Valerie brooks Reviews

15 | Pittsburgh, PA
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for Valerie brooks

Recommended by 80% of couples

4.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.7
  • Professionalism 3.8
  • Flexibility 4.1
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 3.9

Awards

15

1 User photo

Order by:
  • JordynKing

    Jordyn · Married on 08/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Quality!

    Loved working with Valerie. She knew exactly what I wanted and it all turned out amazing! I am so happy with the quality of the flowers and the service.

    Sent on 08/10/2019
  • J

    Julia · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The flowers were absolutely perfect!! She made my centerpieces look exactly how I wanted them to! She was also so quick to respond in emails, which eased my mind!! I would definitely recommend her to all of my friends!! :)

    Sent on 09/17/2017
  • User4573919 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Val is super sweet and helpful!! We met with her at Panera bread to go over flowers and she was so helpful, organized, friendly, and very accommodating. I'm excited for her to do our flowers for our wedding! :-D This is something she loves to do and cuts out the overhead charges that the florist will charge.

    Sent on 06/29/2015
  • N

    Nina · Married on 08/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Val did an amazing job with my wedding flowers. I couldn't have asked for more. The flowers were extremely high quality and exactly what I wanted. She was so accommodating and kind. I felt that she went above and beyond in every respect. Her prices are also unbeatable. I highly recommend her to any bride!

    Sent on 10/04/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Valerie is AMAZING!! She created my floral arrangements, bouquets and boutonnières based on my explanation of what I had envisioned for my wedding. The end result was breathtaking! I wanted to design each centerpiece and brought all of the items (which were ALOT) to Val- explained my ideas and gave her the items. She went to the venue and set EVERYTHING up and then hand delivered my flowers to me with a HUGE smile and hug waiting. She brought me to happy tears !

    Val went ABOVE AND BEYOND as a florist and was everything I could ever want!

    Val was so reasonable about her prices I couldn't believe the incredible price for such high quality!

    Please use her for all of your wedding and flower needs- you will NOT regret your choice!

    Sent on 08/11/2014
  • H

    HEATHER · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Val was great to work with. Very flexible and responsive. She was very knowledgable with flowers and gave great ideas. The flowers were beautiful!!! They were just perfect! What more can I say.....

    Sent on 07/29/2014
  • N

    Nina · Married on 11/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm not quite sure the circumstances that surrounded the negative reviews listed below, but Val was professional and great each time I met or talked to her regarding my event.

    Everything was exactly as we discussed. Every time I called her, she either answered or got back to me within 24 hours. She made me sample bouquets so, I'd know how exactly they'd be. The color wasn't to my liking, so she was able to change the color and we got the color as expected. The altar flowers for the church were absolutely beautiful!

    Also, she did the centerpieces for my reception. They were exactly as I expect them to be with floating gerber daisies.

    To be honest, after I read the negative reviews below, I was close to cancelling on Val.. However, I'm glad I talked to her because everything was gorgeous. I will have photos for anyone who is feeling apprehensive or has doubts with Val. I've had 2 other friends who used her and had great experiences as well. I'd recommend her without question!

    Sent on 12/03/2013
  • N

    Nikole · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't believe the negative reviews for Val! My heart goes out to the women who have had floral disappointments for their wedding, but luckily I had an amazing experience with Val. When we met I showed her pictures of what I was interested in and she immediately got out her book of flowers so we could pick some specific colors and types to use in our bouquets and arrangements. I am extremely picky and it can be hard to meet my standards, but what Val created far exceeded my expectations! My wedding was in August 2013.

    Sent on 07/08/2017
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect! Val works from home and doesn't upcharge like other florists do. Before I called her, I had talked to a few other places that quoted me between $1500 and $2300 for what I wanted. When I talked to her, she quoted me $775. For all roses. She's so sweet also, and always gets back to you immediately.

    Sent on 10/09/2012
  • User4277887 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used Valerie for my flowers after a friend had used her as her florist the year before. I was completely blown away by what she was able to accomplish on such a small budget. She used my ivory, gold, peach, coral color scheme and ran with it. It was absolutely gorgeous. The centerpieces were still lovely a week later. She gifted me the two altar arrangements and their vases at the end of the night. She also made some smaller arrangements for the rehearsal dinner at my mother in law's request and then brought them to the venue the next day to line the staircase, and it all matched very well. She brought the vases and votive holders and came back after the reception in time to pick them up before we had to be out of the facility. Best of all, her prices were about 1/3 of other estimates I received. She can afford that because she does this out of her home with her mother for her own pleasure. No huge mark-ups, but incredible quality. She was my secret star and you will love her!

    Sent on 05/30/2015
  • S

    stevie · Married on 08/05/2017

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR! CHEAP PRICES MEANS THE FLOWERS WILL BE DEAD BY THE END OF NIGHT IF NOT SOONER! I ONLY GAVE HER A 3 BECAUSE THE CENTERPIECES DID LOOK NICE. I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE QUALITY OF THE FLOWERS FOR THE BOUQUETS, BOUTINEERS, AND CORSAGES. ALSO, THE ORDER WAS MESSED UP (WRONG COLOR AND WRONG QUANTITY OF BOUTINEER AND CORSAGE).

    Sent on 09/05/2017

    Valerie brooks's reply:

    Flowers provided were fresh hydrangeas do not hold well on a.very warm day for an outside wedding not in water for some time. Boutineer a were yellow not white when dropped off at venue flowers were asked to be placed in cooler as the room they were to be placed in was warm they had not turned air conditioning on
  • User2358319 · 2+ years ago

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Val is extremely responsive and her prices are unbeatable. Unfortunately she does not deliver what she promises. I had met with her several times prior to my wedding to discuss flowers and centerpieces. She always assured me she could provide the flowers and the "look" i was going for. She even went as far as to provide me with a "sample" centerpiece so I would know exactly what I was getting.

    Unfortunately on the day of the wedding, I walked into my reception area to find that the centerpieces were nothing like I had ordered. Not only were they not the flowers we had discussed, it was not the cascading firework look i had asked for. Val provided no explanation nor did she call or email me prior to let me know that she couldn't provide me with the flowers i had ordered. Needless to say, I was extremely disappointed and would not recommend her services. All she had to do was call to let me know there was an issue and provide me with my alternative options, not let me walk blindsided into a reception that had centerpieces I was not expecting nor liked.

    Sent on 06/13/2013
  • User3507530 · 2+ years ago

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    We were recommended Val and she was great to meet with and offered plenty of great ideas. We decided to book her and were very excited. This is the last time that we were excited about it.

    It went straight downhill after we booked her. It was very hard to get a hold of her and we actually were in the dark for about 3 months up until 1 week before the wedding. Once we finally met with her for our final meeting she assured us that everything would be perfect and she had it covered. This is when we gave her 6 other centerpieces that we had bought separately for the wedding that matched what we were doing perfectly.

    Then the day of the wedding came and we walked into the reception and were blindsided by what the centerpieces looked like. Similar to what the previous reviewer said.

    1) She didn't even bring the centerpieces that we paid for on the side. So that was $200 that was wasted.

    2) The centerpieces were nothing like what was discussed and we didn't even like them. They were supposed to have flowers floating in water and there was no water in any of them. This made them look very cheap.

    3) We were supposed to have flowers cascading down the cake. Val said this would not be a problem, but on the day of the wedding she refused to do it. It made the $1,000 cake look very bland.

    All of these combined make me wish we just spent the extra to go with a florist who does it as their real job. She really dropped the ball and we were severely disappointed.

    Sent on 09/03/2013
  • User2566558 · 2+ years ago

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Just want to update that I attempted to reach Val about the centerpieces she had me bring to her house that she never brought to my wedding... after 25 or so phone calls I still have been ignored. She stole $200 worth of pre-made centerpieces from me. I truly regret trusting this person. I urge you all to beware and to always get contracts in writing when working with freelancers.

    Sent on 03/30/2015
  • User3556941 · 2+ years ago

    1.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    IT WAS A SCAM! DISASTER! Beware, she completely ruined our wedding. She is not responsible at all, and now is dodging our phone calls to try and get our pre-made centerpieces back.

    Reasons to not book Val:
    1) She is IMPOSSIBLE to reach once you book her, even the week of our wedding
    2) She brought the wrong colored flowers
    3) She didn't make the centerpieces even close to what we had talked about.


    I could go on and on....just BEWARE she is trying to scam you out of your money.

    Sent on 09/24/2013