Skip to main content
Weddings

The Ruins Reviews

The Ruins View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
21 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
99% Recommended by couples

Awards

21
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • L
    Larisa Sent on 02/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This is THE most incredible spot to get married! It was perfect 1000 times over. My pictures are beautiful!
  • A
    Alexa Sent on 01/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Ruins was recommended by our wedding planner. Even though I grew up on the island I never had the pleasure of visiting this breathtaking piece of heaven. Our music were the waves crashing in the background! We even danced to it.
    Various settings to chose from.... facing the ocean, on the Ruins platform, view of the ocean and mountain. Varied photo backgrounds for sure.
  • R
    Rachel Sent on 10/22/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    It is a beautiful venue. We absolutely loved it and the pictures turned out well. There was no one else there and that is what we wanted, a private, secluded ceremony. It was a two hour drive for us from the Condado area.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • O
    Omar Sent on 10/22/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Ruins in Aguadilla were simply breathtaking. The pictures truly do not give the area justice. From the the history of the ruins, the lush greenery and the lovely crashing waves. You get it all here in one place. So many options for pictures and the colors pop in your pictures.
  • R
    Rachel Sent on 10/31/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ashley was wonderful. Very kind and patient, she quickly responded to any questions or concerns we had. Considering we planned our trip at the last minute, and from NY she made everything easy. I had no worries. Our ceremony was simple and elegant, and Ashley seemed like a mind reader, choosing the perfect vows. The location was beautiful, although crowded on the day chosen, so we opted for further down the beach instead. All and all a wonderful experience. I highly recommend Ashley for your Puerto Rico wedding!
  • A
    Alexa Sent on 08/31/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely beautiful wedding venue! It was everything we wanted for our elopement!
  • W
    William Sent on 07/07/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ashley was fantastic and helped to make this a special day. The location was fantastic, everything that we hoped that it would be. The ruins make a great background for pictures, and the ocean was many beautiful shades of blue. Very pleased with everything.
  • C
    Calvin Sent on 07/13/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you are thinking about getting married in Puerto Rico, Ashely is the person you want to handle the ceremony. She eliminates any added stress and always quick to respond to all questions/concerns. Follow her guidance for obtaining a marriage license and it really only takes about 10 min. We did our paperwork in San Juan and the process was very smooth. As for the Wedding itself, we had it at The Ruins. It was amazing. Ashley had everything set up and was ready once we arrived. Her photographer and video crew do amazing work and are very professional. Hands down a class act, and a great experience. Also, listen to her recommendations for places to eat or stay. She will not disappoint you! If you use The Ruins as your location, you also have to eat dinner at La Vista Smoke House- a great view with even greater BBQ.

    Ashely- Thank you so much for making it our wedding a romantic and remarkable experience.
  • R
    Raysa Sent on 07/13/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely stunning! The ruins was beyond my expectations. the wave hitting against the rock and the beautiful charm of the light house was a great touch and perfect venue for our ceremony. Thank you Ashley for everything I cant say enough about how great you and your team was with everything. We are extremely happy with how everything turned out.

    The Ruins's reply:

    You're welcome Raysa! You and Carlos and your family is absolutely gorgeous, and I'm so glad you love The Ruins as much as we do! Hope to see you again soon!!!
  • C
    Candy Sent on 06/12/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Ruins was such a beautiful back drop for our ceremony. I couldn't have imagined it taking place anywhere else. Pictures just doesn't do the view justice. What a gorgeous, breathe talking place!
  • G
    Gregory Sent on 10/19/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This was an excellent spot for an outdoor wedding. We eloped so it was just the two of us. In pictures, The Ruins looks absolutely gorgeous. The downside is it's technically public so not the best for complete privacy but if you don't mind anyone walking by and looking, it's perfect. Best part is that it is FREE. We were originally going to rent El Morro which was gunna cost us upwards of $300-$400 so freewas a great perk! Two hints. 1) If you are staying in San Juan, I highly recommend at least one night out near Aguadilla. It can be a long drive. 2) If you rent a car and plan to drive here, shoot for the SUV. It is a bit off road so it was difficult for our tiny Kia.
  • B
    Becky Sent on 03/26/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We drove from San Juan across the island on our wedding day to The Ruins for a sunset elopement, and it was well worth the travel. It was more beautiful and picturesque than the online pictures could ever do it justice!! From the amazing Ruins and all of their history, to the fabulous deserted beach below, it was like a fairy tale. The sunset was gorgeous! We got married wading out into the ocean waves as the tide rolled in. It was better than we ever imagined! We highly recommend The Ruins as a wedding venue for anyone looking for something unique and different with spectacular views!
  • A
    Ashley Sent on 03/08/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I could not be more thrilled that we came across Ashley's services. She provided officiant services and a photography package for my Husband and I's beach elopement/ (very) small wedding. Ashley was extremely responsive and professional via email, and was extremely well organized. She was also clearly very familiar with Puerto Rico's paperwork needs and was able to guide us in acquiring what we needed in the states, what to do and where to go to get our marriage license once we arrived in Puerto Rico and filed the paperwork for us after the wedding. She created a beautiful ceremony that seamlessly integrated a reading we chose and tied in the beautiful setting of our ceremony.

    Ashley does ceremonies at a variety of places, but we well in love with The Ruins from photos of other weddings there, and the video Ashley provided. It was even more beautiful in person! We were so thrilled to be married in such a beautiful, picturesque setting, and we were also delighted to know that part of Ashley's fees went to the preservation of the Ruins for the future. It's truly a spectacular setting and I am excited to return in the future for anniversaries.

    Ashley married us on the beach just below the Ruins and coordinated/provided a wonderful photographer to capture the event and take some photos after the ceremony. Ashley made the whole experience easy; as a bride, I never felt stressed leading up to my wedding and never had to worry about the important pieces coming together. Ashley even suggested a fantastic restaurant for us after the ceremony and she was spot on. I highly suggest her services to anyone looking to have an amazing wedding in Puerto Rico!
  • L
    Lawrence Sent on 03/08/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    More than we even dreamed of! The ruins are a perfect venue for a wedding. The ruins themselves created a perfect and visually interesting setting for photographs and the beach below provided numerous location opportunities for our beach wedding. Yes, there were a few people visiting the ruins, but never in the way for our pictures. There was nobody on the beach. The entire beach area was open for our ceremony. If you are looking to have a beach wedding, consider the ruins. You will have your (very) secluded beach, but also receive the added photographic opportunities that only the ruins will provide. Ashley Wright, (Puerto Rico Destination Weddings) was our wedding planner and she knew the area well. We could not have asked for a better day, and she was so helpful and available in our planning and days leading up to our wedding. Six stars overall, on a 5 star scoring system!
  • B
    Barbara Sent on 02/21/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ashley was the most amazing wedding officiator and coordinator we could have ever dreamed of finding! She made the entire process simple from start to finish! She was flexible on locations, dates, and times. She truly made our special day magical and I am forever grateful to her for the perfect ceremony she did for us. She provided our flowers and photographer as well and everything was beyond perfect. I'd recommend Ashley Wright to any couple who is looking to get married in Puerto Rico. We were married at the Ruins in Aguadilla and it was an amazing location for our wedding, I'd also recommend this location to any couple who is looking for a beach/historical beauty wedding venue!
  • Y
    Yin-Fang Sent on 01/11/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Ruins is a beautiful place to have wedding ceremony. It is a little bit hard to find the location. Luckily our photographer led us there. The bright sight of that is there are only few tourists so the ceremony can go smoothly. Our wedding was in the late afternoon. It was amazing along with the sunset and the beach. Our officiant and photographer told us that the Ruins is different from time to time. This is the place if you want an unique wedding. We are glad that we chose this one!
  • J
    Jeanne Sent on 01/05/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ashley was with us every step of the way for our destination elopement in Puerto Rico. She sent us beautiful videos of several venues to choose from and our choice of The Ruins was absolutely amazing. Our wedding was personal and beautiful and perfect in every way. Exactly what we wanted. I would not hesitate to recommend Ashley!
  • S
    Stephanie Sent on 12/26/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Ruins is an amazing spot for a wedding ceremony. We eloped, and the seclusion of the beach, the beauty of the ruins themselves and the surroundings couldn't have been more perfect. Our private ceremony with the sound of the ocean and the beautiful view felt so personal for us. The Ruins, the beach and the shoreline provided a really cool variety of backdrops for photos, which all came out amazing. The red color of the ruins against the white in my dress really popped. This place just couldn't have been more perfect for a small elopement, and I'm so glad that Ashley from PR Destination Weddings suggested it!
  • J
    Jewel Sent on 08/24/2016
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Ruins were stunning!!! A view like I've not seen before. It was the perfect back drop for our intimate ceremony. A day I shall remember forever.
  • T
    Timothy Sent on 06/01/2016
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything went smooth even though we got lost and had a few adjustments to the ore-planned schedules! She was very accommodating and a great help to make sure we got everything together just in time! Her guidance and assistance was critical to getting things done as web instructions were not accurate and GPS signal was lost trying to find the office spaces - muchos gracias!
  • User2596742 Sent on 05/04/2016
    4.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    The setting was for an afternoon wedding as the sun was setting. The colors and outdoor area was perfect for us!
    The backdrop for photos was amazing as were all the colors of the old bricks at the ruins combined with the colors of the sky!!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message