Skip to main content
Weddings

The Terrace Room Reviews

The Terrace Room View more information

Reviews

4.8 out of 5 rating
26 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating
96% Recommended by couples

Awards

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner

44 User photos

  • V
    Victoria C. Sent on 01/17/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Magical venue in a charming and historic setting

    This is a beautiful venue, especially delightful for an evening party, so you can enjoy the setting sun shimmering over the lake. The food was top notch and the service excellent!
  • Carl
    Carl S. Sent on 06/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great People and Great Venue

    We recently celebrated a rehearsal dinner at The Terrace Room. We hosted 52 people the night before our son’s wedding, and he is the first of our children to get married. We (the parents) had a small wedding ourselves and we had NO experience with anything like this. In a word, we were clueless. Candi and Byron were communicating patiently with both parents and also, at times, our son and daughter-in-law. That is, we didn’t get clear on a point person right off the bat. They didn’t seem to mind.

    They gave us a tour, they gave us clear pdfs of menus and choices, they cheerfully worked with our desire to get desserts from a local bakery, they scheduled a Captain’s Meeting to go over how things would work on the night of the event and carefully confirmed all of the final choices. It really helped to have them provide so much structure.

    On the afternoon of the event, we arrived to a gorgeous setting. Tables set, windows were being given a final polish, it all looked so attractive and organized. The food was excellent and the friendliness and the supportiveness of the staff began at 4:30 pm and continued until we said goodbye at 9:30 pm. I wanted to whip fresh whipping cream, I asked about space in their fridge for a few large things, I asked for some serving platters. Everything I asked for help with was cheerfully supplied.

    In addition to Candi and Byron, we want to thank Jose, Jorge, Kay (all so hardworking and easy to talk to) in the front of the house, and Chef Ryan, Rachelle, and Mauricio in the kitchen. We did not get to know the people in the kitchen, but we certainly are grateful for the fruits of their efforts.

    Without even a smidge of reservation, we recommend these people and this lovely Oakland venue wholeheartedly.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Mallory
    Mallory E. Sent on 03/14/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Venue, Dream Wedding!

    Our experience with the Terrace Room was incredible! Candi, Byron, and Jose are an incredible team that made our big day absolutely perfect! Candi was there every step of the way to answer our questions and make sure everything came together perfectly! The food at the Terrace Room is some of the best, we loved it from the first tasting to our dinner at the reception and our guests did too! The Terrace Room is also such a beautiful venue that felt so romantic and intimate, I feel so lucky that my husband and I were able to get married here. I recommend the Terrace Room for any special event, you won’t be disappointed!
  • J
    John Sent on 12/20/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue, Amazing photo lighting, LGBTQ+ Friendly

    My husband and I were married at the Terrace Room on 12/16/2023. Ceremony only package. The venue was decorated beautifully for Christmas. The venue is very ornate, and therefor very little additional decor is needed. Banquet staff was very professional and assisted the ceremony perfectly with very little direction.
  • Joyce
    Joyce P. Sent on 12/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue with stellar service

    We loved our experience working with Candi and her team at the Terrace Room and we really loved this beautiful venue for our wedding reception in November 2022. From the initial phone call to the food tasting to the meetings leading up to our event and to the actual reception itself, Candi has been so helpful throughout the whole process. She and her team were very responsive to our questions and accommodating to our needs whether it came to adding drinks last minute or dietary needs or earlier setup times. The venue itself was beautiful with windows overlooking Lake Merritt and if you have your wedding in the evening, I can guarantee you a beautiful sunset and view. All our guests were really impressed by the well-organized movements of the staff, the setup, and especially the great food. Compliments to the chef(s)! We maxed out our guests at 200 and despite every seat being filled, we did not feel cramped at all. It felt very cozy and perfect for celebrating our special day with our loved ones. Our time at the Terrace Room was so memorable and smooth! Parking was the only thing that was pretty difficult as there is only street parking available or a paid parking lot down the block. Besides that, I would highly recommend this venue to anyone looking for a special place for their special day!
  • A
    Ana A. Sent on 12/17/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Terrace Room

    Loved our wedding experience with the staff and venue. We appreciate all the help and information provided by venue wedding coordinator Candi. Excellent food and bar service! The only drawback were the numerous car break-ins in front of the venue and surrounding areas (despite security). The Terrace Room is an amazing Oakland treasure, and would overall recommend it to future couples considering tying the knot.
  • Mike
    Mike A. Sent on 12/15/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Terrace Room - Incredible!

    The decision to book was easy. In addition to great views and a gorgeous venue, Candi went over all of the details and options and answered all of our questions (my wife is a wedding and events director, we had a lot). We waited 2+ years with pandemic delays but it was well worth it. They stayed in communication with us the entire time and we picked up where we left off afterward. The day of the event was executed perfectly- Jose (the banquet captain) and all of the staff at The Terrace Room were warm and accommodating, the food was great, and we couldn't have asked for anything better. All of our guests were blown away. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Terrace Room to anyone.
  • H
    Hannah Sent on 12/29/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/10: Would get married at The Terrace Room again!

    We had our ceremony and reception at the Terrace Room and couldn't be happier about the experience.

    Candi, the venue's liaison, was wonderful. Planning a wedding during the pandemic wasn’t easy, but she held our hands the whole way. Working with Candi was the easiest part of planning our wedding.

    The venue itself was gorgeous. We got nothing but applause from our guests, especially for the food!
  • A
    Adrian T. Sent on 12/15/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue with a wonderful view, and very flexible and responsive staff!

    Our experience with The Terrace Room couldn't have been better. The process was really easy to get just the experience we were looking for, and they were quite flexible in working with us to make the evening just what we wanted. Our contact, Candi, was really responsive and easy to contact, and had worked with most of our vendors before. We would recommend the Terrace Room to anyone who is looking for a beautiful wedding venue by Lake Merritt.
  • Allison
    Allison K. Sent on 01/21/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exactly what I had envisioned for our wedding!

    We had a very small (18 person) wedding and The Terrace Room was so accommodating. Candi was especially helpful during the whole process of planning the wedding. She was always just an email away if we had any questions and extremely organized. They definitely know what they are doing and can customize their space to your specific needs. Also, the location is gorgeous. It was exactly what I had envisioned for our wedding!
  • Ragni
    Ragni P. Sent on 01/21/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous Venue

    This review is for Candi and her team for the exceptional service on our big day and days leading up to it in March of 2019. From the moment we meet and toured the Terrace Room we were in great hands. Candi was very prompt and patient with us and in answering all our questions and concerns and in planning a wedding you know there were many! Our big day couldn't have been more perfect as a bride I can honestly say I had zero worries, everything was perfect from the food down to the end of the night. This venue and Candi's team is amazing and it was a pleasure working with them all. Thank you all for our perfect wedding! We will be back to celebrate our 1st yr anniversary, every one there after.
  • M
    Maryanne Sent on 03/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great venue!

    The Terrace Room is a gem in the heart of Oakland that was the perfect venue for our wedding. The food was delicious (we chose the buffet option), the service was great (Candi Zamora, the coordinator was such a pleasure to work with!), and the location was the best part. Beautiful during both the day and night, the view of Lake Merritt was stunning through the big windows and added a unique touch to the restaurant. I also loved how the interior design and steel frames in the dining area added a hint of nostalgia.

    It was the perfect venue for a party of 150 guests. It felt small enough to feel close with everyone, but still big enough where our guests did not feel cramped.

    Candi the event coordinator was an absolute pleasure to work with. With always a gracious smile and positive attitude she was responsive, diligent, and accommodating to our requests.
  • K
    Kristen Sent on 10/20/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Lovely reception venue

    My husband and I had a beautiful wedding reception at the Terrace Room earlier this month. Candi and her team were great to work with and very responsive over email. The Terrace Room is beautifully located over Lake Merritt with lovely views, and the food was fantastic, which was really important to my husband and I. During our tasting, we met with the chef who was really eager to make sure the food was what we were looking for. Everything was delicious, from the appetizers, to the plated dinners. We felt that the pricing was quite reasonable for a reception venue, and it was great that the Terrace Room had everything we needed, from seating, to linens, and we didn't have to rent anything. We would definitely recommend the Terrace Room to other couples looking for a lovely wedding venue in Oakland.
  • H
    Heather G. Sent on 02/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Enchanting venue, great service!

    We celebrated our daughter's Quinceanera (which was much like planning our wedding!) at The Terrace Room in September 2018 and had the most beautiful, memorable event ever! Not only are the views breathtaking and the ambiance enchanting and elegant, we found the pricing to be reasonable in comparison to other venues we had considered. We had a wonderful experience from the start of the planning process to the execution of our event. The staff were friendly, helpful and went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect! We opted for The Terrace Room buffet and our guests raved about the food. The service was top notch too! If you are looking for a beautiful spot to host your wedding or special event, look no further than The Terrace Room!
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 03/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I was married at the Terrace Room in March 2018 and I cannot say enough good things about working with their team. My guests also can't stop telling me what a great wedding it was. We partly selected them because when we were in early discussions and pursuing quotes their catering and events team were by far the most communicative and professional of all the venues we spoke with, which made them stand out to us, along with the beauty of the venue and the ease of all-in-one for food, tables, chairs, linens and venue space.

    All of our meetings and discussions before the event were very smooth and service day-of was exceptional. I have never been at a wedding where food service was accomplished so speedily and professionally, no one was kept waiting for food which mean we had even more time than we hoped for dancing. I was very impressed with the quality of the food, and the chef was eager to please our guests with special dietary needs, including vegans, gluten-free, kosher and lactose-intolerant guests. The food was exceptional, and I was especially pleased our vegetarian guests enjoyed their dishes so much and didn't feel their meals were an afterthought. Bar service was also incredible, the bar tenders were friendly with our guests and kept everyone well topped-off. The premium cocktail package was well worth it with our group, and guests enjoyed the signature cocktails we planned with the bar, as well as working up other premium cocktails with the bartenders.

    Beyond the amazing service, the venue itself is beautiful, we appreciated it needed minimal additional decoration, and the amazing views over Lake Merritt by day and night are incomparable.

    I'm very glad I chose the Terrace Room, we had exactly the wedding we hoped for, and I would recommend it to anyone.
  • J
    Janelle C. Sent on 05/08/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I exchanged our vows here on Saturday, April 8, 2017. I could not be happier with the beauty of the venue or the efficiency of the staff. The event manager, Matt, made sure that our wedding program went off without a hitch. The catering managers, Tommy and Candi, made sure that the decor was perfect. The chef, Jack, had our guests saying, "The food was delicious," all night long. The bartenders kept our guests hydrated and deserved all of the tips that they were given.

    If I could re-do our wedding day, I would choose The Terrace Room all over again. The view is gorgeous, both during the day and at night. The wall of windows lent our wedding the perfect amount of natural light. The decor is elegant and classic, perfect for a night time wedding reception. The lay out is so spacious that there is no issue navigating a room full of over 150 guests.

    If you are looking for a place to host a party, I highly recommend working with The Terrace Room. They amazed me at every turn with their patience, accommodation, and knowledge of the wedding planning process. They made our wedding beautiful, organized, and perfect.
  • K
    Katie Sent on 09/11/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I just had the wedding I have always dreamed of, and a large part of that was the Terrace Room. First off, the venue itself is beautiful. The decor sets a classy tone and the views of Lake Merritt create a perfect backdrop. Elizabeth and Matt made everything leading up to the wedding day about as easy as something like this can be. They walked us through everything that we needed to do, from the food tasting to the floor plan. Elizabeth checked in frequently as we got close to the date and was very flexible. And then they completely blew my mind on the day of. The staff was incredible, even my guests commented about how wonderful the waiters and bartenders were. Matt kept everything running smoothly and the food was great. We opted for the sundae bar which was a huge hit and I also highly recommend the ceviche appetizer which people just kept devouring. I highly recommend the Terrace Room to anyone planning a wedding.
  • S
    S Sent on 04/21/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They were wonderful! They worked with us on everything and even gave us cost-cutting advice when we let them know how much we were trying to pay for everything. The venue was beautiful and perfect - so much of our family was from out of state and they were blown away by the view of Lake Merritt and all the deco glory of the space. They even worked through a staff change with us and worked really hard to make everything work.
  • J
    Judy Sent on 02/21/2018
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our reception at the Terrace Room was amazing! The venue interior has a warm ambiance and beautiful architecture – we really didn’t have to do much in terms of decorating. It also has these floor-to-ceiling windows that gave our guests an incredible panoramic view of the lake. Our families raved how beautiful it was to see the orange glow of sunset and to also see the lake lit up by the necklace of lights that outline the water during the evening.

    Working with Candi, Tommy, and Matt made the planning process convenient. They are all very friendly and always willing to help. They made sure we were always on the same page, provided very detailed explanations and walkthroughs, and always made themselves available. The chef also did a great job – he used quality fruits and vegetables, got the flavors just right, and was flexible enough to prepare special vegan meals for a few of our guests by request.
  • M
    Meg E. Sent on 01/13/2020
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect venue

    The Terrace Room was a perfect venue for our February wedding! It was cold and dreary outside but it didn't matter. Guests arrived and gathered next to the fire in the gorgeous art deco welcoming room. The sun set spectacularly behind us during the ceremony, and the rain through the windows during the reception just made us fell more warm and cozy inside. Everyone complimented the food! (Get the prime rib carving station!) Candi was an excellent manager and accommodated our needs such as a few Halal meals and even coordinated with our favorite brewery Woods to offer one of their kegs to our guests from their bar. We highly recommend the Terrace Room!
  • L
    Lennies Sent on 11/22/2013
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    We recently had an amazing wedding at The Terrace Room in Oakland. I moved to the Oakland area over a year ago and we live very close to the venue. We would always see weddings and other parties taking place there and once my husband proposed we decided to check it out. Our first experience was a Sunday brunch. The view of Lake Merritt is amazing and the food was as well. Once we saw the affordable packages available for a wedding the decision was easy.

    Elizabeth and her team were a delight to work with. If you are looking for a venue that really showcases the beauty of Oakland, The Terrace Room is an excellent choice. I will admit that when we had our tasting of entree options, I wasn't super impressed. For us, food wasn't the most important thing. Becuase of the view, the quality of the service, and the price, we were very happy with our choice. I'm also happy to report that our guests were very satisfied with the food, appetizers, and the service. Parking can be an issue. Just let your guests know ahead of time to park early. The venue also has recommendations on valet services.

    The only other reason I did not give the venue a full five stars, was becuase we had to have our rehearsal early the day before the wedding, instead of in the afternoon. (They had another wedding booked the day before).

    Thanks again to The Terrace Room for helping make our special day a memorable one!
  • Catherine
    Catherine B. Sent on 01/13/2020
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful wedding in the perfect location in our favorite city!

    My husband and I were adamant about getting married in Oakland, but we struggled to find a venue with all of our non-negotiables: ceremony and reception in the same locale, indoors with a view of the water, fantastic food, and a great bar/dance floor set-up for the reception. The Terrace Room nailed it.
    We loved how elegant the lobby, bar area, and restaurant were and felt that any decor we needed to add would only be small details to enhance the mood. The space itself was so picturesque and the view of the lake was perfect. I was so pleased that we were able to take photos outside while having the whole event comfortably indoors.
    Everyone commented on how good the food was for the cocktail hour and the buffet dinner, and we were able to bring in a ceremonial cutting cake and cupcakes from an outside vendor.
    The venue was kind enough to allow me and my bridesmaids to use the conference room as a changing/prep room for 2 hours before the ceremony, and they allowed me to store some decorations in the closet between the rehearsal and ceremony the next day. Overall, perfect location and accommodating staff. Our day went swimmingly!
  • User1344148 Sent on 09/24/2013
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Beautiful venue, everything went off without a hitch on the day of (and the day before).
  • R
    Rachel W. Sent on 03/01/2020
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue!

    We loved our Terrace Room wedding! We were torn between wanting to get married outside and not wanting our guests to freeze in a Bay Area summer evening. The Terrace Room’s huge windows and gorgeous views were the perfect compromise. We basically didn’t have to decorate at all other than some flower arrangements because the view and the space are so beautiful to begin with. The venue easily accommodated our 120 guests for the ceremony, dinner, and dancing (with a band). We really liked having multiple connected rooms/areas, so guests could choose between the rowdy dance floor and quieter spaces where they could sit around with drinks and talk. It felt very intimate, like having the wedding in someone’s extremely beautiful and spacious home.

illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours