The Terrace at Waters Edge Lighthouse Reviews

18 | Schenectady, NY
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for The Terrace at Waters Edge Lighthouse

Recommended by 97%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • Meaghan

    Meaghan Martin · Married on 06/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful experience!

    We are so glad we hosted our wedding at the Waters Edge. The service was fantastic, and the food was amazing! The setting was beautiful- it was perfect for a small wedding.

    Sent on 07/07/2019
  • P

    Paige · Married on 09/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at The Terrace is absolutely amazing to work with! They made our special day super enjoyable and worry free. The staff was there to make sure we had everything we needed, organized, and made sure our guests were well taken care of! I could not recommend them more. If you want to have the best wedding of your life choose The Terrace at Waters Edge!

    Sent on 09/15/2018
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely perfect! The best!!

    Sent on 08/22/2018
  • M

    Mia · Married on 10/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are currently in the airport waiting to board a flight to our honeymoon. Everything else can wait until we get back, but we HAD to review The Terrace before we left. We just want to say if you choose this venue for your wedding or event you will be so happy you did. Our wedding was amazing! Rit was fantastic. He answered all my calls and returned the voicemails day of. He made setting up the extra decorations I wanted to include stress free. Our guests food arrived hot and the next day everyone kept telling us how much they enjoyed their food. Also, the hotel which is right next to The Terrace had great accomadations. The rooms were comfy and it was great to have a hotel right there for our out of town guests, and they could just walk from the hall to the hotel. And the views of the river from our balcony were beautiful! All the staff during the reception were attentive, we really enjoyed our personal server Pat who made sure we wanted for nothing during our reception, and it was great to have her otherwise we probably never would have eaten since we were so busy with first dance, greeting guests, and other just married duties. Also, the space on the dance floor was more than enough, the acoustics were great for our live band TSEnsemble (another amazing vendor), and the bar was gorgeous and well staffed. Again, can't say enough, we loved everything so much a review couldn't wait until we got back from our honeymoon, we had to do it now! <3

    Sent on 10/16/2017
  • A

    Ada · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot recommend the Terrace enough! I had my wedding there last weekend and my family and friends are still calling me to rave about the food! Ritt and his team were amazing to work with. They went above and beyond to make sure that everything was exactly how I wanted it; and that I didn't have to worry about a thing when my husband and I arrived to our reception. Ritt and his staff were responsible for setting up the reception- and everything was perfect, just as I imagined it!! You can tell that he is very experienced and has so much knowledge in the wedding industry.

    Guests loved the option to relax outside on the terrace where we had set up cordials and cigars. Very classy venue, easy to work with, and at a great price. The banquet room itself is gorgeous (high quality construction and decor), and with a setting by the river- you really can't beat it! Also loved the new fire pit out on the patio.

    10/10!!

    Sent on 08/10/2016
  • C

    Charlene · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good about Rit and the team at the Terrace! I am very particular and they were nothing but fantastic, matching their ties to my colors and all! Hit worked with us and had everything we wanted for our day! The beautiful setting on the water is just what I wanted. We looked one other place and had to stop because we knew that the Lighthouse was the place we wanted. The night of the wedding they were able to keep things flowing, no one waited long for food and everyone was served by the time we got up to talk to everyone! The food was delicious and exceeded all expectations! Susan our server was great for us and kept making sure that everything was PERFECT! Everything went so well we even extended the party for longer because everyone had such a great time!

    Sent on 10/28/2015
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 09/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our September wedding at the Terrace. It was perfect! Our guests raved about the delicious food and the beautiful location right on the river. You really can't beat the price for the value and service you will receive.

    While planning I worked with Rit and Sue who both made the planning process so easy for me. They were quick to respond, eager to please and so accommodating. The day of the wedding Rit and his team transformed the venue space into exactly what I envisioned. They even matched their ties with our wedding colors (small details never go unnoticed at a wedding).

    For the night before the wedding my bridesmaids and myself stayed at the Inn which was also perfect. It was wonderfully getting ready all together in the quaint, charming space. The convenience was key! We woke up, had breakfast (the rooms have kitchens!), got ready with hair and make up and hung out in the lovely space before the wedding. Once we were ready we just walked over to the terrace for the ceremony. It doesn't get any easier than that, especially for a stressed-out bride!

    I would ABSOLUTELY recommend the Terrace for any event. They will take such good care of you! :)

    Sent on 10/10/2015
  • Laura

    Laura · Married on 09/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our rehearsal dinner here. We originally booked the freedom patio outside, am were told the indoor banquet hall would also stay reserved for us in case the weather was bad that night. It ended up being rainy and cold the night of the rehearsal dinner, and they impressed us with their indoor location. The food (we chose banquet style) was so delicious, there was plenty of food, and the waitresses on duty were so amazingly helpful. My father in law has celiacs disease and can not eat gluten, and they were quick to tell him what he could eat on the banquet, as well as make him his own special dinner! Everything about our diner here was perfect, and I would highly recommend it for others looking for rehearsal dinner venues! The decorations were also taken care of, which was great, because I forgot to think of centerpieces/decorations for the rehearsal dinner. We were very impressed and received many compliments from guests about the location and food.

    Sent on 10/05/2015
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place was just fabulous and wonderful. I could not be happier with their service. They made my day so special and took such good care of us. They go that extra mile to make you happy. The room was beautiful!!!!

    Sent on 11/26/2014
  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Water's Edge Lighthouse was amazing, and I loved working with them!

    They were easy to work with ahead of time via phone and email. My parents, husband, and I went there to try the food one day, just before we secured the venue for our rehearsal dinner, and the food was delicious. They were so kind, and took us on a tour of their 2 rehearsal dinner spaces. Because of the number of guests, we had to be in the Terrace (which is so beautiful!).

    The day of the rehearsal dinner, they treated my then fiancé and I like a king and queen. They made sure we had a drink in hand, asked if we had enough to eat, and they even let us take some food to go for my husband's grandfather, who couldn't make it to the dinner. They don't actually allow that, so it was very sweet of them to let us take a few containers to go.

    When we left that night, we had that strange feeling we were forgetting something. We were getting married at The Glen Sanders Mansion the next day, so we were worried we wouldn't have time to pick anything up. They let us know that if they found anything, they would bring it over to the mansion personally to be sure we had everything we needed. So sweet!

    The staff is great, and I would definitely recommend them for your big day, for your rehearsal dinner, bridal shower, baby shower, or anything else! True joy to work with such lovely people. :) They make your day a breeze!

    Sent on 11/08/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Water's Edge Lighthouse is the perfect place to hold your wedding reception!
    My husband and I looked at a few places before visiting the water's edge- but this was our last stop. Everything about this venue was absolutely amazing. It is so naturally beautiful inside already that you do not need to overdue it with decorating!

    From start to finish- Rit and his team did everything they could to help us make our choices easy and fun, there was no stress involved with planning the wedding reception there, and Rit was very flexible. There were so many food choices and in the end people had nothing but good things to say about how everything tasted amazing. On the day of the wedding- Rit had to be out of town but his team still worked flawlessly and made sure everything was exactly how I wanted it!

    The Water's Edge was the best decision we could've made for our wedding venue, everything was very affordable and well worth it!

    Sent on 12/01/2014
  • M

    Maureen · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could give 10 stars in each category, I would! Rit and his team are phenomenal. Not only was the terrace beautiful and the food incredible, but Waters Edge was extremely affordable for our budget. Rit was very flexible on what we wanted and our budget. Before the event, you know after leaving meeting him that everything will be great - but we were wrong. Everything was PERFECT! I don't know if it's even possible, but somehow our wedding reception at Waters Edge with Rit, Susan and the rest of the amazing team was perfection.

    Our guests are still raving about the food and the service. Susan made sure that my husband and I had everything we needed before we knew we needed it. She made sure we ate and had time to ourselves in between chatting with our guests. I asked randomly if the vegetable potstickers were vegan, thinking that my vegan MOH would enjoy the delicious appetizer, and two moments later, Rit let me know the next batch would be.

    We were blown away with everything. We couldn't wait to write this raving review hoping more couples will choose Waters Edge and Rit for their wedding because every married couple should be this happy with their special day.

    Sent on 10/07/2014
  • A

    Aaron · Married on 06/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding ceremony and reception at the Terrace at the Water's Edge was everything we wanted, and we are grateful to the staff for making it as excellent as it was.

    The food was wonderful, both the dinner and the appetizers. The space was clean, elegant, and perfectly arranged and decorated. The communication with the staff was easy, and I always felt that they were very responsive, communicative, and flexible.

    This was a wonderful experience for us, and I highly recommend the Terrace at the Water's edge for your event.

    Sent on 10/13/2018
  • C

    Christine · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was the first (and last) place we looked at when figuring out where we should get married. The Terrace had everything we were looking for! Beautiful outdoor setting, a gorgeous reception area and several packages to choose from (all of which were extensive yet still budget friendly).

    Rit and his team did not miss a beat the entire night! The food was delicious, the service was outstanding and the room decor (all set up by Rit & his team) was exactly what I had in mind. We're still hearing from our guests how they just loved everything about The Terrance!!

    In addition, Sue (the Inn Keeper) made herself available to myself at all hours of the day and all my vendors. She, along with all the other staff, where there to make sure we had an amazing experience. And, let me tell you, that is EXACTLY what we had!!

    Sent on 06/20/2013
  • E

    Emily · Married on 08/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Terrace at the Waters Edge was amazing! The building is only a few years old so everything is new, clean, and modern. Also, there are a ton of windows facing the river and an outside terrace for people to hang out on. Rit and Sue were both wonderful. I was nervous in the beginning because I didn't have any written contract so I wasn't sure what to expect but everything worked out perfectly. It was also very reasonably priced and the food was outstanding. We couldn't have asked for more from a reception venue!

    Sent on 09/27/2012
  • B

    Brianna · Married on 06/07/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rit and his team of professionals were AMAZING. I planned my wedding in 5 months and thanks to Rit it went so so smoothly and wonderfully. The food, the staff, the atmosphere, the extra frills, the customer service, the flexibility! Everything from the moment we stumbled upon this little gem on the river was nothing short of magic. I recommend this as a venue for any party!!!

    Sent on 01/30/2015
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 07/01/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our rehearsal dinner here. We were supposed to be on the Freedom Patio, but due to weather we moved downstairs. The room was beautiful and the staff was great in making this accommodation. There are stairs to get down there and no elevator is available (and the restrooms are on a different floor) which was a little difficult for some of our grandparents, but we knew this going in! We had a slideshow for our family and friends that they let us play, we just had to bring all of our own supplies. We had a BBQ menu and it was delicious and they were great with my sister's food allergy. I forgot to ask for dessert, but the manager was able to help us whip something together quickly so our guests were not disappointed! I recommend having events here as communication with them was very easy!

    Sent on 07/02/2017
  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/02/2015

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    The venue was gorgeous and we loved the food. The rooms we used to get ready in and the one we were given to stay in were completely filthy and disgusting . Cobwebs in the ceilings and nothing was cleaned . The night of our wedding we had to pack up and call around to find somewhere to stay. Communication at this venue with the team is not well portrayed. I would email or call
    And not get a response for awhile .

    Sent on 10/05/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review