12 Reviews for Union League Cafe

4.9
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Indoor (3)
Parking (3)
Wheelchair Access (3)
All Inclusive Packages (2)
Cake (2)
Clean Up (2)
Event Planning (2)
Set Up (2)
Barware (2)
China (2)
Flatware (2)
Glassware (2)
Linens (2)
Lighting/Sound (1)
Liability Insurance (1)
12 Union League Cafe Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

I cannot say enough wonderful things about our experience with Union League Cafe. The staff walked my husband & I through the planning process, they were always ready to answer our questions, they suggested reliable vendors (who were amazing), and they handled all day-of issues so smoothly. Any anxiety I thought I would have concerning planning was unnecessary and quickly dissipated because Union League handled each and every detail so well. From easy wheelchair accessibility for our guests to letting our photographer know the best locales for photos around the neighborhood, we felt so taken care of. The atmosphere, the cuisine-- all of it was stellar. The waitstaff was lovely, our entire menu was so delicious-- every detail was just superb. We have received many compliments on our wedding (including from some notoriously hard to please family members!), and I know all the credit goes to Christina, Rachel and the entire staff. It's such an incredibly beautiful venue with an unparalleled menu-- it was the only venue we ever seriously considered, and my husband & I are so grateful to everyone there. It was just a dream, and we are so thankful to everyone at Union League Cafe for all their hard work!

Profile Picture Tiffany, 4/14/18, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Parking, Wheelchair Access, Indoor
5.0

We just had the pleasure of celebrating our daughter’s wedding at Union League Café this past Saturday. Needless to say, it was a spectacular night; the setting was elegant, the food was delicious, and the staff was courteous and competent. This is specifically let you know our thoughts regarding the exceptional work of Mrs. Christina FitzGerald.

From the first day we met her, we recognized that she has a mastery of her trade. She was the epitome of professionalism and embodied the kind of elegance that we wanted to bring to our event. Throughout the entire process--almost a year--she was always available, timely and meticulous. Following our tasting dinner, she took all of our suggestions and clearly incorporated them into the final dinner. She successfully coordinated multiple vendors and handled all last-minute unexpected occurrences. Her presence throughout the night (along with the others who worked that evening) helped the event flow flawlessly. Even after all was said and done, when we wanted to meet to discuss our final bill, we had the sense that she would be there for our family in the future if there was any request we might have from her. Her very being was a comfort to us--she has a way of making people feel welcomed, at ease and very well taken care of. Additionally, her personal investment in the happiness of our daughter and son-in-law was palpable and very much appreciated.

In closing, we would like to thank you for bringing together such an amazing team. We will have no hesitation in reaching out to you if our next daughter ever decides to get married!

Profile Picture User7371140, 1+ year ago, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We had our rehearsal dinner at the union league cafe. The room was gorgeous. So intimate and elegant. The fire place was such a nice detail! The entire staff was so friendly and made sure the night was perfect. The food was delicious. Wonderful venue!

Profile Picture Cait, 10/18/14, 8 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Absolutely amazing from the first meeting with their sales manager to the finishing touch on our big day! I was incredibly impressed with the Union League and their attention to detail. The food was delicious, the service impeccable, and they attended to every request I made. I would recommend this to any CT bride, especially for a smaller wedding. It was perfect!

Profile Picture Michelle, 10/14/11, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Union Leage Cafe' exceeded all of our expectaions! Amy Healy (the event planner) was a pleasure to work with planning our wedding menu , explaining the contract details and assuring us that their staff would provide us with the BEST quality food and bar service, guest service and safe, convienent parking for our guests. The wait staff and bar staff were AMAZING- so professional and attentive to our guests. The food was so delicious - enjoyed by all and the wedding cake (included in our package) was fabulous! In chosing a wedding venue- you get what you pay for and as mentioned initially, Union League far exceeded our expectaions! I highly recommend them!

Profile Picture Shelley, 9/10/11, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

It's hard to know where to begin when reviewing Union League. Every part of the way, they went above and beyond our expectations, taking care of every wedding guest in an extraordinary way. We had requested that there be bilingual servers for guests who preferred Spanish and they indeed had bilingual servers there. We also translated the menu so that there were both English and Spanish versions and they were more than accommodating with these requests. All of our guests had a wonderful time. The food was outstanding -- everything from the cocktail hour with raw bar, to dinner, to the wedding cake (which was perfect -- exactly like we had shown them in a photo!). Amy was wonderful to work with, and I honestly can't imagine getting married anywhere else in New Haven. We had our ceremony upstairs in the ballroom, then cocktails and dinner downstairs, and cake and dancing back upstairs. We've already been back because we love it there so much. It was incredible.

Profile Picture Kathleen, 9/4/11, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Wedding Cake
5.0

Our wedding was amazing and it was in great part because of Union League's amazing service, professionalism, flexibilty and great quality of food. We did our ceremony in their ballroom, then had a cocktail hour in the adjoining hallway/room (as they transformed the ballroom), then we moved back to the ballroom for the reception (dinner and dancing).

Everyone loved the food and complimented us on the professionalism of the staff and the beauty of the location (we did some of the decor, but ULC itself had some great decor to add to our December wedding).
Amy, Loic and all the servers were wonderful. They made planning easy, worked with all of our needs from the day we signed the contract to the last minute of clean-up and provided wonderful food and service on the night of the wedding.

I would recommend ULC to anyone planning their wedding or another event. Truly an amazing experience.

Profile Picture Gabrielle, 12/18/10, 6 Reviews
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Wedding Cake
5.0

The Union League Cafe is a spectacular location for your wedding reception. We hosted ours there for 150 family and friends. We booked the entire 2 floors - cocktails upstairs, dinner downstairs, cake/dessert and dancing back upstairs. We had a specific vision and was possibly more particular than most brides but at the end of the day, after several meetings and emails with the events coordinator Karen, our vision was brought to life. In addition, the food is top notch and the services in undeniably the best in the state. Your guests will feel fortunate to have had the opportunity to attend such a special place. We brought in custom lighting and rentals/linens to enhance the historical nature and architecture of the space. I highly recommend the Union League Cafe for your next special event.

Profile Picture Jennine, 3/28/09, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9

Union League was an amazing venue for our wedding reception! The food and service was excellent and the space is GORGEOUS! We got married here in the winter so we were able to have the fireplace going and lots of natural candlelight. It was so warm and cozy. The coordinator makes the wedding planning process easy and seamless - you won't have to worry about a thing the day of. We highly recommend Union League and will be visiting there on our anniversaries in the future!

Profile Picture Christina, 3/10/18, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
Services Used: Parking, Wheelchair Access, All Inclusive Packages, Cake, Clean Up, Event Planning, Liability Insurance, Lighting/Sound, Set Up, Indoor, Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens
4.7

Everything--from the beautiful room, to the silver, table linens, to the coat room attendants, etc--was exquisite. They do such an elegant event. And--the most important thing--the food. All of our guests are still talking about how great the food and wines were. There is also the opportunity to meet with the sommelier to pick the wines for the event; that alone was so much fun. And they also took care of the cake--I brought them a picture, and described what I wanted, and they took care of everything!

Profile Picture Erin, 5/27/08, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Wedding Cake, Wedding Planning
4.3

If you are looking for elegance, the very best food, and amazing service, the Union League Cafe is an exceptional venue for your wedding reception. Our evening was stunning in every sense of the word.

Profile Picture Carolyn, 10/29/11, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue