Skip to main content
Weddings

UPDO'S BY ANN Reviews

UPDO'S BY ANN

UPDO'S BY ANN

Boston, MA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 22 Reviews
View more information

22 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • User2481868 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    And did the hair for me and my bridal party also the mothers of the bride and groom. She was able to do hair from my 10 year old daughter up to my 60 year old mother in law. She was absolutely amazing and she created hairstyles that lasted from 10 o'clock in the morning all the way until 1 o'clock in the morning. Everybody loves their hair and she was so much fun to work with
  • M
    Melissa Married on 05/23/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Annie is amazing - others have commented on her "bedside manner." Its true. She will help you figure out what you *really* want done - an amazing listener. She is a perfect stylist for your big day - she works until she gets it right and is awesome with the entire group you are with! My hair is VERY curly. Annie created a beautiful elegant style and managed my hair amazingly well. It didn't move all night but looked soft - people are still commenting on my hair! I am so glad I chose her! Hire Annie!
  • Natalie
    Natalie Married on 11/15/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Annie is such a talented hair stylist and made me feel so beautiful on my wedding day!

    Annie was patient with me and listed to exactly what I wanted for each hair trial (I scheduled 2 because I was uncertain on how to wear my hair!)

    On wedding day, she delivered exactly what I wanted. She also styled my mother and sister's hair and they said they never felt more beautiful!

    If you want your hair to look and feel amazing on your wedding day, Annie is your girl!

  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Katelyn Married on 07/12/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't say enough great things about Annie's talent and neither can my mother or my 11 bridesmaids that had the honor of working with her! I had a pretty large wedding party and Annie was able to accommodate for all of us, making all of us feel beautiful, calm and confident! As the bride, I was nervous about how anxious I would get sitting in the chair while getting my hair done, but instead I felt extremely calm and at peace. It's been over three months since my big day and I still hear from bridesmaids and wedding guests how wonderful my wedding party looked and how awesome everyone's hair was. I highly recommend Updo's by Ann!
  • User1672532 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Anne was amazing. She is so amazingly talented, had great bedside manner and made all of us look absolutely stunning, I would highly recommend her to any bride.
  • C
    Catie Married on 06/22/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What a lucky find Annie was for my wedding day. She brought experience, skill, and expertise that contributed far beyond the amazing hair styling she provided for myself, my mother, and my five bridesmaids.

    From the time I met Annie at my trial, I knew she was just right for me. She spent so much time with me that night experimenting, adjusting, and feeling out the right hairstyle for me based on my thoughts and ideas, while offering suggestions and ideas based upon those ideas. By the time I was leaving I had no idea how much time had passed! This commitment and support for me, as a bride, was there throughout the entire process.

    When it came to planning the day, Ann helped piece together a solid schedule that provided ample time to work on each one of us. Like the night I met her, she worked with my mother and my bridesmaids to find the right hairstyles for them. She worked quickly and efficiently, working within the timeframe she had laid out, and producing absolutely breathtaking looks for all of my girls! I cannot express how beautiful they all looked.

    After doing my hair and the finishing touches for everyone, Annie did not just pack up and go. She was there to help me get into the dress, offering suggestions on how to best do it, and lend a helping hand. At one point she was down on her hands and knees on the floor in order to help me with something like slipping into my shoes!

    What an incredible asset she was to the day. Her goal is not just to make you and your wedding party look and feel beautiful, but to help the day run smoothly from planning the schedule ahead of time to helping you get out the door and on your way!

    I should also mention- pricewise, Annie offers competitive and very fair rates. These rates even included travel to my hotel that day!

    I cannot say enough great things about Ann. She is absolutely incredible and I will be forever grateful for all that she brought to my wedding day. I am so glad I found her!
  • A
    Anne Married on 06/08/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Annie was recommended to us for our wedding day by Ligia (Makeovers by Ligia). I am SO thankful that we found this duo to come do our hair and makeup for the day of our wedding. Annie is incredibly talented and made every person's hair flawless and exactly the way they wanted it. I'm very particular about my hair and was wary about updos from previous experiences. Annie squashed all those concerns during our trial a month and a half before our wedding where she made my wife and I's hair look exactly like we dreamt it would. And she did the same (but somehow BETTER) on our wedding day. She was even able to incorporate a vintage hair comb for my wife, and a picasso lillie for me, in our hair styles that we didn't have for the trail...and of course, did so perfectly and without skipping a beat. She made everyone look and feel beautiful. And even worked to give my niece's hair some fresh curls and hair spray to keep it looking adorable for her flower girl appearance down the aisle at the last minute.

    Annie is wonderful and if you want someone to make your hair look amazing, come to your hotel/home so you don't have to travel on the morning of your wedding, she is your woman. Hire her!
  • C
    Chonti Married on 05/25/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ann was so wonderful. I had a 50's themed wedding and I wanted myself and the bridemaids to have our hair in 50's style also. Ann was recommended by a friend. i searched high and low to find someone that would be willing to take on the challenge of my theme. Not only did she exceed my expectations with our hair, but she was fun to work with, and was also affordable. She was on time, and finished our hair on time. It was such a pleasure to work with her. I HIGHLY recommend her.
  • Keri
    Keri Married on 09/15/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ann did a great job on me, my daughter & my bridesmaids hair for my wedding on 9/15//12. She showed up on time & everyone LOVED their hair. I changed my mind on how wanted my hair a week before the wedding & she had no problem replicating exactly what I wanted!! I have extremely thick hair so it takes a special person to be able to work with my hair...let me just say that Ann is amazing at what she does! She can literally look at a photo of what you want & replicate it!! She was so nice to work with & we all had a great time getting ready. Thanks Ann for your great work!! Highly recommend Ann!
  • Bridget
    Bridget Married on 08/04/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Excellent excellent excellent! Annie did my hair, my mom's hair, and my four bridesmaids hair for my August wedding and despite the heat and humidity - everyone looked flawless through the evening thanks to Annie's expertise and styling! Annie worked with me to get just the look I wanted (even though I didn't even really know what that was!) She also styled my sister's curly hair, my bridesmaid's thick pin-straight hair, and my other bridesmaid's thin doesn't-hold-a-curl hair without blinking an eye!! Everyone looked stunning and absolutely loved their hairstyles!! She also helped calm my nerves and let me leave - in my curlers - to check on the reception set up!! Cannot recommend her highly enough!! Thanks!!!
  • K
    Keely Married on 10/08/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have nothing but fabulous things to say about my whole experience with Ann Walsh!!! I was an out of town bride with a vintage themed wedding including myself, five attendants and two moms. Ann met with me over three months before my wedding and managed to recreate every detail of my trial to perfection. She sculpted my very curly, thin hair into the most beautiful finger waves and handled the varying hair types of my attendant (none of which were like mine...at all!) with ease. She has a glowing personality that added an amazing effervescence to my wedding day and had grace under pressure when day of mishaps occured (like the power going out over three times, due to another wedding prepping across the hall). I highly recommend this extrememly talented woman!
  • M
    Meghan Married on 07/23/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ann did a fabulous job with my hair for my wedding. During my consultation Ann worked with me to get an idea of the style I wanted and showed me different variations to ensure I would get exactly what I wanted.

    On my wedding day Ann delivered exactly as we discussed and my hair stayed in place the whole night. Ann also did the hair for my four bridesmaids and mother. On the spot she worked with each girl to figure out what they and how to best achieve it. She did a great job with my mom, who has short hair, and a bridesmaid who had long, very curly hair.

    Besides her great skills, Ann was so nice to be around the morning of the wedding. She chatted with all the girls and made us feel so at ease. Ann was great to work with and I cannot recommend her enough!!!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 07/09/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ann is AMAZING! I went to three different hair trials and Ann was the only one who was able to do a formal updo! She is incredibly sweet, friendly, and knowledgeable about hair. She is also willing to travel to your location, which was a big plus for me. My fiance and I had to postpone our wedding due to an unforeseen family medical emergency and Ann was completely understanding. However, just from the hair trial alone, I have been recommending her to every wedding vendor and person I know for when they need a formal hairstyle. I highly recommend Updos by Ann for anyone looking for a wedding worthy formal updo!
  • M
    Meghan Married on 06/18/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ann was great to work with! She took a lot of time at my trial to figure out the perfect style and was able to perfect it on my wedding day. She and her assistant were able to get 8 bridesmaids, 2 moms and 1 bride ready to go on time and made everyone look great! She was prompt with her arrival and got right to business. She was very organized and definitely knows what she's doing. She was able to travel to my hotel to help us get ready and was very reasonably priced, even including travel. It was a great experience and I would definitely recommend her to anyone looking for a great hair stylist!
  • User1672623 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Practice session was good, and on the wedding day, I made some change to style and she made it happen!
  • G
    Grace Married on 05/14/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I found Ann through a referral from the makeup artist I chose for the wedding, and from the moment I met her at the trial, I loved her work and her fun and engaging personality. I brought her a photo of what I wanted, and she replicated it pretty much exactly as it was. She's a warm, friendly, and calming presence, and I loved the hair that she did for me and my bridesmaids (and moms) on my wedding day. Highly recommend!
  • D
    Danielle Married on 04/16/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I only met Ann twice, once for my trial run and the day of my wedding. In the few times I meet her, I would have to say that she is one of the nicest, caring and talented people I have ever met. She was patient and understanding on my trial run when I had no idea what I wanted and showed me the 3 different styles I wanted..It was also great that her and the makeup artist came to my house on my wedding day, and took care of me and all 6 of my bridesmaids which was so great that I did not have to travel on my wedding day..For all you brides out there, if you want someone who is talented, professional, and an all around great person, I suggest you definately use Ann on your wedding day!!!!
  • A
    Anne Married on 08/21/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Annie did a great job with my hair, and the hair for my maid of honor, mother-in-law and flower girl. She was easy to work with, and very accommodating. My hair looked great! I would highly recommend Annie's services.
  • K
    Kendra Married on 06/10/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ann did my bridal updo for my wedding day, and I could not be more pleased with her services! She is AMAZING! This woman can work wonders with hair, and she couldn't be more sweet to chat with. During the engagement process, she was easy to communicate with, pleasant in all our exchanges and genuinely excited to get to know me and my story. During the trial she took extra time to ensure I was getting to see different looks so that I could best decide what I wanted, and once the wedding day came I had no worries that it would be absolutely perfect. I get the privilege of photographing weddings for a living and when my brides ask who should do their hair Ann is ALWAYS on the top of the list. She even helped arrange another hair stylist to do my bridesmaid's hair for the wedding. She's the best of the best!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 05/31/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Annie made me feel beautiful! She was accommodating and patient and helped make my wedding photos PERFECTION!
  • A
    Arianne Married on 11/02/2014
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ann is awesome to work with. She has clearly worked with a lot of brides on wedding days and has a ton of knowledge to share. During my trial, she spent a lot of time testing out different things with my hair. She would have spent even longer if I didn't have to go. She has a lot of energy - which is great when you have a lot of ladies that need to get their hair done early in the morning! Highly recommended.
  • M
    Bonnie Married on 06/04/2011
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Updos by Ann did hairstying for 6 of the groom's family. The ages ranged from 24 to 86. Her styles were age appropriate, yet stylish.
    As we were from out of town, she came to our hotel room. When we asked her to do an extra person, she graciously agreed.
    As MOG I wanted my hair to be extra special, and I was not disappointed! I loved the look she gave me, and had many compliments!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message