the Nines Reviews

20 | Portland, OR
See photos, pricing and details

20 Reviews for the Nines

Recommended by 93% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

20

10 User photos

Order by:
  • R

    Rosalyn Bulloch · Married on 03/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfection down to the last detail

    My husband and I were extremely happy with our wedding at the Nines. Everything went so perfectly and we receive many compliments from our guests for weeks afterwards. Charlotte (their wedding coordinator) is an excellent listener and she communicates with perfect professionalism. She really cared about things going perfectly. The rest of the staff as well were amazing and made our day so special down to the tiniest details.

    Sent on 04/16/2019
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 07/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Charlotte's the best! Our wedding came together flawlessly with her support. The rest of the staff at The Nines was absolutely great as well. We're forever thankful.

    Sent on 10/03/2017
  • K

    Kristine · Married on 07/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I stayed at the Nines on our wedding night, as well as the following night, before leaving for our honeymoon. This hotel is my absolute favorite in Portland! The accommodations and hotel are beautiful, the employees are wonderful, and the rooftop is amazing! There is a restaurant and bar on the rooftop that has a great view of Portland from multiple angles and it has a classy vibe. This hotel is pricier compared to others in Portland, but it is the best and you can find some great deals, which we were able to do on Priceline.com.

    Sent on 07/14/2016
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding reception at the Nines on August 8th and from start to finish, Charlotte at the Nines was an absolute pleasure to work with! She was very responsive, professional, friendly, and fun and I will absolutely send all of my friends to Charlotte if they want a ballroom wedding reception.
    Charlotte, thank you again for everything!!

    Sent on 08/24/2015
  • C

    Carla · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Charlotte Bell was our main contact person at the Nines Hotel though out the planning and execution of my daughter's wedding reception. I could not have have dreamed of a better person to work with, she was 100% attentive to our wants, desires and concerns, as well as just a genuine warm and lovely person! In fact every single employee of the Nines that we were in contact with, had the perfect mix of small town friendliness and expected professionalism! The Nines was our wedding center from Friday, October 10, 2014 to Sunday, October 12, 2014. No request of ours was too small to receive immediate attention, Our event had 300 guests, and from the cocktail hour to the service of the seated meal to the sumptuous post wedding day brunch, every detail was as perfect as humanly possible. I would recommend the Nines' (and especially Charlotte) without hesitation!

    Sent on 10/30/2014
  • J

    Jeri · Married on 08/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Charlotte mostly, and she was awesome. Quick to respond, patient, accessible, had great ideas, and was so pleasant. We also worked with other folks at the Nines as the wedding day grew closer, such as Chef Jami and Keri for the dinner and wedding cake, where the food and wedding cake were so beautifully presented and so delicious. We also worked with Micah for the A/V in the ballroom, where the ballroom was just stunning inside with the up-lighting and draping. Everyone with the Nines team, including the front desk, hotel staff, valet parking, etc. were so nice and did such an incredible job. I feel so fortunate that I was able to have my dream wedding at the Nines. The ambiance, atmosphere, and awesome staff at the Nines are second to none!!!

    Sent on 10/24/2014
  • K

    Karli · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Like all couples, we had a vision for what we hoped for on our wedding day and wanted our reception to be a beautiful event that was a reflection of us as a couple. Not only did the space need to be lovely, it needed to be centrally located, and have nice accommodations for our many guests coming from out of town. In addition, we wanted to be able to serve beautiful and delicious food that was reflective of the Pacific Northwest and quality wines and cocktails. The Nines did not disappoint!
    The entire evening was flawless, and the planning that went in beforehand was significantly more fun than we expected. The staff was so professional and accommodating, they truly made our wedding day everything that we had dreamed of. Our family and friends have taken to calling it the best wedding ever and we have to agree! It was perfect!

    Sent on 07/23/2014
  • B

    Brenda · Married on 11/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue is beautiful in and of itself. There were multiple locations which were gorgeous backdrops for the photography sessions. We did not need to worry about renting or buying additional decorations...we loved the room and the other spaces they way they were.
    The tables and flowers set by The Nines were beautiful and elegant.
    The food was fantastic, including the beautiful cake (some of the best cake I ever tasted!)
    The best part about our event, however, was the staff! I was so busy that I had forgotten many of the details I had planned that were in their court and they came through and amazed me time and time again! There was no doubt that their main goal was to make our night a great success!!! The Nines staff helped make the planning of the wedding almost stress free!

    Sent on 05/27/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy that we decided to hold our wedding reception at the Nines hotel. Every aspect of our event was organized perfectly by Charlotte Bell and executed with professionalism. Our guests raved about the quality of the food and said it was the best they have had at an event. Our day was magical due to the Nines and we are so appreciative.

    Sent on 02/07/2014
  • J

    Judith · Married on 07/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Charlotte was very helpful, The wedding reception was perfect. Food great staff professional

    Sent on 06/07/2014
  • B

    Bridgette · Married on 03/08/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This wedding venue was absolutely amazing! We worked With Charlotte Bell and she was SO nice & great to work with! The hotel ballroom is gorgeous, so you only need minimal decorations, and they provide all the linens etc. The food was some of the best I've had, (we went with salmon and chicken options.) Our cake was included in our catering package and they did a beautiful job with it. We had our florist bring some fresh flowers and the hotel added them to the cake to complete the look. My ONLY negative feedback is that they should provide some sort of fabric covering to cover the stage they provide, and the steps leading up to it. It would also be nice if they included chiavari chairs, as it is a luxury venue. (we ended up renting ours, and they had a few there but not enough for all the guests) (really minor complaints) We had so much fun at our wedding, and have no regrets having our special day at The Nines. It was stress-free, and everything we could have hoped for! I highly recomend this venue, nothing else really compares to it in the Portland area.

    Sent on 11/21/2015
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 09/06/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Charlotte and the group at The Nines were wonderful in every way. The banquet chef, pastry chef, and team were outstanding.

    Chef Gregory and Departure provided the most wonderful dinner and service for our rehearsal dinner. I would recommend Departure for any celebration or event.

    Sent on 10/31/2014
  • C

    Cecilia · Married on 09/05/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony up on the rooftop terrace and reception in the ballroom. Food and service were wonderful.

    Sent on 09/28/2010
  • Diana

    Diana · Married on 09/09/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our wedding reception at The Nines! Beautiful venue, great food, and seamless wedding planning experience. The Nines are slightly more expensive than others but their pricing includes other items such as flowers, cake, and reception furniture to make it up!

    Highlights:
    Food/Beverage: The food is great and you're able to tailor the dinner experience at your tasting appointment. You have options with the beverage service (no outside wine/beer) based on your budget. Their late night treats was a great low maintenance and reasonably price option to provide to your guests! We had voodoo and coco donuts, cookies, and chocolate dipped strawberries. The price comes with an actual wedding cake design to your liking! We opted for fresh flowers from our florist for our cake and the chef added the flowers on them.
    Venue: The Nines is one of the nicest hotels in downtown Portland. The ballroom was beautiful with high ceilings and white chandeliers. We were able to take bridal photos on the rooftop patio at Departure Restaurant before the reception. The ballroom is customizable based on your budget and vision. We were able to repurpose their lounge chairs and tables for our reception to fill in the space. We added some drape/piping behind the sweetheart table since there were doors. They have complimentary silver chiavari chairs but we rented gold chiavari chairs. You are able to use any vendor as long they are insured and provide insurance information to The Nines. The venue also comes with house flowers which we repurposed for select tables and throughout the ballroom.
    Service/Wedding Planning: Charlotte was so great and easy to work with! She helped implement our vision and was really responsive throughout the wedding planning. She was flexible with all the changes and went above and beyond to make the day amazing, easy, and smooth. I did hire a day of wedding coordinator to partner with Charlotte and other vendors which was the best decision ever!

    Sent on 11/12/2017
  • D

    Diane · Married on 05/27/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Our search for a wedding venue spanned 3 states: Washington where we currently reside; California where Paul is originally from; and Oregon just because it was in between the two states. After numerous phone calls, quotes, site visits and extensive spreadsheets, we decided on a destination wedding to Portland, Oregon. Our first priority was selecting a venue for the reception since a majority of the finances would be spent there. We selected the Nines Hotel as our reception venue because it perfectly matched our vision for a space that was modern, clean, and sophisticated with a luxe feel. We were ecstatic to discover a space complete with elements of modern art from ground up. We also loved that the Urban Farmer would be catering our reception, and it reflected the Northwest with its concepts of using sustainable local grown ingredients prepared simply and elegantly.

    The venue is gorgeous and is a great backdrop for photography. Kristina, the on-site coordinator, was great to work with. She was very responsive to emails and made sure our wedding reception went of without a hitch! We also loved how the Nines includes complimentary white centerpieces for the reception. White worked perfectly with the modern look we were trying to achieve.

    The only minus is the hotel will not engage in negotiations in terms of pricing. They were not willing to negotiate on passed appetizers or alcohol, or any other aspect despite us bringing an additional 20+ guests to the hotel for the wedding. Also, the complimentary room for the wedding night is a regular room - it wasn't a suite and was so small and cramped. Thankfully, we also booked a one bedroom suite and ended up staying in that room the wedding night and stayed in the complimentary room the following night.

    Overall, I would still recommend the venue because there is just none like it in terms of ambiance and level of service! We have no regrets having our wedding reception there!

    Sent on 03/12/2013
  • onawho

    Ona · Married on 08/14/2015

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Husband and I got married up at Mt. Hood (weekday) and the weekend following we decided to have mini-moon in Portland before returning to our home in Tampa Fl.

    We reserved a larger room and upon making the reservation, he put in the comments section that our stay with them at the Nines would be our honeymoon. We were greeted warmly by the valet, helped with our luggage and welcomed by the front desk staff professionally, yet personally. We were upgraded to a junior suite without our knowledge (way to go The Nines!) and after returning from dinner at the Urban Farmer, found a delicious plate of desserts and a hand written card congratulating us on our marriage. The beds were wonderful, the food was fantastic, and who doesn't love TWO bathrooms (we have one at home). The rooms were quiet, we had a room on the exterior.

    I am looking forward to returning to the Nines.

    Sent on 08/21/2015
  • User3341721 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Great Venue. Food was good. Atmosphere was awesome.

    Sent on 09/28/2014
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 10/02/2010

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I was looking for a good hotel to get married at. I know that sounds weird, but we wanted to find a place that was rather all-inclusive since I'd be planning this wedding from LA and that would be hard enough. I also know that typical Portland weather in October would not allow for an outdoor wedding.

    Heard about The Nines, came and saw The Nines, and fell in love. The Tiffany blue that is included in the lot of the interior decorating happens to be my favorite and I was sold.

    Planning the wedding was pretty easy. Since I was such a big fan of Urban Farmer, I knew the catering would be great and it did not disappoint. Most of our guests raved that it was the best food they'd ever had at a wedding, and some said it was the best food ever. The beef medallions were so tender you could cut them with a butter knife. Not bad, eh?

    Kristina was our catering manager and she set up all of our catering orders, as well as the room and venue for the ceremony and reception. The only hiccup here was that about 15 minutes before our ceremony, there was a massage chair convention going on next to our ballroom and several guests got a glimpse of a large shirtless man while they filed into the ceremony area. Awesome. Had I witnessed this firsthand I would have FLIPPED. Luckily I was told about this later so the flipping out was postponed. Still working this part out with the management...

    We had bocked off several rooms for our guests, as well as a junior suite for us. When we arrived at the hotel, the reservations were all screwed up, which included us not having a reservation for our suite. Again, almost flipped out here as well. I spent weeks working with the sales office making sure the right rooms were with the right people. They had me staying with my brother-in-law and even after I corrected this error with them prior to the wedding, I still arrived at the hotel and was still booked as staying with my brother-in-law, and even after correcting it then they sent a bottle of champagne to my brother in law's room to apologize for the mix up!

    The staff told me that in addition to signing a contract for the rooms and providing my credit card information to reserve the rooms, I had to make a reservation. I'm not quite sure what that even means, considering you couldn't even book the suite online. Other guests were able to book their rooms using the contract, so I don't see what else I could have done. Alas, the staff worked it out and we got the room of our choice at the rate agreed upon in the contract for the nights we wanted. They were very apologetic and we appreciated that. Now, some of our other guests arrived and their rooms weren't available either. One of them travels more often than not and I'm sure he reserved the room for the proper number of nights. The staff was again apologetic and offered to put him up at the Benson for one night. They said everything would be taken care of with the Benson. When he arrived: no reservation. He had to walk around Portland at midnight in a town he was unfamiliar with and eventually stayed at the Westin. I wasn't happy about this either.

    So, overall, this is a great hotel, but I'd double check and triple check your reservations, especially if it's for an important event. Print out your confirmation emails. My problems could have ben due to the fact that the hotel was totally booked that weekend but that's still not great. Again, the food was beyond amazing and our wedding was great.

    Sent on 01/27/2011
  • Heather

    Heather · Married on 12/19/2009

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Nines is a gorgeous venue and just what we were looking for. The wait staff was slightly rude to a few of our guests who had brought flasks inside. The coordinator did not follow up with me after our reception and a few of my personal items went missing including the cake topper. I had to get up at 7am the next morning to go meet the manager on duty to claim my items. Organization fell through. Other than that, the food was incredible, and the atmosphere absolutely perfect. The front desk, restaurant staff, and bellman are wonderful.

    Sent on 12/29/2009
  • Emily

    Emily · Married on 07/02/2016

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    My fiance and I chose the Nines for our wedding night stay as well as where I stayed and got ready the morning of. I had been there for wedding events and loved it. When I arrived the night before, there was a note wishing us "Happy Anniversary" as well as it had my last name instead our new last name. I found it rather funny more than anything but the attention to detail wasn't there. I also chose this location because they stated that their bar was open until 2 AM. On our wedding night, they closed before midnight without giving us a specific reason. It was beautiful and extremely comfortable but not necessarily worth the money.

    Sent on 12/11/2016