Weddings

Top Tier Cakery Reviews

Top Tier Cakery

Top Tier Cakery

Traverse City, MI
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 64 Reviews
View more information

64 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 64
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5 User photos

Sort by:
  • Fernanda
    Fernanda S. Married on 09/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Its an art !

    Nancy was so great from scheduling the tasting to delivery the cake! the cake was so pretty and soooooo good!
  • Nicole
    Nicole Z. Married on 09/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful experience with great tasting cake!

    I could not say enough good things about Nancy and our experience with Top Tier Cakery! We had a great time at the cake tasting and felt like Nancy did a great job of guiding us through the process. We ordered a two-tier cake with lavender ombre and 100 cupcakes (5 different flavors). My husband had a very specific flavor that he wanted (dark chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting) and Nancy made sure to put a cupcake directly on our sweetheart table so that he got his cake! Nancy was very thoughtful throughout the whole process and made sure everything was perfect! She really knows her cake and it showed :) We left the venue with very little leftovers because everyone loved the cake so much!
  • B
    Britt D. Married on 09/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection!

    We can’t say enough positive things about Nancy from Top Tier and the incredible care and attention to detail she put into our wedding cake. From the very beginning, it was easy to see the unmatchable experience, skill, and dedication she brings to everything she touches. The hardest part about the process was actually choosing what we want because she is willing to make absolutely anything you envision, and you KNOW she is going to totally knock whatever you throw her way out of the park. Also, every single cake and filling we tasted, we loved…so it was extremely difficult to whittle it down to three flavor combinations (due to our small wedding size). On top of everything, she made a succulent for our cake that was unbelievably realistic. Her workmanship is absolutely outstanding, and she makes the most memorable cakes. If you want a flawlessly beautiful and delicious treat, go to Top Tier Cakery!

    Top Tier Cakery's reply:

    Thanks Britt. It was a pleasure working with you and bringing your vision to life, and I, too, loved the way the succulent turned out!
  • J
    Jim A. Married on 07/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent Wedding Baker

    Working with Nancy was a pleasure, we are from the Detroit area and our son was married at Crystal Mountain in Thompsonville. Nancy made the process of hiring an out of town vendor seamless, she is very professional. The cake was amazing, would recommend Top Tier Cakery as the best in the area.
  • Jason
    Jason A. Married on 05/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wow! What an amazing cake!

    Top Tier Cakery provided the cake for our wedding at The Homestead Resort. We worked with Nancy and she was the definition of friendly, and accommodating. Saying that she is talented does not do her justice; her attention to detail and skills with baking are phenomenal! And the taste... Wow!! Our cake was the best we've ever had! Nancy is the best of the best, we highly recommend them for your party cake needs!
  • A
    Anastasiya Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nancy is absolutely incredible and a pleasure to work with. Our cake was not just gorgeous but out of this world delicious!! We had a vanilla cake blushed with Grand Marnier and filled and iced with European meringue butter cream.
  • S
    Shana Married on 10/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Top Tier Cakery was nothing short of wonderful! We started with working with Nancy Collard shortly after we were engaged. This woman is incredibly talented, and that talent is matched equally with kindness. We knew we wanted something that was a mix of rustic and refined - the perfect compliment to who we are as a couple. Nancy worked with us for months getting the details just right. The understated, yet elegant birch cake sitting on top of a blinged-out rhinestone base was exactly what we were looking for! Each tier of the cake was different; vanilla with raspberry filling, marble with maple cream filling and chocolate with chocolate cream filling. All were incredibly moist and delicious! My guests raved about this cake, both its beauty and taste! I recommend Top Tier Cakery to anyone who is looking for a beautiful and delicious cake, created and delivered with incredible sweetness :)
  • C
    Cathy Married on 09/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nancy is a true artist when it comes to making wedding cakes! The cake for our wedding was absolutely beautiful. Nancy is so easy to work with and she answered all of my questions in a timely manner. She was so helpful with picking out the cake flavor and fillings. The cake tasted as amazing as it looked! We received so many compliments from our guests. I highly recommend Nancy and Top Tier Cakery.
  • K
    Kate Married on 08/12/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nancy is an absolute cake magician! From the time we contacted her to the, tasting, to when the cake was delivered at our reception, Nancy blew us away with her professionalism and artistry. Not only are her cakes delicious, but they are simply works of art. I wish I could get married all over again just to have her make us another cake!
  • K
    Kajsa Married on 05/13/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nancy was so wonderful to work with. We were planning our wedding out of state so we were concerned about communication and conveying our vision accurately and Nancy put all of our concerns at ease. She was always very prompt with her email responses and answered our questions thoroughly. We met with her for our tasting about a month before our wedding and she had a wonderful assortment of frosting flavors and cake for us to try. We wanted cupcakes for our wedding and Nancy helped us come up with the perfect combination of flavors. We also ordered a handful of vegan cupcakes to accommodate some of our guests and they turned out wonderful. Everything we ordered tasted delicious and it was set up beautifully. I would recommend Top Tier Cakery again and again.
  • E
    Eryn Married on 10/21/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nancy was great to work with from the very beginning and she was always quick to respond when we had questions. Our wedding cake was not only beautiful, it tasted amazing too!
  • S&K P
    Stacie Married on 10/01/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nancy was awesome! She was easy to contact and work with (especially planning from 3 hrs away). The cake was exactly what I imagined and at the same time it was beyond what I imagined. It was one of my favorite things about my wedding and it was yummy too! I definitely recommend Nancy!! :)
  • C
    Claire Married on 09/10/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nancy was one of the best vendor decisions we made for our wedding. Clearly, she is passionate about her work - she has set up a small bakery as an extension of her home (trust Google maps!) and is an expert on all things iced and baked. We requested a small, 7” cake, and 200 cupcakes. Day-of, they were delivered, set up, and looked spectacular. The sugar flowers required a sign informing guests that they were, in fact, fake.

    I also wanted to surprise my groom with a cake for our rehearsal dinner. Nancy exceeded my expectations with every detail. I had requested a “travel/hobby” themed cake and ended up with a suitcase, parachute, passport, swim flippers, and our motto, “You, me & the world”. It was perfect (and delicious - bourbon chocolate cake for my porter-loving husband)!

    I highly recommend Top Tier Cakery - Nancy is nothing short of incredible!
  • Nicole
    Nicole Married on 07/23/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nancy at Top Tier Cakery is an absolute delight to work with! From the cake tasting to the final products everything turned out perfect! For our wedding we had a grooms cake, the AMAZING wedding cake, and Nancy made a special personal cake for our 6 year old son. The flavor combinations were so good, the quality of the cake was beautiful! I could not say enough good things about this vendor. Nancy will work one-on-one with you from the start to the end, her communication is fantastic. She is very open to your idea and the final result of the cake did not disappoint. We will be contacting Nancy when it comes to our anniversary cake :-) Thank you so much Nancy for making our day one that we will not forget!
  • Cate
    Cate Married on 05/20/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When it comes to making cakes that make a statement, Nancy takes the spotlight, and deserves every minute in it! Of all the bakers in the area, Nancy is the most proficient at her craft, knowledgable of textures, flavors and materials, and she also bakes one heck of a cake! Nancy was easy to converse with, via email, and made the whole experience an absolute treat! While I opted to design the cake, Nancy put her own flair on the embellishments and inclusion of a gumpaste flower. Which was so lifelike, you'd never believe it was gumpaste.

    I love my cake, and so did all of my guests. I'm so glad Nancy was able to make such an amazing, edible, masterpiece, for my wedding!

    Top Tier Cakery's reply:

    Thanks, Cate, for the surprise review. It was a pleasure making your unique cake, and I'm so glad you were pleased with it.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 12/19/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wow! Everyone keeps saying how wonderful our wedding desserts were, and we couldn't agree more! We had a small coconut cake to cut and tons of cupcakes for our guests, and we couldn't be more pleased with our entire experience with Nancy at Top Tier. Everything was absolutely delicious and she made sure it was everything we asked for... and more! Would recommend her for anyone getting married in Northern Michigan!
  • M
    M Married on 08/22/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding cake was the most beautiful creation I have ever seen. It was prettier than we had ever dreamed and tasted just as good!
  • J
    Jamie Married on 06/27/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nancy was a delight to work with! Our cake was beyond gorgeous and absolutely delicious! Thank you so much, Nancy!!! :) :) You will not be disappointed if you use her for your event.
  • J
    Julia Event on: 01/24/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I called Nancy at Top Tier Cakery at the last minute, due to another bakery losing my order and telling me they couldn't accomodate me and she took my order and didn't disappoint for my twin girls' Frozen Birthday Party. Not only were the cupcakes beautiful, they were delicious! I would definitely recommend them!
  • User2012687 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nancy did a wonderful job of bringing our vision to life! The final product was beautifully orchestrated yet not over the top and the cake was decadently delicious :).
  • User2022874 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Knowing the kind of work that comes out of Top Tier Cakery I knew I wanted to work with her for my wedding and she did not disappoint!
  • B
    Beth Married on 10/25/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had such a wonderful experience with Top Tier Bakery! Nancy is professional, artistic, and friendly, which made working with her one of the easiest and most stress-free parts of our wedding planning. She truly made our wedding cake and groom's cake a delicious one-of-a-kind experience that our guests still remark on to this day.
  • User2011831 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The cake was beautiful and tasted great too!
  • S
    Sharon Event on: 10/06/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The cake was the highlight of our 50th anniversary. It was beautiful and delicious.
  • L
    Leslee Married on 10/04/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Nancy and Top Tier Cakery are fabulous! Nancy agreed to create a "one-of-kind" beautiful, custom, surprise wedding cake for my our son's wedding with very little lead time. Though she was already booked solid for the weekend, she was touched by their sweet love story, and accepted the job without hesitation.

    Nancy is a wonderful and creative designer. She suggested matching the cake to our bride's beautifully unique wedding gown. Having only seen the dress in an emailed photo, she perfectly created the intricate lace pattern, and unique blush color of the gown. The cake was both stunning and delicious, including her special raspberry filling.

    Nancy was wonderful to work with in all capacities. Top Tier Cakery has my highest recommendation!