Weddings

The Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel Reviews

The Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel

The Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel

Columbus, OH
Rating 4.6 out of 5, 20 Reviews
View more information

20 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 92% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.6 out of 5

Awards

  • 20
Sort by:
  • Ruth
    Ruth P. Married on 12/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent very experience

    Renaissance hotel is awesome place I love Kevin n Jane this two people working so hard for our wedding
  • M
    Michelle Married on 07/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We recently hosted our son’s wedding at the Columbus Athenaeum. However, we picked the Renaissance downtown Columbus to be our home base for all of our guests and it turned out to be the PERFECT choice for us. First of all, our wedding was on July 3rd which is Red White and Boom in Columbus. Our guests appreciated the fact that they could walk one block to the Athenaeum for the wedding and then put on shorts and walk 3 blocks to the riverfront to see the fireworks. We ended up having a block of 25 rooms which included 3 terrace suites. The staff at the Renaissance was amazing in many ways…….handing out guest gift bags, everything we ordered for our breakfast buffet showed up on time and was perfect. The parking attendants were great too…….we had so much stuff to load/unload……we had elderly guests that needed assistance…..they were amazing. I high recommend the Renaissance Hotel Downtown Columbus for any events being held in Columbus but especially for people who want to experience Red White and Boom (you can't see the fireworks from hotel.....but it is a short, safe walk to the main attraction).
  • T
    Tina Married on 12/31/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Beautifully renovated rooms and very helpful during a busy season for them
  • C
    Colleen Married on 07/03/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This hotel was perfect for my bridesmaids and I to stay in the night before the wedding, and for my groom and I to stay in the night of our wedding. They were wonderful to work with, offered us the best pricing, had beautifully updated rooms, and had plenty of space. We were truly happy to have booked such a wonderful room close to all of our downtown festivities!
  • User2453948 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They worked so hard to make sure everything was perfect for us! We had our cocktail hour out on the rooftop terrace, which I highly recommend--the pictures were amazing! The food was absolutely delicious and they were happy to make all of my requested changes. I can't say enough about everyone I worked with while planning the wedding. They made everything so much easier and brought everything together in just the way I had imagined. On the night of the wedding there was special attention given service of our guests and especially to my husband and me. We were made to feel so special. They went above and beyond to make sure it was an experience that was perfect and something we would cherish for the rest of our lives.
  • M
    Michael Married on 08/08/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Renaissance was one of the few facilities in Downtown Columbus that could accommodate a wedding of our size, and we knew quickly that we wouldn't have chosen any other venue than the 4th floor terrace for our ceremony, no matter any other options in town.

    The staff was terrific to work with; the food was absolutely delicious; and the setting was even more picturesque than we had realized when we booked the venue.

    We worked most closely with Amber, and we are very grateful for her timeliness and helpfulness.

    All of our hotel guests were extremely satisfied with their rooms and the service they received, and we were as well. In fact, we were a little overwhelmed at just now nice and accommodating everyone was--before, during, and after the wedding.

    Parking was easy for guests; there was plenty to do in the immediate vicinity during the downtime prior to our wedding; and we just can't recommend the Renaissance highly enough.
  • B
    Brandy Married on 05/16/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Renaissance was an amazing place to have our wedding!! We enjoyed every minute working with the Renaissance -- from the planning and preparations, to the wedding day itself. Lauren and Amber were so easy to work with, and very accommodating. Lauren helped us with the contract and package, and Amber was our event coordinator. Amber was so helpful and really made planning our wedding so fun and easy!! The Renaissance is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful terrace and large ballrooms. Our ceremony was originally supposed to be held outside, but it was a dreary day full of downpours, so it ended up being inside in part of the ballroom. Although we were disappointed with not being able to have the ceremony outside, Amber and the team at the Renaissance made the ceremony space look amazing, too. It was wonderful to have a built-in plan b. We chose this hotel over others in town because we had actually been to a charity event the past few years and knew that they were great at hosting large events. It is so wonderful to have the ceremony, reception, and a place to stay all in the same facility, it's so convenient.
  • R
    Rick Married on 05/09/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Fabulous experience for our guests. Everything well executed. Outstanding staff all the way through the process. Highly recommend.
  • Renee
    Renee Married on 04/19/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I reserved a block of hotel rooms at the Renaissance, and also got a suite for myself and my husband for the wedding weekend. I was upgraded to the presidential suite when I arrived, which was a really nice surprise. The hotel staff was very friendly throughout the weekend. I also had my farewell brunch at the Renaissance the day after my wedding. Amber Pacer, whom was my point of contact throughout the planning process, was so helpful and so responsive. My husband and I were very pleased with the brunch, and it was a great value for all the delicious food that was served. Would definitely recommend the Renaissance to anybody as a potential venue for any of your wedding needs!!
  • User1432412 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The venue was perfect! The hotel was very accommodating to our guests, went above and beyond during the reception and provided great food! I would highly recommend them.
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 08/24/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Class act. Everything was absolutely perfect.
  • User1241174 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had SUCH an excellent experience at the Renaissance. Kathy was willing to help with literally everything you can imagine. She bended over backwards to work with our families from everything to the rehearsal dinner to the reception. The ballroom was immaculate and everything we ever wanted. Every single person I spoke with was amazed by the food. As a hotel itself, the staff was amazing. Everyone was so helpful. Myself, my husband, and our guests will ALL recommend this hotel to everyone!
  • User1166655 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We stayed at The Renaissance during our wedding (4 nights) as well as our guests. As soon as we arrived we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite. This room was amazing and I was so glad to have that size of room for the day of the wedding to get ready in. The staff and service were unbelieveable. We even got chocolate covered strawberries and champagne for the night of our wedding. The staff definitely made our stay memorable and our guests had a good time.
  • M
    Maureen Married on 06/30/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We chose the Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel as the location for both our ceremony and reception. The pool side terrace is a gorgeous location if you'd like to have an outdoor ceremony. The staff at the Renassiance were so great to work with. They truly worked so hard to make all of our dreams come true. It was a truly magical event.
  • Mischa
    Mischa Married on 08/27/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I highly recommend this location for both your ceremony and reception. The rooftop pool deck was absolutely beautiful and everything we wanted for the big day. The service was impeccable throughout the evening. John- the catering manager I believe- treated my husband and I like royalty. We never had an empty hand and he was always there to take care of anything we needed. This is a good location for people who do not want to be nickel and dimed- everything is a set price so you do not get up charged for every little thing. However- the set price does have limits- if you want to upgrade linens, chairs, lighting, etc. That will all be extra and you will have to go through a company who does those types of things. Still, for a large wedding this is the way to go.
  • F
    Frederick Married on 05/15/2010
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We got married on the 4th floor rooftop at The Renaissance. The view was amazing. It was a perfect venue for a spring wedding in the city. Everyone on the staff was very professional, the ballroom was amazing, and the food was very good. I swear they assigned a person directly to me because everytime i needed something, someone was right there getting me water, or a drink, or whatever i needed. They left Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room for us. Everything was just very professional and classy from day one. It's tough to find a better venue than this in columbus. We had so many friends and family say that the wedding was the best they have ever been to. The Renaissance (...and my wife) had a lot to do with this.
  • User2430985 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everyone at the Renaissance made our weekend very special. When it came time for the weekend to be here, they handled everything and we could just relax. The food was great, bartenders were very friendly, and our planner was extrememly helpful throughout the entire process. I would definitely recommend this venue for future couples!
  • Emily
    Emily Married on 12/10/2011
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    The Renaissance is one of the best hotels in Columbus. It's a great place for wedding guests to stay both because of its central location and the awesome hotel bar. (After both our rehearsal dinner and wedding reception, the after-party continued here both nights.) Hotel staff were very attentive to our needs, even all of the little things like valet parking (you don't have to pay twice if you move the car in/out during the day - which we did a LOT that weekend). We recommend it highly.
  • H
    Haylie Married on 08/25/2018
    Rating 2.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    We booked The Renaissance for our wedding block. It took them over 5 weeks to set up our block and provide us with a link for our guests. When I emailed to check in with the sales team and/or the event team, I was always told it would be done soon. We also booked a block at a different hotel downtown since we have a large number of guests from out of town, it took them 2 days to set-up our event and provide me a link. I was really hoping for better service especially since their rooms are not cheap by any means.
  • R
    Rashmi Married on 09/30/2017
    Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    The Renaissance Hotel is the worst place to get married in Columbus OH. We had a two day Indian wedding with 400 guests and 60 rooms occupied. This is the experience we faced during our big wedding weekend:
    1. Wedding coordinator was a no show on both nights.
    2. Renaissance management team did not inform us that she was fired or let go and was unable to provide a backup coordinator for the event.
    3. The entire staff was unaware of any of the details of our wedding and was unable to provide assistance during the event.
    4. My family members and bridesmaids had to fight tooth and nail to get any response from Renaissance employees.
    5. The wedding coordinator did not schedule appropriately the staffing to put up the stage and decorations for the wedding morning. My husband and my guests had to spend the entire night on Friday to put up the stage by themselves.
    6. Utensils, napkins and plates were not set up on a timely manner which caused major delays during both Friday and Saturday events.
    7. The management team was no help and did not show up until Saturday afternoon to assist in the event which was already over.
    8. The upper management team is rude, unapologetic and refused to take any ownership of the issues that took place even though the Event Manager confirmed they did not live up to the level of standards promised by the Marriott/Renaissance franchise.
    This is the type of wedding you will have at this hotel. I do not want any bride or groom to go through the experience I went through at this hotel. This was supposed to be the happiest day in my life and it turned out to be most stressful, exhausting and disappointing event in my life. In the end this hotel only cares about money and not about providing the best experience possible on your big day.