Skip to main content
Weddings

Transcending Memories Photography Reviews

Transcending Memories Photography

Transcending Memories Photography

West Bloomfield, MI
5.0 out of 5 rating, 40 Reviews
View more information

40 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 40
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

29 User photos

  • Christina
    Christina F. Married on 06/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunning Photos, Excellent Photographer!

    It was a pleasure to have Alan as our photographer for our engagement shoot and on our wedding day. We could tell that Alan was passionate about his work as he captured our special moments by manipulating lighting and creating timeless scenes. He paid attention to detail with every photograph he took, and all of the photos taken highlighted his creativity. Alan stayed in touch with us throughout the process of making our final wedding album and he made sure that we were happy with our photos before sending it to us. When we saw the photos we were amazed; each picture was phenomenal. If we had to do it over again, we’d work with Alan in a heartbeat. It was a pleasure working with him and we would definitely recommend Transcending Memories for your special day.
  • Amanda
    Amanda O. Married on 04/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best photographer around!

    Couldn’t have asked for a better photographer for our wedding. Every single picture turned out amazing and Alan is so awesome to work with!
  • N
    Nicole O. Married on 04/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing photographer!

    Alan and his assistant were prompt and professional. They went out of their way to capture every moment of our daughter’s wedding day. Alan did a fabulous job of editing photos and making sure we were all pleased with the final product. Alan definitely went above and beyond our expectations. I would highly recommend him for any of your photography needs!
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • K
    Kelly Married on 04/04/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Pick this one!!!

    I cannot say enough about how amazing Alan is!!! We had ALOT of struggles due to venue changes and then Covid and then replanning the wedding multiple times. Alan was very supportive and flexible. On top of that his knowledge and passion for photography is evident and contagious! He had such positive energy and guided us to make truly lasting and beautiful pictures. Any one who had a chance (including our other vendors) took the time to tell us just how amazing he was throughout the wedding. They only allow 5 stars on here but I wish I could give 1000000000x more. If you book Transcending Memories know that you are getting the absolute best!
  • R
    Richard B. Married on 10/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great photos and very personable photographer

    Alan was great! He met with my wife and I for a long time when we first met with him. We were very impressed.

    We had an engagement shoot and he was very creative and had great ideas.

    For our wedding, he and his assistant were on the ball. I didn’t realize the need for so many photos until I saw the finished products.

    Thanks so much Alan for capturing memories that will last us a lifetime! We would definitely recommend him to family, friends or anyone.
  • Kimberly
    Kimberly Married on 10/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best Photographer You Will Hire In Metro Detroit

    You will not find a photographer in the area who is as creative, skilled and passionate about his craft as Alan with Transcending Memories Photography. He was the first vendor we hired after we booked our wedding venue and it was one of the best decisions we made during all of our wedding planning. We could tell right from the start Alan really wanted to get to know us and our perfect vision of our day. He was patient and met with us and showed us many examples. I signed on with him the same night. He is a master with lighting and his shots are a combination of perfect composition, lighting, and effects. We had our engagement shoot with Alan about a year before the wedding and our friends raved about the beautiful photos. I am usually very awkward in posing for pictures, but Alan is a pro at knowing how to work with you to ensure everything looks perfect. He sent us our wedding album the other night and the shots were stunning!! He captured many lovely surprises that we would not have otherwise gotten to see being spread so thin on our wedding day, and very artistic poses of us that will look great as both mementos of our special day and pieces of art. They were really movie-quality shots. If you would like to feel assured that all of the moments of the best day of your life are captured in the most visually stunning way possible, you should not hesitate to hire Alan with Transcending Memories.
  • A
    Amanda Married on 09/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Photographer!

    Alan and his team did an excellent job with our wedding pictures. They made us feel so comfortable and all the pictures were great. All the important moments of our wedding were captured. We would highly recommend Transcending Memories Photography.
  • K
    Kryss Married on 09/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent all around!

    His work is excellent! ...and very reasonable in price. I felt that he gave a lot of direction as well as heard my visions and made it happen :)
    He is VERY quick to respond with any questions and goes with the flow during the event. He definitely kept me at ease even during some stressful times during my wedding.
  • K
    Kelly Married on 09/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Photographer!

    Alan was so engaging and captured the best moments of myself and my husband! I loved the creative photos he took using sparklers to spell out “love”. Highly recommend to anyone looking for the best pictures for the most important day of your life! Thank you so much Alan!
  • Married on 07/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great photographer!

    Alan is great! He is a true photographer. He is personable, kind, and enjoyable to have around on your special day. Alan is a very hard worker who puts in his all. He did pull us a lot for photos throughout the reception, but it was because he just wanted to capture every special moment of our day. If you have had enough picture taking, just let him know because he will just keep working. He is a good listener and follows any directions you may have very well. He is also creative and will give you incredible photos that are unmatched and will absolutely become keepsakes in your home. We had him bring an extra photographer, and together, they caught everything on camera. They caught family and friend’s expressions in memorable moments, as well as all of our necessary photos and some incredible artistic ones to give you that Wow factor. He was truly wonderful and a must for your wedding!
  • M
    Mark Married on 07/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alan is incredible !! He has a way of making you feel like so at ease and comfortable durning the photo shoot! We hired Alan and took him to northern Michigan to capture our day like no other! From Petoskey to the mackinac bridge we stoped along the way to capture each perfect spot! His attention to the details is off the charts! I have worked with other photographers in the past but never have I had someone as experienced , knowledgeable and who loved his profeffision as much as Alan! If your getting engaged , married or simply looking for family photos, transcending memories is the route to go!
  • Stefanie
    Stefanie C. Married on 07/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Loved every single photo from our Wedding!

    Alan was the best choice we made for our wedding. Our photos turned out amazing. From our engagement photos to our wedding photos, Alan always made us feel comfortable. He knows his lighting so well that he can make any rainy day, sunny day, or night look amazing. We got pictures at all of these times and they all look so good. Our family has all commented on how great the pictures turned out too. Alan is so passionate about photography we never had any doubt about how the pictures would turn out. I would recommend Alan for a worry free Wedding day! We also chose to pay for two photographers through Alan. Alan brought another photographer the day of to get the groomsmen getting ready and catch more candid pictures throughout the night. I would recommend doing this as we have so many good photos to choose from now
  • H
    Hongki Married on 07/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very very nice

    Alan was so supportive in all time and gave so much good energy to us!
  • J
    Jina Married on 07/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Nice pictures :)

    He was very good photographer !! :) All photos are very beautifuls!
  • Ashley
    Ashley Married on 05/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Master of Lighting!

    The way that Alan framed his shots and the attention to lighting gave us an album with magazine quality photos. It takes a bit of time for him to set up his lights for the pictures, but it makes all of the difference. He was happy and enthusiastic throughout the long long day and put in extra time to get the perfect shots that he had planned. We wanted to find someone who could capture our day with a few outstanding wall mountable shots - he exceeded our expectations and we couldn't be happier that we found him!
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer Married on 05/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Jen (Bride)

    Alan was awesome to work with. He was very flexible and creative. during my reception we planned on doing a sparkler pic at night and we couldn't do it because it was raining. So on the fly Alan did an awesome rain shot with us holding a white umbrella. It ended up being my favorite picture! His creativity and quick thought was amazing! We highly recommend using him.
  • J
    Joshua L. Married on 05/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Magical Forest Wedding

    Working with Alan was an awesome experience. He has a true love for photography that is apparent with his enthusiasm and openness to trying new things. He was willing to put in the extra time and effort to get the perfect shots of our special day. Would recommend Alan to anyone, we received many comments from friends and family about how beautiful our photos turned out!
  • G
    Garrett L. Married on 09/29/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic to work with

    Took amazing pictures, great to work with, fast to respond and got pictures in a few days. Would recommend!!
  • J
    John Married on 09/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alan did a wonderful job photographing our special day. He was an absolute blast to work with and even our guests commented on how impressed they were with his ability to get wonderful shots at any scenario during the wedding. From our first meeting until the day of our wedding he was very easy to speak with and always provided a quick response. Adding on top of the wonderful job he did, we were astounded to have the pictures sent to us to proof after only a couple days. We couldn't be happier with the job he did and would recommend him to anyone who needs a special event photographed. Alan is the best!
  • H
    Heather Married on 08/16/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alan was so professional yet at the same time he was fun and made all the guests at ease. He had so many creative ideas and was so passionate about creating beautiful photographs. Extremely polite and well mannered. Everyone who viewed the pictures was blown away by the quality and creativity. I would highly recommend Alan to do your wedding pictures. He has a natural gift for photography and very reasonable prices. You will not be disappointed. It will be one of the best decisions you can make in your planning of your wedding.
  • C
    Candace Married on 07/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alan is fantastic! I searched for months to find the perfect photographer and he is the entire package. From our first meeting to our engagement shoot, to our Wedding day he was absolutely amazing! Any events I have in the future where I need a photographer I will definitely be hiring Alan again and highly recommend you do too! Especially if you're looking for someone awesome with great quality work!
  • K
    Katelyn Married on 07/07/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We love our wedding photographs! Alan did beyond amazing in capturing our special day. He kept everything I wanted in mind while being artistic and making sure the details looked beautiful. In his pictures he captured emotions and moments perfectly. He has a fun personality to work with and made sure all the little details such as wedding dress train, veil, ties, flowers, etc were in the right place. During the day I was not going to be thinking about those things but I know afterward in the pictures I would have noticed. Very thing was picture perfect thanks to Alan and I highly recommend him for your big day!
  • D
    Dylan Married on 06/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alan was a pleasure to work with. He is very creative and we are in love with the pictures he took, for our engagement session and wedding pictures. He is the type of photographer that is not at all intrusive during a wedding, but he manages to get the best shots. Would definitely recommend him to anyone for their photography needs.
  • K
    Katie Married on 06/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We met Alan because the first photographer we signed with was unable to do our wedding. Naturally, we felt extremely stressed scrambling to find someone new. But, when I first talked to Alan, he immediately put me at ease. I wish we could give a rating higher than 5 stars! That's how good Alan and his team are! Alan is a consummate professional! He is so kind and friendly. Alan made everyone feel at ease. I've never seen a photographer work so hard. He was running around and always trying to find the best and most creative way to take shots of all the events of the day. It is obvious Alan loves photography and he comes up with so many unique and beautiful shots! Our wedding day was a rainy one, but Alan worked his tail off to make sure we still had outdoor photographs. My whole family fell in love with Alan and we plan to use him for all special occasions in the future!
  • A
    Ariel Married on 05/27/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Where do I start with Alan? After everything and the time we’ve spent together, I feel like we’re all like good friends now! It was a pleasure having him be apart and I will forever do business with him. His communication is great, he’s responsive, and he’s friendly. His work is amazing and he gives his complete all! He’s all about you and capturing your essence. What’s really cool, and perhaps sets him apart from other photographers, is that he takes out the time and does a lot with lighting to really give that eloquent effect. He really takes your portraits to another level. He’s skilled and very knowledgeable in his craft. He’s an artist, truly! Of all my hired vendors for my wedding, he made me the happiest! I’d recommend him 1000X over. Alan gave us quality and experience and it was worth every penny.

    Transcending Memories Photography's reply:

    Hi Ariel, I had so much fun working with both of you! From the engagement session to the wedding day! I am glad I was able to make some good images for you :-) Thank you again for choosing me!
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message