The University Club Reviews

10 | Madison, WI
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for The University Club

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

10

8 User photos

The University Club 1
The University Club 2
The University Club 3
The University Club 4
The University Club 5
+ 4
Order by:
  • Kate

    Kate Schneider · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our guests loved it (and so did we!)

    My husband and I are so glad we chose to get married at The University Club, it made planning our wedding easy (or, at least as easy as wedding planning can be!) They had every detail covered - we dropped off some decorations and our wedding day, everything was set up beautifully. The food is delicious, and the staff are friendly and attentive. It's a perfect location for overnight guests with hotels within walking distance, and we all were able to grab a pitcher at the terrace and bar crawl after the reception!

    Also, our guests loved it - they were able to take advantage of the beautiful summer night and sit out on the patio (we also had games out there), socialize in the lounge area, stay in the dining room, or hit the dance floor. The layout is great for allowing people to find their own space to mingle. We had our rehearsal dinner the night before in the basement, which has a vintage hunting lodge vibe.

    The University Club 6
    The University Club 7
    The University Club 8
    The University Club 9
    The University Club 10
    The University Club 11
    The University Club 12
    The University Club 13
    Sent on 10/24/2019
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 08/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The University Club is a Fantastic venue. It provided great food, great service, and flexibility. I have a complicated diet restriction that was accommodated beautifully. Sarah does a great job communicating and responds quickly to requests. My guests were so impressed with the quality of the food that was served from the appetizers to the their dinner options. (However the cake that they provided was not good-we ended up being reimbursed for the low quality of the cake, Sarah did a great job communicating to us after the event.) They did a great job working well with other vendors. The beauty of this building can speak for itself and does not need many decorations to make it look like a wedding venue. The location is perfect and the ability to reserve rooms at the Lowell center (which is a block away) makes the UW club one of the best wedding venues in Madison. There is no food and drink minimum which allowed us to stay on budget. Overall great experience!

    Sent on 09/09/2018
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The University Club was wonderful. We had our reception here. They had worked with most of our vendors before, and handled all the setup arrangements without needing my middle-man-ing at all really. Patrick Bailey is the new catering/events manager and while he wasn't there when we booked the venue, he was super responsive and fantastic. We had about 90 people total and that was a good number--the space can accommodate more but I think it would be tight if you went over 125 seated guests.

    The food was delicious, the venue had everything set up exactly as I wanted, and they were awesome. When you are a wedding there, you've rented the whole building, and there are back rooms and lounges that you can use for more intimate moments. We arranged for a special toast in honor of my husband's late father, and the U club handled setting that up in a back room. The patio was also perfect for my family members who don't like crowds to sit and smoke a cigar.

    Having my reception at the University Club was everything I hoped. Thank you!

    Sent on 06/20/2017
  • G

    Gertrude · Married on 04/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was exceptionally good. The service was excellent. The general manager was very professional, patient, courteous and very responsive. He was readily available throughout the planning process until the end of the reception after 11pm. The food was very good and we will forever be grateful to all the staff who our wedding day very memorable.

    Sent on 05/04/2016
  • E

    Emily · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose The University Club to host our small wedding ceremony and dinner, and could not have been happier with our choice. Justin and his staff did an amazing job coordinating our event, even from afar since we live in Seattle and could not be there to meet with them regularly. The venue space is amazing, with a gorgeous old, timely, and elegant feel, and they were able to create such an amazing intimate atmosphere for our wedding ceremony. The ceremony space is set up with a few chairs for those who may need to sit down, but having the rest of our guests stand up behind us and around us was really special as it made us feel surrounded and supported by our friends and family. We had the entire venue for our party that day, so the ladies were able to get ready in the women's restroom/lounge area, which is a gorgeous space and was perfect for us. The guys were able to use the space in the downstairs Fireside room area, which I was actually a little jealous of because it's such a cool men's lounge feel, and it was a comfortable space for our gentlemen to hang out, have a few drinks, and get dressed. Justin worked with us to come up with the right plan for our budget and needs, and we got so many compliments from our guests about the food!!! I would highly recommend this venue for your wedding - it's amazing.

    Sent on 08/17/2015
  • User4135563 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't recommend the University Club enough. This venue is an amazing place for a reception. The food was great, but what you really get for your money is TERRIFIC service. Every worker was cheerful, quick and extremely helpful. My family can get pretty rowdy, but the University Club staff members were just the nicest people. Justin is also super responsive and will patiently answer any nitpicky bride question you have. Seriously--one of the best decisions I made for my wedding was having the reception at the University Club! Zero complaints!

    Sent on 08/03/2015
  • E

    Estefany · Married on 12/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The perfect venue! It's all in one, caterer, bar, you don't have to rent chairs or linen or cutlery. The spaces are very dynamic, It worked perfect for a heavy hors d'oeuvres kind of wedding. The chef is amazing! He prepared a family recipe and turned out delicious. The best part is that Justin Duris comes with it too, he is such a great person to work with.

    Sent on 12/16/2014
  • B

    Betsy · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Living in Florida and getting married in Madison, Wisconsin, I had this feeling that planning a wedding long distance would be difficult. I was wrong. Justin was so flexible and made my husband and I feel comfortable. He is professional, flexible and approachable. Kyle was also extremely great! The venue has so much beauty by itself that it made decorating extremely simple. This is the place if you are looking for simplistic beauty and class for your wedding or event.

    Sent on 10/09/2014
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 01/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin at the University Club is fantastic. We were panicking about finding a ceremony site that was meaningful to us and that we could visit after the wedding, and the University Club fit the bill. We both attended UW-Madison, and we met at the Memorial Union Terrace across Library Mall. Justin was so responsive to every weird question I asked (like, "How long does it take to walk the length of the room?"), and he made me feel so at ease about everything. I wanted to make sure our guests had snacks after the ceremony, because we had a weird chunk of time to fill before the reception; Justin made it happen, and even provided some delicious vegan Thai spring rolls for our guests with dietary restrictions. At the rehearsal dinner, he accommodated for a dairy-free guest, several vegetarians, a vegan, and a gluten-free groomsman. My vegan bridesmaid was still raving about her pumpkin curry the next day!

    The University Club also has a Ladies' Lounge, which is where we got ready. The only tiny issue we had was guests trying to use the ladies room when I was trying to get into my dress. Maybe some sort of folding movable screen or something would be nice so the bride can continue getting ready while guests come through the room. Aside from that, the lounge was amazing, and Justin even let us stash my wedding dress and the bridesmaids' dresses in the closet overnight so we wouldn't have to lug them in the next day.

    Overall, I couldn't imagine a more wonderful place to get married. Every time we visit Madison now, we'll have lunch at the University Club, in the same room where we became husband and wife. That's so lovely.

    Sent on 01/22/2014
  • A

    Angela · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about our reception venue. Justin is amazing. He was always willing to work with us to make our wedding unique and to calm us down. About 2 months before the wedding we got freaked out about price and he told us to wait until we had almost-final counts and then we could talk about reducing costs. We did, and he found ways to save us about $4k. The venue itself is romantic and it's so nice that you get the whole place to yourself so you don't feel like you're in a wedding factory like other places that have multiple weddings going on at the same time. Our guests loved the multiple rooms. While I thought the decor was a bit Nordic and wouldn't fit with our theme, when I look through the pictures, it looks perfect and provides the perfect backdrop for an amazing night. Also, the food was delicious and the chef was more than eager to work with us to create the perfect menu, which we wanted to reflect our heritages.

    Sent on 09/05/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review