The Special Event Bridal Shoppe by NBW Reviews

16 | Marlborough, MA
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for The Special Event Bridal Shoppe by NBW

Recommended by 87%

16

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.3
  • Average response time 4.3
Sort by:
  • M

    Meagan · Married on 10/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Special events bridal shoppe is amazing!! The dresses came in perfect and the alterations came back in a timely manner with a perfect fitting. Very helpful with everything if we needed anything they were always willing to accommodate. If I have any other events I will be going to them and if anyone needs anything I would recommend checking them out. The dresses are absolutely beautiful.

    -Meagan m

  • T

    Tania · Married on 09/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    i super recommend Special Event Bridal , i appreciate the attention of you and the great job .

  • C

    Chrysanthi · Married on 08/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Special Event Bridal Shoppe to anyone. I bought my wedding dress and bridesmaids dresses there. My mother and grandmother also got their dresses for my wedding there. We were all very satisfied. They had such a great selection of dresses to choose from! I had such a hard time finding a dress - until I went to Special Event! Nilza and Michelle were great to work with. They listened to everything I wanted and were very accommodating. They were so much fun and very professional. The dresses came in so fast and were perfect! Because I am so short, they recommended ordering the dress to my height so I wouldn't lose any of the detail of the dress. No other bridal shop recommended I do that! I was so happy when my dress came in and how perfectly it fit - even the length!
    I also ordered my wedding invitations from Special Event. They were absolutely gorgeous! I was able to get a proof back to make sure everything was correct before ordering which I really liked. The invitations also came back so quick - I was very impressed!
    I recommend the Special Event to anyone looking for a dress for any occasion - not just weddings! They have so many gorgeous dresses that you won't find anywhere else!! You will not be disappointed!!

  • M

    Marta · Married on 06/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Special Event Bridal has great and helpful staff that makes your wedding dress experience wonderful. With the help of their experts, I was able to walk down the isle in a beautiful Maggie Sottero dress. Thank you Special Event Bridal for making my wedding day so special!

  • H

    Heather · Married on 04/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bought my dress here and was thoroughly satisfied with the level of service and attention to detail on my specific needs. I experienced a fire and my whole house burnt to the ground just DAYS before the fire----they were so kind and offered to replace and help me design and gedt a dress in no turnaround time- saying they will HELP me if I needed it- how thoughtful! Fortunately, THANK GOD my dress was at my Mom's houses already and so this did not burn. But it still goes to show how kind and nice and caring these women were throughout the process. I would recommed with HIGH marks!
    Excellent service-
    :) Thank you
    Heather
    Marlborough MA

  • B

    Becky · Married on 03/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had trouble finding a dress, I went in there they listened to me pulled three dresses exactly like what I was looking for and the search was over. I ordered my dress it came in on time, it fit like a glove, (except for the length) which I knew being 4'-11" was going to need to be adjusted. They did the alterations perfectly and I felt like the most beautiful bride in the most beautiful dress on my wedding day. They did a wonderful job!

  • V

    Victoria · Married on 07/15/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Had an appointment to try on dresses and had a great time. They were very attentive and gave me a lot of options even with my very specific requests, and are super reasonable with alterations and adjustments. The only thing that wasn't perfect was that the main fitting room for a bride is right in the middle of the shopping area, and separated only by a curtain (dresses for browsing are hanging literally right outside the curtain).

    I'm still searching to see if I can find "the dress," but I have a fabulous backup plan here if I don't.

  • C

    Chanit · Married on 10/12/2008

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    they are a little intimidating at first, but my dress looked perfect!

  • starrynightsf

    Stephanie · Married on 07/17/2010

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The dresses they have are amazing and they do have bigger girl's sizes which is great.

  • S

    Sharon · Married on 10/18/2008

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I loved my dress! The woman working here are very honest and told you what looked good and what did not look so good (I liked this about them).

    Be aware the shop is on the small side, but this is because of all the dresses they have! I was able to find the perfect dress for me in my price range and they did the alterations on-site!

  • J

    Jill · Married on 05/21/2005

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    nilza was very nice and very accomodating. I purchased my wedding dress from her. I could not have been happier, it was the first dress of 30 that I tried on.

  • A

    Andrea · Married on 09/08/2007

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I would recommend Special Event for a low-maintenance bride. I was not looking to be poked and prodded and picked apart by dress makers as some of my bride-friends have been. Special event is a cute little shop with a good selection of dresses. I found that many were not my taste, but all were in my price range. When I found the dress, and fell in love with THE dress, the seamstress and the shop owner were both extremely helpful in making sure it was altered just so and that I got a finished product that I would cherish forever. I did have a little difficulty getting return phone calls and my bridesmaids dresses took a very long time to come in/I didnt actually get a call that they arrived- but the shop was helpful in all other ways.

  • N

    Nina · Married on 08/13/2005

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love Nilza! She was so polite and was interested in my wedding. I felt like I was in my best friend shop and not a bridal shop: however, I did paid for my dress to get altered and they never altered the top of it. I was disappointed with that. There prices were a little high too. I end up paying $1500 for my dress.

  • S

    laurie · Married on 07/26/2008

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    They ordered the wrong sleeves for my dress. The sleeves were not sewed in very well (actually one broke free on the day of the wedding when I danced) They called me in for my first fitting but did not have my petticoat or my bra or my sleeves. The cost of alterations were a bit expensive.

  • SuzyQ

    Suzanne · Married on 11/03/2007

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    I purchased both my wedding gown and our bridesmaid's dresses at Special Event. It's the type of shop where you tell them what you like, and they'll bring out gowns for you to try on. This worked out really well for someone like me who wasn't sure what she wanted, just what she didn't want! (no strapless, thank you!). Special Event was one of only two shops I visited (after a bad experience with a national chain) and I purchased my dress that day. In retrospect, I wish I had done more shopping, not because I didn't love my dress, just because I feel like I missed out some on really getting to shop around.

    My alterations were also done at Special Event, and that's my only disappointment with the shop. The alterations were well priced, and my hem was perfect and I liked my bustle (even though it got ripped out at the reception when my husband stepped on my dress!). But the dress had lace cap sleeves, and I'm not sure what happened there, but one side kept falling down, and the other side popped off! I have a slight curve in my spine, so I'm sure that had something to do with it, but I would have hoped that someone with a ton of alterations experience could have fit them better.

  • E

    E · Married on 07/19/2014

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    I worked with the seamstress here for my wedding dress alternations. She was friendly and willing to work with my requests, but in the end the fit still wasn't right and I had to take the dress somewhere else.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review