The Oread Hotel Reviews

18 | Topeka, KS
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for The Oread Hotel

Recommended by 97%

18

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

3 User photos

The Oread Hotel 1
The Oread Hotel 2
The Oread Hotel 3
Sort by:
  • -

    - · Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Whitney did a wonderful job! She was so easy to work with throughout the entire process and made sure she knew every detail of how things should go. She was great at follow up and ensuring everything was taken care the day of. The whole events department did a great job!

    Sent on 07/11/2018
  • M

    Mariah · Married on 12/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding at The Oread was the best decision!! It was so beautiful and Bayli was super helpful throughout the entire process! If you’re looking for a venue that has amazing views a romantic environment and pure elegance The Oread is your place!! The day couldn’t have gone any better! We were so happy with everything!

    Sent on 01/08/2018
    The Oread Hotel 4
    The Oread Hotel 5
    The Oread Hotel 6
  • N

    Nellie · Married on 11/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the most amazing experience working with the staff of The Oread for our wedding. It is a beautiful venue and we could not have been more happy with how our wedding turned out. Bayli was incredible to work with! There was not a stone left unturned through the whole planning process. She thought of every last detail and made sure we were happy with every last decision. She was extremely professional and timely with regard to responses via phone call or email. The day ran absolutely seamlessly thanks to her leadership with her team. The room was flipped efficiently between ceremony and reception, food tasted fantastic, service was quick for the plated dinner. Guests were extremely complimentary of the venue and service. We are so grateful we were able to work with Bayli and her team! Would recommend The Oread to anyone researching venues for any type of event, big or small!

    Sent on 11/25/2017

    The Oread Hotel's reply:

    Nellie, thank you so much for your kind words! We had such a blast hosting you and John for your special day.
  • K

    Kayleen · Married on 03/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Oread is the perfect place for a wedding. We had our ceremony and reception in their main ballroom and it was beautiful. The staff did a great job of setting everything up for us and it was really nice to not have to worry about any take down after the party. The food was SO GOOD as well. Worth every penny!

    Sent on 05/10/2017
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We really loved the venue and the service we were provided!

    Sent on 11/21/2016
  • User5089345 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We planning our wedding from afar- we both reside in the Chicago area currently. Working with Whitney at the Oread made our experience a dream! The venue is beautiful, but the staff is what made the experience so unforgettable. We didn't have to worry about a thing on the day of- they handled nearly all of the set up (I had my florist and best friend take over for decorating, although the Oread staff were her assistants), all of the clean up, and everything in between. I was picky about a few things and Whitney took my "suggestions" in stride and pulled it all together. The staff even wrapped all of my glass decor and boxed it up and delivered it to our hotel room. Even at the end, there were no surprises on the final bill.
    We also did a guest block of rooms, which was worry free as well. A few other hotels I've had experience with charge you if you do not book enough of your reserved block, but not at the Oread. The rooms simply went back into general circulation 30 days before the date of our event.
    Planning from far away, I cannot stress how much the Oread and Whitney made the process as simple as possible. I didn't have to coordinate tons of different vendors, Whitney was great about reminding me about little details I often overlooked, and she was always super responsive via email.
    Thank you, to the Oread and all of the staff that made our wedding day so wonderful!

    Sent on 05/29/2016
  • A

    Abbie · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Oread was a wonderful location for our wedding. The catering had amazing food that guests still consistently comment on. Having the wedding on the terrace outside and the reception at the hotel was very convenient for guests (everyone enjoyed the entire event being at the same location). Whitney Webber was a phenomenal wedding planner and she made our event flow smoothly. Highly recommend having your wedding or other events at this venue. It was perfect for us - especially being Jayhawks fans as it is located on the University of Kansas campus.

    Sent on 09/19/2015
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 12/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our Rehearsal Dinner at Five21, one of the restaurants inside the Oread Hotel. The staff were very friendly and attentive and the food was awesome! We had the private room due to our party size, and everyone was taken care of. Definitely a great experience!

    Sent on 01/07/2015
  • User3646763 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception at the Oread. We could not have asked for a better venue! Our food was delicious and our space was beautiful. The wedding coordinators decorated and handled everything for us! They were fun and helpful! We didn't have to worry about anything! They were always prompt in getting back to us to answer questions or help with changes we wanted to make. We also had our rehearsal dinner at the hotel and all of our guests stayed at the hotel. It was so convenient to have everyone and everything in one place. We received so many compliments on how wonderful everything looked! Our day was perfect and we are so thankful to have worked with the Oread! I would absolutely recommend the Oread to everyone!

    Sent on 10/21/2014
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 05/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding experience at The Oread was wonderful. I had my ceremony on the 9th floor terrace and it was absolutely breathtaking. The terrace overlooks the KU campus, which was special to me because my husband and I met there. My reception was in the Hancock Ballroom and it was gorgeous. My guests could not get over how beautiful the ceremony and reception spaces were.

    Another reason my wedding was such an incredible experience was the staff. The staff was wonderful and very professional to work with. The staff set up my reception space exactly how I wanted it and when they tore down the reception space they even packed up my décor for me. And the service of food and drinks were amazing. Whitney Webber was my wedding coordinator for The Oread and I can’t say enough wonderful things about her. From the time I booked the venue and through my wedding she was always very involved and responsive. I was disappointed in some of my other vendors (bakery, florists) because they took SO long to return my calls and emails, but that was never the case with Whitney. She always returned my emails and calls quickly and always seemed happy to help. When I got married at The Oread there were multiple weddings happening throughout the weekend and even that day, which initially made me a little nervous. Whitney made sure everything went smoothly though. She did everything from helping set up my ceremony décor, to putting out my flowers out at the reception, and even showed my husband and I how to cut the wedding cake during the reception.

    I would absolutely recommend The Oread for wedding ceremonies and/or receptions because of the beauty of the venue and the professional and hardworking staff.

    Sent on 06/13/2014
  • D

    Diana · Married on 06/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married on the 9th floor terrace, had our cocktail hour out there, and then our reception in the Hancock Ballroom. Heidi and her team did such a great job. Everything went off without a hitch and we couldn't have been more pleased. Many of our guests had never been to Kansas and kept commenting on what a great hotel the Oread is. We are so happy we chose the Oread for our big wedding weekend!

    Sent on 07/01/2012
  • N

    Nikaela · Married on 04/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception in the All Seasons Den at The Oread. It is a beautiful space, and we had many comments from our guests about how great the space and food were. Aubrey, the events coordinator, was a pleasure to work with. She is detail oriented, responds to calls and emails quickly, and is very friendly. Because of her, we had an awesome party!

    Sent on 05/03/2011
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 04/29/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our reception at The Oread and had such an amazing time. They gave us exceptional service. We could not have been happier with our choice of venue. Our guests could not stop raving about the food. Aubrey, the wedding coordinator was wonderful to work with. I highly recommend The Oread!

    Sent on 05/02/2011
  • K

    Kara · Married on 08/23/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kiley and Whitney were both so easy to work with! I am SO happy with my decision to have my wedding reception at the Oread. Not one thing went wrong and they adhered to all our requests. The Hancock ballroom took my breath away when I initially walked in! It was so beautiful with the fancy tables and stone walls. The plated dinner service was extremely efficient and actually went quicker than we anticipated. I sent emails each week during the planning process with random questions and they always responded within 24 hours. I couldn't have asked for anything more out of their team. You must check out the Oread if you are looking at getting married in Lawrence!

    Sent on 09/02/2014
  • M

    Megan · Married on 06/20/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Oread was absolutely gorgeous! All of the guest really enjoyed the atmospher and had a good time. The food was delicious! The staff could have been more attentive to what we as the bride and groom needed throughout the evening. Our DJ was more attentive to us then they were. As everyone knows the cake cutting and giving eachother a piece is not always the cleanest. we needed a napkin to wipe out faces after, out DJ was the one to run to the bar to get that for us. Other than these little inattentive details of the staff of the hotel assigned to out wedding on that day it really is a great place to hold a wedding reception. Our guests also really enjoyed the rooftop bar after the ceremony ended which was a plus.

    Sent on 07/17/2015
  • User5016220 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue is beautiful but VERY hot. There needed to be more air flow. The staff was great to work with and was very accommodating

    Sent on 06/10/2015
  • L

    Lacey · Married on 06/18/2011

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We had our ceremony on the 5th floor terrace of the Oread and it was absolutely beautiful. We got so many compliments on the uniqueness and creativity of the venue. Aubrey was great to work with. It would have been nice if the hotel was a little more linient with our requests so we could have also had our reception here as well.

    Sent on 09/26/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review