Vermilionville Reviews

11 | Lafayette, LA
See photos, pricing and details

11 Reviews for Vermilionville

Recommended by 76% of couples

3.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Professionalism 3.7
  • Flexibility 3.6
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 3.4

Awards

11
Order by:
  • D

    Dianne · Married on 05/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The chapel at Vermilionville is an excellent place for a small ceremony, quaint, quiet and very pretty.

    Sent on 05/17/2013
  • User2647602 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We honestly could not have picked a better place to share our marriage!

    Sent on 12/14/2012
  • User6129897 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The event coordinator is very helpful, the church is lovely, everyone on staff is kind, and the food is great.

    Sent on 03/12/2017
  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 04/16/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I had my wedding ceremony and reception at Vermilionville in April 2016, and it was absolutely perfect! Millicent helped us plan out all of the details, and made sure the day ran smoothly for us. We had about 130 guests, which totally filled the chapel and and for the reception allowed plenty of room for dancing. The food was delicious, and there was never a line at the bar. The venue is gorgeous, there were so many cute places to take pictures. We had a few miscommunications during the planning process, but everything was resolved quickly, and our day went smoothly. I loved that Vermilionville had almost everything we needed -- no need to rent tables and chairs or linens separately, it's all provided by the venue, which helped make planning a breeze. Since they do weddings almost every weekend, Millicent and the whole team are pros -- I would highly recommend Vermilionville to other couples.

    Sent on 06/25/2016
  • M

    Maddie · Married on 04/22/2017

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We had our wedding at Vermilionville April 2017, everything was so beautiful and went very smoothly. Many of our guests said it was the best wedding food they've ever had, and it really was amazing! We had a lot of out of town guests, and Vermilionville was a unique and fun setting for them and a beautiful backdrop for photos. Millicent, the coordinator, was amazing on the day of. She was there every step of the way, making sure the groom and I had a blast. She was also really helpful while we were planning the wedding from several states away. With the catering, plus beer and wine on the house, we felt the pricing was fair and competitive with other vendors we had looked at.

    Sent on 05/23/2017
  • User2993612 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Overall good experience. Wish there was a typed up menu that included prices for food items. Facility was beautiful and day of everyone was great.

    Sent on 04/12/2014
  • R

    Rachelle · Married on 05/12/2012

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    The food was fantastic.

    Caution: This may be long. :)

    We booked this venue in June of 2011 after I decided i wanted a rustic/ vintage style wedding that symbolized our Louisiana heritage. I loved the venue. The chapel is all white wood and very cute. My family absolutely loved it. The performance center is all wood inside as well with a stage and it was the perfect size for my 200 guests. We decorated it with pinks, greens, and whites.

    We ate at the restaurant on site to test out the food before we put down a deposit because food is very important to us. Everything tasted wonderful and we were not disappointed on our wedding day. The food was fantastic and they made us to-go plates when we left. They even gave us the left-over food to take home, the only stipulation was that we had to bring our own tupperware... not a big deal.

    As far as my professionalism rating, I have two issues. We were forced to pay a sound tech fee even though our DJ had all of the equipment but we agreed to it because he also adjusted the lights for us to be pink, saving us from renting uplighting for our wedding. The guy shows up and he is wearing jeans, an old shirt, and a hat. I though he would just adjust the lights and leave, but he lingered around forever. He stayed the entire night and was trying to have a conversation with my DJ (who I found out later didn't even know the guy) and he stood out like a sore thumb next to all the nicely dressed people. The point was that he was keeping my DJ from doing his job with BS about why he needs to be there and he looked super sloppy. Also, there was one other worker that was there working on maintenance around the property and he came in the reception center looking for our catering coordinator. He was dirty and looked like he had been drinking. Thank god she pushed him out immediately.

    Responsiveness- sometimes it was hard to get in touch with our catering coordinator. Thankfully, we never had any real issues, otherwise it would have been a major problem. We rented the bridal suite and it came with bottled water, and a sandwich/fruit/ veggie tray (enough for 10-15 ppl). We thought this was amazing because normally brides and wedding party forget to eat. Around 2 pm, an hour before pictures, my girls were hungry and I had asked for the tray three times. Finally, I walked over to the restaurant and asked for it. The staff said, "You haven't gotten it yet?" Obviously not if I'm there. They handed it to me and told me they made it an hour ago. It was ridiculous that I, the bride, had to go get it. I had so many other things to worry about, but my girls were not going to go hungry.

    The responsiveness and professionalism forced me to give the overall quality of service 3 stars.

    Overall, I would recommend the venue. The issues I faced could have been avoided if I had known before hand. If you are looking at this venue, it really is great and I loved it.

    Sent on 05/29/2012

    Vermilionville's reply:

    Thank you for your response. We apologize for any dissatisfaction you had with our venue, and we will certainly take your comments into consideration. We do require a sound tech to be present if our sound/light board is to be used. We have changed wedding/catering coordinators since the time of your wedding, and she is available to address wedding needs daily except Monday. We hope to see you at Vermilionville in the future!
  • J

    Julie · Married on 01/17/2009

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    A quaint place for a wedding at a great cost. The food and atmosphere was great.

    Sent on 05/28/2009
  • User4538405 · 2+ years ago

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    To start off, Vermilionville is a beautiful venue all of why I chose it. The staff and food were excellent! Guest praised them and the food! My main problems and disappointments reside with the one, the only one, whom weddings are coordinated through at Vermilionville. The coordinator was often difficult to get in touch with. I paid for a rehearsal to practice timing for the ceremony in which the coordinator was responsible for keeping time and of course timing was off during the ceremony which may seem trivial; however, as the bride I was extremely distracted and off put by that instead of being in the moment . At rehearsal two days prior, the Ushers, as well as the coordinator, were handed a seating chart for reserved seating. I also had a table reserved for the flower girls and ring bearers with colors and coloring books to keep them busy. Well, I was extremely embarrassed to find out that one of my honored guest were told to sit at the kids table by the coordinator. I'm certain it was an honest mistake however the coordinator not only had copies of the seating chart, but could have asked one of the ushers if uncertain. Although highly disappointed about a portions of the ceremony, would I use Vermilionville again? Absolutely.

    Sent on 11/10/2014

    Vermilionville's reply:

    Hello! We're so pleased that you and your guests were overall pleased with your wedding experience at Vermilionville and that you would use us again. We appreciate your feedback, and we want to address your concerns! We do provide one of the most cost-effective wedding packages for its value in the area, but we see how being a small staff can bring up issues. We will review these issues and see what we can do to improve. Thanks so much!
  • F

    Tiffany · Married on 10/16/2010

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    It turned out really nicely however during the planning process the events cord was not wanting to be helpful and a few times she said some things that you just should never say to a stressed bride.

    Sent on 11/26/2010

    Vermilionville's reply:

    Thank you for your response. We apologize for any dissatisfaction you had with our venue, and we will certainly take your comments into consideration. We have changed wedding/catering coordinators since the time of your wedding, and we think you will find her quite helpful and professional. We hope to see you at Vermilionville in the future!
  • User4205974 · 2+ years ago

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    We had both our Ceremony AND Reception here, and it was kind of a nightmare. The event coordinator was never available to speak to OR meet with. They are NOT accommodating AT ALL. There was another wedding booked at the same time as our rehearsal. And, on the day of our wedding, we were told we couldn't be in the Performance Center between 1pm - 3pm (our ceremony started @ 5pm) because they had a "jam session" scheduled (which ran a bit late). Mind you, our wedding had been booked for that day for over a YEAR beforehand. HALF of the reception hall couldn't be decorated until an HOUR AND A HALF before our ceremony was scheduled to start. They were completely unprofessional and unaccommodating. I will say that the staff (servers, etc.) were VERY nice and did their job well. The venue is beautiful, and the food was awesome. I do not recommend dealing with the people who run things, however. As a bride with enough stress on her plate, it was NOT something I needed that day. Everything panned out ok, though. Our wedding was beautiful and we had a blast at our reception, and are just happy to be married :)

    Sent on 06/26/2014