Weddings

The Pantry Catering Reviews

The Pantry Catering View more information

133 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 133
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
Sort by:
  • Samantha
    Samantha K. Married on 12/31/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Such a wonderful experience and delicious food!

    We had a really positive experience with The Pantry catering, beginning with our first contact and ending with our wedding night. After talking with several caterers about our cocktail party vision for our New Year's Eve wedding, we were getting a little discouraged. One caterer told us that we should do a buffet dinner with no seating (what?!) and another scoffed at our ideal budget and gave us a minimum budget that was almost double what we were hoping. Then we reached out to The Pantry (we should have known, because our venue said that they're a favorite!) and we were so happy with the responsiveness, flexibility, and creative ideas for our wedding!

    We had our tasting, and even though we were requesting a cocktail style wedding, the chef still served us an amazing four course meal with champagne, all free of charge. It felt like we were old friends as we ate and discussed ideas. They were happy to work with our budget and gave us ideas on how to best reduce costs.

    In the coming months, there was a turnover with the person at The Pantry who was managing our wedding, but the transition was seamless. We had several meetings with Amanda and I felt completely at ease in her hands. The wedding day went off without a hitch, our rentals were gorgeous, service was amazing, and everyone was raving about the food.

    We knew from the start that we would be happy with choosing The Pantry and we are so pleased that we chose them for our wedding. We can't recommend them highly enough!!
  • Jess
    Jess Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best decision of the wedding!

    All along, one of the main things we wanted our wedding to be was a celebration with great food and drink. If that’s what you’re looking for, book The Pantry as soon as possible. Our catering search was a comedy of errors, including double bookings of appointments, missed calls, laughably expensive quotes, and one caterer that invited us into their kitchen for a tasting that blew our socks off.

    Daniel and his team were welcoming, personable, and served absolutely incredible food. You’d expect the staff to be used to certain dishes and get a bit tired of the same courses. But when one of his workers heard what he was making, she whipped around in her chair, exclaimed “He’s MAKING the Caribbean PORK!?!?!?! THAT MEANS WE GET LEFTOVERS!!!!!” And that should kind of tell you exactly what you’re getting yourself into. We left the tasting and sat in the car for ten minutes debating if we should book without trying other caterers (again, given the experience we had, this was a legitimate question).

    Expect a personalized menu (we had the aforementioned Caribbean pork, chicken tacos, and the bistro filet) with all the necessary sides at exactly the same high caliber of cooking. The steak was perfectly done, and even the groom’s normally picky Texan brother commented that it was the first time he’d had steak at a wedding that wasn’t overcooked. Everyone else present continually complimented the food throughout the evening.

    There were some slight hiccups along the way; namely the coordinator we’d been working with since booking suddenly changed… which we didn’t know until our walkthrough with the venue when someone we’d never met walked in. Things went smoothly from that point, but it still added a slightly stressful wrinkle two weeks before the wedding.

    5/5, one of the most important parts of our reception was absolutely perfect and exceeded everyone’s expectations.
  • K
    Kim Married on 08/11/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Pantry Catering catered my daughters wedding this past weekend at The American Visionary Arts Museum. They did an absolutely fabulous job and the food and service was perfect. More importantly they were so great to work with - we met with them many times during the year before and they handled all of our requests. They were so accommodating throughout and especially the days leading up to the wedding. We loved seeing the same faces at our wedding that worked with us throughout the planning. Daniel, Jamie and staff we cannot thank you enough for everything you did to make Nikki and Ryan's wedding perfect.
  • C
    Chrystelle Married on 07/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot recommend The Pantry enough. They worked with us to create a menu to accommodate food allergies and sensitivities, the food was beyond fantastic, and the service was flawless. Chef Daniel and Director of events Jamie are some of the nicest and easiest people to deal with. I am a teacher and did a lot of research before selecting them. They exceeded my expectations. Thank you for being such an important part of my wedding!
    Chrystelle P (Silver Spring, MD)
  • P
    Phoebe Married on 12/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The pantry was our top choice and they didn't disappoint! The food was out of this world and our guest are still talking about it! They were very accommodating to our guest with dietary restriction/needs. Our kosher keeping guest we're extremely impressed with the meal provided to them saying it was way beyond what they expected and that it was 'hot and very delicious!'
    Jamie was great and kept communications flowing smoothly, she also helped keep things on track day of. We would recommend these guys hands down to our friends who don't just want a good caterering crew but want a great one!
  • MrsJRod
    Maribel Married on 10/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What can I say... hands down The Pantry Catering was amazing!!!! MaryAnne, Jamie and Chef truly took care of us from our initial quote, to the tasting, to the day of. Our guests are still raving about the food, he mini burgers were delicious, crab cakes were divine, and the braised short rib was a winner!!!! Service and set up the day of our event was awesome!!!!!! The bartender never let mine or my husbands glass be empty, the service staff was stellar, constantly check in on my husband and myself to make sure we had what we needed. They even made delicious to go boxes for us to share later that evening. Thank you the Pantry for everything!!!!
  • A
    Alex Married on 09/04/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Book the Pantry for delicious food, trained wait staff and a very professional catering staff. Chef Dan is creative and still "down home" with his cooking - they put together a gorgeous stations wedding dinner for us featuring pad thai with asian style salad, grilled chicken with red beans and rice and plantains, sautéed rockfish with summer salsa... all really really darn good. The highlight though was the most amazing staff member that approached me and my husband with a plate of appetizers right after we were married saying, "Congratulations! I'm going to take care of you tonight. What can I get you to drink?" and proceeded to find us throughout dinner with little plates of food from all of the stations. It would have been a shame not to get to taste that fantastic dinner at our own wedding and we didn't miss a bit! Thank you, team Pantry.
  • B
    Brad Married on 08/05/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The service and staff were great! I couldn't tell you how much fun it was having everyone at The Pantry help us plan our wedding. I'm not use to the royal treatment but everyone at our wedding felt like rock stars!!! Thank you Pantry Catering for making our special day and thank you for carrying it out in style!!
  • User2326874 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Professionalism and delicious food! Paul is so great to work with and they will customize your wedding to fit your tastes! Such a pleasure working with the Pantry Catering for my wedding!
  • N
    Nicolas Married on 05/13/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We felt at home the minute we sat down in The Pantry's kitchen. Dan couldn't have been a nicer, more genuine person to work with (and talk to). Not only is he the owner, but he's the chef, and he's one of the more knowledgeable catering minds we met throughout our wedding process. In addition to his experience in the business, his cooking skills are phenomenal. Everything Dan cooks is hand made, and that's obvious when you taste his food. He even made the simple syrups for our His/Her drinks. On the planning side of things, we had a unique experience in which there were some personnel changes being made a few months before our wedding. Some people would panic, but Dan handled the situation by calling us directly and giving us the utmost confidence in his decisions. As for the actual event, the appetizers at cocktail hour were absolutely amazing, and the dinners were perfect. Our guests raved about the bartenders and servers as well. It was a group of genuinely nice people. If we could do it again, we would pick The Pantry 10 times over.
  • Amanda
    Amanda Married on 04/30/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The food was great! Sarah Music was wonderful to work with - she was on her A game. Thanks for everything!
  • J
    Jane Married on 12/27/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved the Pantry Catering - the food was so wonderful; we received so many compliments and loved every item they prepared. Paul and Daniel were extraordinarily responsive to our budget, our eclectic food choices and menu changes, and were a joy to work with. At the reception, (Dec 27,2015) the staff was terrific, friendly, helpful, professional. We recommend them very, very highly.
  • Christina
    Christina Event on: 12/12/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I chose the Pantry Catering as the caterers for my company's holiday party this year and they were a hit with everyone that attended. I have never heard so many people rave about food, but everyone said the food was amazing and that it was the best holiday party we have ever had and it is all with thanks to The Pantry. In addition to amazing food, they made the entire planning process super easy for me. I just picked the theme and venue and they went with it, making our masquerade ball come to life. They really made our venue beautiful and provided excellent service. If you need a catering company for your next office event, choose the Pantry! Paul, Dan and Keara are amazing and wonderful to work with.
  • M
    Mary E. Married on 11/07/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Paul and his staff provided excellent service paying attention to every detail. The food was delicious, presented beautifully and all our guests raved about how good everything was. All the staff was professional, friendly, and had everything totally under control. During the planning stages of the event, Paul took the time to meet with us, answer all our questions and personalize my daughters wedding with all the special requests we had. The wedding was perfect and more wonderful than we could have imagined. Thank you Paul and The Pantry for making my daughters' wedding day perfect in every way.
  • User2392560 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Keara, YOU ARE AMAZING!!!!!! Chef Daniel, YOU ARE AMAZING!!!! I can't even begin to tell you how many people have come up to me and told me that this was the best wedding food they have ever had. Keara was my rock during the planning process and was always available to answer ever single question I had. Chef Daniel was flexible with my feedback on the menu and they were so accommodating to all the food allergies and food dislikes in the group. We were also able to provide our own alcohol which not only helped our budget but fit in with other plans we had for the weekend. The staff was so attentive and always made sure that my groom and I had a drink in our hand and food to eat. We decided to go without a cake and instead have pies available to our guests. I will tell you what, those pies were so delicious. So much better than any wedding cake I ever had. This whole wedding experience was so much fun and so easy because of Keara and the team at The Pantry! Thank you so much for giving me the night of a lifetime!
  • User2380983 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Outstanding service and quality from the chef and Paul at The Pantry Catering! Wonderful food and service at our daughter's wedding reception!
  • User2377114 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Pantry was wonderful to work with! Their chef was very open to our ideas for the menu. In fact, they used goose meat and recipe that we provided to make an hors d'hourves. Their event manager was very responsive to all of our questions throughout the time of planning our wedding and was very timely with reminders of what needed to be done when. This really helped with keeping on top of overall event planning.

    The cake company they subcontract with created a pumpkin spice cake that had leaves, acorns, and pumpkins on the top that surrounded the cake,topper we provided. Very creative! The wait staff was very attentive to my husband and I during the event as well as our 95 year old grandmothers. Cannot say enough good things about this catering company. The Pantry exceeded our expectations!
  • K
    Katlyn Married on 10/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    we couldn't speak more highly of Paul and the team at Pantry Catering. From the start of the planning process, they were quick to respond and stayed on track of timelines until the day of our wedding. Paul is very professional and kept us on track the day of the wedding. The food was incredible and we got so many compliments from our guests, as the portion size was just right and the meat was perfectly cooked. While Pantry was not the cheapest option we had available to us for catering (and certainly wasn't the most pricey either), the quality of food and service made spending a little bit more money completely worth it. All of the servers and bartenders were attentive, friendly, and had fun with the guests! Working with Pantry made our special day flow without a hitch, and we would recommend their catering services to anyone without reservation.
  • User2369133 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The food was *delicious* . I worked with Keara and she was always available to answer questions. They were flexible and allowed us to provide our own alcohol and cake. They were patient when the venue was less-than-speedy with their response time. Great experience overall!
  • S
    Sheila Married on 10/09/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From the first (very quick!) response to our initial request for information to packing up the last box at the end of the wedding, Paul and his team were outstanding! We never worried once during the planning process, once we chose The Pantry we knew that everything would be perfect. Our guests raved about the food and kept talking about which items were their favorites days after the wedding. Delicious food, creative and flexible planning process, impeccable service... a truly magical event!

    Save yourself the time and stress, just book The Pantry and then relax and enjoy your event!
  • W
    William Married on 10/03/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Pantry team and especially Keara were exceptionally professional in the facilitation and the execution of the many facets of the wedding plan.

  • E
    Emily Married on 10/03/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I met with the Pantry before meeting any other caterers and knew we wanted them to cater our wedding. The food was delicious, they used high-quality ingredients (and local ingredients as much as possible, which was important to me) and the chef, Dan, clearly has a passion for cooking. We worked with Keara, who was professional, nice, and easy to work with. If we had questions, we could send them to her and know that we wouldn't be waiting too long for an answer. She even helped us sort through a few general wedding planning issues that came up. On the wedding day, they were organized and kept the whole event running smoothly. We also used their suggested baker, Ellie's cakes, and loved the final product. It wasn't just pretty, it was delicious! We were so happy with the Pantry, I can't recommend them enough!!!
  • R
    Ryan Married on 10/03/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used The Pantry to cater our wedding at Corradetti Glass Studio, and they were an absolute pleasure to work with. We went in for a private tasting to meet Paul and sample the food, and it was a really great first impression. The food was delicious and the chef let us sample multiple appetizers, main dishes, and desserts. My only recommendation would be to try the food that you intend to put on the menu at the tasting because we ordered slow roasted pork (which we had not sampled) and it didn't turn out exactly as we had expected. Overall, Paul was extremely accommodating to any changes we had including menu substitutions and last minute timeline changes due to rain. He even threw in extra labor free of charge when rain changed our event timeline. Everyone that attended our wedding commented that they really enjoyed the food, and especially liked the assortment of parfaits that we got for dessert. The staff that worked at the wedding were extremely professional and friendly. I would definitely recommend The Pantry.
  • W
    William Married on 10/03/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Pantry did a wonderful job with my daughters wedding. The crew was on time - polite - professional and cordial. The event coordinator did an exceptional jod that lasted almost a year from the planning stages. The event was a complete success. Thank you Pantry and thank you Keara !
  • User2353594 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The staff at The Pantry were a pleasure to work with for my daughter's wedding. They were accommodating, flexible, and very professional. Their food was amazing! Everything we tried at the tasting was excellent. As we got closer to the date, Keara responded quickly to questions and was helpful when making last minute decisions. The day of the event went smoothly and the staff were all efficient and appeared to enjoy their job. I would highly recommend The Pantry.