Weddings

The Whitman Savannah Reviews

The Whitman Savannah

The Whitman Savannah

Savannah, GA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 19 Reviews
View more information

19 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 19
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

15 User photos

Sort by:
  • Natalie
    Natalie Married on 10/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful destination Wedding Venue

    Best decision to have our wedding in Savannah...And the Whitman was the very first venue I found, it was an instant connection and of course Bob sealed the deal.. his kindness and attention to detail is incredible. Through the whole wedding planning process, Bob was so helpful and made everything run smoothly the whole wedding weekend. His staff were friendly and really made the wedding weekend magical . The food was delicious , being from Texas we know are barbecue and we had a southern bbq buffet at our welcome dinner and the brisket was to die for! The convenience of staying at the Whitman house and having our welcome dinner, ceremony & reception was the best decision. The historic home was a beautiful backdrop for our intimate wedding with family & friends. I will never forget how perfect everything turned out and it is really thanks to Bob and his team! forever grateful
  • J
    Julie Married on 05/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best experience ever

    I can’t say enough about Bob and the Whitman. The house is absolutely gorgeous, welcoming, and inviting, and Bob Vardzel is such a huge reason for this. From the moment we inquired about this venue, he was unbelievably responsive and incredibly knowledgeable about the history of the house and the city. He helped with so many planning details from day 1, and when we arrived to triple digit heat, he was flexible and suggested some great alternatives so our guests weren’t baking in the hot sun. The dinner he made (just days after a major surgery- amazing dedication) was literally one of the best meals I’ve ever had. He was friendly and inviting to our guests, and to us. Bob went above and beyond all of our expectations and made sure we had an amazing wedding weekend. Booking the Whitman was the best wedding decision we made, hands down.
  • C
    Cburchill Married on 05/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect! The house is gorgeous, well appointed and location across from Forsyth Park lovely.

    I loved staying at The Whitman for six nights the week of my daughter’s wedding.

  • Sara
    Sara Married on 03/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Whitman was a dream come true!

    My (now0 husband and I had a very intimate destination wedding and the Whitman both served as housing for both our families and the venue. I can't even describe how amazing our stay was at the Whitman. The mansion itself was an amazing blend of beautiful historic architecture with top of the line amenities and appliances! Every room is absolute beautiful and the view of Forsyth Park is breathtaking. Bob (the general manager) was an absolute pleasure to work with. Anything we needed at all, Bob made it happen! He is also an amazing chef and catered our wedding dinner and brunch the next day. We had gone out to several highly rated restaurants prior to our wedding - and Bob's cooking was by far better than any of them! I still have dreams at night about his baked brie and beef tenderloin. A truly cannot have imagined a better place to get married!
  • M
    Mackenzi Married on 08/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Booking The Whitman for our wedding was one of the best decisions I made. The house was so beautiful and charming and created the perfect environment for us and our guests for our wedding weekend. Bob Vardzel went above and beyond our entire stay. We got married in the courtyard, had a cocktail hour on the first floor of the house and then the reception in the courtyard. Thanks to him and his staff everything went smoothly on our wedding day and I cannot thank him enough for that. Our guests also raved about our food at the reception!

    The Whitman Savannah's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind review!
  • A
    Amy Married on 05/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We can not say enough about our wedding at the Whitman. Bob made preparing and planning very easy, he was quick to respond to any of our questions which made making decisions very easy. He was flexible and extremely accommodating. Every detail of the house is incredible. Plenty of space for everyone (we had 14 people sleeping there) and the kitchen was to die for! Bob came in the day of the wedding, started cooking and prepping....he had everything ready, his team was like a perfectly oiled machine. The food was amazing (the salmon is the very best we have ever had)!! His team cleaned up at the end of the night and by the time we went to bed, the house was back to it's pre-wedding state. They were truly amazing. We enjoyed our time at the Whitman so much! You will not be disappointed!

    The Whitman Savannah's reply:

    Thank you so much for such a kind review!
  • Peter
    Peter Married on 04/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our stay at the Whitman couldn’t have been more perfect. We stayed from Thursday through Monday and housed a majority of our wedding party, 17 people to be exact. We also hosted 3 events including our rehearsal dinner, cocktail party and brunch. All were catered by the Whitman staff.

    We were in contact with Bob from the very beginning when we booked our stay. We met with him 3 times prior to our stay when doing site visits. We exchanged countless emails and phone calls with him. One thing i have to say is that Bob is the epitome of a YES man! Whatever requests we had - he found a way to accommodate them.

    The rehearsal dinner that Bob catered was incredible. We accommodated around 38 people in the courtyard. Whatever table/ chair rentals you need - he could set that up. We also customized a dinner menu and bar that was perfect. Our Italian inspired family style dinner included: Pan seared striped Bass, Beef tenderloin with pepper cream sauce, chicken valdostino, penne pasta with pesto sauce, braised brussel sprouts with garlic and bacon, honey roasted carrots, Cesar salad and Tuscan bread with olive oil. Desserts included cannolis, tiramisu and cheesecake.
    After our rehearsal dinner, Bob and his staff accommodated around 140 people for our pre-wedding cocktail party. He had a charcuterie display and two bars set up (inside and outside) with bar staff. You could customize your drink choices. We had 2 red wines, 2 white wines, 4 beers and 3 liquors. All soft drinks and mixers are also available.

    The brunch was a New Orleans inspired buffet. The brunch accommodated around 120 people. Bob had enough tables and linens set up for all of our guests. This was hands down the BEST buffet we’ve ever experienced. People kept going back for seconds and thirds!

    Bob and his staff were efficient, hard working and professional. The Whitman truly has it all.

    The Whitman Savannah's reply:

    Thanks so much a your wonderful review!
  • K
    Kerry Married on 08/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We booked The Whitman as the venue for our wedding ceremony and reception, and we stayed in the house for 3 nights total. Several family members and friends stayed with us (9 people total), and we couldn't have been happier with our stay and overall experience. Our guests couldn't stop talking about the house. It truly was a once-in-a-lifetime experience for all of us. Every single room in this house is breathtaking. We woke up early each morning to cook breakfast in the wonderful and spacious kitchen, and I especially liked the whole-house audio system.

    We worked with Mr. Vardzel directly in planning our wedding festivities, and he was so helpful and courteous at all times. Not only did he cook an amazing meal for our reception, but he and the staff moved furniture and did everything possible to ensure a perfect wedding day. We couldn't have done it without his help, and we're so happy we found The Whitman. It truly was a dream come true for us!

    The Whitman Savannah's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind words!
  • Molly
    Molly Married on 04/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We are so thankful to have found The Whitman. After our first conversation with Bob, we were completely confident that we were making the right choice for our destination wedding -which was especially important since we didn't visit Savannah beforehand and did all of our planning long distance. Bob was so easy to work with, and really calmed any concerns we had along the way. Even if he wasn't able to respond to our emails same-day, he acknowledged us right away and fully responded within a couple of days. The rest of the staff at The Whitman is incredible as well. They were so much fun, and did such an amazing job interacting with our guests and making everything run seamlessly. Every penny was well worth what we received and experienced at The Whitman. Both of our immediate families were able to stay with us for the weekend, and it really felt like home (albeit a much more luxurious version). So many of our guests told us that this was the best wedding they had ever been to, and the best wedding food they ever had. They were so impressed with Bob, his staff, and The Whitman itself. We can't wait to return one day!

    The Whitman Savannah's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind review!
  • C
    C Married on 03/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding at the Whitman was amazing. Our family stayed there the entire weekend. We had our ceremony and reception at the Whitman. Bob is the owner and caterer. The food, set up, wait staff, and deserts were all amazing. Since we stayed there as well everything was kept clean and it was so convenient not to have to travel to and from a venue. I would recommmned this venue to anyone. Thank you Bob and his staff for making our wedding unforgettable!

    The Whitman Savannah's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words!
  • Y
    Yolanda Married on 01/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bob and the Whitman were perfect for what we were looking for and needed. The flexibility shown was perfect and Bob did an excellent job at ensuring that our needs were met throughout the planning process.

    The Whitman Savannah's reply:

    Thank you for the excellent review! It was a pleasure having your group stay at the house.
  • H
    Haley Married on 09/14/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Absolutely incredible!!! Having our family traveling from out of state it was such a piece of mind having everyone under the same roof and in such a beautiful historic home. Having our reception at The Whitman was the perfect choice every aspect of the Mansion is so beautiful we didnt even decorate inside! Bob was always so quick to respond and have every aspect under control. His catering staff are so professional and polite everything was perfect!
  • Paige
    Paige Married on 09/10/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot possibly say enough good things about The Whitman, and about the general manager, Bob Vardzel. The house isn't just beautiful, comfortable, and set up for hosting like no place I've ever seen - it's a work of art, and it was a conversation piece for all our guests throughout our wedding weekend. Bob was so, so responsive, and he helped me figure out so many details, big and small. He also catered our reception, and the food and service were top notch. We did a few things non-traditionally, and he and his staff were excellent at making everything go smoothly. We think our wedding was pretty fantastic, and so much of it had to do with The Whitman and with Bob. I highly recommend The Whitman!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 07/11/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you are looking for the best venue in Savannah for an all-inclusive, intimate ceremony, look no further than the Whitman. Bob was amazing, so flexible, so helpful, and a really nice guy that made our day perfect and without any worries: he took care of everything with his team! The home is beautiful and is perfect for having a place to stay the day before and day after the wedding. My husband and I are already planning a trip for our one year anniversary. Cannot say enough great things about this venue!
  • C
    Courtney Married on 04/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used the Whitman for our wedding in April 2016 and it was absolutely perfect. Bob, Steve, and their staff went above and beyond in every aspect. Highly recommended!!!
  • User2182268 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They were amazing. Bob was great, it answered every question I had and gave me so many details and options.
  • J
    Judy Married on 02/07/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bob and Steve were very helpful and attentive to our needs. We got first class service in a gorgeous setting with what my guests described as the best wedding food they'd ever eaten!
  • J
    Jane Married on 10/04/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was the perfect place to stay during my wedding weekend and as well as host the reception. The manager of the house was incredible - made good suggestions, coordinated everything, and made sure things went smoothly the night of the event. The mansion is beautiful and welcoming, with a spacious backyard area.
  • Sarah
    Sarah Married on 02/04/2017
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This house is absolutely gorgeous! It is a great blend of beautiful historic structure with lovely and convenient modern features. We booked the whole house, cottage included, for 3 nights for our small Savannah wedding and were able to comfortably accommodate our wedding party. Our ceremony was held in the front parlor at the bay window overlooking the iconic Forsyth Park - it was like a dream! We were able to literally walk across the street after the ceremony and have portraits taken in front of the beautiful fountain! As if the house and location weren't fantastic enough, the staff was thoroughly impressive. Bob Vardzel, one of the managers, went above and beyond helping us have the best time of our lives. He also happens to be the head chef at The Whitman and I must say, our reception dinner was some of the best food I've ever tasted! I highly recommend anyone looking for a wedding venue, event location, or beautiful getaway spot to stay at The Whitman Mansion! It was everything we wanted and so much more!

    The Whitman Savannah's reply:

    We love hearing that we were able to help create the perfect wedding for our guests. Thank you.