Weddings

The Overlook 1923 Reviews

The Overlook 1923 View more information

35 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 35
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

49 User photos

Sort by:
  • Christine
    Christine Z. Married on 12/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible Experience

    My husband and I feel so lucky to have chosen the Overlook for our wedding venue. I didn't expect to plan a wedding during a pandemic but the coordinator and chef could not have been more flexible, responsive, or positive. The space is beautiful, it doesn't even need much decoration. The food was delicious- the guests are still talking about it. Wonderful accommodations and small details from the venue that add up to many happy memories. I could not recommend The Overlook more.
  • M
    Miranda B. Married on 09/26/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    It was wonderful!!!

    Super flexible, easy to work with, so so nice. Absolutely the best day ever.
  • Lindsey
    Lindsey K. Married on 07/18/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing service and FOOD

    Chef Zou and his team made our day completely magical. They were so flexible and willing to help. Anything that we asked for they did for us without any hesitation. The food and service was absolutely amazing. All of the guests raved about how exceptional the food was. We had a sit down dinner with several choices and everything was equally delicious. It doesnt get any better than The Overlook....especially for the price! Chef Zou made sure to walk around and greet each guest and made sure everyone was happy. He even accommodated to severe food allergies that some of our guests had. Everyone at the Overlook made the process so easy for us. We truly were never stressed or worried AT ALL. Highly recommend this venue!
  • M
    Michelle D. Married on 05/30/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!!!

    Wow wow wow! We could not have picked a better venue to have our wedding at. The view is breathtaking and the staff are wonderful. I unfortunately ended up being a covid bride, but The Overlook did a great job helping me plan and replan everything. They were always prompt and polite when answering e-mails or phone calls and were patient with all the questions I had. The food was incredible and they were able to give us options everyone could enjoy. I would pick them a hundred times over and can’t wait to have my larger reception with them next year.

    The Overlook 1923's reply:

    Thank you, Michelle! It was an absolute pleasure to host your wedding this year. We wish you and your husband a lifetime of joy and happiness. We cannot wait to host your reception next year!
  • Ally
    Ally H. Married on 05/23/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely perfect day

    We just held our wedding at The Overlook this past weekend and oh my gosh-- I could absolutely not say enough kind things about The Overlook and their staff. They are SO kind, thoughtful, and organized! Our wedding went off without a hitch, and we are still getting compliments on the food and how beautiful the venue was. Thank you all SO much for an amazing time!
  • A
    Abigail R. Married on 02/22/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful choice for our wedding reception

    We chose The Overlook for our wedding reception after visiting only one other place. It was exactly what we were looking for to host our winter wedding. It is such a beautiful spot with the lake in the back. The building itself is such a classic and cozy place to have a reception. The windows in the back provided a stunning view of the lake at sunset, and the fireplaces added such a special touch to the reception. Chef Zhou introduced himself on our first visit and was very involved and attentive through the whole planning process. Mariah was our coordinator and she was so helpful and pleasant to work with. We had a few special requests, and they were so flexible and eager to ensure we got what we wanted. The food was so delicious, we had so many wonderful choices and received many compliments. The day went off without a hitch due to their organization and attentiveness. We couldn’t have asked for a nicer day or experience in planning for it. Thank you to the whole Overlook staff for making our day as perfect as it could be!

    The Overlook 1923's reply:

    Abby,

    Thank you so much! You and Josh were a pleasure to work with. We wish you many years of happiness and joy!
  • Hannah
    Hannah Married on 11/02/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Could Not Have Been Better

    Brian and I are so completely happy with how well our wedding went and the compliments were ENDLESS! The Overlook does it all: delicious food, bar package, event coordinator, inside/outside ceremony options, incredible staff, and all very affordable.

    The venue: We fell in love with this building and its grounds from our very first visit. The structure itself has so much character and is a perfect mix of rustic and formal. The view from the back windows is spectacular with the lake and the little homes around it with the fall foliage was exactly what I didn't know I wanted. There is a pergola and brick patio that would be perfect for outdoor ceremonies. We had planned on that, but had to move inside due to the weather. Inside is just as magical. Large windows in front, brass chandeliers, and a fireplace at each end of the ballroom made it picture perfect for the indoor ceremony.

    The staff: We were first greeted and given a tour by Mariah, she is super friendly and was ready to thoroughly answer any questions we had. She walked us through their process and menus, bar packages, etc. and she was ready at a moments notice when we decided to move the date up by six months! She made getting started so easy! Mariah got us set up with their coordinator, Faith (also amazing). Faith got us taken care of throughout the planning process. She was quick to answer emails and ease my mind whenever I had any worries. About four months before the wedding, we had our tasting with Chef Zou. This guy will have a special place in our hearts forever. He approaches his business with confidence and kindness and is, himself, one of a kind. He was copied on every email sent by Faith, so he was always in the loop, too. The rest of the staff was sweet and always smiling and ready for whatever was needed.

    The food: My goodness! THE FOOD. I had originally communicated that I was thinking of a backyard BBQ-type menu, which they can do, but Chef decided to do us better. At our tasting, he created so many delicious options for us that it was hard to decide. He also catered to my food sensitivity without even a word about it. He said, "We don't do wedding food here, we do good food," and was NOT exaggerating. We ended up with stuffed chicken or lemon buttered cod with mashed redskins, and the chef's veggies. DAMN. Not only did we love it, EVERYONE loved it. We got tons of compliments on the dinner. Take this advice, if you have any doubts on their food, go for dinner. They are open during the week and while they don't have the same menu that they do for weddings, their regular menu also ROCKS.

    Bar: The bar is nice, because it is separated from the ballroom, so if there are any guests who prefer the quieter atmosphere during dance party hours, that is available for them! This was one of the selling points for me, as my dad is one of those people. Their packages for beverages is very fair and there are lots of different options. Their house wine is delicious. They have bottles and draft beers available. They have full bar to choose from or just beer and wine. You can literally choose anything! Mariah was manning the bar during our wedding, which was just another thing that made me happy.

    Flexibility: I have to give a special shout to Faith and Chef for this. Coming up to the wedding, the weather did its typical Ohio thing and went from fall to winter overnight with icy winds up to 50mph. I contacted Faith and they were able to quickly and seamlessly move the ceremony into the ballroom! THANK YOU FOR THAT!!!

    I could go on and on with all of the things that made our day amazing. All-in-all, The Overlook was the perfect place for our wedding. We had the best party with the best food and the best staff at the most beautiful place in Northeast Ohio. Do yourself a favor and check them out.

    The Overlook 1923's reply:

    Hannah, you and Brian were so amazing to work with! We wish you many years of happiness and joy. We are so glad your wedding turned out the way you wanted!
  • Bianka
    Bianka Married on 08/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Venue and Great Staff!

    We got married on August 10, 2019. The staff was so helpful and attentive. Chef Zhou did an amazing job the food was delicious. Thank you for making our day memorable.
  • S
    Scott S. Married on 11/10/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Overlook Grill

    Highly recommend The Overlook Grill as a wedding venue. Not posh or snooty, rather it is comfortable and welcoming, with its own unique charm. The food was great, and isn't that truly what your guests remember? We had a November Saturday night event, both fireplaces were lit which added to the atmosphere. Drinks and appetizers were in the bar area, plated sit-down dinner was served in their party area which included a nice size dance floor. Taylor Goodyear handled all of the planning, was very considerate of our needs and special requests, plus was on-site during the wedding, which greatly aided our comfort level. Their Executive Chef, Zou, served a fantastic menu, lots of choices, including some very unique special dishes that were absolutely terrific.
  • H
    Haley F. Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing experience

    I had the most amazing experience having my wedding at The Overlook. I began working with them about a year and a half prior to my wedding and the entire planning experience happened with ease. The planner, Taylor, was so sweet and professional and made the experience stress-free. Chef Zou and his staff are amazing and we had SO many compliments on the food. He even made us a late nigh snack of 3 different sliders. I would absolutely recommend The Overlook for any event and am already hoping to be invited to weddings there in the future!
  • A
    Angela Married on 06/16/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We cannot put into words how much we absolutely loved everything about our venue, the food, and the staff. The ceremony area overlooking the lake is absolutely gorgeous. The food— FREAKING AMAZING (Chef Zou is THE BEST), people are still talking about our wedding food & appetizers saying it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding before. Taylor is absolutely amazing and super helpful when it came down to all of our constant random questions. The entire staff was extremely helpful and always made sure we had everything we needed. We had our wedding shower, rehearsal dinner, and ceremony & reception here and have nothing but great things to say about each event. HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend The Overlook for any special occasion. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts - everything was perfect!
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 10/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Overlook was a phenomenal venue for both our wedding and reception. Not only is it gorgeous, but Katie and Chef Zou work hard to make your day as smooth as possible. I felt completely comfortable with them through the whole process, and in the end they executed perfectly. They really went above and beyond to make sure everything is perfect, and are worth their weight in gold. They allowed us to bring our dogs to the venue (just for outdoor pictures), and allowed us to do a sparkler sendoff. Overall, it was awesome.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 09/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I got married on Saturday, September 2nd at The Overlook in Kent and everything went beautifully. The staff was beyond helpful every step of the way. They were extremely accommodating about certain requests and did an amazing job coordinating everything, especially on wedding day. The wedding coordinator, Katie, had a lot of pieces and parts to coordinate already, but she took on managing our especially difficult DJ, too. Also, the food was phenomenal! Chef Zou is brilliant and his creations are just so delicious. We are thankful we live close to the venue so we can enjoy dinner and reminisce on our beautiful day! Thank you to Katie, Chef Zou, and the rest of The Overlook for making our day so very special! My only critique is that I wish the handicap bathroom in the ballroom was more easily accessible/ready for use. Other than that, everything was perfect!
  • K
    Kimberly Married on 08/19/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Katie and the entire overlook team were outstanding! They were very easy to deal with and Katie got right back to us on any questions. I felt like everything I asked of them was answered with "of course! Not a problem!" Katie made the wedding planning process so easy. And the food was amazing! Chef Zou has serious talent and all of our guests raved about the food. The location was beautiful and perfect. I seriously cannot recommend the overlook enough for a wedding. You will not be disappointed if you choose them. We took our photos here also and the grounds here were stunning for that!
  • A
    Alicia Married on 08/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Overlook staff is wonderful to work with and help make the day run so smoothly! Katie is excellent to work with when planning!
  • E
    Ellen Married on 07/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Overlook was amazing. They were so easy to work with and the food was great. I could not be happier with choosing this venue. They day turned out perfectly.
  • P
    Pam Married on 04/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This venue is the TOTAL package! Katie and staff really focused on our needs and made sure our experience was everything we wanted. The food, rustic atmosphere and staff were excellent! We shopped many venues for our wedding. As soon as we walked into The Overlook, we knew this was the venue for the wedding. As an active military family wedding, with some very last minute changes, we were able to hold not only the reception but transform the ball room area into the ceremony, then back into the dance area. The areas for the bridesmaids and groomsmen were perfect too! The outside areas we used for pictures was beautifully landscaped and the view of the lake added so much to the atmosphere. After the wedding, we had so many compliments from our guests on how good the food was as well as the staff and wedding as a whole. We will always recommend this venue to anyone who is getting ready to host a wedding! The Overlook made our son and daughter-in-laws wedding such a memorable event that we will be talking about it for years!
  • L
    Laura Married on 03/18/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding reception at The Overlook and we were thrilled with how it turned out. The staff is friendly, responsive, and professional. The food was AMAZING and all my guests could not stop complimenting it. This is not your typical wedding food. The view is lovely, and even though it was cold and rainy on the wedding day, it made for a beautiful setting. The staff was very patient and understanding with us. Five stars!
  • C
    Caity Married on 09/24/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I had our wedding at the Overlook on September 24,2016; although we had actually booked it September of 2014. We were pleased beyond our wildest dreams with how well everything turned out! Chelsea and Katie were our wedding coordinators and their level of professionalism and attention to detail was out of this world! They made sure they knew every little detail and exactly how we wanted things to play out to ensure that everything would go smoothly without us needing to worry about anything the day of. They were so accomodating and so kind and genuine that I truly felt like my day was all about me. I never once had to chase them down or take care of anything myself because they were always checking on us to make sure everything was okay! Chef Zou created a perfect dinner for us based off what WE wanted. We wanted to do something untraditional and we gave him a price and some ideas and he took it and ran with it! He never once tried to force us to do something we didn't want to do and hit it out of the ball park with his dishes! We had a backyard cookout theme with ribs and pulled chicken sliders and baked beans and chicken salad that I'm STILL talking about and every single one of our guests was blown away--even a grandma that always has an opinion! He even made it a point to go around afterwards and make sure everyone was pleased with their meal. The venue was what initially made us want to get married at the Overlook. The pergola down by the lake with the beautifually lanscaped grounds made our wedding day so picture-perfect. Our guests were so impressed with the venue and thought everything was just absolutely perfect! The staff at the Overlook is 5-star all the way. There was not a single person that I talked to that was not wildly impressed with how attentive and personable and hard working they were. Thank you to the Overlook for making our wedding PERFECT!
  • M
    Megan Married on 05/07/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Katie, Chef Zou and the entire Overlook staff were the best team we could have ever asked for! Our wedding was so perfect and we were so impressed with their attention to detail and their professionalism. We can't wait to come back for dinner! Our decorations were very involved and everything looked so perfect. THANK YOU ALL from the bottom of our hearts for making this day so special. We love The Overlook!
  • User2534778 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Beautiful venue right on Twin Lakes in Kent! The customer service is unmatched and the food is to die for - everyone keeps complimenting our wedding because we didn't serve "wedding food." On our menu was Delmonico steak, Sicilian chicken and Herb-crusted salmon ... all for a very reasonable price. My husband and I don't really like cake, so Chef Zou even made us cupcake-sized Chocolate Peanut Butter Cheesecakes. Seriously mouth watering!

    The 1920's building was perfect for my rustic-romantic themed wedding. Since we were married in the winter, the front ball room was my favorite with two large fireplaces and romantic light fixtures. The whole building is truly charming with amazing views of the lake all across the back of the venue. Plus, they have a pergola on the lake to get married under during the warmer months that we were able to snap some pictures under.

    The staff was also amazing and they make you feel like family ... I would recommend The Overlook to anyone planning their wedding!
  • K
    Kelli Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    The Overlook was a wonderful location for our wedding. It poured down rain on our wedding day and we stuck with it and continued with the outdoor ceremony. Despite the obvious panic, the staff was on board with me when we decided to keep it outside. They ordered a tent for our ceremony (WITHOUT US ASKING!) for the sound system for our Officiant and Violinist and covered the cost which was amazing. This venue is STUNNING, rain or shine. Very good experiences across the board. Be sure to have your ideal itinerary and STICK TO IT. Be sure to keep an email of everything discussed to keep things on track! Rain threw our timeline a little out of whack and we had to make some adjustments with the bar package last minute, but Chef Zou offered a great deal and his staff members were very accommodating.
  • E
    Elyse Married on 04/14/2018
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My family and I absolutely loved working with The Overlook for my Wedding and rehearsal dinner! Their food is AMAZING thanks to their wonderful chef/part owner, who is also extremely kind and accommodating. Our guests all complemented the food and said it was some of the best they had ever had at a wedding. The food was also prompt in coming out and the staff was great at keeping up with clearing trash & plates. They also have the sweetest event coordinators I could have ever hoped to work with! One was transitioning out to work full time in her career field and the other was transitioning in to take her place, but they were still on top of everything and were both willing to jump in for anything we needed. I cannot express how accommodating they were and they allowed us to decorate and put our own special touches on the place. They also had a TV that we could connect to in order to play a video at the reception. Although it was raining on our wedding day, the indoor venue looked just as beautiful and we could not have been happier in choosing The Overlook for our special day. We look forward to going to their restaurant that is open during the week and would highly recommend them as a venue for any event!
  • K
    Karly Married on 11/04/2016
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This venue had everything to offer for the kind of wedding we wanted: intimate (we had 140 people), beautiful, and an extremely professional and caring staff. My day was completely stress-free and more than that, I felt personally attended-to by Katie, the coordinator, Zou, the chef, Michael, the owner, and all the servers and staff who worked the actual event. They were flexible in arranging to drop off and pick up decorations, accessible to answer questions. It was easy to put my trust in them and they really delivered. It's a gorgeous space (especially for the lake view) at a reasonable price, but what really sells this venue is the customer service. Highly recommend.
  • Cara
    Cara Married on 09/19/2020
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gorgeous venue

    This venue is very beautiful and the value is great. I would recommend looking at this venue for your wedding.