept it very reasonable during these times and then once the dancing started, he brought up the energy and sound I had wanted to keep everyone excited. He definitely got the Mom seal of approval.

    Joshua's quiet temperament was decidedly reassuring to me and day of our wedding he was on the mic directing our guests to the next activity with no qualm.

    Joshua was professional, attentive, and just a great vendor to work with. He handled everything online so payments were easy and signing contracts a breeze. He was very responsive to email too. I'm keeping his card in my book for my 30th birthday and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to anyone looking for an awesome DJ!

  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were looking for a non-traditional DJ for our wedding, so when we read about Josh at Vintage Vinyl, we were so excited to find someone who aligned with exactly what we wanted - vinyl records and a wealth of knowledge on our favorite music. Josh worked with us over the course of a year to make sure we had everything we wanted for our big day. He was so easy to work with, and made sure everything was just perfect. From beginning to end, the music at our wedding was absolutely stellar. It was the best dance party I have ever had the pleasure of attending, and our guests had so much fun. I cannot thank Josh enough for his part in the best day of our lives. We had an absolute blast, and are so thankful for his talent and professionalism!

  • E

    Erik · Married on 08/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down the best wedding I have ever been to. Not because it was my wedding, but because Josh killed it on the turn tables. With the ear of a seasoned musical time traveller he took us all on a seamless journey from funk and sly to soul then disco to 80s then hip hop and R. Kelly then, just when it couldn't get any better, he sprinkled in some
    Latin club bangers to take things to the next level. It was a masterpiece. If you are going to pay someone to DJ your wedding choose Josh and VV - they will work with you in the weeks and months leading up to the event to ensure you and your guests are treated to a curated flow of perfect tunes. He was awesome when it came to patience and flexibility - my now wife change the processional at least 10 times and we had "must plays" pop into our heads everyday the week before the wedding. Josh took it all in stride and was always available to chat flow and vibe. Also, his library of vinyl (supplemented with everything else digitally) is killer and he is able to understand what you are looking for based on few songs then introduce you to so many more cool tracks along the same lines creating a track list that will have people talking about more than just your drunk uncle. On the other hand, if you feel like you haven't heard 'don't stop believing' enough, hire a top 40 wedding DJ and preset your am/fm to 100.3

    Bottom line: I highly recommend Josh and VV.

  • N

    Natalie · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh killed it at our wedding. We were so impressed with his professionalism and his knowledge of music. Everything was flawless from start to finish. He made the planning process so easy and I felt like he was a friend. He helped me come up with the perfect playlists for cocktail hour, dinner and dancing. The dance floor was packed with all age groups and everyone was having a great time. I actually don't think I left the dance floor at all because it was so much fun! Guests were super impressed that he used records and it made for a unique experience. He truly made our wedding perfect and I will recommend him to everyone!

  • Mrs. in PDX

    Hanna · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh was fantastic to work with. He was very patient with our indecisiveness and easy to work with. He was also very accommodating with our weird schedules. I am pretty sure my husband will be talking about the music from our wedding forever, it was the perfect soundtrack to our special day. My parents, his parents and all of our friends also gave him the stamp of approval and were raving about the music all night. 5 stars all around!

  • M

    Mark · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I still can't believe our fortune in finding Josh and Vintage Vinyl Events. His personality, musical taste, responsiveness, flexibility and professionalism are unmatched, and he wildly exceeded our expectations.

    Our wedding was in Montana, and Josh drove from Portland with his choicest records to play both our rehearsal dinner and wedding reception. His musical selections for both events were absolutely perfect, from soul to latin jazz to disco and funk, and everything in between. He was incredibly fun, flexible, and professional, interacting wonderfully with guests, handling any and all issues that arose during both days, and generally being an enormous help and reassuring presence. The dance party Josh curated for our wedding reception was so absurdly fun I'm surprised the cops didn't come, but even if they would have, they'd have had no choice but to dance.

    Josh asked us to provide a list of our favorite songs for different portions of the event, and made sure to play all of them at the right time. He was super responsive and accommodating to our requests, incorporating them perfectly into his set. He handled the music for the ceremony beautifully as well, and when rain interrupted our nuptials, put on some of the silkiest beats to entertain our dampened crowd. He handled the renting of all of our sound and lighting equipment, and set it up expertly as well.

    I cannot recommend Josh and Vintage Vinyl Events enough for your wedding or other event. Truly class and I look forward to the opportunity to work with him again.

  • P

    Patrick · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh was absolutely amazing during the entire process. We both are pretty laid back people and we wanted our wedding to be pretty low key but we had to have good music. We met josh for happy hour to kick it off and went over likes and dislikes based on artists and genres etc.. He then put together a very helpful google doc where we could add our "10 must plays" and also tweak things like cocktail hour music, dinner music, etc etc.

    Very responsive throughout the entire process and I cannot stress how awesome the playlist he put together was.

    I would highly recommend Josh and his services to anyone and will definitely be checking out his local gigs when he is playing.

  • M

    Mary · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We literally can't say enough about how awesome Josh is. We are so lucky to have found him to DJ our wedding. He has a serious knack for music. We gave him a very wide array of choices and he blended them together perfectly to make everyone get up, dance and have a good time. Everyone at our wedding said the music was perfect. Josh even let my brother take the mic to sing a few songs. He was responsive, friendly and a true professional. I recommend Josh wholeheartedly for any DJ needs.

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Vintage Vinyl Events provided DJ services for our wedding on 6/11/16. I communicated with Josh throughout the process and especially during the booking stage, and our DJ was Sean (DJ Battles). I was most impressed with how hard Josh and our DJ, Sean, worked to personalize their services for our wedding. From meeting us at a pub in our neighborhood a couple of months beforehand to go over our musical personalities to providing us with a Google spreadsheet where we could enter our song ideas and MC needs, these guys sought our input every step of the way and went the extra mile to make sure we were getting exactly what we wanted. Josh was super responsive in our emails back and forth while we determined price, availability, and compatibility (including a few changes on my end regarding timing and such). Sean did a great job the day-of to create a playlist that flowed from cocktail hour through our brunch reception and into dancing, all while staying true to our tastes and style. These guys truly care, and they take the time to get it right. Plus, they're spinning vinyl, which is pretty awesome! Not your cookie cutter DJ service, but not "too hipster" or "too cool" either. Approachable, hard-working, honest, professional, and really chill guys. I found their website really helpful and loved that I could get a taste for the types of fun mixes they come up with beforehand. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants a little something different-- and who is anti-Cha Cha slide!

  • D

    Larissa · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh was awesome to work with! When we first met Josh we laid out our musical tastes and ideas for our wedding. We were all on the same page right away. It was so easy. We had a few consultations and never had any questions about what he would deliver because he was so professional and organized. He guided us through everything. He showed up on-time, provided great MC services, queued the music right on schedule, and threw a really fun dance party! He was also a snazzy dresser. We want to throw another party so we can hire him again!

  • S

    Stacey · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm so glad I found Vintage Vinyl! It was an absolute pleasure working with Josh and I recommend him highly to anyone in need of a DJ. I had scoured the market for wedding/event DJs and he offered the perfect balance of great musical taste/selection, professionalism and affordability. Josh took the time to meet with me and my now-husband to discuss musical direction/day-of timing/all the nuts and bolts and was super responsive during the entire planning process. Perhaps most important however, is that fact that he kept the dance floor packed all night! Thanks, Josh!

  • J

    Jessie · Married on 03/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It might seem like a large cost, but having Vintage Vinyl DJ our event was really what *made* the reception. I would do it again in a heartbeat. Strongly recommend.

  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 01/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joshua was AMAZING! We got so many compliments on our music, and people were out dancing all night long. I was so sad to tell him we were to tired to keep partying and pick our last few songs to shut the night down. Through the whole process Joshua was kinda, understanding, and SUPER responsive to any e-mails and questions. From our first meeting I knew he understood music, and understood what I wanted from music. Plus the vinyl factor for our vintage wedding was way cool. I seriously could not recommend him enough. Go to his website and listen to some of his playlists, you will be sold!

  • C

    Courtney · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh was everything we could have hoped for. The time we had to plan our wedding from our engagement to our actual wedding date was short, so we were very stressed. Josh was very flexible on every one of our requests. He went above and beyond and agreed to meet with us a second time to go over the final details of the ceremony a week before the big day. He literally read my mind and was able to pick songs that fit our wedding perfectly. My husband and I were so pleased with him. We felt safe and trusted him every step of the way. He's affordable and the best guy for the job!

  • User5464709 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh did a really good job at my wedding. He was there early and got everything set up and he didn't make a big fuss when we explained he wouldn't be providing music until after the ceremony. He was extremely thorough with his communication before our big day and even during the wedding. He had no problem grabbing the mike and directing people to food or to the dance floor.

  • User5320041 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh did an awesome job from start to finish and earned our highest recommendation. Several of our guests told us "your DJ is killing it" and we agree! We considered a band or DJ from a large company, but instead we decided to hire Josh to play vintage vinyl and handle the MC duties for our reception. We're so glad we did! He was very receptive, flexible in adapting to our needs, and a really good guy.

  • L

    Luke · Married on 08/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Vintage Vinyl Events DJ'ed our wedding and they where amazing. They played some of our specialty records at what seemed like the most opportune times throughout our reception. They made the party happen into the wee hours of the night, and truly helped make our wedding a night to remember.

  • G

    Gina · event on: 04/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot sing Josh's praises enough! I hired him for our 1 year anniversary party; instantly, Josh created a lively atmosphere that truly kept the party going. Josh's positive, calm and professional demeanor make him easy to collaborate with--and I absolutely loved all of the RAD music he played throughout the night. I highly recommend Josh's services and hope to work with him again in the future.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review