The Woman's Club of Englewood Reviews

34 | Englewood, NJ
See photos, pricing and details

34 Reviews for The Woman's Club of Englewood

Recommended by 97%

34
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.7

8 User photos

The Woman's Club of Englewood 1
The Woman's Club of Englewood 2
The Woman's Club of Englewood 3
The Woman's Club of Englewood 4
The Woman's Club of Englewood 5
The Woman's Club of Englewood 6
The Woman's Club of Englewood 7
+ 2
Sort by:
  • E

    Elena · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a wonderful place to host any type of event. We had my daughter's bridal shower there, and the place was a hit. The service and flexibility made our event so enjoyable. Many thanks to Maria for her outstanding help and guidance!

    Sent on 10/02/2018
  • Donna

    donna greenfield · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most Romantic Wedding EVER!

    We were supposed to have a Nor'easter that day but no one took notice of anything but the ambience and warmth from inside the Carriage House. It truly was the best night of my life. Maria made sure everything was done and done correctly. She even added her own personal touches for us and I am so grateful!! Please make sure to really take care of Maria because she deserves it and in the end you will see all that she has done!! The photo booth was well worth it and Thom and his staff are so professional. People are still calling me three weeks later to tell me what a wonderful time they had! For your intimate wedding, look no further. You will so happy you booked here!

    Sent on 11/19/2018
  • A

    Alexandra Rodriguez · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great event

    Maria is very helpful and the event went off without a Hitch.
    We would definitely use the carriage house again.

    Sent on 11/16/2018
  • T

    Tani · Married on 09/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the best experience using the carriage house for my son's sheva brachot (after wedding) party. Everything about this venue was perfect, especially working with Maria. She made the entire experience seem easy and I couldn't be happier with the way the party turned out. Maria treats your affair like it's her own, offering practical suggestions and helpful hints, and assisting in every way possible to make sure the party is a complete success. She worked tirelessly to get every detail "just right" and kept telling me to rest up for my party and guests and to let her do all the work. I can't imagine doing an affair anywhere else or with anyone else. She is a joy and delight to work with and I highly recommend this venue.

    Sent on 09/06/2018
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 08/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An Amazing Venue to Celebrate Our Little Ones Arrival

    A wonderful day at this beautiful and quaint place! What a great place to have an event! From the beginning, I set out to find a location for my baby shower that would allow me the flexibility to really make it my own. I didn't want just another cookie cutter event at a venue with the same old menu and decor. When I found the carriage house online and I had the opportunity to view their gallery of past events, I knew this was the place for me. Maria is amazing! She was such a great help from start to finish , she was knowledgeable of things we were not prepared for and kept my stress level down. I had my shower at 36 weeks pregnant so this was important :-) She was always there to help and even took amazing photos allowing us to enjoy the party. This place is wonderful with its own kitchen, and a room full of left over decor that we were able to repurpose along with our own stuff. The space was great too. We had over 75 people and it was still large enough for a little dancing, games, a bar, an appetizer area, the main buffet, a gift area and a dessert station. I totally recommend this place and will definitely keep it in mind for my future events.
    Thank you Maria

    Sent on 07/14/2019
  • S

    Sean · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I chose this venue to celebrate our sons First Communion with a large group of family and friends (70-80 people). After visiting many establishments in our immediate area, and being disappointed with appearance/price/availability, decided to broaden the scope, happily finding The Women's Club of Englewood. Aside from the beautiful grounds and well maintained facility (at a very affordable price), what really stood out for us was how accommodating Maria and her staff were. She made herself available whenever we asked, gave recommendations based on her experience, and even organized and assembled flower arrangements for the center pieces at each table. We could not have been happier with the outcome and not only would recommend this establishment to others, will be using for future events for our children.

    Sent on 09/07/2018
  • George

    George Mesias · Married on 03/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Wedding Experience

    The Women's Club of Englewood Carriage House is amazing! Especially with the help of Maria, her husband, and the staff she hired, our wedding was perfection. We had both our ceremony and reception there and are so glad we did. Their treasure trove of stored items came very useful in helping us realize our wedding decorations dream. For a fall wedding in November the leaves were spectacular. Maria had so many brilliant ideas and suggestions for decoration, food, photos, and vendor suggestions. We received so many compliments on the lighting arrangements she set up, and the whole location. My wife and I are so happy with the choice we made to have our wedding there.

    Sent on 05/22/2019
    The Woman's Club of Englewood 8
  • M

    Marrielle · Married on 12/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Baby Shower - wondrous experience

    It was a pleasure working with Maria. She made planning our baby shower so easy. She had amazing ideas to help plan our event and was always available with any questions we may have. She was also very accommodating with any of our requests. Our baby shower was a success and an enjoyable experience for our friends and family.

    Sent on 11/19/2018
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Book this venue before the dates are gone. Our wedding was the made perfect by how easy it was to create the place I wanted to marry the man of my dreams. Maria the caretaker of the venue was so helpful. She had tons of ideas and ways to help. Our wedding was a dream come true in a perfect venue. Intimate but large enough to have good amount of people to share with. The venue is like a blank canvas with rustic elements. Go on and create your dream wedding with this venue.

    Sent on 12/09/2016
  • M

    Maria · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I say that with utmost confidence: go with that venue.

    Not only it is absolutely charming and delightful, with beautiful light inside and very cute exterior, located in a gorgeous neighborhood, but most importantly Maria is one of the kindest and sweetest and most professional people I have ever met. She went above and beyond to communicate with us, to accommodate our needs and to make our day beautiful. Everything turned out absolutely gorgeous, exceeding our expectation.

    We married in Church, so we used the venue as a reception, but it absolutely have a space for beautiful ceremony too.

    The outside of the venue is gorgeous, with beautiful bushes and florals (hydrangeas!).

    Maria is so easy to work with, so kind, and you just know that she cares for you and for your special day. I never even once worried about anything at the day of the wedding, and Maria really was there assisting with everything and just making sure we're as happy as humanly possible. She worked with all of our vendors, and they made an amazing team.

    After the reception we were immediately heading for the honeymoon, and Maria baked us cookies too! That's the kind of person she is. I don't need to add that they were absolutely delicious, too. :)

    Maria, I know we'll see each other but I hope you know how incredibly grateful me and Jon are for everything you did for us, and what an absolute pleasure you're to work with. Your venue is gorgeous and we received countless compliments on it. I had a fantastic mood the whole day and you truly made our day better. Thank you for everything!

    Sent on 08/28/2016
  • R

    Ray · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our daughters wedding here on October 3, 2015. From the day we went to see the venue for the first time, Maria could not have been more helpful. She is a wealth of knowledge. She is extremely pleasant to work with and has a ton of ideas to share. She is professional and flexible. My daughter was extremely happy with the whole experience...our guests raved about the venue which is charming, cozy and intimate. I would definitely recommend to to anyone else.

    Sent on 10/05/2015
  • D

    Dilian · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just recently had my wedding at the women's club in englewood and let me just say everything was perfect ! Maria was so helpful I'm every way and had great additional ideas that I honestly didn't need a wedding planner. My wedding was outside and the way she help decorate the arch was exactly what I invisioned!!! I honestly barely lifted a finger because she had it all under control. I strongly recommend this venue for any occasion because they can easily transform it they way you invision it. Thank you again for making my wedding the best time of my life!

    Sent on 12/08/2014
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at The Woman's Club of Englewood was perfect in every way. Maria is very passionate about what she does and has been doing this a very long time! You can see her passion come through the stories she tells as she remembers little details of each wedding and the names of every bride she helps. She was SO helpful and was ready to give advice at a moments notice and is full of ideas. She even helped supply some votives and little random things I left behind at the hotel the morning of. I promise, If you don't think of it, she probably will! Her honesty and flexibility was also a breath of fresh air. The building is beautiful and the venue space was perfect for our small sized wedding. It was raining the morning of our wedding. Maria worked with all the vendors while we were still trying to decide where we wanted to hold the ceremony. We finally made a last second decision to have it outside but it was too wet to have it on the grass area where ceremonies are normally held. The sun bursted through the clouds and onto him and I as we were making our promise and placing our rings on one another in front of the beautiful red doors of the building and our friends and loved ones. It's a moment in time we will never forget.... so much thanks and love to Maria and the beautiful Woman's Club of Englewood! We had a fun, beautiful, and memorable wedding that people are still talking about! :)

    Sent on 12/09/2014
  • C

    Claire · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was the perfect wedding venue for us. It is beautiful, elegant, intimate, and not ostentatious or at all reminiscent of those cookie-cutter banquet halls. I love that it has the outdoors component for the ceremony and cocktail hour. My wedding was a definite success and I would choose this venue all over again.

    Sent on 12/08/2014
  • User4607936 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend the Woman’s Club of Englewood Carriage House to anyone who wants their dream wedding! We never imagined that we would be able to afford such a lavish wedding that so uniquely represented our shared vision. Planning our wedding ceremony and reception at the WCE took a great deal of meticulous planning and Maria, the manager at the WCE was there every step of the way to see us through it. Having Maria was like having a wedding planner and a best friend. There wasn’t a phone call or email she did not answer. Maria is extremely helpful and well-informed, but not intrusive. She will make suggestions, share decorating stories of former brides and grooms, and even offer you donated decorations if she feels it will enhance your decor. She also provides so many outstanding vendor recommendations that you really do not have to go very far for all the services you will need. The ones we selected, Miracle Catering, Wildflowers and A Little Cake were outstanding. Maria helped facilitate so many things, including a Celloist and violinist to play at our wedding! Plus, when you book the WCE it is yours along for 8-9 hrs. with parking onsite! No other weddings! Our guests loved it!
    Maria came to our rescue more times than I can possibly count during set up as well as the day of the wedding. The day of our wedding, when we ran out of time to write out the placecards, we were able to call upon Maria to help us. When we were late for park pictures at Davis Johnson and wanted to skip it, Maria insisted we go! It turned out these were some of our best photos! Maria also came through for us when we forgot to put gorgeous cocosavvy.com glazed flowers on our cake. Maria offered to put them on for us and our cake was truly lovely to behold. For what Maria did that we know and what she did that we will never know, Maria and WCE have our eternal gratitude! So you could say that this was a “Happily Ever After” ending to a fairytale Wedding!

    Sent on 12/13/2014
  • User2736675 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Woman’s Club of Englewood was a spectacular find. We originally had a different venue in mind, but because our wedding was going to be so small we had great difficulty finding a caterer willing to provide food for our wedding.

    Before you think that we settled for less—in no way did we settle for less and in fact, we’re glad we didn’t go with the original venue.

    In every way—this is a superior venue in terms of its size, situation and just about everything else. You also get Maria, a woman full of boundless energy and many great ideas. The grounds and the house are well taken care of and in great shape. And we were able to find several caterers willing and able to feed our guests! If you want an intimate setting—look no further. My husband and I were very pleased with everything.

    Sent on 10/28/2013
  • User3329032 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding at the Woman's Club of Englewood was one of (if not THE) best decision we made! The venue is a gorgeous vintage carriage house. It was so quaint and perfect for our intimate wedding. Everyone had nothing but compliments for its beauty (including our florist and photographer, who have both seen many weddings!).

    Best of all Maria was so helpful, I don't know how we could have done everything without her. She even added decorations to the ballroom (free of charge) because she had them and thought they would go well with our theme. And it was perfect! You rarely see a venue that has someone who not only runs the place, but has such passion for helping your wedding be all it should be.

    Sent on 06/16/2013
  • N

    Nina · Married on 12/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Brides this is a hidden gem! My husband and I threw our wedding/anniversary party at the Carriage House December 8th. We had little over a month to plan the party so needless to say I was somewhat skeptical and very nervous! BUT I had the time of my life! The night was everything I hope for and more. My mother law had suggested the carriage House and when we saw it we knew it was perfect for the type of party we wanted to have (casual extended cocktail hour). The Carriage House is set in a lovely location and is extremely convenient to get to. The grounds are beautiful and the House itself has so much charm, it is stunning inside with a very vintage look and feel. I can’t say enough kind words about Maria and Tom, they were wonderful to work with. They work with a list of Vendor’s, for which we used three. Gemini DJ Productions, Valley Tent Rental and Zowie’s Cupcakes in Teaneck (delicious!) They answered all the questions we had and made some great suggestions regarding the planning and decoration. They made the whole process stress free – thank you! I certainly recommend the Carriage House, please check this place out you won’t regret it!"

    Sent on 12/13/2012
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved this venue for our 2012 wedding! In addition to the beautiful character of the building, there is a fun artist's loft to get ready and a pretty ivy patch in the backyard for photos. Maria and Thom were very helpful and accommodating throughout the wedding planning process. They were there until the end of the reception and made sure everything went smoothly. They even took some really nice photos! I would recommend hosting a wedding or other event at the Woman's Club.

    Sent on 08/08/2013
  • H

    Heather · Married on 10/04/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have asked for a better reception hall! We had an intimate wedding of 50 people, and the ballroom with the stage, baby grand piano and fireplace was the perfect size. There is also an adorable patio for cocktail hour, and the building itself is beautiful. The ambiance was also perfect! It was a pleasure to work with Maria. I would highly recommend the Women's Club of Englewood to any bride you wants an intimate gathering.

    Sent on 10/22/2008
  • J

    Jane · Married on 04/25/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very happy to be able to have our April 2015 wedding at the Carriage House of the Woman’s Club of Englewood! The historic venue is beautiful and affordable. We had an indoor wedding but were able to get lots of nice outdoor photos on their beautiful grounds. Maria was incredibly helpful throughout the process. She is a details person, which really helped us from beginning to end. Maria was very generous with her time in guiding us through various possible ways of doing each component of our wedding, such as flower girl details, ceiling decorations, how to situate things for when people walk in, and about 30 other things. She makes the process much easier! She also had many excellent contacts such as for a wedding cake bakery and DJ. Thanks in large part to Maria, we were able to have the exact wedding we wanted.

    Sent on 05/31/2015
  • Arlene

    Arlene P. · Married on 06/01/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cozy and fairly priced venue

    The manager, Maria, was very involved and responsive from the booking to the very end of the wedding day. She keeps decorations that previous brides have donated in the attic, which came in handy for our planner. It is more meant for a DIY wedding, but we hired a decorator anyway, which, for us, helped keep the stress level low. The venue was cozy; perfect for our wedding of 50 guests. The outdoor ceremony and cocktail hour came out beautifully, and the lighting for the indoor reception was perfect. I highly recommend it, especially if you're going for a smaller, more intimate vibe

    Sent on 07/09/2019
  • H

    Hi Gr · Married on 05/11/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    60th birthday surprise

    We chose the Carriage House to host my mother-in-law's surprise 60th birthday party. It was a great experience. It was a little last minute because the venue we had initially chosen ended up falling through, and we had to scramble to find a new place just a few weeks before the party. Luckily for us, the Carriage House had an opening. Maria was fantastic - she had a ton of ideas for decorating the place, and she went above and beyond to make sure that everything went smoothly on the day of the event. For example, we wanted to show a video of people who couldn't make the party sending their birthday wishes, and Maria met with us a couple of times in the days before the event to make sure that all of the AV equipment was connected properly and ready to go. She let us drop off food and decoration items prior to the party so that we had less to lug over there all at once, printed signs and labels to help personalize it, and let us use decorations that had been donated to the club from prior parties. The one thing to keep in mind is that it's not an all-inclusive venue, so there was a fee to use things like plates, linens, and chafing dishes. But even given that, the place was a bargain, particularly given how outstanding Maria was in helping us put the event together.

    Sent on 05/20/2019
  • N

    Noureen Qureshi · Married on 02/16/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Maria Made it happen!

    Our wedding was on a tight budget and in a very short time frame and Maria was able to do it all! She supported our goal of a small wedding, with intimate details and decor. During the ceremony Maria and her husband made sure every guest was served, pleased, and we couldnt be more greatful!

    Sent on 03/05/2019
    The Woman's Club of Englewood 9
  • S

    Sukyoung Kang · Married on 09/23/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Good place for small wedding with having your own food supplier.

    If you plan for a small wedding, this place would be a good option for you. This place is small, cozy and beautiful. You may have to calculate extra budget for tables and utensil, but there would be no hidden charges, based on my own experience. The property manager, Maria will show you what you would need and how much you will have to spend for your wedding.

    Sent on 11/26/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review