Unique Events Reviews

328 | Cedar Rapids, IA
See photos, pricing and details

328 Reviews for Unique Events

Recommended by 100%

328
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

10 User photos

Unique Events 1
Unique Events 2
Unique Events 3
Unique Events 4
Unique Events 5
Unique Events 6
Unique Events 7
+ 4
Sort by:
  • M

    Mariah · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Bobby as the DJ for our wedding and he was awesome!! During our meeting, beforehand, he was super helpful picking out a few songs that we hadn't nailed down yet. During the reception he did exactly what we had asked for/hoped for throughout the entire night. The dance floor was full the entire night! We would recommend Bobby to anyone who is looking for an awesome DJ!

    Sent on 10/28/2017
  • D

    Dustin · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys were absolutely awesome. We booked them for both their DJ service and up lighting and had zero regrets. We had so many compliments on the lighting and the music/flow of the night. Travis, our DJ, was fantastic. He did anything and everything to make sure the night went smoothly.

    Do not let the price scare you away. They are worth EVERY penny. When you hire these guys, you're hiring more than a DJ. From out initial consultation with Riley, to our wedding night with Travis, we couldn't have asked for more out of these guys! Go to the initial consultation and feel them out - you'll know what I mean.

    Sent on 11/17/2017
  • S

    Sherry · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved having Riley with Unique Events DJ our wedding!! We danced our feet off and had the best time...and so did our guests.
    I had complete confidence in UE, and I knew they had it all under control. He made our reception flawless and played all the best music to keep the dance floor full!! We appreciate their services very much.
    They are a bit more when it comes to cost, but in telling you...it’s 100% worth it!! You do not want to skimp on a DJ folks...they MAKE your reception.
    Thank you again for being so good at what you do, and making our evening the best it could be!!

    Sent on 10/18/2017
  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    To say Rob was incredible would be an understatement. We met with Rob a few days before the big day and he completely eased our minds. As we ran through the uplighting, the LED dance floor technology, and music selection, we realized very quickly Rob was essentially reading our minds. He was able to make all of our visions come true, and was so flexible the night of the reception when we had to move a couple of dances up in the timeline to fit with our photographer/videographer's schedules. To top it all off, Rob nailed the music selection. His DJ skills are amazing! He brings his own turn tables and is able to create things computers are incapable of creating. He played the perfect assortment of easy-listening tunes during dinner, and fun party songs, old and new, during the dance, which kept the LED floor lively ALL night! I would highly recommend Rob to anyone who wants to have a blast at their event, whatever it may be! Thank you, Rob!

    Sent on 10/19/2017
  • J

    JD · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Avery was awesome. He was extremely attentive in planning and preparing ahead for our wedding. Step by step he kept things on point, and flawlessly ran the show. Our life was so much easier having things planned out and organized for us. We got in place and he made sure everything around us happened and everyone was where they needed to be. By going through Unique Events we also had so many options of customization for the venue and additions to our package if need be. They've got it all covered.

    Sent on 10/08/2017
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used unique events for our wedding reception and they were absolutely amazing! From the very start they were responsive and kept in contact with us up until our wedding. They have the best staff and are accommodating! They were very creative and had lots of options for decor and floral! Everything with set up and tear down went so smoothly! We were able to have our dream wedding thanks to them! Travis was an exceptional DJ and Hannah was awesome at working the photo booth at our wedding! They really made us feel special on our big day!

    Sent on 01/17/2018
    Unique Events 8
    Unique Events 9
    Unique Events 10
    Unique Events 11
    Unique Events 12
    Unique Events 13
  • C

    Cassie · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved working with Unique Events for our wedding! The service and attention to detail they provide are unmatched! Bobby Abellana was our DJ and he was SPECTACULAR! We got to sit down with him before the wedding and talk through the vibe of our day and our preferred songs--he totally understood everything we were going for and provided awesome suggestions! On the day of our wedding, Bob arrived early to ensure a flawless sound set up for both our ceremony and reception and was a super happy and calming presence for this stressed bride! He made our reception amazing! We got countless compliments on the music from guests of various age groups. Our dance floor was full all night and such a blast. Bobby made our day so fun and helped it run so smoothly! We can't recommend him and Unique Events more!

    Sent on 10/06/2017
  • A

    Ann · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Unique Events as the great DJ for our daughter's wedding on 9/30. Our DJ was Bobby and he did a wonderful job! The music he played was fantastic and we loved dancing the night away! He helped a lot by making announcements as we needed throughout the evening and even did a special birthday announcement for a wedding guest whose birthday was that day! We truly enjoyed working with Bobby and would highly recommend Unique Events.

    Sent on 10/06/2017
  • J

    Jane · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I sincerely cannot say enough about Unique Events to express our appreciation for their talent, work ethic, and customer service. Our wedding venue was at the World Food Prize Hall of Laureates in Des Moines and Riley and his team took our 'vision' and took it beyond our expectations. The table arrangements were breathtaking - like a picture out of a fairy tale. The flowers were fresh and meticulously arranged. The lighted dance floor was AMAZING and enticed everyone to dance the entire night! The guests raved over the rotating champagne tree. It was so unique and whimsical. And Riley was Outstanding as our emcee and DJ for our wedding. He fulfilled every request made. Unique Events accommodated every request we made with grace and a smile. Please give them a chance! You will not be disappointed.
    Sincerely and with Highest Regards,
    Mr. & Mrs. Brian Vincent

    Sent on 11/14/2017
    Unique Events 14
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 09/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unique Events helped to make my daughter's wedding an evening we will always cherish. Riley was a terrific DJ and really kept the party going. The photo booth run by Hannah was a big success and a lot of fun. I would highly recommend UE to anyone planning a wedding or other event.

    Sent on 10/03/2017
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 09/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Riley was amazing! He played all the right songs and kept the party flowing seamlessly including with a last minute add on toast and a mind change about the bouquet toss. He also went above and beyond making sure the bridal party was taken care of while we were eating! He was a key part to making our night so special. Additionally we loved the photobooth and have flash drive full of our guests fun pictures.

    Sent on 10/04/2017
  • W

    Whitney · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Riley is very professional and fun to work with. We hired Unique events for our DJ and from the very first meeting, we had an amazing experience. He was very informative and responsive thoroughout the whole process. Riley told us he would play music based off what got everyone dancing. One of my bridesmaids actually said "I was afraid to go to the bathroom or I'd lose my spot on the dance floor!!" Riley with Unique Events absolutely rocked our wedding. Our guests still cannot stop talking about how much fun they had dancing and we didn't leave the dance floor the entire time! We cannot thank Riley enough. We had an amazing experience with Unique events.

    Sent on 10/11/2017
  • J

    Jameson · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Travis was the DJ we got paired up with from Unique Events for our wedding. He was very easy to work with and he did a great job incorporating specific songs we wanted to hear at different parts throughout the ceremony and reception. I definitely recommend using him along with Unique Events for any wedding or event.

    Sent on 12/05/2017
  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unique Events is absolutely incredible!! They flawlessly executed our wedding day and helped make our wedding vision a reality! We used Unique Events for rentals (wine barrels + gorgeous lighted backdrop), DJ services for our ceremony and reception, and photo booth! Travis Newell was hands down the BEST DJ around! Our dance floor was packed the entire night. The Photo Booth was a huge hit and we LOVED looking at all of our guests' photos the next day! With Unique Events, you don't just get a DJ, you get a wedding coordinator, DJ and friend rolled into one. We highly recommend Unique Events (especially Travis)!! Thank you for making our day absolutely perfect!! :)

    Sent on 09/13/2017
  • M

    Mike · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bobby with Unique Events was amazing!!! He absolutely nailed the vibe we were going for. Our dance floor was packed from the first song until the last, and all of our guests were raving about how awesome the music was. Bobby 100% made our wedding reception!

    Sent on 09/18/2017
  • M

    Madelyn · Married on 09/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Save the hassle of looking around the area for DJs, and book with Unique Events. We went with the most affordable option of a first-year DJ (note: this means they are a first-year DJ at Unique Events, not a first-year DJ in general) and found that he could've easily passed as a 20+ year seasoned pro. He met with us to best understand the layout of the evening, the VIPs, and our musical preferences and then spun that knowledge into a ridiculously well-run party. Everyone we've talked to said they had a blast, and the dancefloor was never empty. He handled requests perfectly, didn't play cheesy tunes, and matched our musical tastes. Our amazing DJ was Avery, and I know that if you work with Unique Events, you'll get an amazing DJ as well.

    Sent on 09/11/2017
  • S

    Sam · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wrorth every cent! Rob was amazing and so was the owner

    Sent on 09/26/2017
  • G

    Gabby · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Riley was an absolute pleasure to work with! We have been to many weddings where the DJ did not entertain and NO ONE danced! And at ours, there was never a time when people weren't on the dance floor! He had everyone enjoying themselves and celebrating our marriage which is all we wanted! The thing we were worried about the most.. people having a good time! Little did we know that would be the least of our worries with a DJ that took care of it all for us! Riley really kept the night moving, staying on track with the next dance or speech! I would highly recommend going with this company for your wedding needs! Best decision we made! He also brought some beautiful uplighting to put around the reception which really changed the mood for the crowd! Over head Lights went off and the uplighting and DJ lights were flowing!

    Sent on 09/06/2017
  • Z

    Zach · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say besides AMAZING! Riley made our wedding day something special! Not only was the up lighting beautiful the music was great, we litlerally had the dance floor going the whole night. I think the minute the dance floor opened until we had to leave at midnight the vibe never changed. The playlist he had prepared was spot on. They are so professional and passionate about what they do it really made us appreciate what you guys do. I've had numerous people tell me since our day, wow that DJ did a great job, where's he from?? What's the company he works for?? We loved him!! Lol honestly very happy and very blessed Riley got to dj our wedding. UNIQUE EVENTS rock thanks for an amazing night!!

    Sent on 09/08/2017
  • K

    Kacey · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Riley and the rest of Unique Events staff were amazing to work with - on the decor side as well as the DJ side! You all helped make our day amazing! Thank you for all the time spent setting up and tearing down all the equipment! I would definitely recommend this business for any event!

    Sent on 08/18/2017
  • K

    kati · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A DJ can totally make or break a wedding, and Avery definitely made our wedding. We were pleased with him the moment we met him. Avery did our ceremony and reception music and his attention to detail was spot on; he did a fantastic job of stopping/starting/changing the music at exactly the right times during the ceremony. He also took the time to get the pronunciation of our wedding party's names correct (and we had some tough names!) for the wedding party introductions at the reception. Although it was our day, we wanted our guests to have a good time, and Avery was able to keep them on the dance floor until the reception ended. Thanks, Avery!

    Sent on 08/20/2017
  • S

    Steve · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything with Unique Events was great. Avery DJ'd our wedding on August 5, and went above and beyond what was expected. He arrived early to set up the audio for our ceremony, had everything ready for our cocktail hour, and had everyone on the dance floor all throughout the reception. I can't say enough good things about our experience with them.

    Sent on 08/16/2017
  • A

    Abby · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So much of the wedding experience, not just for the guests, but also the two getting married, is about the party afterwards! I've been to so many weddings where people eat dinner and then duck out when the dancing starts. Joe Ritland at Unique Events had the best equipment and experience that made guests stay all night long and have a great time! At Unique Events, the DJ doesn't just play tunes and hand out the mic, Joe made sure the whole night went smoothly, from guests arriving at the reception venue, until the party was over. We scheduled out the cocktail music, bridal party entrance, cake cutting, excusing dinner tables in order, speeches, dances, and even an outfit change! Joe knew our schedule and all the ins and outs of our wedding, and made sure there were no hiccups, name mispronunciations, or gaps in fun. I love that guests of all ages and backgrounds enjoyed the music, and he really knew how to read the crowd. I really can't recommend him enough! Having an experienced DJ that can make the night fun and unforgettable for everyone is worth every penny.

    Sent on 08/23/2017
  • M

    Max · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The whole unique events company was very friendly and professional. They also killed it with everything they did at the wedding and the reception. Couldn't of asked for anything more.

    Sent on 09/20/2017
  • E

    Erik · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Riley and the Unique Events crew were incredible. I have never witnessed an organization who plans so well, accommodates the bride/groom to every last detail, and moves the reception along with music and announcements so seamlessly. I can't count the amount of people who went out of their way to bring up how fantastic Riley was, and I wouldn't recommend anyone outside of Unique Events for those looking for a 5-star performance and service. I can't say enough great things about Riley and his team.

    Sent on 08/01/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review