The McGovern Alumni Center at NDSU Reviews

26 | Fargo, ND
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for The McGovern Alumni Center at NDSU

Recommended by 95%

26

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.6
Sort by:
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 08/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff were super professional, and very reliable. They were there to answer any questions and to address any concerns. They totally made my day easier and less stressful. The place is amazing and very well kept.

  • J

    Jenna · Married on 07/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You will not find a more helpful, beautiful place as a venue. Everything was perfect!

  • User3109941 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda at the Alumni Center was just absolutely amazing to work with. Super responsive and extremely helpful in the whole process especially since we were planning our wedding overseas. Would recommend to anyone to utilize the venue for any type of events even if it's not wedding related.

  • K

    Kaley · Married on 06/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding ceremony and grooms dinner at the Ndsu Alumni and should have had are reception, but are numbers were to high to have dinner and dance at the alumni. The service and attentiveness was amazing, everything I would have hoped for and above! The staff at the alumni are so accommodating. They helped every step of the way. Our wedding was beautiful. Thank you ndsu alumni for making our day perfect. Highly recommend them for any kind of event. I'm sure all the caterers are great however, MSUM is who we used for grooms dinner and it was perfect.

  • F

    Meredith · Married on 06/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I LOVED working with Amanda and the alumni center. From the day we met, she was nothing but helpful, always patient with my questions, enthusiastic, and willing to make accommodations when we needed them. We could not have had such a successful event without her help.

  • C

    Carol · Married on 11/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our event was the best experience ever. Enjoyed working with Sarah very much. It all looked so seamless and effortless. Loved everything!! Thank you!

  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 08/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda and the staff at the Alumni Center made our day the best ever! Amanda was there throughout the whole process and answered any questions and gave recommendations that were very useful. I would recommend the Alumni Center to anyone looking for a place to hold an event. The wedding was almost a month ago and I am still talking about all they did for us and can never thank them enough. The catering was excellent and we have had many compliments. I wouldn't change a thing!

  • User3002228 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The entire Alumni Center staff was amazing! Amanda was very responsive to all of our questions, and was available that day to coordinate. Everything went off without a hitch. We used Green Mill for catering and they were also wonderful (butler passed appetizers during cocktail hour - fun!). I was hesitant about the price at first but they made the day so perfect and took care of so much that it was worth every penny. We had both the ceremony and reception there and the transition between the two was seamless. Thank you Alumni Center!

  • K

    Kristi · Married on 10/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience at the Alumni center was absolutely fantastic. We had a fairly small wedding with approximately 100 guests. From our very first meeting with Sarah, we felt like our event was special and that her goal was to make sure every detail was planned and perfect. We had many meetings prior to our special day, and I must admit that Sarah may have been more organized with more attention to detail than I! She provided excellent advice on how to best set up the ceremony, great insight on menu choices, and made sure that nothing was overlooked and all our questions were answered and any special desire for our day was met! There is no doubt that The Alumni Center is one of the most beautiful venues in town, but what sets it apart is the special caring, kindness and impeccable service the staff brings to the entire experience. I would recommend Sarah and The Alumni Center to any bride looking for a beautiful setting and a stress-free experience! A complete JOY to work with them!

  • D

    Desiree · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was amazing! It held 150 and I almost filled it with my small wedding. It was so much fun getting to know Amanda, the coordinator. She was quick with any question or change. She was the sole reason my wedding went smooth! It is a nice building with a great cozy feeling!

  • J

    Jen · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The nicest, most organized people I have ever met. Great facility! Sarah was great.

  • G

    Gus · Married on 08/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great venue to work with, everyone commented on how beautiful the building looked even before decoration was added.

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 07/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are sooo happy we had both our ceremony and reception here! It was so perfect! Sarah Baumgartner is just AMAZING!! She helped us out soo much! She is the sweetest lady EVER! I definitely recommend this place to having both your ceremony and reception. It is so beautiful!

  • N

    Natalie · Married on 06/23/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First off, the space is absolutely gorgeous so the only decorating I did was to bring in a floral arrangement for the guest book table. We just had our ceremony here (indoors) because of the number of people invited. Had that number been smaller, I probably would have done everything (ceremony and reception) at the Alumni Center.

    My husband and I both have multiple degrees from NDSU so we found the Alumni Center to be the perfect site for us, but even if you aren't NDSU people, you still need to consider this venue!

    Rehearsal was so easy - we just did it the day of the wedding and it maybe took 15 minutes. It was so nice to not have to rent out a space to do the rehearsal. They tell you what you need to do and when you need to do it. (That's why I checked the "Wedding Planning" box under services they provided for me. They had everything planned out so well!) Even though they may not provide many services themselves, they are able to make recommendations in just about every category. We found our Justice of the Peace because of their advice.

    I worked with a few different people from the day we booked the space up until the day of the ceremony and every one of them was wonderful. They were incredibly accommodating (one person arrived a little early so my mom could hang up my massive dress). From the first meeting, I knew these people were on top of their game and that I could trust them every step of the way. My gut feeling was right and everything was spot-on.

    Some of the planners are only in certain days during the week, but they are so prompt at responding to emails when they get back to the office that it was never a problem at all for me. I had some family issues come up and had to change an appointment a couple times, but they were so easy and kind to work with and had no problems rescheduling.

    I honestly don't have a single bad thing to say about my experience with the Alumni Center. They took care of making sure the musician got set up while I was out taking pictures, they provide whatever tables and chairs you may need, they played the pre-ceremony music then took care of the music changes as we came down the aisle. I did not have to worry about a thing because they had it all planned already!!!

    The Alumni Center gets an A+ in my book! I wouldn't hesitate to contact them again should I have another large event I need to plan!!

    Sent on 06/29/2012

    The McGovern Alumni Center at NDSU's reply:

    Natalie, we thoroughly enjoyed your wedding here as well! What an amazing day it was. Thank you for letting us be part of such a special day with you.
  • C

    Casie · Married on 08/16/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was perfect for us. We wanted a place that was classic and that we could have an outdoor ceremony and an indoor reception and after looking a bunches of places that only filled one or the other, it was wonderful to find this place was just perfect for everything we wanted.

    From the first time that I had contact with this venue everyone was wonderful. We ended up working with Amanda and I could not say enough wonderful things about her and the staff at the venue. Amanda always went above and beyond and made ever effort to help me out, I will definitely miss getting to email with her, she was one of my biggest fans while planning our wedding.

    Everything that day went perfectly and it was wonderful to have the event staff of the venue there to help out. Amanda even ran the rehearsal in the very hot August afternoon! And her event staff worked the sound for us and handled any issue that came up, even helping with decorations!

    If there was any "con" to the venue, it would be that there are only a few options for catering due to this being part of the university still, however since the venue works with these caterers directly it worked out amazingly that many times that if I had a question for the caterer, Amanda either had the answer or worked with the caterer (MSUM Catering) directly for me. Also, if you are looking to have keg beer that isn't an option either, however Green Mill had a large selection of bottled beers to choose from, and when it's a wedding, I would hope people wouldn't be all that picky and just enjoy the time there! :)

    Overall, I couldn't have created a better venue myself. And there is nothing better than a venue that has an amazing staff that becomes so endearing to you that you know you will have to make a point to stop by again!

    I hope you all find this useful.

  • A

    Andrea · Married on 04/14/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Alumni Center was so flexible and willing to work with me on a very tight schedule! I loved the venue! The set up for both my wedding ceremony and reception was great! The venue (indoor and outdoor) was also a classy/beautiful backdrop for all of my wedding photos! Thank you Amanda, Sarah and Kenny! (and anyone else that put time and effort into our day!)

  • User4668321 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    NDSU Alumni Center was perfect for our open house reception. It is very open and spacious and has great parking close to the building. The cost was not bad at all either. They have specific caterers and bar that they typically go through. I planned on going with MSUM catering and they were one of the main options (very good food and Judith is wonderful!). However, Green Mill is the only bar they use for alcohol and they weren't the best to work with. Everyone loved the venue and we received many compliments for how we hosted the open house reception and what a good venue it was for it. I highly recommend this venue for a wedding/reception.

  • S

    Savannah · Married on 08/02/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    My husband and I booked the NDSU Alumni Center for our ceremony and reception because we wanted everything in the same place and it worked wonderfully! We had the entire venue to ourselves from 10a to 12:30a. The actual Alumni Center itself is very pretty and hardly needs any decorations. There are rooms upstairs to get ready in and there are plenty of places at the Alumni Center or across the street at the University to take pictures. The staff is very helpful, but not as prompt as I would like in returning phone calls and e-mails since several of the staff do not work everyday. On the day of my wedding, there were three staff present for most of the ceremony and reception. They were very helpful and even assisted with setting up some of the decorations. There are no hotels within walking distance if you are having out of town guests, but we booked a shuttle service that worked great. Overall this venue is great and I would highly recommend it!

  • J

    Jeff · Married on 06/07/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very nice venue, all of the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • J

    John · Married on 04/13/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The NDSU Alumni Center is a great place for an event! It has a nice open space with a lot of natural lighting. For many of our guests, this was their first time in the Alumni Center. They were very complimentary of the venue and the catering. We had NDSU Catering cater our reception. They have a menu in which you can choose. They will help you out with amounts based on how many people will be attending. They are very easy to work with. If we have anymore events in the area, I will push to have it here.

  • M

    Megan · Married on 06/21/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The venue was perfect, and the staff was wonderful - especially the day of. We had a game of bags out in the courtyard and around 10 p.m., it began to rain. Jennie made her way out in the rain to bring items inside so they wouldn't get drenched! Exceeded expectations. Leading up to the wedding, Jennie also answered all of our questions and put any stresses we had at ease.

    My only criticism is responsiveness. Our coordinator Jennie only worked Tuesdays and Thursdays, so she wasn't able to reply to emails on other days. She did warn us of this ahead of time (so we were prepared). Other venue contacts, however, were equally as unresponsive. We set our date with Amanda, and I almost wanted to cancel, because of how difficult she was to get a hold of - didn't return emails or calls for days/weeks. I'm so glad, we stuck with the venue though, because it turned out simply amazing!

  • A

    ashley · Married on 06/08/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was amazing at the NDSU alumni center, however at first it took a very long time to get a response back from the coordinator and weeks to even get the contract sent to us to book the space, with that aside everything else went perfect and they were very helpful in every way possible.

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 08/16/2013

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you Amanda & staff at NDSU Alumni Center. Amanda was great to work with. Very professional, always quick to respond and very flexible. Very reasonably priced and the best part about hosting an event at this venue is that it is private. Everyone that walks in the doors should know at least one other person present. It's not in a "blah" ballroom, the Alumni Center has a lot of character! Thanks again for everything Amanda & Alumni Center Staff! You were amazing to work with and by far exceeded all of my expectations. Cheers!

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 08/17/2013

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food was amazing ... Wait staff was very professional , dressed nice and accommodating . The only con I have with the whole event ... Is the amount of time we had to set up was not enough and had to pay extra to get in early .... And nothing was ready for my friends and family to start decorating...... Overall experience was great !!! I would highly recommend this venue!!!

  • C

    Cathy · Married on 06/30/2012

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything went smoothly. I was a little surprised by the $981 charge after the wedding, but oh well....

    Sent on 07/20/2012

    The McGovern Alumni Center at NDSU's reply:

    Cathy - Thank you so much for your review! If you have any questions at all in regards to the bill please feel free to contact me. I want to make sure that everything is correct and that you are happy!

    Thank you so much!