The Original Moonlighters Reviews

59 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

59 Reviews for The Original Moonlighters

Recommended by 96%

59
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

8 User photos

The Original Moonlighters 1
The Original Moonlighters 2
The Original Moonlighters 3
The Original Moonlighters 4
The Original Moonlighters 5
The Original Moonlighters 6
The Original Moonlighters 7
+ 2
Sort by:
  • A

    Amberly Nguyen · Married on 12/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our feet still hurt from dancing, lol!

    Yes, they do!!! I've been to TONS of weddings with boring DJ music, so we decided to hire a live band covering all the classics and top 40 hits. But the Moonlighters pretty much know every song in the universe, so it was an easy decision. Pricing was reasonable, they took all our requests, and even personalized some songs with our names...now how cute is THAT??? But when they let our family members on stage, singing a couple songs with the band, it brought the whole house down!!! You guys totally rock, and we're already making plans to book you again for our family reunion next yr.

    Sent on 12/29/2018
  • V

    Vivian Boswell · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply Superb!

    We love everything about The “Original” Moonlighters - their incredible talent, sound, energy, and song selection will wow your guests and make your event memorable!! They worked with us in advance on the Bride’s surprise song for her Groom. The band kept the energy high and fun from the very beginning of our reception, and they continued to wow everyone throughout the evening. Our guests packed the dance floor throughout the night, and everyone loved the music and the band. We have continued to receive compliments on the band, several days after the wedding.

    Sent on 10/18/2018
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OMG! Where do I begin? Everyone was so nice and accommodating before, during and even after our wedding day. Manager, bandleader, and musicians were totally on point. I wish all my other vendors were this awesome. We had some venue and timing issues, but they didn't miss a beat, handling all the last-minute changes with big smiles on their faces, making the day much less stressful. Learning special songs, making announcements, even having my brother sit in with them on drums...no problemo! AND keeping our guests dancing all night long: 20 year-olds, 30/40-somethings and even the 70 year-olds were totally getting down!!!

    Sent on 09/14/2018
  • M

    Michael Rubin · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BEST Wedding Band!

    Bravo, fellas! I know you have great reviews and videos, but WOW!!! The band was even better in person, so my beautiful bride and all our guests are still talking non-stop about dancing all night to this awesome band. Thanks for making me look good, lol!

    Sent on 11/16/2018
  • H

    Holly · Married on 08/31/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was a bit nervous hiring a wedding band online, but the Moonlighters reviews and videos were excellent! And as soon as they started playing, we knew it was the best possible decision...they were outstanding and definitely the highlight of our entire night (besides getting married), so a big THANK YOU, again!

    Sent on 09/04/2018
  • M

    Michelle Knox · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Good Times!

    What a band! They absolutely made our party...the Moonlighters ROCK (and swing, and funk, and Motown, and even some awesome pop/top 40). A million thank you's
    from me and Tyler...y'all the BEST!!!

    Sent on 04/04/2019
  • A

    Andrew · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were awesome!!
    Great experience!

    Sent on 08/26/2018
  • E

    Evan Russo · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ultimate Wedding Band!

    Just wanted to say, you need to hire these guys and gal ASAP...they're so easy to work with and always put on a show!!! We heard them at a friend's wedding and booked them 2 wks. later: BEST. BAND. EVER.

    Sent on 02/11/2019
  • T

    Tiffany Murdock · Married on 08/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Dreams Come True...

    Our perfect wedding became a reality thanks to the Original Moonlighters. We wanted an energetic band for getting our guests up dancing, and these guys (and gals) exceeded all expectations. People were even dancing during dinner! They played EVERYTHING, including 3 encores because nobody wanted to leave. And now we're still getting compliments about our awesome band. All I can say is WOW!!!

    Sent on 01/03/2019
    The Original Moonlighters 8
    The Original Moonlighters 9
  • S

    Salma Farah · Married on 07/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Band!

    The "Original Moonlighters" were just perfect...thank you, Will and all the guys/gals for the best time of our lives!!!

    Sent on 11/05/2018
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 07/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We're dancers and finding a fun band covering all the styles was key! Taking requests and reading the crowd, they literally kept 150 people out on the floor for 3 solid hours...YESSS!!! The Moonlighters are are so nice, fun and very talented. Thank you again!

    Sent on 09/28/2018
  • S

    Sydney · Married on 07/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The BEST Dance Band!

    Thanks, Moonlighters for making our wedding night a party to remember...everybody loved the band and can't stop talking about you guys, so now we're recommending you to all our friends!!! I'm totally sure we'll be seeing you again!

    Sent on 10/24/2018
  • E

    Erica · Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OMG! Where do I even begin? These guys are sooo talented...and they play everything from swing and oldies during dinner for the grandparents to Motown/classic rock that totally fills the dance floor non-stop!!! And then late into the night they break out the JT, M5 and Bruno for all the younger folks...partaaay, lol! Working with them was super easy, they're extremely talented, VERY nice, and reasonably priced. So don't hesitate...you must book this band!!!

    Sent on 07/28/2018
  • P

    PHILLIP · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning our own wedding, budget was a major issue. But our #1 priority was having a dynamic live band for getting everyone out on the dance floor. Our wedding planner recommended the Original Moonlighters, and after checking out their online reviews, emailing some past clients and talking with their manager we were totally sold. The keyboardist learned several songs for our ceremony and played them beautifully. And when it was time to party, the band had all our guests out on the dance floor non-stop!!! In fact, the musicians only took one short break during the entire three hrs. Otherwise, whatever we wanted played they were totally on point! We hired the 8 piece, and that package was surprisingly affordable, including stage lights and MC services. They looked great in their matching suits and our guests can't stop talking about how friendly and talented everyone was. Thank you, Moonlighters, for making our wedding a dream come true!

    Sent on 07/20/2018
    The Original Moonlighters 10
  • F

    Francis · Married on 06/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The band was awesome. Everyone loved them. They played the right music and got everyone dancing. Can't say enough good things. Our wedding was a black tie affair and they came all decked out in tuxes. Would definitely recommend them to anyone who wants an epic wedding.

    Sent on 08/06/2018
  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVE this band!! They made the wedding so special, put up with us changing the first dance days before, and helped everything go so smoothly. Our guests were dancing the entire time and everyone is asking me who they are, wanting to book them. Best wedding decision we made!!

    Sent on 06/21/2018
  • B

    Becca · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired the Original Moonlighters from a google search for Motown wedding band in DC. They were the first to pop up, and boy did we make a good choice. They brought such a fun party to our wedding. Will (manager) was incredible to work with-- super responsive, and worked hard to make your timeline fit. The band was talented, played a good assortment of fun music and mixed in a few slower tunes too. My mom and I sang a song with them (You Can't Hurry Love) which was SO much fun.

    During the ceremony, they let us use speakers (and we were supposed to have a mic but that wasn't there) that hooked up to an ipod for our ceremony music. They offer piano soloist, but we wanted specific songs. We had a jazz trio during cocktail hour too.

    Sent on 06/04/2018
    The Original Moonlighters 11
    The Original Moonlighters 12
    The Original Moonlighters 13
    The Original Moonlighters 14
    The Original Moonlighters 15
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So we decided to splurge on our wedding band, hiring The Original Moonlighters after seeing them at a friend's wedding back in 2014...I've been to over 20 weddings in DC with live bands, and nobody even comes close for playing all the tunes, bringing the energy, keeping everyone on the dance floor, etc. Hiring the 10 pce. band with full horn section was surprisingly cheaper than what we expected too!!! Working with their manager was super easy, and let me tell you, they all put on a SHOW!!! Family and friends are still talking. So keep on doing what you do b/c you guys are AWESOME!!!

    Sent on 08/14/2018
  • K

    Ken · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The “Original” Moonlighters performed at our daughter’s wedding reception on May 5th at the Potomac View Terrace. We first learned of the band when they played at our goddaughter’s wedding a few years ago. The "Original" Moonlighters perform a broad range of music as you can tell by viewing their website. We have received many favorable compliments about the band’s performance from our guests, as well as our daughter and new son-in-law. In addition, we found their manager to be responsive to our inquiries and requests and would highly recommend you consider the them for your event. We are sure you will be pleased.

    Sent on 05/12/2018
  • J

    Julie · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best decision I made for my wedding, besides choosing my partner, was selecting the Original Moonlighters as our band.

    Our wedding was somewhat intimate with 60 guests, ranging in age from 18 to 77. We were concerned about finding a band that could appeal to such a broad age range with eclectic musical tastes, but this band more than appealed to our guests. They had everyone on the dance floor smiling and having a spectacular time.

    The band included two vocalists and four instrumentalists for a three-hour event that included the dinner hour and two hours of dancing. For the dinner hour, the band played beautiful jazz music, which allowed the guests to enjoy their dinner and conversation with soothing music playing in the background. The dancing portion of the night kicked off with the song, At Last by Etta James that was beautifully performed by their female vocalist. In fact, I think she sounded better than the original artist. From there, the band transitioned smoothly from one genre to the next with pure talent. Almost all of the guests were on the dance floor throughout the night dancing, laughing and having a great time.

    Not only was the music by this band flawless but they were also very professional, fun, easy to work with and even attired themselves in my wedding colors. You cannot go wrong in hiring this band; they will make your wedding event the talk of the town.
    Dave and Julie Kruse - June 17, 2017

    Sent on 06/24/2017
  • J

    Julie · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best decision I made for my wedding, besides choosing my partner, was selecting the Original Moonlighters as our band.

    Our wedding was somewhat intimate with 60 guests, ranging in age from 18 to 77. We were concerned about finding a band that could appeal to such a broad age range with eclectic musical tastes, but this band more than appealed to our guests. They had everyone on the dance floor smiling and having a spectacular time.

    The band included two vocalists and four instrumentalists for a three-hour event that included the dinner hour and two hours of dancing. For the dinner hour, the band played beautiful jazz music, which allowed the guests to enjoy their dinner and conversation with soothing music playing in the background. The dancing portion of the night kicked off with the song, At Last by Etta James that was beautifully performed by their female vocalist. In fact, I think she sounded better than the original artist. From there, the band transitioned smoothly from one genre to the next with pure talent. Almost all of the guests were on the dance floor throughout the night dancing, laughing and having a great time.

    Not only was the music by this band flawless but they were also very professional, fun, easy to work with and even attired themselves in my wedding colors. You cannot go wrong in hiring this band; they will make your wedding event the talk of the town.
    Dave and Julie Kruse - June 17, 2017

    Sent on 06/24/2017
  • DrKSN

    Krystal · Married on 10/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Original Moonlighters are a legend. People talk about bands that elevate a mere party to the status of a mythical event. People talk about bands that can speak to everyone: young, old, white, black, local, and foreign; bands that transcend these separations. In my life as a former wedding caterer, I’ve seen dozens of wedding bands and DJs show up, play some music and leave. Very rarely does a band even manage to make any kind of difference, let alone transcend division. The Original Moonlighters not only manages to transcend, but now exists in the mind of our wedding guests of our mixed-race wedding as the band responsible for creating the best time many of us have ever had.

    Their musical knowledge and skill are considerable and impressive, but even skilled musicians are a dime a dozen. What sets The Original Moonlighters apart is their openness, attentiveness and care. They willingly learned our favorite song for our first dance and it was amazing! They have mastered the elusive and subtle skills of reading the room and caring about what each person actually felt is a good time. Everyone at the reception from 90 year old world-traveling grandmas to down-south country cousins to hard-working family from the mid-west to teenagers to 5-year-olds who have never heard most of the songs previously got up and danced until their legs went out. They helped us to see that even though we all may be from different places, have vastly different experiences, and different skin colors, we are all one family. The band wasn’t just folks who played at our wedding --they were a true part of it.

    We are deeply grateful for their performance, care, and emotion. We wholeheartedly recommend them for your wedding. Their music is beautiful and the emotional memories it will leave in your heart are easily worth their reasonable and fair booking fee. Don’t wait, book them now.

    Sent on 06/15/2017
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The band absolutely made our wedding a fabulous party! Everybody was raving about them that night and continues to rave about them afterwards. They are very reasonably priced and had wonderful talent and energy!

    Sent on 08/03/2016
  • V

    Victoria · Married on 04/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Moonlighters absolutely made our wedding the most amazing night of our lives. ALL of our guests were dancing the entire night, and they all raved about how amazing the band sang/played/danced. Not a single person was sitting once the music got started. The band had the most incredible energy, and as the bride, made me feel like they were singing all of their songs just for me. Literally ... they played every song I requested, kept the music on schedule, and most importantly, kept everyone dancing. They ended the night with such a great energy, no one wanted to leave! We are SO HAPPY they were available for our wedding ... thank you Vance and the Moonlighters for making our wedding so much fun. We wish you the best, and please don't ever stop playing!

    Sent on 04/17/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review