The McKinney Cotton Mill Reviews

37 | McKinney, TX
See photos, pricing and details

37 Reviews for The McKinney Cotton Mill

Recommended by 93% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

37

6 User photos

Order by:
  • Julie

    Julie · Married on 10/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning, Gorgeous and Unique Venue

    From the minute my mom, dad and now husband drove up to The Cotton Mill, we were blown away. Everything from the brick to the distressed wood to the abundance of greenery and ivy was stunning, and we were all quickly in agreement that we did not need to look any further for our wedding venue. Not only was the venue itself immediately impressive, but Erin (the venue coordinator) was also wonderful even prior to meeting - we had previously visited another venue where my parents felt rushed and under-informed. Erin quickly made the four of us feel welcome and took all time needed to answer any questions we may have had.

    Throughout the year and a half of planning our wedding, I was definitely a bride with a lot of questions - Erin always responded quickly and efficiently to my calls and emails, and she helped me to troubleshoot any and all small problems that I encountered along the way (even when they were not directly related to the venue itself). She truly went out of her way to ensure our day was PERFECT. The Mill is beautiful in and of itself, but working with Erin was truly the other half of what made our experience there so wonderful.

    As for The Cotton Mill as a wedding venue . . . we had wedding guests traveling in from New York, California, Las Vegas, Florida, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Colorado, Arkansas . . . you name it. Every single guest commented on how stunning the Mill was on our wedding day. The combination of brick and ivy in the dye room (despite being late October), the gorgeous courtyard upon arrival, the grounds around back of the venue and the gorgeous unfinished indoor space all come together to create a unique, beautiful space. I could not have imagined our wedding anywhere else, and our guests all felt comfortable amidst the beauty of the venue. Thank you Erin and Darla for our dream venue and our dream day! Love, The Drinans (Julie and Zak)

    Sent on 10/30/2018
  • K

    Kate · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Cotton Mill was the PERFECT place for our wedding, not just because of the amazing space itself, but because of the fantastic people that came with it! Erin was especially helpful; she was honestly a huge reason why we went with TCM. She was available for any questions we had, and we were able to go in and look at the space pretty much whenever we needed to do so. The space itself was gorgeous and required very minimal decoration from us. It was the perfect size; people could dance and get their groove on in the reception space, or take a walk in the Grand Hallway or the Dye Room if they needed a little quiet. There is really nowhere else I could imagine our wedding having been.

    Sent on 07/23/2018
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 02/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married on 2.17.18 at The Cotton Mill and it was simply perfect! The venue is naturally gorgeous so I didnt have to stress about additional decor. I also took my bridal portraits on site and I am thrilled with how they turned out. I loved the rustic feel of the venue. The Bridal Suite on site was super convenient and a great place for the girls to hang out all day and do hair and make up. They have great relationships with local vendors and helped direct me to the ones that would help my vision come true. Erin is FANTASTIC (hire her to coordinate your day!) I dont know what I would have done without her! It was such a beautiful day! Thanks for everything!

    Sent on 03/16/2018
  • A

    Alex · Married on 06/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cotton mill is gorgeous! It's a blank slate to make your own! Erin Is amazing and always there to help! I couldn't imagain having my wedding anywhere else!

    Sent on 07/12/2017
  • J

    Jordan · Married on 08/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Cotton Mill was a dream come true wedding venue for us. We wanted something that was a blend of industrial with rustic, and as soon as we saw this place we knew it was "it" for us. Darla and Erin were so easy to work with, and they made everything smooth and easy for us. Erin was also extremely responsive throughout the process. On the day of the event we had to switch gears and bring eventing indoors because a massive storm appeared out of nowhere, but Erin and my DOC worked together to make the indoor ceremony beautiful and romantic - we are actually glad it rained because the pictures against the rain streaked windows are incredible! We had such a memorable experience with everyone involved, and we are so glad we chose to work with the Cotton Mill for this memorable day.

    Sent on 10/20/2016
  • S

    Sheri · Married on 02/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely love this venue. I wish I could give more stars in the overall rating for the Cotton Mill. I had an exceptional experience working with Erin, Darla, and Maggie at this venue. The venue was absolutely perfect for my dream rustic wedding. Erin was always very helpful and responsive, she allowed me and my wedding coordinator to come up on multiple occasions to look around and evaluate different aspects of the venue. Erin also was a big help during the rehearsal and the day of the wedding helping to coordinate the flow with my wedding coordinator. We also used Maggie as our bar tender, she was awesome! We had a specialty drink that we had been wanting to use, one I found the recipe online I gave it to her and she made all the calculations in order that I would know how much of each ingredient to provide for the drink. All of the wedding guests were in awe of the beauty of this venue. My husband and I had such a wonderful experience and this venue made our day so special and memorable.

    Sent on 03/07/2016
  • M

    Mallory · Married on 02/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't be happier with our decision to have our wedding & reception at The Cotton Mill. Darla and Erin were amazing and so sweet to work with. They helped every step of the way and were extremely responsive to all our questions. I highly recommend booking your wedding at The Cotton Mill!

    Sent on 05/31/2016
  • A

    Audrey · Married on 11/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony outdoors in the Dye Room and reception inside the Cotton Mill event space. Both locations were perfect and we wouldnt change a thing about the venue. The staff was easy to work with and wedding guests loved the venue. It was a gorgeous backdrop for all of our great wedding photos! I would highly recommend this venue to any bride.

    Sent on 01/24/2016
  • G

    Gary · Married on 11/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved the Cotton Mill for our daughter's wedding! Darla, Erin, Maggie, and Pablo were so helpful!! The place was beautiful and perfect for outdoor and indoor options. We had the ceremony outside and the reception inside. We decided to use the vendors on their recommended list and were extremely pleased. It was a beautiful night, and we are so thankful for everyone's help and support.

    Sent on 12/02/2015
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 03/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose The Cotton Mill for our ceremony and reception and could not imagine having our special day anywhere else! We fell in love with the uniqueness and flexibility of the space. With every turn you make through the space it becomes more and more unique and amazing. Darla and Erin are very accompanying and willing to go above and beyond to make sure that it is everything you could have ever hoped and dreamed for. The space makes for beautiful pictures to capture all of the memories of your special day. They also offer beautiful decor to rent which makes it a lot easier to accommodate the daunting task of hauling decorations back and forth to the venue. There are not enough words in the world to express all of the love and gratitude we have for The Cotton Mill and their staff.
    WR LOVE THE COTTON MILL!
    -Zach and Brittany MacAdam

    Sent on 04/05/2015
  • User4602444 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Cotton Mill is everything I wanted on my wedding day. I wanted a little rustic but elegant and it was a perfect venue. The staff was very helpful and fast to respond to any questions I may have had. I would not of changed a thing and if I had to do it over again I would pick The Cotton Mill with out a doubt! Thanks for everything!

    Sent on 08/19/2015
  • Rynni D.

    Rynn · Married on 11/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place is very lovely & Darla was a HUGE help. The Mill is large & can be tailored to any couple's unique style. Everything looked perfect!

    Sent on 12/01/2014
  • T

    Tim · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We choose the Cotton Mill for our ceremony and reception venue and could not be happier with that decision. The venue is absolutely amazing. Friends and family from across the country that came in for our wedding are still talking about how unique this place is and that it was just perfect for our big day. The staff of the Cotton Mill is top notch -- Erin and Darla were extremely responsive and accommodating - they really went above and beyond to ensure our special day went as planned. I felt like they really understood how important this day was to us and treated it as such - vs - just being concerned about another booking! In addition, we used the services of Maggie as our bartender and I think both Maggie and our guests enjoyed that. We had a little over 100 people in attendance (rugby mates, bikers, Wisconsinites and Rhode Islanders) -- Maggie did a great job keeping up with our guests -- ensuring libations were flowing till the final send off. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE COTTON MILL AND IT'S STAFF FOR YOUR SPECIAL DAY! With love - Tim & Kat Bley!

    Sent on 12/07/2014
  • User4214492 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely LOVE this venue!! It's very versatile for the look you are going for. You can make your wedding gorgeous no matter what you are doing. The pricing is a little high but is so worth it!!

    Sent on 06/30/2014
  • L

    Leigh · Married on 10/25/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love the CottonMill and are having our wedding and ceremony there next fall. We originally booked June 25, 2011 but we moved it to October when we found out our Maid of Honor is preggo and due June 12. So if you know of someone who wants a June wedding at the CottonMill it is open!!!!

    Sent on 10/26/2010
  • A

    Alice-Anne · Married on 08/06/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very unique and great venue! We had around 250 guests and there was still plenty of room. Darla was very pleasant to work with and would allow you to come see different set-ups for events hours before they started to get ideas for our event. Darla also had several different vendors to recommend if needed. The best part was that you could bring in all your own vendors! We were also able to bring in our own alcohol as long as we had TABC certified bartenders and a security guard, which saved us a ton! By being able to bring in your own vendors and not being tied down to using a certain caterer or the venues beverage service you can really save big! Our wedding was in August and we didn't have a problem with the Texas heat. They had the AC cranked and going strong during the event. We were also allowed to set up the day before since they didn't have an event going on, which was a really nice perk. Several guests commented on how they loved the venue and at its uniqueness. I would highly recommend it!

    Sent on 01/28/2011
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 04/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Cotton Mill is an absolutely great place to have a wedding. We used the Dye room for the ceremony and then had the reception inside. We received so many compliments on how cool the place was. The only things that the venue supplies is tables, chairs and table cloths. You have to bring everything else. There is also not a kitchen there so you cater has to be self sufficient. We would recommend this venue to anyone.

    Sent on 08/10/2010
  • B

    Batrease · Married on 09/23/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved the Cotton Mill for the historic aspect. We had our ceremony outdoors and reception in the event hall. Darla was extremely helpful and very responsive to emails throughout the whole process. I loved the renovations done outside to the dye room. Everything looks great! It's a beautiful place if you want something not so traditional!

    Sent on 10/06/2011
  • Future Mrs. W

    Brittany · Married on 04/22/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Cotton Mill made our wedding absolutely PERFECT. We looked at several different venues, but as soon as we walked into the Cotton Mill we knew it was the one. Everyone who attended the wedding could not stop gushing about how gorgeous the building was and its uniqueness. We were blessed by beautiful weather to give us an outdoor ceremony in the dye room, and the large event space was wonderful for our group of 240 for the reception. We had a band and lots of fun tables set up, and there was still plenty of room to move! I highly recommend this space if you're looking for something rustic/industrial and amazing!

    Sent on 04/27/2017
  • D

    Daniela · Married on 11/12/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm so happy we ended up choosing the Cotton Mill for both our ceremony and reception! The venue was so beautiful on the day of our wedding and everyone was so helpful in answering all of our questions. You will not be disappointed if you choose the Cotton Mill!

    Sent on 12/14/2016
  • M

    Mrs. · Married on 10/04/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As soon I we drove up to The Cotton Mill to tour it I knew I wanted my wedding there. There's so much character and history in the building that you see. Everyone there was great to work with as they made it pretty easy to set times up for visits and coordinate. We received numerous compliments on the venue as it was unique and very us.

    Sent on 10/31/2013
  • A

    Anna · Married on 07/27/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved this venue for my daughters wedding as well as "The Dye Room" for the ceremony. So nice to have the wedding and reception at the same location!

    Sent on 07/14/2014
  • D

    Diane · Married on 07/12/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Cotton Mill was great. SO beautiful and unique!!!! We found working with both Darla and Tina to be a wonderful experience. (Someone had previously commented that they did not use Tina as their coordinator and that caused problems. We did not hire her services either but, we found her very helpful when we got to work with her and she never displayed anything but a helpful, professional attitude. In fact, I would say she went above and beyond for us!) They both answered emails quickly, answered all of our questions and gave great suggestions. The venue is absolutely amazing, it is not cheap, but worth every penny. I would recommend paying for the AC for the rehearsal night, we did not and it was 94 in the room during the rehearsal.

    Sent on 07/22/2013
  • W

    Patti · Married on 06/26/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was fantastic!!!! Darla who helped us could not have been any better!!! The only problem was the aircondition in one end of the building. Other than that, it was perfect!

    Sent on 12/06/2010
  • Kristin

    Kristin · Married on 06/12/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Cotton Mill is a gorgeous venue with many options for ceremony location and feel. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 09/14/2011