The New York Botanical Garden Reviews

74 | Bronx, NY
See photos, pricing and details

74 Reviews for The New York Botanical Garden

Recommended by 97%

74
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

33 User photos

The New York Botanical Garden 1
The New York Botanical Garden 2
The New York Botanical Garden 3
The New York Botanical Garden 4
The New York Botanical Garden 5
The New York Botanical Garden 6
The New York Botanical Garden 7
+ 27
Sort by:
  • D

    Deanna · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Venue & Professional Staff

    We are so happy we chose to have our wedding reception at The Garden Terrace Room at NYBG. Our primary contact was Laura, who was responsive to our questions months before the wedding day, and extremely helpful in the weeks and days leading up to the wedding to ensure that everything ran smoothly. She was professional and a pleasure to work with, and we trusted that everything would work out as planned with her oversight. The venue itself was absolutely beautiful, a dream come true -- we had our cocktail hour outside on the Hudson Garden Grill terrace overlooking the conservatory and the reception in the ballroom. The room was not only stunning, but spacious enough to accommodate 200 people dancing all night long. The food was also delicious, as our guests continued to remind us even days after the wedding. We had very high expectations for our wedding day, and the Gardens did not disappoint.

    Sent on 10/13/2019
    The New York Botanical Garden 8
    The New York Botanical Garden 9
  • S

    Sol Alberione · Married on 08/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best venue in NYC!

    We couldn’t have found a better place to celebrate our wedding! The venue, service, food, staff were outstanding. Our guests kept complimenting the wedding days after and we can’t recommend the Stone Mills at NYBG enough. Dream place for a dream wedding!

    Sent on 09/04/2019
    The New York Botanical Garden 10
    The New York Botanical Garden 11
    The New York Botanical Garden 12
    The New York Botanical Garden 13
    The New York Botanical Garden 14
  • Kayla

    Kayla · Married on 07/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You will love having your wedding at the New York Botanical Garden!

    You and your guests will absolutely LOVE having your wedding at the NYBG. We had our wedding reception at the Stone Mill and had the absolute dreamiest time. The planning process was extremely streamlined due to the incredible team at Constellation, the exclusive caterer at the NYBG. They provided top notch food, drinks, rentals, and more and Lauren O'Kelly helped make the process fun and easy. From the first moment we visited the Stone Mill we knew it was a perfect fit. It's rustic, classic, and beautiful charm were unmatched. We are still hearing from guests about how great the service was, how beautiful the setting, and how FAB the food! Everything was absolutely perfect.

    Sent on 07/31/2019
  • Kevin

    Kevin Leahy · Married on 07/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Idyllic setting + Professional staff!

    My wife and I are so glad we chose this beautiful venue in the Bronx! Our guests raved about the natural beauty of the place, and the staff from Starr Catering (the NYBG caterer) did a wonderful job with drinks, dinner and cake. The food was delicious.
    It was nice not to have to arrange for a separate caterer and cake vendor!
    Our wedding attendant, Yonas, was outstanding -- the kindest guy, who looked out for us the whole evening and made sure everything went smoothly. We absolutely recommending choosing NYBG for your big day - we were thrilled as were our guests.

    Sent on 08/11/2019
  • Xiaoxian

    Xiaoxian Zheng · Married on 07/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best choice of our wedding

    We had the most amazing wedding in the NYBG Stone Mill. If we were to start again, we would have chosen Lauren and her team again without the blink of an eye.

    Planning: It was extremely easy to plan the wedding with Lauren and her team. We decided the venue approximately one year prior to the wedding for its perfect location (we had friends traveling across the country), reasonable pricing and its full privacy, not to mention that we would have full access to the rose garden for the most romantic wedding pictures and the Bronx river as the back drop of our ceremony, which fits perfectly with our harp. There are a list of recommended vendors who we ended up working with for various services, including planner, lighting, officiant, music, and rental, who are absolutely amazing. This saved us so much time! During the one year's planning, we had millions of questions and Laruen's timely responses made our life much easier and helped us tremendously to make the most efficient decisions. We had some unfortunate hiccups one week prior to the wedding and Lauren was so accommodating and ensured that we are stress relieved.

    Food: We cannot speak more highly of the food. My friends cannot stop complimenting the food and service. Some of the friends even thought the cocktail hour is the main reception because the food tastes soooooo amazing. We had almost all of them in our bridal suite and we absolutely loved them. If we had a wish, it would be that our friends could get married in Stone Mill and we could enjoy more of the food.

    Experience: Everything runs smoothly during the wedding day. We had early access to the bridal suite on the wedding day so that we could have our makeup and hair done on time. The assistant was amazing and provided plenty of food for breakfast and lunch as well as coffee and drinks. We had our cocktail hour food ready in the bridal suite right after the ceremony. The reception main dishes, wedding cake and desserts (with different flavors) were also ready for us on the table when we were partying with friends and relatives.

    Everything was amazing and we could not thank NYBG more for the breathtaking experience. Truly the best day of our lives!

    Sent on 08/03/2019
  • C

    chiara · Married on 07/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful Venue

    As soon as my then fiancé and I walked into the NYBG we knew it was the place where we wanted to get married. Kristal Waters was our primary contact and was so helpful throughout the planning process. She answered every question we had and offered great advice along the way. We were married at the Stonemill on July 21, 2019 and it was amazing. Despite the heatwave the staff couldn’t have been more accommodating to us and our guests. We also lucked out with Younas as our wedding attendant. He was fantastic. The food, flowers (Forever in Bloom), and venue were outstanding. I would highly recommend this venue!!

    Sent on 07/30/2019
  • Alyse

    Alyse · Married on 07/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Venue!

    We are so happy we chose to have our wedding at The New York Botanical Gardens! We had our ceremony outside and then the reception in the Garden Terrace Room. You can't beat the landscape that the venue provides, it was absolutely magical. Lauren was extremely helpful throughout our planning process, making sure everything was in order for our day. We received so many compliments that it was one of the most beautiful venues they have ever been to. The best part about getting married here is that we can go back and visit for years to come!

    Sent on 07/31/2019
    The New York Botanical Garden 15
    The New York Botanical Garden 16
    The New York Botanical Garden 17
    The New York Botanical Garden 18
    The New York Botanical Garden 19
  • Sara

    Sara Weil · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical Venue, Awesome Team

    I recently got married at the Stone Mill at the NYBG and it was the most magical and special venue. Our main contact was Lauren and she was super helpful, very sweet, and on top of everything! We really didn't have to worry at all throughout planning and on the day of our wedding - we were well taken care of. On our wedding, we were driven around in a golf cart to get all the photo shots we needed, and Sasha was so sweet and helpful, cleaning off my dress before the ceremony and taking us to hidden, beautiful spots. It was fun and very stress free!

    One thing we loved about the garden (outside of how beautiful and unique the grounds are) is how Constellation is really a one stop shop that makes planning a breeze. The catering, drinks, rentals, venue, linens and more are all done through Constellation which made things quite streamlined.

    If you're worried about not having more than one catering option, don't be! Our guests were raving about how delicious the food was (and how much food there was!), and my husband and I actually ate a decent amount and it was all amazing - from passed bites to dinner entrees to desserts and late night pizza! Our guests could not stop talking about the cake! Our wedding was a dream - we had the perfect backdrop and the best team supporting us!

    Sent on 06/01/2019
    The New York Botanical Garden 20
    The New York Botanical Garden 21
    The New York Botanical Garden 22
    The New York Botanical Garden 23
  • Amy

    Amy · Married on 05/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Dream Venue.

    It's hard to put into words just how incredible our wedding day was, and that is in large part because of the venue we chose. The Stone Mill at the New York Botanical Garden was the perfect blend of being an intimate, sophisticated, beautiful, and outdoorsy space. If you are looking for a place to get married that is in between a farm and a grand ballroom -- the Stone Mill could definitely be the right fit! The Constellation catering team was a dream to work with -- they were so quick to respond and were just as detail-oriented as I, the bride, wanted to be. We were able to visit the venue several times, which proved helpful to visualize everything and get all of our questions around. The team on-the-day was so professional and lovely to be around. Everything was just really top-notch! If we would do it all over again, we would always pick the Stone Mill at the New York Botanical Garden. Thank you to the team for everything!

    Sent on 08/07/2019
    The New York Botanical Garden 24
    The New York Botanical Garden 25
    The New York Botanical Garden 26
    The New York Botanical Garden 27
    The New York Botanical Garden 28
    The New York Botanical Garden 29
    The New York Botanical Garden 30
    The New York Botanical Garden 31
  • A

    Lea · Married on 04/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Top notch!

    I cannot recommend NYBG and ByConstellation (formerly Starr Catering) enough for your wedding! First of all - the venue speaks for itself. It is a historic and iconic space with a gorgeous ballroom, beautiful outdoor ceremony space, and really nice cocktail hour tent. It's a venue with a total "wow" factor.

    Laura Bass and her team are top notch professionals who go above and beyond to execute a great day. Planning at the NYBG was also very easy - they had a lot of things I know stress a lot of couples out included in the package (pretty chivari hairs, a wide variety of linen colors, temperature control, power sources, etc.) so there was very little worry. They were super flexible and responsive. There were tons of bartenders, ample space to walk around, a large dance floor. It was logistically very easy to plan.

    The food was superb and plentiful - my friends and family have not stopped complimenting us. And the best part - we were able to extend the party an extra 3 hours with late night snacks and drinks until 2am for a super reasonable rate. Keeping the party going was a huge priority for us!

    In terms of pricing, the NYBG and Constellation were not "cheap", but they had great value. The food and beverage package and venue fee were in line with similarly sized high quality venues we looked at throughout Manhattan and the boroughs, but they included so much more (more apps, better alcohol, a wedding cake, variety of desserts, valet, table service, coat check etc.) where other venues seemed to nickle and dime for upgrades.

    NYBG was worth every penny and I would recommend without hesitation, particularly for a larger wedding.

    Sent on 04/09/2019
  • K

    Keri Dean · Married on 12/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An absolute dream!

    I have frequented the NYBG for years. It’s one of my absolute favorite places to visit. Getting married there had only existed in my dreams and I still cannot believe that it became a reality. It turned out to be both...a waking dream! One of the biggest things that drew us to the venue was the size of the dance floor! It was bigger than other venues we had seen. And while I was having way too much fun to sit and eat, many of our guests have raved about both the food and the service, some even found themselves tipping the wait staff because they were so attentive. There was never a line for food or drinks. Things moved smoothly and everything felt spacious. Since it was a winter wedding, I loved the feel of being outside when we were in the tent for cocktail hour. My bridal attendant, Janis, was superb. He was so reliable, thoughtful and available throughout the day and night. We mostly worked with Kristal Waters, who was not only kind and very much on top of everything, but she gracefully managed, tolerated and negotiated family dynamics throughout the process! We are still flying high from the wedding and look forward to visiting the NYBG in the years to come, on our own, and one day with children.

    Sent on 01/02/2019
  • D

    Dave · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Special Venue

    NYBG is the perfect wedding venue. Lauren O'Kelly, Laura Bass, John Garone, and the entire day-of staff were amazing, so helpful through out. They were able to quickly adapt to the weather and put together an amazing ceremony indoors. The location is head and shoulders above all others in NYC!

    Sent on 10/31/2018
  • M

    Marne · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Starr Catering did an absolutely fantastic job! It was by far the best day of our lives. The Stone Mill was exactly the beautiful and intimate setting we were looking for and Laura at Starr Catering was so responsive, organized, and professional. We never had anything to worry about. Not only was the setting gorgeous and the team kept everything on time, but the food was also fantastic and we heard from guests that it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding!! We highly recommend. The only issue we encountered was getting in through the Moshulu Gate and cabs having trouble picking guests up at the stone mill. I would recommend getting a shuttle bus to minimize confusion. We also paid a little extra and they let us move our ceremony up an hour (we were nervous about not getting enough daylight).

    Sent on 10/14/2018
  • M

    M · Married on 09/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our dream wedding at the Stone Mill of the NY Botanical Garden and I'm so, so glad that we chose this venue. In addition to being an absolutely beautiful location for a late summer/early fall wedding, we were blown away by the service and professionalism of the catering/event management staff. Kristal W is the absolute best! She is extremely responsive, helpful, understanding, flexible, accommodating, and reassuring. I knew I could count on her for big and small things and she never made me feel like I was being demanding or difficult. On the day of the wedding, several members of our wedding party commented on the excellent service of the entire staff from the amazing wedding attendant to the wait staff. We also had several guests say that the food at our reception was the best they'd had at any wedding ever. They will work with your dietary needs and also be helpful in incorporating customs from various cultures should that be something you're looking for.

    Sent on 10/09/2018
  • R

    R · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a terrific experience at the Stone Mill for our summer wedding! I don't usually write reviews, but the entire NYBG and Starr Catering team treated us so well that I didn't want to let it go unmentioned. Guests loved all the details at a venue that somehow seemed very spacious and also cozy at the same time. We had about 90 in attendance, and my biggest worry was finding a venue that wasn't too small (e.g. a tiny restaurant where people are stepping on each other the entire night and need to step outside periodically just for fresh air) or too large (e.g. a massive hotel ballroom with our guests huddled in one corner and the rest of the space empty). Kristal Waters and the rest of the team set up the space perfectly so that guests could dance by the brook, sit on the patio outside, or mingle at the bar inside all while still feeling connected to an intimate party. It felt like we spent much less time planning every detail than most couples, but all the logistics turned out perfect. Also, our attendant Ken was the best. Thanks so much for a great day!

    Sent on 09/05/2018
  • J

    Joetta · Married on 08/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I got married at the Stone Mill on August 12, 2018 and it was perfect! They took us around the garden with a golf cart for the photo shoot and we got the most stunning pictures from various sites around the garden. Outside the Stone Mill was the perfect backdrop for our wedding ceremony. The rush of stream flowing in front of us made for the most beautiful ambiance. The interior and exterior of the Stone Mill was so charming and intimate. Perfect setting for a smallish wedding (maximum of 115, we had about 80 guests and it was perfect). John Garone, Laura Bass, and all of the staff at the BYBG were so nice and so accommodating of our every need throughout the entire planning process and day of the wedding. Everything went perfectly as planned, on schedule. The staff of NYBG took care of everything. If there was another event going on at the main ballroom, I would never know, we didn't cross paths with them once. The Stone Mill is in a completely separate location, weddings are hosted after the park closes to the public, making it a perfect, intimate setting. Not your typical cookie cutter wedding.

    Sent on 08/27/2018
    The New York Botanical Garden 32
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Husband & I are were married at the NYBG this month and we can’t rave enough about the experience. The biggest highlight for us was John Garone. He is incredible and was one of the reasons that we wanted to get married at this beautiful location. They make planning incredibly easy and I highly recommend all the vendors they suggest on their website- makeup, hair, florist, day of coordinator, DJ, etc. The venue is stunning and the food is amazing. Unfortunately, it rained on our wedding and it was still absolutely beautiful to have the ceremony inside. I can’t recommend this more. If you are considering a wedding venue, definitely pick this one. You won’t regret it!

    Sent on 08/25/2018
  • Kiara

    Kiara · Married on 08/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I knew NYBG would be our reception venue the first time we visited. The entire team was incredibly warm and the beautiful gardens alongside the elegant Garden Terrace Room was a perfect location for us to celebrate our marriage just outside the hustle and bustle of NYC. We had the honor of working with Laura who made our experience from beginning to end so seamless. She was always quick to respond and so accommodating with our requests. On the day of, everything ran so smoothly and our bridal attendant, Sasha, was so incredible and on point with every single detail. Our family and friends cannot stop talking about how beautiful the venue was and the food was incredible! My husband and I will never forget this day and thank the Starr Catering team at NYBG for helping create the best day of our lives!

    Sent on 08/16/2018
  • M

    Maria · Married on 07/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hosted my wedding reception at the Stone Mill at New York Botanical Gardens and had an absolutely fantastic experience The venue was gorgeous, the food was amazing, and the staff was beyond brilliant. Laura and her team made the entire process so stress free, and our guests raved about the evening! 5 stars all round.

    Sent on 08/05/2018
    The New York Botanical Garden 33
    The New York Botanical Garden 34
  • S

    Shama · Married on 07/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with Laura Bass and her team in organizing my son's wedding reception. Selecting NYBG was absolutely the best decision. The service and assistance I received in making sure the event was a success was incomparable. On day of, the staff was amazing. We had a medical emergency with one of our guests but the staff managed it extremely well, from immediately calling an ambulance to ensuring the person concerned had constant attention until they went home. I had an outside caterer but that created no issue = it was a seamless event. Thank you Laura and everyone else who helped!

    Sent on 07/14/2018
  • C

    Cristina · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about the amazing service, quality, and overall event management of NYBG! I was married at the Stone Mill in June and everything about the wedding planning process with John Garone was perfect. I am the person who cooks and hosts dinner for all of my family and friends, so food quality and service was top priority for my wedding, and NYBG team definitely delivered!!! I am still getting compliments about the food from all of my different guests. The 'rolling oysters' cocktail station was a highlight for everyone. John and team were SO flexible with how I wanted my day to be, and really made my wedding shine, especially as I did not hire a DOC. It was amazing, gorgeous, really I don't have enough words for how perfect my day went :)

    Sent on 07/17/2018
  • N

    Nicki · Married on 06/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was hands down the best day of our lives. Laura B. was an absolute pleasure to work with and handled all the details so calmly and professionally. She was so friendly throughout the process and this made planning our own wedding all the more seamless. The venue is top notch, the food delicious, the location unmatched.

    Sent on 06/28/2018
  • A

    Adriane · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deciding on a venue is probably one of the hardest decision during wedding planning. Luckily John Garone, Laura Bass, and Lauren O'Kelly made it so easy for us! The entire process from the inital site visit until the end of the party was so smooth. The team was always so accomodating and wanted to make sure that we were happy with everything. During the day-of, I had nothing to worry about. The guests are still talking about the amazing food, service, and the flowers! The day was perfect and all of the flowers were in bloom. I highly recommend working with the NYBG for your wedding or any other event. The team is truly extraordinary and they will go above and beyond for their bride and groom!

    Sent on 07/09/2018
  • A

    Adri · Married on 04/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married at the Stone Mill in April and could not have asked for a better place to celebrate! John Garone and his team were helpful, accommodating, responsive and easy to work with. Our day-of attendant, Yonas, was also very attentive, sweet and helpful, adding to the overall exceptional service. We did not have a planner or day-of coordinator but the Starr team made sure everything went off without a hitch! The food was plentiful and delicious and the Stone Mill grounds and interior spaces were beautiful and well-kept. We highly recommend hosting your event here!

    Sent on 08/07/2018
  • R

    Roni · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter's wedding at nybg was pure perfection. Friends and family can't stop talking about it. The ceremony, the food, the service etc went beyond our expectations. It was a fabulous night. Thank you Laura bass and nybg

    Sent on 10/10/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review