Turf Tavern Reviews

9 | Schenectady, NY
See photos, pricing and details

9 Reviews for Turf Tavern

Recommended by 93% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

9
Order by:
  • Stefanie

    Stefanie · Getting married on 08/29/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our caterer

    After having more than one great dinner there we chose them for our caterer !

    Sent on 09/27/2019
  • A

    April · Married on 10/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you Tom and Maria for such a wonderful day! We booked our wedding at the Altamont Manor and one of the listed catering businesses was Turf Tavern. We decided to stop in and grab dinner and see what we thought... and it was delicious! We put down a deposit with Tom immediately! Not only is the food wonderful, but the service was OUTSTANDING. I was a bit of a nut with the centerpieces and decorations, and Turf Tavern handled it all so perfectly. They were also extremely flexible and accommodating with regards to dietary restrictions and our catering package. They are VERY professional, especially when dealing with our somewhat rowdy guests! :) It was great to receive such top-notch service while we were taking photos so that we didn't starve (wow those bacon wrapped scallops are delicious!). Everyone complimented the food and the staff, we are so happy we went with Turf! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    Sent on 11/06/2017
  • A

    Annette · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a great experience! Can't say enough good things about Tom and Maria and their staff.

    We mostly communicated by phone or email to arrange the catering menu for our daughter's wedding since we live in South Carolina. No request was refused and Tom and Maria were a delight to work with. We needed to accommodate guests with various dietary restrictions so our menu was a bit specialized - it was cheerfully arranged. They are a full service caterer, including things many caterers don't give, such as linens, glassware, dinnerware, etc. - this made the task of arranging a barn wedding so much simpler!

    We received all positive feedback from our guests about the delicious food.

    The on-site staff members were super professional, friendly and helpful, arriving earlier than we expected so that much of the set-up was completed by the time we arrived. They were readily available but not hovering over the guests. Everything was beautifully prepared and presented.

    This was a super experience from start to finish! Thanks Tom, Maria and staff!!

    Sent on 07/10/2017
  • A

    Ashleigh · Married on 09/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have asked for a better caterer. We met with Tom and Maria, the owners, several times to go over all of the details for our wedding. The food was perfect and very affordable! They were extremely flexible when we told them what we were looking for. For our wedding, we brought all of our centerpieces and table decorations to the venue and their staff did all of the work! We didn't have to do a thing! The staff was extremely professional and helpful to our guests. We would highly recommend that you check out the Turf Tavern for any event!

    Sent on 09/11/2012
  • S

    Lori · Married on 11/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Turf Tavern is the perfect venue for a small and intimate affair which will accomodate 100 people (best at around 80). The value of their wedding packages is wonderful. The food was amazing and eeryone raved about it. Tom and Maria went above and beyond to make our day special. We were married in front of the fireplace at the venue and they even dedicatedtheir staff toprovide the music for the ceremony and the first dance with my ipod and their sound system. I will continue to have events at the Turf and am already planning a work function for January at the Turf.

    Sent on 01/07/2012
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 08/26/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was so impressed by Turf Tavern and their staff. Maria was there at our wedding which was nice to have one of the owners there. She even went out of her way and drove to a store to get cranberry juice because I like to drink seltzer with cranberry. I thought that was extra special. Cocktail hour was awesome. All the guests said the food was great and the h'dourves just kept coming haha! I did have to remind the server to please come by more often to my husband and I because we were missing a lot of the food since I was trying to talk to our guests.. But once I told the staff they had one staff coming to us every 5 minutes :) Dinner was GREAT! We chose the prime rib and chicken parm. We tried both of them. SUPER good. Prime rib was not too rare and the smashed potatoes was a perfect side. The chicken parm was off the hook! Even my vegetation friends enjoyed their vegetarian sauté over pasta entree. The salad and bread were also good. They were fast with cleaning up in between salad and entrée. It went very smooth. The guests all said how good the food was and service. I would definitely recommend Turf Tavern. The bartender was also very nice according to my guests. I could not be happier with Tom and Maria and how accommodating they were throughout the whole planning process!!!! Thank you!!

    Love,
    Lauren & Zac Cole

    Sent on 08/30/2017
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 09/02/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I planned a bridal shower at Turf Tavern and it was wonderful! Maria seemed to be very experienced with showers and was very easy going. The banquet room is lovely and perfect for small, medium and large groups. The fireplace and mantle is a nice touch and helps make the room feel more cozy! Maria made our brunch buffet exactly what the bride wanted. She even grabbed some champagne herself when the bride made a special request for a Mimosa! We were able to get in extra early to decorate the space and Maria again helped us herself with the hanging of some signs and paper cranes! The whole staff was very professional and friendly as well!

    Sent on 06/09/2016
  • Ashley

    Ashley · Married on 09/20/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used the Turf Tavern for our rehearsal lunch. We chose the deli buffet with the brownie sundae for dessert. The staff were very friendly and accomodating for the time we would get there for lunch. We thought that the food was tasty, though nothing spectacular. Although, since we only used the deli buffet, we don't have a complete knowledge of their hot food that they provide. The venue was very nice and perfect for our small group of 25 for lunch. It was also very conveniently located to our rehearsal/wedding location. We would recommend them for a rehearsal lunch or dinner.

    Sent on 10/12/2015
  • C

    Christine · Married on 08/20/2016

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      1.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    We recently had the Turf Tavern cater our wedding at the Canfield Casino. Since we attending a wedding in the past that they had catered, we had confidence that they would do a wonderful job with ours too. The week of the wedding, we had a nice meeting with Maria to go over all of the details. We left the meeting thinking that everything was set and would be well taken care of, but we were mistaken. They arrived at the venue 2 hours later than scheduled for set up. When dinner was served, my husband and I received a massive plate of food each with every dinner entrée option we gave our guests. It was delicious and seemed nice at the time, however, I was mortified to find out a month after our wedding that the caterer ran out of the vegetarian option and not all of my guests received a meal. A guest advised me that they served her a cold plate of eggplant and pasta with a drop of sauce and grated cheese. She said it was horrible and she had to share another guest's meal. I wonder how many other guests that happened to... completely unacceptable and unprofessional to run out of guest meals. Also at dinner the bar was starting to run out of alcohol. This was extremely frustrating and disappointing since we had purchased the most expensive wedding package for food and alcohol. Furthermore, during our meeting with Maria we advised her that our guests like to drink and we gave her specific brands to make sure they had enough of. My husband and I had signature drinks which they also ran out of half way into the wedding. By the end of the wedding they had ran out of most of the alcohol, leaving guests with minimal choices. Additionally, we received numerous complaints about the extremely rude and unprofessional bartenders who did their best to ignore the guests and myself. We were told by Maria that she would be there herself to make sure everything went smoothly, and she wasn't. Very disappointed with my experience with the Turf Tavern. I would NOT RECCOMMEND them.

    Sent on 11/03/2016