The Sands at Grace Bay Reviews

12 | Conch Bar, TC
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for The Sands at Grace Bay

Recommended by 91%

12
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.4
12 The Sands at Grace Bay Reviews
Sort by:
  • User5119061 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone was great! Can't imagine a better place to be married! Ours was a Very small private wedding.

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 12/06/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lidra at The Sands was my contact for planning the wedding ceremony (and Ri-ann helped her to execute everything the day of the wedding). She was very helpful and responsive to my 8 months-worth of email communications to her. The ceremony package we had through The Sands included the officiant & marriage documents, the beach arch, chairs with white covers, bouquets & boutonnieres for our wedding party, a steel drum player, and the wedding cake – which meant less planning for me! They handled all the details! The ceremony was set up on the far side of Grace Bay beach at The Sands where the huts ended. Everything looked beautiful and went smoothly, until the skies opened up out of nowhere and it started pouring, soaking everyone. The staff provided umbrellas and towels as quickly as they could to try to dry people off. The ceremony kept going – we all had some good laughs – and the pictures are amazing!!

    All in all, our wedding day was perfect and we couldn’t be happier with how everything turned out. We heard a ton of “best wedding ever” and “best trip ever” comments from our guests, which made us so happy since everyone had traveled so far to celebrate with us. It was slightly nerve-wracking planning a destination wedding sight unseen, having never been to the island before, and not using a hired wedding planner. Meeting with all of the vendors/staff the week leading up to the wedding put my nerves at ease – they know what they are doing and they are great at it!

    Thank you, Sands, for a wonderful wedding ceremony, honeymoon, and memories that will last forever. We can’t wait to return to the island and hopefully see some of the wonderful people we met again.

  • S

    Suki's · Married on 07/12/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Lidra Barranco at the Sands at Grace Bay to coordinate a group block for our guests, as well as the welcome dinner at Hemingway’s Restaurant. She was superb to work with. She made sure all of our guests received their welcome bags and had tourist information readily available for everyone. Our wedding was at a private villa where she also made sure our guests knew where to meet for their pick-up on the day of the wedding. All of our guests raved about the great service and hospitality they received at The Sands. I highly recommend using The Sands for your Turks and Caicos wedding.

  • E

    Dave · Married on 07/12/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I had our wedding guests stay at the Sands. Lidra Barranco was our contact person there and she was absolutely outstanding. Our challenge was that we were trying to coordinate everything from the US for our guests at a really good hotel because we wanted them to have a great experience for the wedding. We had to have someone who could come through, and Lidra certainly did.
    The hotel was great! Everyone loved their accommodations and they have a fantastic property on the beach in Grace Bay. The service was fantastic, especially with Lidra on point.
    I would strongly recommend the Sands as a great hotel for a wonderful time!

  • User3978841 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was renewal of vows for me and my wife. Lidra and Ri-Ann were wonderful to deal with and plan the event

  • User3993896 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lidra ( and Ri-Ann) were wonderful to deal with in planning a renewal of our wedding vows. I wanted to keep it a surprise and they made that happen. They are lovely and personable and an asset to your company.

  • C

    Christina & Gary · Married on 06/29/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love The Sands!!! We can’t wait to go back. This is our second trip and this time we got married!!! June 29, 2013 was an incredible day. The ceremony was done by The Sands on the beach. It was magical!! The only way to get married! We had 48 of our closest friends and family stay at the sands and every one of them loved it. The staff is so friendly and helpful. They made us feel like family. The atmosphere is incredibly calm, relaxing and beautiful. Hemingway’s food is fresh & delicious. The kitchen in the room is so handy. We went food shopping and filled the fridge. We made our own coffee every morning. All of our guests took advantage of the snorkel gear, hobies , paddleboards , kayaks and the bikes. The shopping area is a 2 min bike ride from The Sands. The beach is like nothing we have ever seen before. When you are on the website for the sands and wonder if the beach, grounds and rooms actually look like the pictures…the answer is YES! Clean rooms, beautiful gardens and so much more. If you are thinking about having a destination wedding or renewing your vows this is the place to do it. The prices are reasonable and the Resort is stunning. I was able to get a Mani Pedi at Spa Tropique It was very relaxing. Thank you all at The Sands for making my husband and I feel so welcome. We can’t wait to see you all again. Gary & Christina Haber

  • C

    Carrie · Married on 12/03/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used this hotel as the place for all of our guests to stay for our wedding in Turks and Caicos. They gave us a great group rate and everyone loved the hotel. We would definitely recommend this resort to other couples getting married.

  • User3447240 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful service from everyone involved with our wedding planning from beginning to end. Would recommend to anyone looking for people who know what they are doing, are courteous, kind and above all professional.

  • S

    Sara · Married on 11/05/2011

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Sands was great, we had our rehearsal dinner at Hemingway's and then s'mores, cigars and cognac by a bonfire on the beach. The whole crew at The Sands was amazing and all of our guests had the best time. We even had Quinton play for us, truly an exceptional evening! To be able to handle a party of 111 people, you know they have to be good at what they do.

  • A

    Amber · Married on 05/09/2014

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our wedding was fabulous - simple and beautiful. It was exactly what we were looking for. The Sands at Grace Bay was a perfect venue for our wedding as well as a beautiful place for our guests to stay. The only issue that they really need to work on is responsiveness during the planning stages. I would sometimes wait a week or more before getting a response to a question. At one point I was concerned that perhaps my contact was no longer employed there. I completely understand that they are busy, but even a quick email acknowledging that my questions were received and would be responded to in a few days would've been helpful. It is difficult and slightly stressful to plan a wedding from afar, so responsiveness from the wedding planner is extremely important. With that being said, everything came together perfectly for our wedding.

  • User5199172 · 2+ years ago

    1
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    9 months prior to wedding we contacted for wedding inquiry & were placed in contact with Lidra. Booked the date, sent out save the dates & had a block of rooms/ guest booked. 7.5 months before wedding we found out we had to sign a contract with Keisha from destination TCI in order to have ceremony at The Sands. Odd as Lidra told us differently prior. Needless to say was frantically contacted Keisha to ensure wedding date. We spoke to Keisha via phone once, she took our payment & after this did not return calls & took weeks plus to return emails. We later discovered we were locked into her as our sole wedding planner. Perhaps Keisha was pushed on us because she is a friend of the owners not a requirement of hotel. No one at the sands even Mona GM will admit to this even when providing emails. I have heard from other mad brides with same issue.
    3 months prior to wedding after countless unanswered questions/emails/calls we pressured the sands get us out of contract with Keisha. Signed with NILA Luise.
    During stay/arrival, we did not meet Lidra or Mona who we were in contact with for 9 months.
    Our room, studio beachfront, was out dated & no WD as advertised.
    Keisha the explanner showed up to ceremony some how?
    The night of wedding half of the island's water was shut off. The sands failed to tell us or 35 guests. Bride & groom go to take a shower after sweating/bride makeup & couldn't use toilet. Not the ideal wedding night. Thanks sands for NOT telling us or at least filling up bathtub for turndown prior to water shut down.
    At reception in on the sands beach:4 pairs of shoes & a purse were stolen. The sands took no ownership of this.
    Only a security guard works at night I believe past 9:30pm. Security guard was left alone with water outage and 35 person wedding with these guest at The sands. POOR Management. Careless.
    Next day the resort manager apologized & told us to utilize free water sports.
    STAY AWAY FOR YOUR WEDDING DAY

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review