Twin Oaks Caterers Reviews

10 | East Brunswick, NJ
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for Twin Oaks Caterers

Recommended by 99% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

10
Order by:
  • User7474570 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food is unbelievable. So many of our guests asked for our caterer's number. We had a really wide variety of foods too, between cocktail hour and our stations reception, and everything, the perogies, turkey, pasta; everything was delicious.

    Twin Oaks was so much more than just a caterer for us though. We were married at Rutgers Gardens. Michael Pelligra coordinated everything. He is very patient! We wanted the ceiling decorated a different way than he normally does it, we rented tents, heaters, and had a lot of set up in the cabin, and he did it all beautifully and seamlessly. He had a great network of vendors that made planning easier. The bakery for our wedding cake, Palermo's, was delicious and the cake was beautiful! We can't wait to eat the top layer on our anniversary. We used his DJ recommendation. He coordinated with all our other vendors and handled all the clean up. His staff was professional, courteous, and very attentive. Our head sever was so sweet and made sure we ate!

    Michael had a lot of great suggestions and ideas; he kept us on track with the planning; and he was available whenever we needed him. He is very organized, which helps. We had a lot of details and he really executed them perfectly. I highly recommend Twin Oaks for any occasion.

    Sent on 12/09/2016
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike and the Twin Oaks team are incredible. Our reception was at Rutgers Gardens and as a "preferred RU caterer," Mike knew the venue inside and out! His kindness, availability, knowledge, and experience made our reception so easy and stress-free. We chose the most affordable buffet style option and linen choices. The food was OUTSTANDING. So many options! The wait and bar staffers were so friendly and accommodating. The pavilion is very sparse, but I didn't have to do any DIY decorations. Twin Oaks had beautiful white drapes and twinkle lights - exactly what I had imagined bringing in myself. They worked so well with our vendors - the cake and the centerpieces were perfectly arranged, and the linens Twin Oaks provided were beautiful. Mike invited us to drop off our guest book, card box, mementos, and pictures the week of the wedding to arrange in the cabin. I couldn't have done it better myself. They even put our sign out on the road and made sure no one got lost!

    He knew the Rutgers Gardens staff so well, which came in handy when we had a near-catastrophe two days before the wedding! I had purchased the required insurance plan to use the pavilion months before RU's deadline. I had an email confirmation and a phone conversation confirming this. Two days before the big day, I got a call from RU saying they would cancel our wedding if we didn't submit our insurance. I called Mike on his cell phone after business hours in tears. His relationship with the Rutgers Gardens staff was invaluable - he called the administrator minutes later. RU gardens found the email the next morning and apologized. I don't know what we would have done without Mike.

    My husband is finishing his PhD at Rutgers and we are local. We knew the gardens well, but we could never have done any of this without Mike's help. He even dealt with my crazy family! I am so grateful to Mike and the Twin Oaks staff. Everything was perfect!

    Emily Leustek, 9/10/16 wedding

    Sent on 02/03/2017
  • User4473662 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Mike and his team at Twin Oaks Caterers for our wedding this past August, and they executed the entire event perfectly! Our reception was quite a drive from their office (almost 2 hours away), but they still managed to get everything organized and setup without any issues. The venue we chose, though beautiful, was very bare bones, and literally only came with tables and chairs. There wasn't even any running water onsite. We definitely needed a caterer that was full-service AND could handle an outdoor-ish venue. Twin Oaks had absolutely no problem with any of this and managed to get everything to run smoothly on our big day. The food they served was also amazing! Everyone is still raving at how perfectly the steak was cooked and how delicious in general everything was. One of the major reasons we hired them though was for the outdoor brick oven pizza they offered for cocktail hour. It was a total hit with our guests, and the pizza was awesome! Mike was also extremely responsive to e-mails and just so easy to work with during the planning process. He did our floor plan, timelines, and was basically a second wedding coordinator for us. His staff was also extremely helpful, and when Mike was away the week before our wedding, they didn't miss a beat. I highly recommend Twin Oaks for any wedding or special event and cannot thank them enough for giving us a perfect day!

    Sent on 11/06/2015
  • C

    Cassie · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Mike at Twin Oaks Catering was awesome. His professionalism and enthusiasm made wedding catering simple and successful. Everyone absolutely loved the food and are still raving about the set up and linens. When Mine wasn't available the day of the event, his brother Rich was there organizing and staying in contact with me throughout he evening. I was blown away with all the effort and organization that these gentlemen and their employees exercised. I highly recommend givibg them a call for your next catered event!

    Sent on 06/08/2015
  • R

    Randi · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All I can say is WOW!!!! This company exceeded every expectation that I had for our big day. We got married about 3 weeks ago and went with the gourmet grill option for our outdoor wedding at Rutgers Gardens, and it was beyond perfect! My husband and I were the couple that made it a point to eat the day of our wedding and we are SO glad that we did because the food was delicious. My favorite was the seared ahi tuna steaks....I wish I could eat that everyday! Not only was the food that amazing (and every single one of our guests RAVED about how delicious everything was from cocktail hour to dinner, they all said it was some of the best food they have ever had at a wedding) but Twin Oaks staff was amazingly professional, courteous, and fantastic at their job! Mike, who is the owner of the company, and who we met with twice, was always willing to answer every question and work with whatever ideas you had. He answered every single email, and I had sent him a lot of emails. He is VERY helpful and he guided us through the tasting process so that we had a large variety and never over did anything. I'm beyond thrilled with our choice to go with Twin Oaks, and if you are looking for a caterer (especially for the Rutgers Garden's venue, but in general anywhere else as well) do not look farther than this wonderful company, you will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 06/30/2014
  • J

    Jeff · Married on 05/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Twin Oaks provided the catering for our daughters wedding. We chose the gourmet grill menu and the food was excellent. Many of our guests told us it was "the best wedding food they ever had".
    The wedding was outside at Rutgers Gardens. Mike and his staff did an excellent job of setting everything up perfectly. One of our guests had a special dietary restriciton, special food was prepared and Mike made sure it was available for our guest. While planning the wedding Mike was always available for questions and was very prompt with replies. We are very happy we chose Twin Oaks Catering!

    Sent on 06/04/2014
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Twin oaks catering was a perfect choice for our "at home" wedding reception. The food was amazing and the presentation was beautiful. Mike (chef) helped to orchestrate a fabulous menu that fit well into our budget and accommodated many our last minute changes and requests. I took my 8 year old soon to e step daughter on for our tasting where mike catered to her like a princess. She swears he makes the best grilled
    Cheese that she ever had. He very sweetly made her grilled cheese on our wedding day, knowing how much she enjoyed it the first time. These are the type of people that you WANT to surround yourself
    With on your wedding day!

    Sent on 10/19/2012
  • V

    Vanessa · Married on 09/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Twin Oaks Caterers were amazing. They were extremely professional, prompt, flexible, and attentive. The food was absolutely amazing! We had an outdoor wedding, we were going for an elegant but somewhat laid back theme. We did a buffet with their gourmet grill menu. Not only was the food delicious but it was so beautifully displayed and served. They are incredibly organized, efficienty and friendly. I would highly recommend them to any bride.

    Sent on 09/06/2012
  • L

    Melaina · Married on 08/28/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike did everything from set up my centerpieces to rent extra chairs to calming me down every time I talked to him! He is amazing!!!! Absolutely the best caterer around- (oh did I mention the food was delicious!!!!!)

    Sent on 03/17/2011
  • Lisa

    Lisa · Married on 10/07/2012

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Twin Oaks is the preferred caterer of my venue, Rutgers Gardens. There are a few more hoops to jump through if you use an outside vendor, and I needed to eliminate as many hoops as possible. Their great familiarity with the Gardens, however, on top of offering good quality food and seamless service, meant that choosing Twin Oaks was not a compromise at all. When the weather for our big day went foul, they were quick to source heaters for the Pavilion. Our guests loved the food, were warm on a chilly fall day, and the staff were invisible. We were very pleased with their work.

    Sent on 10/10/2012