VG Donut and Bakery Reviews

124 | Cardiff by the Sea, CA
See photos, pricing and details

124 Reviews for VG Donut and Bakery

Recommended by 98%

124
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

19 User photos

VG Donut and Bakery 1
VG Donut and Bakery 2
VG Donut and Bakery 3
VG Donut and Bakery 4
VG Donut and Bakery 5
VG Donut and Bakery 6
VG Donut and Bakery 7
+ 13
Sort by:
  • K

    Kylie · Married on 05/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing cake and donuts! Everyone was excited about the gluten free lemon butter cookies. I highly recommend them! Janette was great!

    Sent on 06/06/2017
  • J

    Jessyca · Married on 04/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing cakes amazing donut bar. Couldnt be happier with the service.

    Sent on 05/15/2017
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 04/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    VG Donut and Bakery was absolutely lovely to work with on the dessert bar for our wedding! They delivered delicious donuts and cake pops for our guests, and were incredibly communicative in the weeks leading up to the event. Cannot recommend their goodies enough.

    Sent on 05/25/2017
  • J

    Jena · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!! We used VG Donuts & Bakery for our wedding dessert table and they were awesome to work with! We sent them photos of what we wanted and they made it happen for a very reasonable price. Super professional and always delicious!

    Sent on 07/27/2017
  • M

    morgan · Married on 02/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    VG Donuts was absolutely amazing and we are SO happy we had their delicious desserts at our wedding in February! We wanted to go with a dessert bar for our guests so that our cake could be a little more special for just family and wedding party, and they worked with us to create the perfect spread of donuts, cupcakes, cake pops and brownies galore! Plus our cake was so perfect and beautiful!

    Sent on 03/02/2017
  • B

    Becki · Married on 12/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We enlisted VG Donuts for our wedding cake - a simple, three-tiered beauty - and a donut bar, and can say without hesitation that both were EPIC! Not only are they so reasonably, but they deliver on the most important aspect - absolute DELICIOUSNESS. Our guests raved about our wedding desserts, and we give these guys two thumbs up!

    Sent on 01/11/2017
  • Caylin

    Caylin · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    VG Donut & Bakery provided our wedding cake and entire dessert bar (donuts, bars, cupcakes) and people are still talking about how delicious everything was! We actually upped our order from the recommended amount for our headcount and STILL went home without any leftovers! The venue staff had to stash some desserts in our room just to make sure we got some!
    Janette was extremely helpful from the start, always responsive to our emails. My husband and I both grew up eating VG donuts so it was extra special to have them at our wedding.
    The delivery fee all the way to Temecula was very reasonable and everything arrived in perfect condition.
    And two extra perks of using VG's - at the tasting, they literally give you cakes to take home and share with friends and family, which is amazing, AND you don't have to worry about saving the top tier of your cake because they'll give you a free cake on your anniversary! No freezer burn cake!

    Sent on 11/16/2016
  • K

    Kim · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend VG Donuts & Bakery for wedding cake services. VG was offered as part of the package at The Crossings, our wedding venue, and while we were able to change if we wanted I'm so glad we used them! Janette, the bakery coordinator, is extremely helpful and easy to work with. You are allowed to try 3 different cakes, and not just tasting bites, you actually take home 3 small (6in round) full-on cakes to try at home. Additional cakes to taste are only $5! There are so many flavor choices between cake flavors and filling flavors it is so hard to choose! She also has a book filled of example cakes so you can choose what type of frosting look you might want. I also loved that I was able to get a small two-tiered cake so I could do the traditional cake-cutting, and then supplement with cupcakes, donut bites, and brownie/blondie bars (I did not want to serve traditional cake slices to guests). There were even gluten-free options, and seasonal pumpkin flavored cupcakes and blondies perfect for my October wedding. Each dessert was seriously a flavor explosion in your mouth! I will be using VG for future events again for sure!

    Sent on 12/28/2016
  • User5460868 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    VGs donuts was amazing! They did our entire desert bar and our Wedding Cake! We absolutly loved it, not only was it yummy they are amazing to work with and very cost effective. Love you guys

    Sent on 09/26/2016
  • S

    Susan · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Why would you go anywhere else? VG is the best!

    Sent on 01/20/2017
  • User6375772 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic pricing! Using them for a dessert bar at our wedding. their price came in much lower than other bakeries. they also gave us 2 free cakes to try. the carrot cake was delicious, and that is what we are going with for the wedding!

    Sent on 02/18/2016
  • S

    Stormy · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    JANETTE AT VG BAKERY WAS FANTASTIC TO WORK WITH! FROM THE VERY BEGINNING UP UNTIL THE DAY OF THE WEDDING, SHE WAS PROFESSIONAL, HELPFUL, AND A JOY TO WORK WITH! THE CAKE WAS NOT ONLY BEAUTIFUL, BUT DELICIOUS! EVERY LAYER WAS EXQUISITE! WE RECEIVED MANY COMPLIMENTS DURING THE WEDDING RECEPTION ABOUT HOW DELICIOUS, MOIST AND BEAUTIFUL THE CAKE WAS! WE OF COURSE HIGHLY RECOMMEND VG'S TO ANYONE WANTING A BEAUTIFUL AND DELICIOUS CAKE FOR ANY OCCASION!! THANKS JANETTE!!

    Sent on 07/10/2016
  • Lauren

    Lauren · Married on 06/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Worked with Janette. She is awesome! Told her what our vision was and she made it happen. Our dessert was gone in minutes. Not to mention, it was delicious!!!

    Sent on 07/11/2016
  • G

    Gina · Married on 06/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband & I ordered our wedding cake & "donut bar" items from VGs for our wedding this past June. Everything was delicious, and working with Janette for the tasting & the order was easy & smooth! We had a small two-tier cutting cake and sheet cake for guests, in two flavors: chocolate cake with chocolate Bavarian cream and white cake with Bavarian cream with fresh strawberries. For our donut bar, we had cake & raised donuts in a 4 flavors, donut bites, doissant bites and cookies. Janette predicted the donut & doissant bites would be the most popular, and she was right - we should have ordered more of them! We did taste with two other bakeries, and one had slightly tastier cakes, but we chose VGs since they were about as good, but for a much less price, and had friendlier service to boot. We highly recommend VGs!

    Sent on 10/16/2016
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Janette who was awesome- tastings were great! A whole cake! She was very speedy in response time with emails, very helpful with picking out a cake/ design and size to best fit our needs. The flavor was amazing and it turned out beautiful! Very happy!

    Sent on 08/30/2016
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 04/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Janette at VG helped us design a beautiful and delicious cake that was so affordable. Definitely recommend!

    Sent on 04/20/2016
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 03/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From start to finish, our wedding cake process was so easy and (BY FAR) the most affordable that we found. Janette was always very quick to respond to any questions or concerns. Our "tasting" was also pretty amazing because we were given 7 inch rounds of two cake flavors to TAKE HOME!!! (Any others were just a mere $5 per cake). My husband had never been given so much free cake!!

    The day of the wedding went off without a hitch. I never even saw VG Donuts, the cake just magically appeared (on time) out of thin air and it was as beautiful as I had dreamed. Each layer was a different flavor so our guests could have their choice of cake. Our personal favorite? Chocolate cake with Bavarian cream.... Mmmmm. Can't wait to go back for our one year anniversary and get it again.

    Sent on 05/02/2016
  • Leticia-Ann

    Leticia-Ann · Married on 03/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were extremely helpful and the cake tasted just as good as it looked.

    Sent on 01/10/2016
  • K

    Katie · Married on 03/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cake was perfect! We worked with VG Bakery through The Crossings at Carlsbad. Everyone loved the cake and they decorated the cake exactly as we wanted. Would highly recommend. Thank you!!

    Sent on 04/16/2016
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 11/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used VG Donut for our wedding cake and our entire dessert table. It was totally annihilated within 5 minutes. Everyone raved about the donuts, and the cake was wonderful too! VG's is the best of both worlds: a mom and pop shop with wonderful staff and customer service AND the best baked good options around! They are also very reasonably priced, and we did not have any issues with our order or delivery. They are so attentive and helpful during the tasting, and give you very generous portions to try! Janette worked with us to find the perfect combo for our cake. We would definitely recommend VG's to anyone wanting to please their wedding crowd!

    Sent on 12/16/2015
  • B

    Breanna · Married on 11/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    VGs was included in our package deal at the Crossings at Carlsbad for our wedding day, and we couldn't be luckier! All of the desserts are delicious, and the staff are very accommodating. Instead of getting a slice of cake to taste like most bakeries do, they send you home with 2 full 7" cakes to try with all your friends! Want more? It's just $10 a cake after that. They also provide a free mini cake for your anniversary, so you don't have to save and freeze the top layer. Janine was our point of contact and she was a joy to work with. She answered all questions quickly and made sure we got the best bang for our buck within our allotted budget. the desserts were so good the whole bar was empty before we even cut the cake! I will definitely remember and use VGs for future dessert needs, and have already recommended to friends and family!

    Sent on 11/20/2015
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    VG’s is awesome! I’ve been going here ​for years because they have the best donuts so of course we decided to use them for our cake and donut bar for our wedding in September. The donuts were as amazing as always and the cake was so delicious and looked really beautiful!

    Sent on 11/30/2015
  • A

    Abby · Married on 08/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    VG’s is awesome! For our wedding, we wanted a dessert table with an assortment of pretty and delicious choices. For about half of what we would have spent for a standard tiered wedding cake from another vendor, we were able to have a beautiful feast-like dessert table with the most wonderful tasting pies, small cakes, donuts, cookies, brownies, and donut bites. AND we even had plenty that everyone was able to take some home in little to-go boxes we had set out – making our guests very happy :). We worked with Janette, who is incredibly easy to work with and made the whole process no big deal. She didn’t even need our final order until up to about a week or so before the wedding. And MOST importantly, when you go for a tasting, then give you TWO full cakes!!! Yummmmmyyyy :).

    Sent on 03/21/2016
  • A

    Anna · Married on 08/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    VG donut and bakery was great. I love that they give you full 8" cakes for the tasting, instead of little pieces of cake. Janette was very easy to work with, friendly, quick to respond and the cake turned out to be really beautiful.

    Sent on 08/25/2015
  • E

    Eadeh · Married on 08/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best dessert bar we could have ever imagine for our wedding! Janette at VG's was so wonderful to work with. Our guests said such wonderful things about all of our desserts. I highly recommend them for any special events!

    Sent on 08/27/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review