The Ritz Carlton, Boston Reviews

13 | Boston, MA
See photos, pricing and details

13 Reviews for The Ritz Carlton, Boston

Recommended by 92% of couples

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

13

18 User photos

Order by:
  • Adam

    Adam Miller · Married on 02/09/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Flawless Day at The Ritz-Carlton, Boston

    The two of us work and manage hotels in Las Vegas and were excited to find a hotel that we could truly trust every detail with for our special day. The bride is from Boston we shared our first dates in Boston and knew we wanted to find the perfect location for our Boston/New England wedding celebration.
    We were looking for a venue with excellent service, a venue that was sophisticated yet modern and elegant that did not feel like a hotel conference, and offered special Boston attractions within walking distance. With many luxury hotels within Boston, The Ritz-Carlton, Boston was by far delivered the best first impression that would exceed any couples expectations. We toured six within the city!
    We planned to have 142 guests, and loved that we could host a ceremony, reception, and social after the wedding in the same location for out of town guests. We wanted our guests to feel relaxed and enjoy their experience as much as us.
    Ralph was our senior event manager, and was proactive and responsive with every detail. He is a true professional, seasoned with many weddings under his belt and offered great recommendations to make the space fit and feel perfectly for us.
    The entire process from inquiry, to tasting, to the weekend of our wedding was flawless. During our tasting in March (for our September wedding), our parents happened to mention that they too, were celebrating their anniversaries in the month of September. Six months later, both sets of parents received a special anniversary dessert in addition to our wedding cake that they continue talking about to this day. You’ll also notice how much is included in the various wedding packages and made decision making easy when planning to host our special day at The Ritz-Carlton, Boston.
    The hotel is newly redesigned after a multi-million dollar renovation and offer great accommodations, and suites, with the club level being a great addition for last minute waters or snacks the day of the wedding for those guests that select that service. The ballroom also recently redesigned offers great floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Boston Commons, beautiful chandelier and décor neutral but stunningly beautiful that allow flexibility for any décor, taste or budget. Not only was the ballroom beautiful, the chiavari chairs, plates, charger plates, silverware and glassware were of the quality you would find in a high end steakhouse.
    We had our ceremony in The Washington Ballroom and offered perfect floor to ceiling windows, a great entry flow for our guests to enter, and was intimate but not overly crowded to have a wonderful ceremony. We selected to have a pianist, cello and harp player and the acoustics in the room were great. The natural light offered beautiful lighting for excellent photos.
    Our cocktail hour was in the foyer to the Grand Ballroom, and the service continued to be spectacular. The full bar set up flowed nicely with nice areas to set up high cocktail round tables overlooking the city below, with great passed hors d’oeuvres (great presentation, what was meant to be hot was hot, what was meant to be cold was cold) and had a great selection that everyone loved.
    Service the day and evening of our wedding was incredible. Nearly every guest commented on how attentive the ballroom servers were, with perfect and personalized service, always making sure plates were cleared quickly, beverages were always filled, and made everyone feel like true VIP’s. The three course meal with designer boutique wedding cake were prepared perfectly, tray-passed prosecco upon arrival was fantastic and timely and added a great detail, and the flow from the ballroom to cocktail hour to reception was easy and perfect transitions for the chapter of the day.
    Without delay, we would highly recommend The Ritz-Carlton, Boston. With the perfect location next to the Boston Commons and Rose Garden, to the personalized service for you, your wedding party, family and friends, to the perfect ballroom with excellent food and service, the hotel and event management are unmatched in the heart of Boston.

    Sent on 03/25/2020
  • Kerri

    Kerri · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Reception

    The Ritz-Carlton Boston was exceptional. I could not have hoped for anything more on our wedding day. They made the experience truly special. The staff was so welcoming, kind and helpful. The service was exceptional. All of our guests commented on the tremendous service and wonderful food. Those lobster tacos though... You should get married here just for those...:) The venue was classic, tasteful and elegant and you are steps away from the Public Gardens for pictures. Ralph, our coordinator, and his team were top notch. I would not hesitate to book the Ritz if you are looking for the perfect city wedding!

    Sent on 07/23/2019
  • D

    Donna Williams · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ritz Carlton Wedding

    From start to finish the Ritz Carlton Boston staff were amazing to work with. Welcoming, respectful and responsive they helped to insure our daughter and son in-laws wedding was perfect. From the doormen to the chef, event planners and coordinators every person was exceptional. Our wedding guests were wowed by the food, the service, and the venue. Cocktail reception, wedding reception, after party and farewell brunch were in different spaces all perfect for the events. Recommend them highly if you are planning a wedding. You won’t be disappointed.

    Sent on 08/09/2019
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 12/31/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There aren’t enough words!!

    There aren’t enough words to describe how amazing our experience with the Ritz-Carlton Boston was for our NYE wedding. From the initial site visit, through the entire planning process, up until the day we left after the wedding, we felt like royalty and never once questioned that our wedding wouldn’t be amazing. We planned our wedding from out of state, and Bobby-the sales coordinator—was so accomodating and helpful. We flew back to Boston for a quick weekend visit and he managed to have us to the hotel for a beautiful tour, complete with a mimosa toast! Once we decided on the venue, Ralph took over as our event coordinator. He was fabulous. He managed to help plan every detail of our wedding without overstepping or overshadowing our vision. Ralph pays so much attention to detail and kept us up to date and focused as the day got closer. He helped us plan for our tasting and various vendor visits, even though we live 1,000 miles away. The night of the event was like something out of a fairytale! We felt like celebrities walking into the hotel, everyone from the doormen to the housekeeping to the caterers were excited and ready to celebrate with us. The Ritz prides itself on service and attention to the customer. They truly outdid themselves, always refilling our drinks, checking in to make sure we were comfortable, and keeping our night going as smoothly as possible. Some names I’d love to mention include Bobby and Ralph of course, Joanna (our server for the evening, who made sure we always had a full signature cocktail!), doormen Steadly, Godwin and Kenny. Bartenders and servers Rubin, Marvin, Jose. Other staff including Hannah, Courtney and Jack. I’m sure there are countless others who congratulated us in passing, left a note for us to come back to in the bridal suite, or were willing to run around to make sure our day was perfectly executed. The Ritz staff had me in happy tears when we arrived back to our room after the magical evening and found our bridal suite adorned with chocolate covered strawberries, a bottle of champagne, cards from the staff, a PRINTED PHOTO from our ceremony in a custom frame, monogrammed bathrobes and personalized pillowcases!! I mean COME ON!!!!!!!! :) :) :) We 1000% recommend this venue for any couple wanting to have a fabulous and stress free wedding in the heart of the city!!!! You won’t regret your choice here!

    Sent on 02/06/2019
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer · Married on 12/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There was something about the Ritz that made us feel valued and cared for

    We looked at A TON of wedding venues before deciding on the perfect spot. We knew we wanted a hotel in Boston, but there were so many beautiful places to choose from. The Ritz was our final stop and we fell in love IMMEDIATELY. There was something about the Ritz that made us feel valued and cared for. Bobby was waiting for us with 2 glasses of champagne and a big smile as we walked in. He took his time showing us around and answered every question we could think of. He was willing to personalize every detail of our dream wedding and right away we knew we had found what we were looking for. The chef prepared us a signature appetizer while we toured the hotel and even had a special dessert with our names on it (literally!) as we were getting ready to leave. Needless to say, Bobby had us at hello. The rest of our experience with the Ritz was just as amazing. Vanessa worked with us throughout the 10 months leading up to our special day and took care of every question and request we threw her way. She was amazing - very calm and patient - which is what I really needed :) Paige was just as wonderful - they worked together very well to give us everything we needed. The wedding weekend was a dream. We had a beautiful suite for 3 nights, as did our parents :) The hotel staff members were so kind and accommodating. We are so grateful to everyone, especially the valet staff! Danny was with us from day one and we looked forward to seeing him at the door every time we made the drive up from New Jersey to meet with Vanessa :) The wedding day itself could not have been more perfect. It was everything I imagined and I couldn't believe how gorgeous everything looked. After a year of worrying and planning, it was such a great feeling to sit back and look at the final product. We could not have done any of it without the Ritz-Carlton. I can't imagine having our wedding anywhere else. Choose the Ritz! It is worth every penny. We will always remember our experience. It was simply perfection - right down to the elegant display of flowers and framed 8 x 10 photo that was waiting for us in our suite the night of our wedding. Vanessa and Paige managed to capture the most amazing picture of us stepping out of our limousine and somehow had it printed and framed during our reception! We will Cherish these memories forever. Thank you to everyone at the Ritz, we could not be happier!!!

    Sent on 02/05/2019
  • peony

    Catherine · Married on 06/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Vanessa Michaels was my wedding coordinator at the Ritz Carlton for my wedding June 10th, 2018. From start to finish, Vanessa put me at ease with all of the moving parts. The wedding day was perfect, from the bridal suite, service, amenities, the staff will go above and beyond to do tasks for you without a hitch. Everyone in the hotel knew our names and asked if we needed help any way they can. I had an unbelievable time and I am so glad I went with Ritz Carlton rather than Four Seasons for the wedding. The service was just impeccable and it was the perfect wedding day.

    The day before the wedding, Vanessa left a note to welcome me and how excited she is for me, then the wedding night sent me a beautiful frame with a picture of our first dance in the room. Talk about going above and beyond with thought and care. I could not have asked for anything more. I’m a Ritz customer for life.

    Sent on 06/22/2018
  • N

    Naomi · Married on 10/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The entire event planning experience with The Ritz-Carlton Boston was absolutely incredible, and a month after the wedding, our guests are still talking about how amazing the wedding weekend was. The venue – especially after the ballroom remodel – is absolutely beautiful, and was the perfect canvas for our wedding. Allison Breslin & Vanessa Michaels made the entire process seamless, and ensured our wedding was a dream come true. Our positive experience started with the initial site visit with Alli, and once we started planning, Vanessa worked with us for months to plan every last detail. She helped us throughout the planning process - from putting together our production schedule / timeline, coordinating catering, communicating with our vendors, and during our wedding weekend was amazing - ensuring our check in & guests' check in went smoothly (early check ins when possible & gift bags for everyone!), reserving space for us in the Avery bar post-rehearsal dinner, making sure all wedding decor was where it needed to be, and overall, making us, our parents, and guests feel special. Once the wedding began, she did everything she said she would and more – from the moment we checked in a few days before, to the morning after the wedding. Throughout the planning process, I never once was concerned as I knew Vanessa – and the entire team at the Ritz - would ensure everything went seamlessly, which it absolutely did. I’d 100% recommend the venue to any New England bride!

    Sent on 01/28/2018
  • J

    Jared · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married at the Ritz this past weekend and they easily made this the best weekend of our lives. Before we get to the wedding, I want to give them credit for the sales process and the planning process because we felt like they excelled in both. Before settling on the Ritz we looked at over 20 venues in the city of Boston and given our smaller wedding size (120) the Ritz was able to work with us to craft the perfect wedding package at a great price. From there, they helped us also create a magical rehearsal dinner and brunch that fit within our budget. After lining everything up, we teamed up with our wedding coordinator, Ralph Black, who really became an extended member of our family over the past year and a half. Ralph was extremely detail oriented, responsive to our numerous emails, and was also honest. Ralph helped us craft an amazing wedding timeline, come up with a great menu selection, and he always did it with a smile.

    With all the planning behind us, the weekend of our big event was upon us. We had expressed interest in getting to the hotel early and Ralph did his part to ensure it worked. From the moment we walked into the hotel to the moment we left, the Ritz made us feel special. Everyone knew us by name and everyone was willing to go above and beyond to ensure we had the time of our lives. This included everyone from the bell hop, to house keeping, to the receptionist, the concierge, etc. The day of the wedding Ralph and his team did an exceptional job of ensuring the ballrooms looked great, the tables were decorated as discussed, and that everyone was where they needed to be. The food was also incredible. We got so many compliments from our guests about the cocktail hour and the reception. Not to mention the duck ravioli we had for our rehearsal dinner may have been one of the best dishes we have ever had. Needless to say we cannot thank the Ritz and Ralph for providing us with our dream wedding. Words cannot express our thankfulness.

    Sent on 06/20/2016
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 04/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding at the Ritz was absolutely perfect! Everyone there was extremely nice, friendly, professional and responsive. They went above and beyond to give me and my guests an unforgettable experience.

    Sent on 09/24/2015
  • D

    Don · Married on 11/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I knew that the Ritz was the place for our wedding from the moment we walked into the ballroom. Jillean was our sales person and was great. She listened to our wants/needs and created a package to meet them. Then we got passed onto Elizabeth Faler our Service Manager. We decided not to hire a wedding coordinator as I have a background in events. Elizabeth was AMAZING. She was beside us each step of the way. Everyone at the Ritz was amazing!

    Sent on 12/06/2011
  • S

    stephanie · Married on 06/15/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common exceeded all of my expectations, they are known for their service and they certainly delivered. I had the wonderful opportunity to work with Ralph, who was amazing and a pleasure to work with. This hotel was exactly the feel we were looking for, modern elegance and exceptional food. We have guests who cannot stop raving about the food and we blown away by their attention to detail. I searched Boston, New England and Florida for the perfect venue and the Ritz Carlton was it for us!

    Sent on 08/14/2013
  • M

    Morgan · Married on 10/15/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The perfect hotel for a girls night or bachelorette party. We loved the spa and quick champagne room service!

    Sent on 12/11/2016
  • User2815757 · 2+ years ago

    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    I cannot recommend this venue for anyone who wants to have a stress-free weddin day. Jillian, the sales rep, was good at her job and was very responsive during the booking process. Once we booked we were assigned to Vanessa Welchas our coordinator. Vanessa was not responsive at all. We often had to contact Jillean in order to have Vanessa get back to us. The day-of they forgot to serve the champagne for the wedding toast!!! The next morning we were missing several keepsakes that were supposed to be placed in our room and we waited for more than two hours for the staff at the Ritz to find the top layer of our cake. I expected a lot more from the Ritz Carlton as their reputation is typically pristine, but I was very disappointed and for the money it was incredible at the lack of attention we received.

    Sent on 11/29/2012