The Williamsburg Winery Reviews

46 | Williamsburg, VA
See photos, pricing and details

46 Reviews for The Williamsburg Winery

Recommended by 85%

46

4.2 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.3
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.2
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 4.1

23 User photos

The Williamsburg Winery 1
The Williamsburg Winery 2
The Williamsburg Winery 3
The Williamsburg Winery 4
The Williamsburg Winery 5
The Williamsburg Winery 6
The Williamsburg Winery 7
+ 17
Sort by:
  • T

    Taylor · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are very pleased and loved every bit of our wedding at the Williamsburg Winery. The staff was very responsive from my first email inquiry up until the day of. They were there each step and helped to make our vision come to life. They provide a point person for the all your planning and then the day of to help things run smoothly. They were organized and everything was included in the price which made planning that much easier. This included tables, linens, plates, silverware, cake cutting, staff, etc. They have a large menu to choose from and large variety of wine and beer and happy to bring in additional options. We were able to attend a wine tasting and food tasting beforehand to select the menu which was wonderful and helpful in being able to sample everything.

    The staff the day of was attentive, bar ran quickly and smoothly, and everyone was respectful and kind. Things were constantly being cleaned and reset and everyone really seemed to want to make things perfect for us. Our guests commented how nice and organized things were.

    The space itself is beautiful and requires little additional decorating. We loved the lawn for the ceremony and were equally impressed with the backup plan for rain. We liked that there was a separate spaces for the cocktail hour and reception. Additionally, lots of beautiful locations throughout the grounds for pictures. Everyone raved about the venue and how beautiful everything was.

    Additionally, the entire bridal party stayed on the grounds at the Wedmore Place which made things so easy and convenient. The hotel is beautiful and the staff were very accommodating. Each room is unique and the bride and groom suite made the perfect location for the bridal party to get ready in. It was nice to have everyone there together and walk back after the event.

    We highly recommend the winery for your special day. Everything was perfect and we are grateful for the staff for helping it all come together especially Kari Scruggs!

    Sent on 06/16/2018
    The Williamsburg Winery 8
    The Williamsburg Winery 9
    The Williamsburg Winery 10
    The Williamsburg Winery 11
    The Williamsburg Winery 12
    The Williamsburg Winery 13
    The Williamsburg Winery 14
    The Williamsburg Winery 15
    The Williamsburg Winery 16
  • S

    Shima · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely love the winery’s atmosphere. All our guests alao enjoyed the winery as well. On site accommodation was very convenient. We are planning to go back to the winery for our anniversary.

    Sent on 06/15/2018
  • B

    Brighid · Married on 12/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I could not be happier with the venue, the staff, and the on-site hotel, Wedmore Place.

    The venue’s pricing structure is straightforward, with no hidden charges and the venue fee included candles, string globe lights, tables, chairs, china, drinkware and our choice of linen colors. The food and beverage options and cost will vary based on the couple’s taste and budget - the venue will work with you to get it right. We were able to choose add-ons to make our day special and unique, including a wine tasting for our guests to enjoy during the cocktail hour. As an added bonus, the Winery offers a military discount on the space rental fee.

    Kari, the Winery’s event coordinator, was absolutely fantastic from the day we met her through our Wedding day. She worked with us to make a custom wedding weekend that was truly us! As our wedding day was approaching, she was extremely accommodating and reassuring… we knew that our big day was in the best hands possible!

    The Manager on Duty for the rehearsal dinner and wedding day, Chase, was just as amazing, tending to our every need and making sure our last-minute requests were completed with ease. The entire day of staff was extremely welcoming and gracious, they made us feel like the king and queen of the castle and then some!

    The onsite hotel, Wedmore Place, offered extremely comfortable, elegant, and convenient overnight accommodations for our wedding party and closest family. The hotel staff went above and beyond to work with us in attending to our guests’ needs.

    All in all, the Williamsburg Winery is a fantastic venue in and of itself, and the staff there make it a perfect place for the biggest day of your life! We can’t recommend it enough.

    Sent on 12/28/2017
    The Williamsburg Winery 17
    The Williamsburg Winery 18
    The Williamsburg Winery 19
    The Williamsburg Winery 20
    The Williamsburg Winery 21
    The Williamsburg Winery 22
    The Williamsburg Winery 23
  • D

    D · Married on 11/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The winery offers a beautiful site for the ceremony, rehearsal dinner, bride and groom's dressing rooms, cocktail and reception rooms. The winery itself provided the rustic atmosphere we were seeking -- European tapestries, exposed wood beams, masonry fireplaces, etc. Kari (events coordinator) and the Williamsburg Winery staff were always professional and wonderfully accommodating! Kari's experience was very valuable in helping us select the menu, wines, linens, etc. The day of the reception, the wait staff were very courteous and went out of their way to serve our needs.

    Sent on 01/10/2018
  • J

    Joanne · Married on 10/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Williamsburg Winery was amazing, they did a fantastic job, above and beyond our expectations, highly recommend. We had the bridal shower, rehearsal, rehearsal brunch at the Gabriel Archer Tavern, and most guests stayed on site at the Wedmore Place making my daughter and son-in-laws wedding weekend spectacular. A true fairy tale wedding. Every employee on site was pleasant and tended to anything anyone needed with the upmost professionalism.

    Sent on 10/21/2017
    The Williamsburg Winery 24
  • K

    Karla · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue!! I loved everything about it and the wine was so delicious. Every glass just got better and better. ;)

    Sent on 12/31/2017
  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at the Williamsburg Winery was absolutely perfect. Kari was phenomenal at helping us organize a wonderful event, and the location itself can't be beat. Wessex Hall barely requires any decorating due to its natural rustic beauty, and the Winery has numerous decor items you can borrow as well. This is not the cheapest venue, but you get what you pay for. Everything from food to drink to favors to linens was expertly and professionally handled with no hiccups. Even the event staff were wonderful - one waiter in particular helped fill plates for older family members and then joined in the dancing! Truly a wonderful experience!

    Sent on 09/09/2017
  • B

    Brooke · Married on 11/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of my friends went and got the wine for our wedding as a gift. Both red and white were amazing. I will get more wine from there!

    Sent on 12/08/2016
  • P

    ashley · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were so accommodating and kind. Our wedding occurred during a hurricane and we were fortunate not to lose power. The rooms at Wedmore are so beautiful and clean we could've stayed there for a week. I wish they had almond milk or soy milk but that's only a pet-peeve :)

    Sent on 10/17/2016
  • User5042276 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding here was absolutely beautiful!!!! Couldn't have picked a better venue!

    Sent on 06/23/2016
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 02/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Williamsburg Winery was our first and only choice! From the start they were accommodating and very fast at responding to all my emails with in a few hours! Even though there was a coordinator change which I was worried about both Kristin and Emily were amazing. Kristin walked me through everything and I had a table change two days before the wedding which they did with no problem. Everything was beautiful! Emily was a great manager for the rehearsal and the day of! I was very thrilled with how everything went. It was an amazing night with what I believe is the best venue! We also stayed at their hotel Wedmore Place they were also very accommodating and kind throughout the process. I would definitely recommend this venue!

    Sent on 02/29/2016
  • C

    Christy · Married on 11/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I used The Williamsburg Winery for our ceremony. We could not have asked for a more beautiful day! The lawn provided the perfect back drop with many locations for wedding day photos. Special shout out to Kit for being with us during the rehearsal and the wedding day! She was alert and responsive with a quick response to accommodate any questions we had. The best part was knowing there was a Plan B indoors in case of inclement weather. Thank you TWW for providing my husband and I with the most spectacular ceremony!

    Sent on 11/24/2015
  • A

    Arina · Married on 08/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding, while not the largest (100 guests), had a lot of moving parts and challenges. I am very grateful for the excellent service and support the team at Wessex Hundred provided us. As an event planner, I work in many venues/facilities on a weekly basis, and the service at the winery and Wedmore Place is top notch - among the best.

    The team at Wedmore was excellent, always going above and beyond for our guests...the support staff and front desk staff were always very gracious to us, our guests, and most importantly our family, which had advanced accessibility requirements. Our guest bags were delivered into guests' rooms prior to arrival and any request was promptly answered.

    The staff at Cafe Provencal is excellent. We received great feedback on all of the food at our brunch, our pool party and at the restaurant. If any item ran out during breakfast service, they would come to each table to let us know when it was replenished.. That's GREAT service. The decorations and set up for the pool party and bridal brunch were gorgeous and we really appreciated John O'Connor's hard work and planning for this.

    Working with event director, Kate Durret for the 6-7 months leading up to our wedding made planning the weekend almost easy. We appreciated the hospitality as my family (and I) conducted multiple site visits. Everything was executed flawlessly. The response time was so quick and always friendly (even with some of our crazy requests). I wouldn't have changed a thing with this wedding. Thank you for the excellent recommendations with our support vendors (DJ Bobby and the Catering Company). The reviews we received for food and entertainment were great. We truly had a magical night.

    Sent on 09/02/2015
  • C

    Constance · Married on 05/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue with the wedding in the Petit Verdot vineyard and the reception in Wessex Hall. Kate Durett was a great coordinator responding promptly to questions over the last several months and keeping us up on the items the Winery had available to make the day more special.
    The night was beautiful.

    Sent on 05/20/2015
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous rustic venue with fireplaces which we illuminated with candles for a Spring wedding! Enclosed veranda worked perfectly for hors d'oeuvres. We arranged a tour of the Winery for our guests beginning one hour before the reception so the Bride and Groom had plenty of time for pictures in the vineyard and wine cellar without missing cocktail hour. Nice selection of wines for any price range or taste. 15 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg.

    Sent on 06/09/2015
  • Y

    yasmin · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The winery is such a gorgeous venue. They have a back up rain plan that is just as beautiful as outside and the staff is so great! Alison is so wonderful to work with!

    Sent on 08/16/2014
  • A

    Audrey · Married on 06/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    No wedding is complete without the perfect venue and that is exactly what The Williamsburg Winery is. This was our first decision in the wedding planning process and we are so glad we chose it. Throughout the planning we made several trips to the winery. When we started, Connie was the one site wedding corrdinator. My mother and I instantly took to her. We could clearly see the winery was very orangized and a well oiled machine for weddings. A few months before our wedding though, Connie left the winery but assured us we were in good hands with Laurie Weber and she was right! Our wedding was beautiful and a huge part of that is due to the staff at the winery. The venue is truly amazing and of course our guest loved being able to take tours and enjoy a tasting before the wedding. We plan to make future trips to the winery just to say hello and of course enjoy their amazing wines :-).

    Sent on 06/24/2013
  • A

    April · Married on 05/24/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so happy that we had our wedding & reception at the Williamsburg Winery. The location is just gorgeous and we just loved working with Conie!! Conie was such a lifesaver with her guidance, enthusiasm, and commitment to our rehearsal/wedding/reception.

    The only negative comment is directed to the reception food, of the Gabriel Archer Tavern. The chicken meal could have been hotter, some tables complained that their chicken was only semi warm while others had hot chicken. So the consistency of keeping the food warm could have been better.

    Sent on 06/24/2012
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 10/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    we ordered our wedding favors (bottles of Governor's White) from the winery and they were SO accommodating! they were shipped early and allowed us to not worry about waiting on this important element of the day!

    Sent on 08/31/2011
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/09/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Williamsburg Winery is one of the most beautiful venues imaginable, and flawlessly professional. The wood has been lightened from previous years, and with the lights the staff put around, the whole place absolutely glowed. Guests were overwhelmed by the elegance of the Winery, and it gave me peace of mind that, no matter what the weather, our venue would be covered but still provide guests with the option of going outside. Saved me a ton of stress on the day! Kristen was fantastic to work with--quickly responsive, flexible, and available before and during the day of the event even when I made last-minute changes! Another of the major perks of booking with the Winery is that you get to use their wines! We had a bridal tasting that was a ton of fun prior to the wedding, and selected all the wines that we would want to serve. The servers were attentive and prevented lines throughout the night. The whole thing was exceptionally professional. Quick tip--if you ask Kristen and your photographers, you can even take some shots in the wine cellar and it's absolutely beautiful.
    We also stayed at the Wedmore Place and I can't say enough about them. It was magical, and they responded to every single need of our bridal party! Absolutely loved it--thank you!

    Sent on 07/14/2016
  • E

    Elisha · Married on 04/12/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Williamsburg Winery was a fantastic wedding venue - we did our ceremony on the Wessex Lawn and reception in Wessex Hall, which was a beautiful setting. The Hall looks like a European lodge complete with candelabra chandeliers and large wooden beams - an absolutely perfect setting for a winery wedding. Their wine was fantastic as well and received many comments from our guests. The winery staff Conie and Katie were great to work with and very responsive! They did everything they could to ensure that my wedding went exactly as I planned. I stayed in the Wedmore which is on the Winery property the night of and night before the wedding and that's where me and my bridal party got prepared for the wedding.

    Sent on 04/21/2012
  • Kelly

    Kelly · Married on 04/27/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous wedding and hotel on winery property

    We loved everything about Williamsburg Winery for our wedding venue and would not change a thing; it is the total package venue! We stayed at Wedmore Place, the hotel on the property; their staff was fantastic, the breakfast and chocolate croissants were amazing, and by the end of the weekend we knew the staff by name and they knew us as the newly married couple as treated us like royalty. We had our rehearsal dinner on Friday in the cellar room, our ceremony on the lawn, cocktail hour in Westbury Hall with a grand staircase and view of the lawn, and reception in Wessex Hall which has so much character with fireplaces on either end and a lot of room for our dance floor and guest tables. Simply put, our guests loved it, and this was our dream venue. We took photos in the barrel room, Wedmore Place courtyard which has a gorgeous fountain, and in the rows of vines (we were lucky that the last weekend of April the vines had leaves and buds). We knew this venue would be a great pick regardless of the weather since it had the indoor and outdoor spaces needed, the spaces allowed for the event to flow so smoothly, and it was like a destination wedding with tons of things for our guests to do on property and in the Williamsburg area. We also loved that we organically bumped into our guests throughout the entire weekend in Wedmore Place where we all stayed; that made it much less stressful when working the room during our reception, meaning we were able to enjoy our own reception with our guests. Our wedding weekend here was a dream come true.

    Sent on 05/13/2019
    The Williamsburg Winery 25
    The Williamsburg Winery 26
    The Williamsburg Winery 27
    The Williamsburg Winery 28
    The Williamsburg Winery 29
    The Williamsburg Winery 30
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 12/03/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married at the Williamsburg winery last weekend and it was absolutely amazing! I we did our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception all at the winery. This was extremely convenient. We also stayed next door on the same property at Wedmore Place which was great for us and guests as no one staying there had to worry about driving after the party! They were there every step of the way and were patient and knowledgeable. We worked with several people including Kristen and Courtney and I loved working with them both! We also worked with Lynne Buggy as our day of coordinator and she was absolutely wonderful! The winery was very accommodating and beautiful! They made our day everything we could have imagined and more. They also provided us with a list of vendors we could choose to work with and pointed me in the direction of some favorites based on what our preferences were. We were not disappointed with any of the vendors that were recommended and it was awesome how easily they all worked together. We are so glad we chose this breathtaking venue for our wedding and would very HIGHLY recommend to anyone looking for an event space in the future!

    Sent on 12/04/2016
  • T

    Tiff · Married on 06/20/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Williamsburg Winery was a wonderful place to host a wedding reception. It is "country chic" in all the right ways, and the staff was easy to work with. Guests enjoyed the venue and the wines very much!

    Sent on 01/27/2016
  • S

    Sally · Married on 08/02/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue for wedding all year round.
    Daughter had her heart set on outdoors but had yo go indoors was upset at first, but was do pleased at the end so much more romantic.
    They were smsding and so flexible

    Sent on 08/04/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review