Val's Weddings Reviews

19 | Punta Cana, DO
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Val's Weddings

Recommended by 75% of couples

3.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.8
  • Professionalism 3.8
  • Flexibility 3.9
  • Value 3.8
  • Average response time 3.4

Awards

19
Order by:
  • A

    Angel · Married on 09/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Wedding was September 26th , With the help of Vals Wedding Team It was Everything I Dreamed of, I'm so Happy that I found their Website Everything was Absolutely Perfect & Beyond Beautiful, Thank You Val & Team ??

    Sent on 09/29/2016
  • A

    Angelika · Married on 09/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dear Val !
    You and yours team make our dreams comes true !
    Was such amazing : beach, trio band, photographer, decorations, parrots, place and same like you said including weather !!! We love you and your great team
    You're absolutely perfect
    Our wedding day was absolutely the most beautiful one of our life, Thank You so much ??????

    Sent on 10/02/2016
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 09/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're loooking for the BEST wedding planner look no further. Val and her team are TRULY AMAZING!

    My husband and I chose to have a destination wedding and then have a larger religious ceremony back in the states at a later date. We were hesitant to plan a ceremony from a different country, but found Val's wedding and we felt confident our day would be perfect!
    Like many brides I have dreamed of my wedding day since I was a little girl... I couldn't have dreamed up a more perfect day!
    We contacted Val just a few months before our desired wedding date and despite the short time frame to plan the wedding of our dreams Val took on the challenge... and it was a challenge. I want to be honest about the challenge because planning a wedding is no easy task, complicate that with coordinating from different countries and add in the fact that I am a self-proclaimed perfectionist and control freak! Anyone that knows me well- knows that I've dreamed of my wedding and wished for it to be perfect. I am a wedding planners worst nightmare and although I tried hard not to be "bridezilla" I can assure you I absolutely was a bridezilla at times. Val took this all in stride. She calmed my fears and constantly assured me that our day would be perfect.
    We chose a Beauty and The Beast inspired wedding (my handsome 6'9 "Beast" proposed at Be our Guest castle in Disney World- and calls me his Beauty/Belle-sigh- swoon).
    Val took our inspiration and transformed it into a fairytale that we will never forget.
    Our photographer and videographer were brilliant and captured every moment of our dream day.
    Words can't express our gratitude and our joy! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts Val and team- you out did yourselves with our fairytale wedding!

    Sent on 11/10/2016
  • C

    Christina · Married on 12/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys have arranged a perfect wedding for us in Punta Cana. I was very happy with our communication via email - no delays or misunderstandings at all. Maria, our wedding panner, was so nice and helpful! We were able to customise the service package to our personal needs and in no way they tried to sell any extra things to us.

    Besides, we appreciated how flexible they were about shifting the day of our ceremony. Our flight to Punta Cana got delayed and we knew the exact arrival date at the very last moment. We were worried the agency wouldn't be able to change the date but they resolved the issue in no time!

    And the ceremony itself was out of this world with an incredible arch (that looked exactly liked the photo inspiration I'd found), a beautiful bouquet, yummy cupcakes and overall amazing decor. The team did a great job and working with them was the best decision!

    Sent on 12/28/2015
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 12/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Val and her team are UNREAL!! Being a full-time doctor studying for a board exam, I needed to find someone who I could trust with making our destination wedding everything we had ever imagined without having to worry about quality and vision...and boy did she deliver. From the second I emailed her, she replied quickly and with genuine enthusiasm. She was a pleasure to work with, and really delivered on making our vision a reality. Even though we were in different countries and time-zones during the planning process, it sure didn't feel like it. Val's communication, professionalism, experience, quality work and enthusiasm for pushing the envelope in wedding decor is unbeatable. When we walked into our wedding, we and our guests felt like were were in a fairy tale. Val truly made us a magical wedding. If you are looking to have the paradise wedding of your dreams, you have to hire Val's Weddings!!!

    Sent on 01/16/2016
  • R

    Ryan · Married on 10/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For anyone planning a tropical destination wedding, I highly recommend Vals Weddings! Their entire team is highly professional, extremely personal, and they make it clear that their customers are their priority. After enjoying Val and Maria's warm personality and close attention to detail on every matter, I made the comment that I felt as though I was a high priority. Val politely smiled and corrected me when she said "You are not our highest priority, you are our only priority!"

    This team is top notch in every category and they made our dream wedding possible. I would also highly recommend their photographer and videographer. It was an extra $550 for the wedding "movie" and although this seemed a little high, I could not have been more thrilled with the result! It took a little over a month to compose, but their team put something together that looked right out of Hollywood. They are happy to send you samples if interested...you might even see our special day:)

    Sent on 01/25/2016
  • L

    Leslie · Married on 09/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married in Punta Cana in September 2015. I can not say enough good things about Vals Weddings!!! Val and her team made the whole wedding planning process super easy. I was nervous at first because all planning was done through email and Skype. The day I arrived in Punta Cana all of my worries were gone when Maria met with us at our resort. She made us feel at ease and went through the schedule one more time with us. Maria planned a BEAUTIFUL and romantic ceremony on a secluded beach. Maria was there the whole time, helping with my dress, rings, pouring us some champagne after the ceremony etc. She made the day perfect. :) The beach had a nice dock, wooden row boat, swing, and fence on it which gave us a great background for our pictures. Denis, our photographer, was so great. He made us feel extremely comfortable and took some amazing pictures. We got our pictures a week after we got home from our trip. Worth the short wait, all 200 pictures turned out amazing. My hair and make up was done at a place called Diamond Spa. Very nice salon, they did a great job. I highly recommend using Vals Weddings as your destination wedding planner!

    Sent on 01/02/2016
  • S

    Stefanie · Married on 07/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding on a private beach with Maria in July and we have to say it was AMAZING! The decoration, the styling, the food, the photographer (Denis), the rest of the team, everything was just perfect! We can completely recommend everyone to have their wedding with Vals wedding! Thank you again for making this day so special!!!

    Sent on 08/09/2015
  • M

    Maria · Married on 10/16/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I decided to use Val and her team for my October 2016 wedding in the Dominican Republic. I can't express enough how happy I am for using her. She did a fantastic job and made my wedding day truly a day to remember. Val's decor was truly beautiful! We selected a simple package and were very pleased with the results. She has a keen eye for detail that makes everything so cohesive. When it came to the day of, everything ran like a well-oiled machine and worked flawlessly. There was nothing for us to worry about down to the smallest detail. When we had a question, every one of her workers knew exactly what to do or answer. As a bride, I had no idea what I wanted but Val knows how to anticipate your needs and makes sure you get what you want. I think she is mind reader! :) It was also nice to have someone on the island who spoke perfect English so there was nothing lost in translation. The only thing that might have been difficult was timely communications, but in the end I could not have been happier with the results. She went ABOVE and BEYOND on every aspect of my wedding. When she had trouble finding something we wanted, she never gave up and made sure it happened. We felt she exceeded expectations with some of our requests and I feel it truly made the difference between a good wedding and an amazing wedding. My advice to a future bride is to trust her, she knows what she is doing and will make sure you remember your day for years to come.

    Sent on 12/13/2016
  • J

    Jordan · Married on 07/04/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding: July 4, 2016 @ Palapa Juanillo Beach in Punta Cana

    On January 1, 2016, my love asked me to be his wife. On January 4, I was already exchanging emails and chatting on the phone with the lovely Valerie Sergienko. I can't say enough amazing things about Val, Luiciana, and the rest of the team. I knew I loved Val from our first call - her personality is wonderful, she's bubbly, funny, and an absolute joy to be around. As someone who had never visited Punta Cana, I knew I couldn't plan our own wedding and wasn't interested in a run-of-the-mill resort wedding. Val's Weddings allows you to choose a venue, and then they handle it from there (as much as you want them to handle it). Wedding planning was stress-free for me because Val and team handled everything. There were times that communication was tough and took a little longer than expected, but it didn't make an impact on our overall experience.

    I was worried about hair and makeup, as most brides usually do trials, but Val chose an amazing make-up artist/stylist (Olga Kislitsina) for my bridal party. Luiciana picked me and my husband up the first day were in the DR to take us for a wedding dinner taste test - the food was fabulous - and to show us around Palapa Juanillo.

    When it came to the wedding, everything fell into place and the decor was out-of-this-world amazing - more beautiful than I ever imagined. Val put so much thought and detail into every single part of our wedding. Our guests continue to rave about our big day, saying it was "the most beautiful and 'Pinterest-worthy' wedding" - a testament to Val and her team's incredible talent.

    If you want the wedding of your dreams - choose Val's Weddings. (-:



    Sent on 08/13/2016
  • J

    Jillian · Married on 08/19/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We met with Val last Sept 2014 in Punta Cana as my husband and I were there to look at venues/resorts for our upcoming wedding in Aug 2015. It is hard not to love Val, with her easy going attitude, her affection laughter and knowledge in the wedding world. She showed us two venues and we fell in love with the fist one and we knew that was it! We discussed the things we could as our wedding was still so far away. Through out the months leading to our wedding we would exchange e-mails every here and there and try to sort things out over line. The only reason we gave Val a 3.5 with Responsiveness was because it did take her a while to respond back to you through e-mails, even the following weeks leading up to our wedding. However, once I got her on Whatapps she reposed so much quicker. Val, saved us as we did have a wedding scare... 5 weeks till we were suppose to fly down to Punta Cana to get married the venue we have chosen went under constructions and we were no longer able to get married there! Even before Val told us this horrible news she ended up getting another location for us and promised it would be even better than the last! When we arrived to Punta Cana Val picked us up a few days before the wedding, showed us the venue ….amazing!!! and we went over every single detail and we were set at ease and excited for our big day. On our big day, the girls arrived to the venue earlier. Val and her team had an amazing Mimosa bar set up in our room and she always checked in on us to see how we were doing and was very hospitable. The decor.... the best decor I have ever seen at a wedding and I was so happy it was my wedding! Everything I wanted was there, the details... on my all the little details that her and her team did! All the guests were blown away and are still talking about how our wedding was the best they ever been to! Val and her team went above and beyond and I am so happy we chosen her! PS: The One crazy hour show is a must!

    Sent on 09/17/2015
  • T

    Trisha · Married on 09/27/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Never worry about the limited communication, what Val lacks in communication, she more than makes up for in everything else! We couldn't have dreamed of anything more amazing!

    Sent on 10/06/2016
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 03/19/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I first found Val doing a google search and when I saw she did a Wizard of Oz themed wedding I was sold!!! That is my all time favorite movie!!!

    Being a perfectionist, control freak, and slightly OCD this was a terrifying 13+ months of planning. But Val and her team were always so understanding of my fears and in the end EVERYTHING was amazing.

    After every location we originally wanted was not available Val showed us one last place - La Yola!!! PERFECT setting, food was amazing -- our guests wanted seconds!! The beach (La Cana Beach Club) we had our ceremony on was beautiful, the weather was perfect.

    Val and her team are so much fun to be around, love to party, have a great eye for decorations, and to the point, no fluff (which I love!!). Your day will be everything you dreamed of when you let Val's Weddings handle it.

    Thank you again for everything and making March 19, 2016 the best day ever!!! xoxo

    Check out our wedding video at: bit.ly/milburns

    Sent on 07/12/2016
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 12/03/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I did not actually use Vals wedding for my wedding decor but I am writing a review because I was close to using Vals weddings. Only reason I couldnt was because my hotel venue would charge an extra fee for using an unapproved vendor for decor. For a few months I did communicate and I received quick responses and professional. The selection of decor looked beautiful and reasonable pricing for weddings which are just not cheap. i would recommend Vals weddings just from the customer service I received from inquiring, she was also willing to accommodate with some things so I could be able to have my dream wedding but my hotel venue was being difficult and overcharging. I am sure Vals Weddings will deliver as promised!

    Sent on 03/11/2017
  • Y

    Yoly · Married on 09/03/2016

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    What unfolded the day of my wedding is a bride's worst nightmare, and I wish I had more space here to post my entire review. To summarize, Val's Weddings double booked itself and coordinated two weddings on the same day, without telling me, and was not at my wedding. I recently learned she did the EXACT same thing to another bride the day before my wedding. Please e-mail me yolymmendoza@gmail.com for the complete review, but here is a summary of all that went wrong:
    1. Val, our coordinator was not present at the wedding.
    2. No bistro lights decorated the ceiling of the tent, which we paid $575 for.
    3. Our wedding colors were gold, navy blue and green. Charger plates were silver, and not gold. We also decided on rattan charger plates, not gold.
    4. Cocktail hour appetizers were late and almost never served.
    5. Photo booth sign said “Yolanda and Manuel” and not “Yoly and Alex”.
    6. The wedding was still being set up when we arrived to Juanillo at 4:30pm.
    7. As I was walking down the aisle towards Alex I noticed that the wedding was still being set up, at around 5:15pm. Val’s promise that everything would be set up well before ceremony time was unfulfilled.
    8. We had to pay an additional $220 in vendor fees for getting ready at Now because the bridal suite was not 100% complete, as promised when we signed our contract with Val’s.
    9. Cake cutting was never announced as per our reception timeline and we ended up having the waiters cut the cake at midnight, when half of our guests were gone.
    10. There was no “love” sign as promised.
    11. No apps on the sweetheart table.
    12. No ceviche on three of the 14 tables.
    13. Dinner was served so late that the food was served cold and there were no warming devices used. Just cold food. This is really too bad because the food was absolutely delicious, and should not take away from the amazing work the chef at Juanillo does.
    14. Vendor table was the closest table to the sweetheart table.

    Sent on 09/17/2016
  • M

    Mildred · Married on 07/17/2017

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    This wedding planner is a fraud. She took my deposit and did not provide any services. Stay away from her!!!

    Sent on 06/07/2017
  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 05/18/2017

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I have been waiting a very long time to write this. I only write this review now because my wedding is now over and I was afraid of any backlash or retaliation. Where do I begin? I contacted Val back in September 2015 to coordinate our destination wedding. She didn't respond until October 2015..a month later and I should've known then we would have a lot of issues. I am not one to write negative reviews but I do believe the stress she put me under warrants at least a warning. I can go into further depth, but I would have to say her saving grace was recommending us to Mayte. If you are a bride to be I would highly recommend you contact Mayte and look at all her social media under "WeddingsbyMayte". Mayte was God send and went above and beyond to make sure she made up for what Val did to us. Val left us high and dry 3 months before our big day. You could only imagine the hurt and stress we were under. It is not right to play with people's emotions and money. I had just recently lost my father so it was hard enough to plan this without him.

    I did receive an email from Val explaining the situation, but I really hope Val never goes into the planning business again. I would never recommend her.

    Sent on 05/22/2017
  • J

    J. · Married on 11/11/2016

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    OK WOW where do I start. First off... The good is that she is SUPER DUPER responsive... especially when you first reach out and are shopping for a vendor. She does everything right to earn your trust... and then the day comes... and that ALLLLLL goes away.

    I would give her ZERO stars but I will give something for responsiveness and speediness to CAPTURE your dream wedding (contract) and then spit it back at you when she disappears along with those dreams. She ruined my wedding and I am just coming to terms with that. She stole my day, and regardless of how impressive her pictures or reviews or anything looked at one time... she is no longer that same vendor after September 2016.

    Turns out she was winding down her business for sale. And took on some last weddings on a skeletal crew just to make as much as she could before leaving to another country. Leaving us high and dry. I bit the bullet, paid for all the things I wanted, only to get a bare bones wedding. Had it not been for a photographer and the hotel, we would have had nothing to remember.

    I went with her because of the amazing warehouse of quality decor items that didn't seem readily available in the DR. I am in the USA and have a certain idea of what a nice wedding should look like. If you are a North American bride with N. American tastes - she will promise that because she is not Dominican. She understands the needs and makes you feel like she has just what you are looking for. Her pinterest even used photos to seem amazing, but they aren't her photos! And she will use pinterest to show you what she can deliver... then she won't. And its too late at that point. Look up rip off report. Look at other brides after September 2016. I am still actively trying to get money back from this gross bait & switch. This is illegal.

    Please do not be another victim.

    Sent on 03/20/2017
  • D

    Dalia · Married on 09/02/2016

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I'm not surprised Vals Weddings went out of business a few months after my wedding. I had a destination wedding and hired Val as my wedding planner the reviews looked good the work looked great on her webpage. We had over 6 months to plan for our wedding and in that short amount of time had 4 different wedding coordinators and every time I had to start the planning all over again. The lack of communication was unprofessional, I was able to plan for about 2 months and then a Brides worst nightmare happened Val decided to fire the wedding coordinator a week before the wedding!!!! Val contacted me and said she would be taking over the entire wedding and would be ATTENDING the wedding and she had all of the planning from the last planner so that there was nothing to worry about. That made me worry even more.
    The messed up part is that she has NOT REFUNDED me my money for 2 of the items. Here is a list of everything that went wrong:
    1. The transportation from hotel to venue got lost didn't get clear directions from Val.
    2. When we got to the Venue found out Val would not be there she had a "Family Emergency" and didn't bother to tell us
    3. The bridal suite was a mess it was being used as a storage room, we had to wait for them to clean it up.
    4. The beach shore was not cleaned like Val said it would be, it was dirty with seaweed everywhere.
    5. Ordered a dove release but there was no doves, Val didn't have doves for us.
    6. I ordered all real flowers and my bridal bouquet was about 70% made with fake flowers.
    7. No wedding cake- Val totally dropped the ball on this.
    8. I ordered Sparklers for the first dance and there was no sparklers.
    9. I ordered 3 large chandeliers and they never arrived.
    10. We wanted flower peddles down the aisle and there was no flowers
    11. Microphone at the ceremony kept going off and on totally ruining the romantic setting we wanted.
    12. Wedding Planner Val missed the entire wedding.

    Sent on 02/14/2017