The University Club of San Francisco Reviews

29 | San Francisco, CA
See photos, pricing and details

29 Reviews for The University Club of San Francisco

Recommended by 99%

29
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

13 User photos

The University Club of San Francisco 1
The University Club of San Francisco 2
The University Club of San Francisco 3
The University Club of San Francisco 4
The University Club of San Francisco 5
The University Club of San Francisco 6
The University Club of San Francisco 7
+ 7
Sort by:
  • B

    Bailey Vela · Getting married on 12/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phenomenal

    Yvonne, Yvonne, Yvonne. I can't stress enough how much she made our wedding the success it was - she thought of EVERYTHING and kept me so calm. She is simply amazing. I have no doubt she is the reason the club has such exquisite events and is the core of production. I hope you value her as much as we did (and still do!!!!).

    Sent on 04/24/2019
    The University Club of San Francisco 9
  • H

    Heather O’Meara · Married on 06/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The University Club was the absolute perfect place for our wedding. The aesthetic, price and accommodating staff made it an unforgettable experience.

    Planning our wedding at the University Club was the best decision we could have made. Yvonne was responsive, friendly, organized and accommodating to our last-minute changes and requests. Nolan and the day-of front desk staff member were helpful and also responsive with assisting with a room block and day-of coordinating. The University Club is a beautiful venue and Yvonne and her team went above and beyond to ensure everything was set up properly. The day ran incredibly smoothly due to their attention to detail. The level of service and professionalism was outstanding, and the price was incredibly reasonable for their quality of work. Our guests loved the beautiful venue, the food and the space the University Club offered. They really made our day very special!

    Sent on 07/13/2019
    The University Club of San Francisco 10
    The University Club of San Francisco 11
  • Jen

    Jen Kim · Married on 06/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couldn’t have imagined a better wedding

    I should be relaxing on a beach enjoying my honeymoon in Maui right now but I had to write this review praising Emily and the rest of the university club team. Our wedding was truly the best day of my life and everything was handled with such precision and smoothness by the amazing Emily! I didn’t have to worry about a thing! Things guests raved about:
    1) the food wasnt just good for “wedding Food” — it was absolutely wonderful. People complimented us all night.
    2) the view is spectacular. Rain, shine or cloudy, you can’t beat the skyline. Out of town guests especially loved it.
    3) the venue itself is just so lovely and had so much charm. You really don’t need to add much decor.

    Things I loved:
    1) Emily is a lifesaver and a godsend! She literally took care of everything day of so I didn’t need a separate coordinator. She also kept us on track during the course of events.
    2) there are 2 floors so people can move around and there’s a great flow to the place
    3) the library was the perf place for photos
    4) the dramatic door opening for the bridal walk. Easily the best moment of the day — as a bride, it’s really magical to see all of your friends and family smiling at you in that moment.

    This is the perf venue if you’re:
    - trying to be somewhat budget conscious
    - want to wow your guests
    - seeking a chill but guano atmosphere
    - want delicious food
    - want an absolutely beautiful showstopper wedding

    Sent on 06/05/2019
  • R

    Ryan Stanley · Married on 01/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience all-around

    We were recommended the University Club by a friend and couldn't be happier. First the venue itself is beautiful, perfectly located in the middle of San Francisco and offers breathtaking views of the city. We had a number of visitors from out of town and I think all of them took pictures of the city from the balcony. Second, the services provided by the University Club were top-notch. The food was amazing (we received multiple compliments, including from my uncle who doesn't like anything), there was never a line at the bar and so many little things were on point. Finally, and most importantly to us, the staff there was just perfect. Leading up to the day they answered questions, worked with our budget and had recommendations for vendors. Wedding planning is inherently stressful and the team at the University Club helped to keep that at a minimum. Then there was the day of. Just wow. Everything went so smoothly from start-to-finish. They did an amazing job of making the day magical for both of us This was one of the best decisions I have made in my entire life. Hands down.

    Sent on 04/23/2019
  • Patricia

    Patricia Dudziec · Married on 12/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    San Francisco

    Our wedding reception at the University Club was flawless. From the moment you walk in, you are welcomed and met with a sophisticated level of professionalism by all staff. The location is perfect and the floor to ceiling windows on the 3rd and 4th floor provide a breathtaking view. The entire building is yours for the duration of the event and this (as opposed to a hotel wedding where you have one banquet room) was a huge selling point for us. We knew this would make our guests feel comfortable and gave us the freedom to really make the space ours. The elegant space, featuring large leather couches, beautiful wooden floors, 10 feet+ tall fireplaces, elegant chandeliers, and Library Room are reminiscent of a smoky steakhouse where you find yourself slinging back martinis amongst other fellow patrons.
    The drinks pour heavy and the food is exceptional. Order the prime rib - you won’t regret it!

    Yvonne and the staff are top notch. My husband and I are true native San Franciscans and it was important for us to show our guests what a true San Francisco wedding can be. We contacted multiple types of venues (event spaces, restaurants, hotels, etc) in the city and not a single one of them met the level of service and responsiveness as Yvonne. Yvonne never failed to respond immediately to our never ending stream of questions. She even had no problem with us corralling a 15 piece brass band into the space. She truly left us feeling 100% confident for the day of. Yvonne really sealed the deal for us!

    If you want a worry free, beautiful, fun and memorable reception, we highly recommend the University Club as you will be blown away!

    Sent on 01/08/2019
  • A

    Andrew Chang · Married on 12/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect San Francisco Wedding Venue

    Wedding planning is a stressful affair. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. But it’s a great life lesson that if you surround yourself with the right people, you can do anything.

    That’s a roundabout way of saying that to pull off a wedding in this day and age, you need a good planner. My now-wife and I are both physicians, so juggling our insane work schedules (lots of weekends, nights, and early mornings) is a frustration in and of itself. That said, Yvonne made a valiant yearlong effort of handling our paranoid late-night text messages and near-constant barrage of emails towards the end of the journey, mixing in her expertise as the University Club’s wedding coordinator with humoring our petty demands on quite a few issues.

    From the start, she connected us with a number of vendors who have previously worked with the U Club, and this was an excellent idea as our photographer knew when to capture the best city skylines (seriously, the view from the club is absolutely insane) and our florist rocked the arrangements in the venue. Her encyclopedic understanding of the space (Yvonne has memorized the time of sunset for each month, since that’s the best time to have the ceremony) and repository of prior wedding photos and vendors also allowed us to imagine exactly what our special day would look like.

    As for the club itself, the space is an extremely charming, historic institution clad in aged wood paneling, stained glass, and turn-of-the-century wallpaper. “Classy” is the appropriate adjective here, yet once the sun goes down, the incomparable views of the modern SF skyline from the building’s colossal full-wall windows leave no doubt where in the world you’re dining. And speaking of food, we chose options of filet mignon, Chilean sea bass, and a dizzying array of vegetarian (and vegan) choices, which were all marvelously (and artfully) assembled.

    All in all, we could not have asked for a more romantic, unforgettable location to say “I do”. A huge thank you to Yvonne and the University Club for making our special day perfect.

    Sent on 01/19/2019
  • Katherine

    Katherine Mounday · Married on 12/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely amazing!

    I can’t say enough good things about The University Club of San Francisco. This venue MADE our wedding. Not only is it an INSANELY gorgeous venue with an uninterrupted view of the San Francisco skyline, but also they were incredibly professional and easy to work with. Yvonne in their event planning division was amazing—I was an overwhelmed bride who didn’t know the first thing about planning a wedding, but she made the process easy and simple. She was reachable at all hours of the day if I had any questions and she had great insight into what was needed to make our day run smoothly. I didn’t have to worry about anything on the big day thanks to her! The food and drinks were DELICIOUS. The hotel accommodations were PERFECT. We couldn’t be happier with our experience at The University Club of San Francisco and can’t recommend them enough!!

    Sent on 03/09/2019
  • F

    Farrell · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An authentic San Francisco venue

    We checked out a few different locations in San Francisco for our big day and the University Club ticked all the boxes for us. We worked with Yvonne who was very flexible and easy to reach. Our guests loved the venue. We chose medium cooked fillet steak as one of our main entrees and got a lot of good reports about this dish from our guests. The guests also loved the balcony :-)

    Sent on 12/26/2018
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Booked this Venue based solely on the incredible views, decor, and venue size, without giving much thought to the food options or coordinators (not an ideal situation), but everything at the University Club did not disappoint. We were able to book this venue and work with Yvonne to plan a wedding in less than a year. From the menu tasting, to getting floor plans, and venue visits there was complete transparency when planning with Yvonne and we were able to bring in preferred vendors and also vendors of our own. Yvonne and staff performed exceptionally and above expectations on our big day.
    TIP: If you are interested in this venue, don't miss their annual wedding fairs where you can see the entire space and also try some of their delicious food.

    Sent on 10/08/2018
  • B

    Ben · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The University Club was a terrific wedding venue. Our guests loved its unique character and the intimacy it created. Yvonne was an amazing coordinator, which was important to us as we were planning our wedding from the opposite coast. Everything went smoothly thanks to her excellent recommendations, wealth of experience, and attention to detail. We couldn't be more pleased with how our wedding went!

    Sent on 09/27/2018
  • M

    Matt Sarnoff · Married on 08/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect San Francisco Venue

    We chose the University Club for their amazing views of the downtown San Francisco skyline and were completely blown away! Its location along the cable car route made for some incredible photo ops! The food was outstanding and we received numerous compliments from our guests. We loved how accommodating the chefs were. Several guests had celiac disease and the kitchen worked very hard to make sure everything was gluten free without cross-contamination. And our vegan guests raved about the quality of the vegan options. Service was prompt and everything went off without a hitch. The guests couldn't believe the transformation from the ceremony to the reception and then into a retro video game arcade with dancing! We still couldn't believe it ourselves. Magical. The on-site guest rooms made everything so much more convenient for us and our family who all came in from out of state. We had a few things shipped to the venue ahead of time and they had no problem keeping them safe until our wedding day. A huge thank you to Yvonne for guiding us through the process of putting together such an ambitious event and working so well with all our other vendors!

    Sent on 12/25/2018
  • K

    Kim · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't begin to express how amazing The University Club was! Our wedding turned out beautiful and our guests continue to rave about how excellent and majestic the venue was! The unique layout and the beautiful view really captured our guests' hearts. The service was EXCELLENT. Everyone was so warm and friendly and truly wanted to take care of us and our special day. The quality of the food was some of the best food we have ever eaten and they were great to accommodate any requests that we had. The surprise was also when we got our bill and saw how AFFORDABLE everything was. We plan to come to University Club every year to celebrate our anniversary. We highly recommend this place.

    Sent on 07/10/2018
  • N

    Nick · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely loved having our wedding reception at the University Club. Yvonne was amazing and incredibly helpful with the planning and the day of details. Such a beautiful venue; spacious with amazing food and friendly staff!!! We arranged to have a cocktail hour on the 4th floor, then dinner on the third floor, followed by dancing w band on the fourth floor. Perfect set up!. Highly highly recommend.

    Sent on 08/22/2018
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We would choose The University Club a thousand times over again for our wedding. The venue a gorgeous, classic San Francisco, venue with beautiful sweeping views and the staff is even better. Yvonne is a total rockstar. Everything, and I mean everything, was taken care of from planning to execution and throughout the entire night. I really can't recommend this venue, or Yvonne, more. Host your wedding or event at The University Club, you'll be so happy you did!

    Sent on 06/05/2018
  • M

    Marissa · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so grateful from the professional service we received. Yvonne was always available for any questions we had and the timing from start to finish at my daughter’s wedding was perfect in every way!

    Sent on 05/08/2018
    The University Club of San Francisco 12
    The University Club of San Francisco 13
    The University Club of San Francisco 14
    The University Club of San Francisco 15
  • A

    adrienne · Married on 03/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding at the University Club of SF was the BEST DECISION we made!! As soon as we toured the venue, we knew it was the one. We were blown away by the elegant interior and beautiful city views. We also liked how there were several different spaces within the club that could be utilized during the wedding (library, game room, lounge, dining room) so that it felt like different portions of the evening could take place in different spaces.

    Upon booking the venue, Emily Mattison-Earls (director of sales and catering at the UC) was amazing to work with! She was super responsive, patient, calm, and an all around cool person to be around! Her help coordinating the logistics of our wedding day was essential and put our mind at ease.

    She went above and beyond to ensure that our wedding day was a rousing success and one of the best days of our lives! Her constant calm, helpful attitude and expert organization was a blessing throughout the various ups and downs over the 6 months of planning.

    We honestly can't thank Emily enough. She truly went above and beyond the call of duty to make our wedding at the beautiful University Club one of the most wonderful, memorable experiences of our lives! I highly doubt there is better value for cost for a wedding in SF than the University Club!

    Sent on 03/31/2018
  • J

    John · Married on 02/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently got married at University Club and cannot say enough about this place!! It was hard finding a place in San Francisco that could fit all of our guests (approximately 150 people) and had the right ambiance. We lucked out that we found this place because it was perfect for us. The venue itself has a lot of old charm - lots of wood, leather chairs, beautiful greens, and old history. It also boasts a magnificent view of the city from both the 3rd and 4th floors, and our guests were able to hang out on the balcony. We loved how there were little "nooks" of space for everyone on each floor. As the bride/groom we had private time in the library, there is a pool table for guests that can also be converted to display food, and a bar area with ample seating. We worked with Emily primarily who had a team that helped her with the entire night. She was one of the main reasons we chose this venue. She was kind, attentive, responded extremely quickly to emails, and was fun to work with. We wanted a lot of details about food and she worked with us each step of the way. Food was an important part of our night and having a full kitchen and bar there was extremely important to us. She helped us design a customized menu for our guests - prime rib (reminiscent of house of prime rib with all the fixings), miso black cod, spinach salad, and a well-stocked seafood raw bar, charcuterie, cheese board, hummus/vegetables for the the cocktail hour. We also had custom drinks made from both of us. We set up our tables in 2 long aisles to so that we could achieve a family-style vibe. The servers, chef, bartenders, and other staff were awesome and so kind to us. Anything that we asked for they tried their utmost to accommodate. We felt that the staff was very professional, considerate, and down to earth. Our guests had a lovely time and we had a great time working this venue!!

    Sent on 03/08/2018
    The University Club of San Francisco 16
    The University Club of San Francisco 17
    The University Club of San Francisco 18
    The University Club of San Francisco 19
    The University Club of San Francisco 20
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing wedding with our 100 guests – and while we’d like to think we were a big part of that success, we owe a lot of credit to the University Club.
    - Staff: From our initial tour to the final song, we had a dedicated coordinator there to help. Yvonne and Emily worked with us on everything from crazy planning ideas (like a hot cocoa bar - TRY IT!) to day-of logistics (even catching some mistakes that we’d made in our seating charts). They made the whole experience a breeze. Not only did they make things easy; they made it fun.
    - Convenience: The University Club has it all in a one-stop shop. This isn’t just a room you rent, it’s getting access to the quality staff and service of a private members’ club. Everyone from the servers to the bartenders knew the venue and how to deliver a phenomenal experience.
    - Catering: The food was fantastic and perfectly prepared. Their menu was extensive and allowed us to address a variety of dietary needs and still knock the socks off our guests.
    - Venue: Tired of the hundreds of “ambiguous winery wedding” photos in your social media feed? Not here. The University Club offered us the unique vintage look we wanted, with incredible city views to boot! Our guests are still talking about it.

    Sent on 02/28/2018

    The University Club of San Francisco's reply:

    Thank you Amanda & Ittai for having your wedding here at the University Club! I'm so glad the food met Ittai's standards ;) You two did such an amazing job with your DIY centerpieces and I loved how all the details tied together so nicely - from the feather bouquets to the trunk full of dancing goodies, you two definitely know how to stick to a theme! I am truly honored to have been such a huge part of your wedding.
    - Yvonne
  • B

    Brian · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were blown away by the level of service at the University Club. Friendly staff, elegant environment and delicious menus! It is the best deal in town.

    Sent on 12/06/2017
  • G

    G · Married on 05/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing experience with the University Club of San Francisco. I had looked at many venues and no other venue could match the venue (it's beautiful), the location, the staff and the value. Our guests raved about the venue and the food. When you book this venue, you also get access to their event staff, who are willing to go the extra mile to accommodate your needs. Julia was clearly very experienced, open and accommodating to my ideas and offered valuable suggestions along the way and even recommended some great vendors that I ended up using. Both Julia and Yvonne were pros during the wedding rehearsal and the reception. A big shout out to Yvonne who was able to skillfully persuade a nap deprived three year to walk down the aisle by himself and for helping me handle an emergency dress situation late in the night. Couldn't be happier with our choice to go with the University Club of SF for our venue!

    Sent on 07/13/2017
  • A

    Alison · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I cannot say enough wonderful things about the University Club and their staff. Elizabeth and her team helps us throw a wedding that was beyond our wildest dreams. When we set out to look for a venue, we wanted something with a classic, old world feel that also capured the beauty of San Francisco. The UC completely fit the bill. The space alone is gorgeous. We literally have never had better foo at a wedding either - people STILL come up to us six months later and rave about how incredible it was. Elizabeth and Julia and their events teams were ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE to work with - so professional, responsive, and calming. And believe me - the day of they did EVERYTHHING - vendor coordination, set up, etc and literally pulled everything together even better than I imagined. If you are not married and want to get married in SF, you MUST check out the UC. Will be a favorite place of ours for years and years to come!

    Sent on 11/21/2017
  • A

    Anastasia · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing The University Club of San Francisco for my wedding reception is one of the best decisions I have ever made. Julia, Yvonne and Elizabeth made planning our wedding such a pleasant experience from the moment we booked this venue. Our wedding was two months ago and I cannot tell you how many guests have commented on how wonderful everything was, from the food to the service. Big thank you to the chef and all of the staff at The University Club. You were all amazing! This venue is truly a hidden gem. The views are breathtaking and the ambiance is a perfect representation of vintage San Francisco. I highly recommend The University Club for any event!

    Sent on 07/13/2017
  • User2133844 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our wedding at University Club recently. From the minute we stepped into the door, we were sold!

    (1) Great views - The Club is located on Nob Hill and has an unobstructed view of the Transamerica Tower and the financial district. The view, especially at night, is breathtaking and makes for some beautiful pictures!

    (2) Good staff - The wedding coordinator, Gail, was super helpful and answered all of my questions promptly. (Even when I sent her long emails with 10+ questions...) The wedding day itself proceeded strangely smoothly, which we attribute to Gail and the staff at University Club.

    (3) Convenient - The University Club has a small hotel attached to it that you can block out rooms at. Since we got married on a very popular weekend, having a building all to ourselves helped me not feel like I was just one bride in a sea of brides.

    (4) The food - All of our guests had very complimentary things to say about the food! We ordered a Thai style lamb chop that was so good, several of our friends devoted the cocktail hour to chasing down servers!

    Sent on 06/30/2013
  • A

    Allyson · Married on 04/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone was asking me, "How did you find this place?" The University Club is in the ideal San Francisco location at the top of Powell St. in the historic Nob Hill District. Not only that, it is one of the more affordable locations aswell. It has a masculine, romantic feeling about it, with breathtaking views of the city. The food was delicious, and the staff was very helpful. Gail, the coordinator, is a sweetheart and really tries to put you at ease. She made everything clear and simple. This is the perfect venue for a wedding and I had the most magical time at mine.

    Sent on 04/23/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review