The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham Grand Hotel Reviews

11 | Colorado Springs, CO
See photos, pricing and details

11 Reviews for The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Recommended by 90%

11

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.4

4 User photos

The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 1
The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 2
The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3
The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4
Sort by:
  • Amber & Michael

    Amber · Married on 08/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Elegant Venue & Delicious Food

    We really enjoyed this venue. The coordinator Hanne was super professional and always followed up with us very quickly. She was the main reason we got some of the special pictures that we were hoping for - and we cannot thank her and the hotel staff enough for making that wish into a reality! We got so many compliments on how delicious the food was and how effortlessly beautiful the "Platinum Ballroom" turned out to be. The only thing we would recommend would be to understand your contracts & confirm how you will be invoiced on each item. But overall, this venue was the best choice for us, and we loved every step of the process with them. We would recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 09/09/2019
    The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 5
    The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 6
    The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 7
  • Jana

    Jana · Married on 06/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful!

    Our daughter got married in June, 2019 and we had the reception in the Grand Ballroom at the Mining Exchange. I cannot say enough about how amazing Hanne and the crew at the Mining Exchange were. We had about 200 guests and a big block of rooms and everyone was amazing. From Mark at guest services to Kelsey at the front desk - and Katie and Andrel helping us organize the block of rooms - we couldn’t have done it without them. But Hanne - the wedding and event manager - and Shelby - the general manager - were absolutely the best. 2 days before the wedding Hanne randomly received a call saying our florist had gone out of business and would not show up for the wedding. First of all, we would not have known had Hanne not had close contacts with other vendors in Colorado Springs. Of course we were in a panic but Hanne worked tirelessly after hours to help us find someone to step in to do our flowers. Amazingly, Shelby - The Mining Exchange general MANAGER - previously did flowers so she took off work Friday and Saturday to be our florist. This is going above and beyond!! The night turned out beautiful and the flowers were gorgeous. Also, the food was delicious. I highly recommend The Mining Exchange!!

    Sent on 07/05/2019
  • Devin

    Devin · Married on 09/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Mining Exchange was the most perfect venue. We had our ceremony in their courtyard, our reception in the Silver Room and our guests were able to stay at the hotel on site. The reception food was spectacular and the service was impeccable (seriously our bartenders were AMAZING!). We had toured several other places and decided that we loved the venue as well as its price tag. The ladies got ready in the suite that was gifted to us the day of, and the guys got ready in the boardroom down the hall. Every time my husband and I were on site they treated us like royalty, not just the day of the wedding but also any visit leading up to. I can not give enough praise to the Mining Exchange and their team!!

    Sent on 09/24/2018
    The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 8
  • P

    Patricia · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the most incredible experience with Hanne Murray who is the Wedding and Event Manager at the Mining Exchange. She is perfection! The total experience from the first call to inquire about venues to the very end was delightful. We chose The Gold Room and couldn't have been more pleased. Hanne is so professional and calming which is greatly appreciated when planning the perfect reception. I was so impressed with how prompt she was with communicating and responding to any questions or concerns. She has impeccable taste herself and her ideas and suggestions were amazing. The vision my daughter had for her reception was completely carried out and was better than her wildest dreams. People remarked afterwards that this was the party of the year! Amazing food/menu, beautiful tables, gold chiavari chairs, perfect lighting and sound, an open bar for 5 hours, and all requests fulfilled which made for the most incredible reception ever. I highly recommend hosting your wedding reception or any special event at the Mining Exchange because you are not only getting a tremendous choice of venues, but a team of professionals led by Hanne who will make all your ideas and dreams come to fruition!

    Sent on 08/08/2017
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 07/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding July 7th 2017 and it was amazing! It was a bit touch and go in the beginning because the even coordinators they were hiring didn't stick around during 2016 beginning of the year. We had been looking into having it at this location since January 2016, it was very saddening and I thought for sure there was no way we'd be able to have it here due to the lack of service. Eventually the mining exchange got it right and hired the ever amazing Hanne Murray. I know without a doubt that had she not come around my wedding wouldn't have happened there and would not have been so wonderful! The venue is amazing but it would not be a place for weddings if she weren't around. Hanne is extremely attentive, responsive and goes above and beyond for you. I highly recommend her and the location!

    Sent on 08/08/2017
  • L

    Laura · Married on 05/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our cocktail hour and reception at the Mining Exchange hotel. The hotel is absolutely beautiful with the vintage look of exposed brick, but the contemporary feel from the recent remodel. The catering manager and hotel staff were absolutely wonderful as far as communication leading up to the wedding, and making sure our guests were happy with their stay. The food was provided by Springs Orleans, which is apart of the property and next to the hotel. The pasta and prime rib were fabulous, and we heard many comments on the quality of the food at our wedding. We had wonderful event staff for the night of our wedding, and they were sure to follow our timeline, as well as morph to fit how the party was progressing. I am completely happy that we were able to hold our cocktail hour and reception at the Mining Exchange. It is a gorgeous hotel, and we heard many compliments from guests who are regulars to the Colorado Springs area and have stayed at other nice hotels. The Mining Exchange was able to provide us with a beautiful, intimate setting for our wedding. We were able to make use of the entire space, and were not boxed into a generic ballroom like many other hotels provide. I would strongly recommend the Mining Exchange Hotel to any bride that wants to have a beautiful, unique wedding with fabulous food and staff. We couldn't be happier with how our day turned out!

    Sent on 05/13/2014
  • User2968319 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful rooms, an extremely helpful staff (including an onsite coordinator who helped made everything go SO smoothly), this venue helped me pull my wedding off with a hitch. They made it so easy for me, that I didn't have to think about anything except enjoying my day. The hotel is absolutely fabulous - such an elegant background for pictures. Very reasonably priced to! Definitely worth checking out on your venue hunt!

    Sent on 11/05/2013
  • A

    Amy · Getting married on 03/14/2020

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    My daughter and son-in-law had their reception at the Mining Exchange and everything was great. The staff was fabulous! The food was delicious and everything was put together just the way they wanted it. Love this place!

    Sent on 07/10/2016
  • L

    Leah · Married on 04/27/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    10/10 Would Recommend the Mining Exchange

    My wife and I chose The Mining Exchange for our wedding reception and could not have made a better choice! We worked with Hanne who was incredibly accommodating and helpful throughout the whole planning process - providing recommendations, answering countless questions, and making sure we did not miss any details. Hanne is both professional, and so fun to work with, making for a wonderful experience! Our reception in the Platinum Ballroom was perfect for 80 guests, the food was delicious, and the catering staff was exceptional, especially when dealing with severe food allergies. Our stay was also fantastic, and our guests all agreed that they would definitely stay at the Mining Exchange again if they were ever back in Colorado Springs. The hotel, and event spaces are beautiful and so well maintained. We can't say enough great things about choosing the Mining Exchange for our wedding!

    Sent on 07/07/2019
  • L

    Lara · Married on 10/26/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We had our wedding reception at the Mining Exchange, and were very pleased with how it turned out. The food was excellent - we had guests who said that the prime rib was the best they'd ever eaten, and the rest of the food was wonderful as well. Having great food at the wedding was a priority, and the catering manager and staff definitely delivered. I'd highly recommend them for catering!

    Sent on 11/11/2013
  • K

    Kerri · Married on 08/27/2016

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    I had nothing but problems when it came to the staff at this location. From the initial contract negotiations to paying the final bill, it was like pulling teeth to get any type of response or information from the sales manager and/or the on-staff wedding and event coordinator.

    There are so many things that I had to deal with, up to the day of the wedding, I don't have time to list them all. I had a day of coordinator who dealt with everything on our wedding day, but all of the pre-event communication and scheduling was impossible. I expect much better service from this type of venue and for the price.

    Communicating with this venue was the single most stressful part of planning our wedding.

    Only book here if the venue is your dream because their service will become your nightmare.

    FYI – their room block has a minimum of 10 rooms and you will be required to fill 100% of the rooms. My guest could not book a room through retail channels for one night, hotel had a 3-night minimum on hotels.com. As a corporate meeting planner, this is very uncommon as most hotels will let you release unused rooms.

    The location is great and the look of the hotel is unique.

    Sent on 09/21/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review