The Overlook at Geer Tree Farm Reviews

11 | Jewett City, CT
See photos, pricing and details

11 Reviews for The Overlook at Geer Tree Farm

Recommended by 100%

11
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

3 User photos

The Overlook at Geer Tree Farm 1
The Overlook at Geer Tree Farm 2
The Overlook at Geer Tree Farm 3
Sort by:
  • K

    Kayli · Married on 10/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Had my wedding here in early October it was so beautiful! The view is spectacular and quaint. It is more than some places we looked at but the tables and chairs where included, thank goodness!

    Sent on 11/15/2017
    The Overlook at Geer Tree Farm 4
    The Overlook at Geer Tree Farm 5
    The Overlook at Geer Tree Farm 6
  • P

    Pamela · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was nothing short of magical, and that is all thanks to our amazing vendors, and specifically our amazing venue. If you are the type of bride who wants a fairytale like setting, the Overlook is exactly that. We both knew the first time we set foot on the property that it was the perfect setting for our wedding, and it honestly could not have been better. All of our guests raved about how amazing the setting was and kept asking us how we found it. Bo is so amazing and accomodating, and will answer all of your phone calls and emails. He is there on site all day helping the vendors with anything they need, and he even offered to drive us around to different sites on the property for photos. We had access to the property all weekend long and were even able to drop all of our things off on Wednesday so that we would not have to worry about transport the day before the wedding. He let us stop by Sunday late in the afternoon to pick up the remaining items so that we didn't have to rush around the morning after our wedding trying to get things done by a specific time.

    Our wedding day was really the best day of our lives, and we could not have chosen a better venue. Thank you so much Bo!

    Sent on 08/16/2017
  • sdbride

    Gloria · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Throughout the planning process, Bo was responsive and extremely helpful, which was especially important for us as we were planning a wedding from thousands of miles away and didn't even get to see the venue until days before our wedding day. Though our parents had seen it and sent us photos and videos, we had complete faith in Bo, his team, and the venue, and we are so glad we did. Bo allowed us to come the day before to take care of our rehearsal and also drop off some items ahead of time (centerpieces and flowers), which we left overnight in the bridal suite on-site. On the day of, though Bo personally was unable to be there, he had two people there to ensure everything was taken care of, including coordinating with vendors and also tending to the fire pit. We were also able to pick up some of our items the next morning at our convenience. Above all else, I can truly say that everything on our wedding day was absolutely perfect. Our friends and family couldn't stop talking about how beautiful the space is and the views are. Everyone was blown away. Currently living in California, we miss our Connecticut roots, and The Overlook allowed us to celebrate a special moment in our lives with the beauty and nature of the Geers' property as our backdrop. We feel so lucky to have had the opportunity to have gotten married at The Overlook and would absolutely, 100% do it all over again at this exact venue. Thank you, Bo! We are so grateful for everything.

    Sent on 08/10/2017
  • E

    Erica · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I just had the most amazing at the Overlook at Geer Tree Farm last weekend! It was my absolute dream wedding. All of our guests had so much fun and could not stop commenting about the beauty of the venue. Many kept saying it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever been to. It was so wonderful having a place for people to relax at the fire pit, hang out on the patio or dance under the tent. We did first look photos and had an hour in between photos and the ceremony. Bo drove us to the bottom of the hill to his aunts house, where we rented it for an hour with our bridal party. It was worth every penny to have an air conditioned break and have champagne with our bridal party! Bo was accommodating and helpful every step of the way. The only downfall was, since everything is so beautiful outside we were worried about the weather forecast which said thunderstorms. If it had rained, they would have closed the sides of the tent but this would have been a disappointment since the whole setting is so beautiful. Luckily, it didn't even end up raining! We 100% recommend this venue and had the most perfect wedding! (We used Matthew's Catering, which we also loved.)

    Sent on 07/13/2017
  • SoonToBeMrsE

    Nicole · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannot express how happy we were with our wedding at the Overlook at Geer Tree Farm! The venue was so unique and Bo allowed us to be creative with the space. Our friends and family rave about the views and how wonderful the night was. The fire pit is perfect for those guests who may not want to dance- but still like to be occupied. Bo was wonderful to work with from the first day until the next day. He was so flexible in every aspect.

    Sent on 07/28/2017
  • P

    Patrice · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had our wedding/reception at the Overlook. It was beyond beautiful and unique. Our guests kept asking me how we had found such a perfect location, it "matched" us as a couple perfectly. Bo was awesome to deal with. He returned calls and emails within a day and was flexible about all the requests we made. Beyond the overlook patio, there is a gorgeous white tent, manicured grounds where our guests played lawn games, the tremendous fire pit his staff manned during the event and the farm-style air-conditioned bathroom & bride's room building. Bo was also glad to provide our bridal party a shuttle from the nearby photo spot up to the tent. The weather was perfect, there was a full moon and fireworks in the distance! Thanks to the Overlook at Geer Tree Farm, our wedding venue was the icing on the cake for a memorable event. Thanks to Bo and the Overlook staff!

    Sent on 09/16/2016
  • L

    Liz · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Overlook at Geer Tree Farm was the absolute perfect venue for our July 9th wedding. We could not be any happier with how everything turned out. The views make for unbelievable pictures. The staff at Geers was there all day to make sure that everything ran smoothly and to assist in any way possible. They were very accommodating and let us bring things up the night before so that we weren't trying to get everything done the morning of the wedding. Many of our guests asked us how we found such a beautiful venue. If you decide to have your wedding here you will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 08/09/2016
  • User4319862 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A beautiful site with a very friendly and accommodating staff.

    Sent on 01/19/2015
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly an amazing wedding venue run by amazing people. My husband and I are outdoorsy people and wanted a venue that captured the beauty of New England without it being too rustic (i.e. no bathrooms). After researching many venues throughout the area we found this one, though relatively new, we made an appointment to check it out. Even with a few inches of snow covering the ground, the view was absolutely stunning, exactly what we were looking and we essentially booked it on the spot.

    The person in charge, Bo, is fantastic. He promptly replied to all of my emails and phone calls and answered any questions I had. He met with us several times after the initial meeting (once the snow melted) so that we could see the layout, the tent and the new barn (with air conditioned bathrooms!) that they had just built. He also let us bring up decorations etc. early and let us store them in the bridal suite so that we didn't have to worry about anything on the wedding day. There is a historical tavern that was re-built on a lower part of the property that is owned by another family member. They willingly opened their home for my bridesmaids and I to get ready.

    Though most of our day was warm and dry, once it was time for toasts and dinner, the sky opened up and it poured like crazy. That is when the venue staff really came through, they were outside in the pouring rain holding umbrellas over openings in the tent until the tent was completely sealed ensuring that my guests were comfortable and dry despite the elements. They escorted people to and from the bathrooms with umbrellas, the escorted the waitstaff to and from the catering tent. And when the rain ended, they kept the fire pit going (a huge hit with the non-dancers) all night long.

    Again, truly an amazing wedding venue run by amazing people. If your looking for a well run, outdoor venue look no further.


    Sent on 10/30/2014
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married here in August, and it was absolutely incredible! The venue is absolutely breathtaking ... By far the most beautiful wedding spot I have ever been to. Incredible view, beautiful tent, fire pit, dancing under the stars... And Bo and his crew are so professional and helpful! Our guests could not stop gushing about the incredible location, and i am so thankful that we found it!

    Sent on 09/16/2014
  • User5523725 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bo and the group at The Overlook are fantastic. I was married this past weekend (Oct 11) and everything was taken care of. The weather was fantastic and despite there being a wedding there the day/night before, the venue was in peak shape when we arrived early Sunday morning.

    Bo is easy to work with and has a competent and friendly staff. The venue (especially in the fall) is so beautiful. Also, with the sides of the tent down (optional) and some heaters, do not worry about it being too chilly if you are having a wedding outside of the summer months. Also, we had 180+ guests and the venue was a great size. There was adequate room for a dance floor under the tent, everyone fit on the patio/Overlook for the ceremony, and there was plenty of space to walk between tables during dinner.

    All night, our videographers, photographers, guests enjoyed the venue and kept telling us it was the most beautiful place they had ever been for a wedding; I think they are right. The venue is really a blank page, so it is what you make of it in terms of decorations, personal touches, wait staff, etc. Depending on who you are and how much you like planning, this could be a blessing or a curse.

    Thanks again to the team at the Overlook.

    Sent on 10/14/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review