The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore Reviews

105 | Baltimore, MD
See photos, pricing and details

105 Reviews for The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore

Recommended by 99%

105
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

20 User photos

The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 1
The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 2
The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 3
The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 4
The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 5
The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 6
The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 7
+ 14
Sort by:
  • Staci

    Staci Kuehn · Married on 12/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I Do at the Zoo!

    Hi Brides!

    We got married on December 8th, 2018 at the Maryland Zoo. We love to visit zoos wherever we go so we felt this was the perfect wedding venue for us! The ceremony and reception took place in the mansions house which is a gorgeous building with windows all around and chandeliers hanging from the ceilings. If you are looking for one huge open room this will not be for you, as the area is split into three large hallways; but there is a ton of room, I loved it personally. We chose two animals to come for cocktail hour, the penguin and the skunk; the zoo keepers are so educational and kept the guests entertained. This venue is also so much more affordable then others in the area. You do have to use a caterer from their list, but there are plenty of options at different price points, we went with Hunt Valley Catering. Jackie and Jane were so helpful with the process. Jackie helped organize the wedding day and set up some of my small details. She also took us around the zoo in a gold cart for photos, I can’t wait to see them all! Our wedding day turned out 10x better than I ever expected it to, I couldn’t be happier and I give most of that credit to our beautiful venue, the Zoo!

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 8
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 9
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 10
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 11
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 12
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 13
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 14
  • Carrie

    Carrie · Married on 11/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A fantastic unique and relaxing venue

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore was an absolute dream to work with. There are so many factors that made the zoo the perfect place to have our wedding ceremony and reception.

    Zoo Staff: Our primary contact at the Zoo was Jackie. She answered every possible question and predicted all of our needs. The zoo team has managed so many weddings that they know exactly what they are doing, but they made us feel so special at the same time.

    Unique Extras: Of course the animal ambassadors are an incredible feature that guests can't stop talking about, but the zoo also allows you to take photos throughout the zoo grounds either before your ceremony or during cocktail hour. So many special benefits.

    The Value: The mansion house is so beautiful that you can save on decorations. The staff are so thorough that we didn't need a wedding planner. It was worth every penny.

  • Christina

    Christina Elder · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful + Unique Wedding Venue

    We loved having our wedding here! Brittney and her staff were professional and quick to respond to emails and questions and made the day go so smoothly. We had animal ambassadors and they were an absolute hit during the cocktail hour. Winnie the penguin stole the show. The Mansion House is a stunning property that guests loved and never knew existed!

  • M

    Michelle Yingling · Married on 10/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Penguins Mate For Life

    Who knew penguins mated for life? Not us! How more appropriate then celebrating our 'special day' at The Maryland Zoo! We needed something different then your ordinary wedding. And, we got it and so much more. We live in Maine. Booked this venue site unseen based off of comments from others. We were completely satisfied from the start to finish. Jacki and her crew went over and beyond our expectations. 150 of our guest witness our ceremony on a gorgeous day on the Lake Shore Pavilion. Cocktail hour and reception were held in the stunning Mansion House. The zoo provided us with 'Peaches' our penguin ambassador during cocktail hour. She was a huge hit! Plenty of room to bust a move on the dance floor! Tons of photo opportunities inside the zoo area, which made for amazing pictures. Not one hiccup thanks to Jacki's outstanding attention to detail. Our guest said, "best wedding ever"! We can't wait to re-new our vows in 5 years with 'Peaches' at The Maryland Zoo! We HIGHLY recommend for an experience of a life time.

  • Nicole

    Nicole · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Venue!!

    Getting married at the Maryland Zoo was the best decision we made! Jackie, our point of contact, was amazing! She was very quick to answer any of my many emails and on the day of, she was just amazing! She helped my day run so smoothly and everything was just perfect! The price point is very reasonable and my pictures came out amazing due to the scenery around the zoo and the animal ambassadors. I would do it all over again at the Maryland Zoo any day!!!

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 15
  • B

    Brad · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing venue, amazing animals, amazing people!

    We held our wedding and reception at the Maryland Zoo last month and it was amazing! The staff were beyond exceptional and super helpful throughout our entire planning process and the day of. Britney, our coordinator, was extremely helpful in making sure everything went off without a hitch and was on point for contacting our other vendors to make sure things were in place for our big day.

    The venue itself is amazing as well. The grounds are incredibly beautiful and spacious, yet you're in the heart of Baltimore, so no long drives back to civilization. And yes, you can have animals at your reception if you book here. We had a penguin, a tortoise and a screech owl attend our cocktail hour, and it was the coolest! Our guests loved it, and my wife and I were given time alone with each animal so we could get to meet them and take photos. It ruled.

    I'll also rave about how affordable this place was. Seriously, compared to a lot of the other venues we looked at, for the price we paid, we felt like it was an incredible steal.

    Hands down, this was probably one of the best choices we made for our wedding day. I highly recomend this venue!

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 16
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 08/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with the Maryland Zoo! They were amazingly accommodating and helpful. They made the wedding reception of our dreams. They were so friendly and made great suggestions. They regularly checked in to make sure we had matching expectations. Thank you Maryland Zoo for hosting a fabulous wedding reception! We had so much fun taking pictures with the African Penguin and Giant Flemish Rabbit on our wedding day. It was a magical experience to pet them.

  • C

    Celia · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding at the zoo was so much fun! We were initially bummed to have intense rain on our wedding day (so we had our wedding in the Mansion House instead of at the Lakeshore Pavilion), but it was otherwise pretty perfect. Having our wedding indoors was still really lovely - the windows let in a ton of light and it's beautifully decorated. Our zoo wedding coordinator was Brittney, who was fantastic - she was super kind, flexible, and on top of everything, exactly the kind of person you want to help you out on a crazy day. We had a penguin and an eastern screech owl as our "animal ambassadors" and they were great! We felt like the zoo was the perfect place for our wedding - beautiful, unique, and really fun. Thanks so much!

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 17
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 18
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 19
  • M

    Mary · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding day at the Zoo was even better than I could have imagined. Part of the reason we selected the Zoo was because of the outdoor ceremony location - beside the lake, surrounded by big, beautiful trees. BUT, unfortunately Mother Nature had other plans and we had to move the ceremony inside. Our inside ceremony was gorgeous despite the rain (and probably worked out better for my older relatives). Jackie (our coordinator from the Zoo) managed everything beautifully and went above and beyond to make sure our guests had a great experience. Additionally, the photography opportunities at the Zoo are unmatched by any other venue in the area. They have so many unique locations that provide amazing backdrops for photos. Finally, the penguin (Peach) was a HUGE hit at our wedding. Our guests were loving it and taking selfies and photos with her - it was definitely a fun added bonus! I highly recommend the Zoo - their staff, location, and experience will make your wedding unforgettable.

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 20
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 21
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 22
  • C

    Cat · Married on 04/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely amazing. The Zoo was everything we wanted in a venue. The staff was spectacular and they had fantastic relationships with our other vendors so we were really able to enjoy our wedding and reception. They made it so easy flip our ceremony site into the sit-down dinner.
    And absolutely the best value for money in Baltimore.

  • A

    Allison · Married on 03/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't rave enough about our Elopement package wedding at the Zoo! We had such a delightful time! Everyone at the zoo was so wonderful, I felt so taken care of so that I could truly enjoy my day. It was low key but classy, and Tetra the penguin was a serious star. Everything came together perfectly and we couldn't have been happier with our wedding day! I would definitely recommend weddings at the zoo to everyone!

  • Chris

    Chris · Married on 11/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had our wedding at the mansion house at the Maryland Zoo in Baltimore and I cannot express how absolutely perfect everything was! From the very first contact, Jane and Jackie were extremely helpful and were there to answer any questions we had. Seeing as how this was our first (and only hopefully) wedding, we weren't sure of how everything works, but they guided us the entire time and I really didn't have to stress about anything! They were there at all times and very attentive to make sure that everything went super smoothly. On top of that, they are the nicest people you will ever get to work with!!! Even if it's not a wedding, I am hoping to get to work with them again because I know that for any event I may have in the future they are always going to make it special!

  • L

    lauren · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful and unique venue!!! Everyone was so surprised and excited for the owl and the penguin. We even got pictures at the carousel I can't wait to see them :) staff was amazing especially Jackie and all of the zoo employees seemed very happy to be working there!

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 23
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 24
  • A

    Anthony · Married on 10/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore exceeded all of our expectations and more. The venue was perfect and the staff was unbelievably kind and very attentive. Jackie was our event coordinator and she was amazing. We were in contact with her and the zoo a little over a year before our wedding. At that point, we weren't really sure what we wanted for our wedding. That didn't matter though because they were amazing and gave us different suggestions on various vendors that we could use. We never felt like things were getting out of control because Jackie and her staff always seemed to be on top of things. We planned to have an outdoor wedding, but on our wedding day it wound up being cold and rainy. They were able to switch everything around to bring us inside without adding any extra stress to us. Although we intended to have an outdoor wedding, the setup Jackie and her staff made was beautiful. Our wedding went off without a hitch and everyone had an amazing time. Our family and friends all talked about how nice and helpful the staff was. Jackie worked extremely well with each and everyone of our vendors. They were able to communicate and get everything done without adding a burden on us. When we were choosing our decorations they gave us plenty of suggestions and were very flexible and accommodating. This was the perfect venue, with a beautiful view, and great staff. I would suggest the Maryland Zoo as a venue to anyone that is thinking about getting married in Baltimore. Plus they brought out a penguin for the wedding! It doesn't get any better than that.

  • M

    Marianna · Married on 09/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception at the MD Zoo on 9/29/2017 and couldn't be more pleased with the service and attention we received. From the beginning, Jackie was extremely responsive, kind, and professional. The Mansion House is truly a hidden gem - very reasonably priced, historical, and elegant. The penguins were a HUGE hit with our guests. I literally cannot say enough good things about our experience with the MD Zoo. It was the best night of our lives.

  • K

    Katherine · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our September wedding reception at the Mansion House at the Maryland Zoo. We fell in love with the venue and every member of the staff was nice, helpful, and responsive. We had last minute questions and requests that were met with ease and a smile. Our guests loved the penguin we had our reception. People are still talking about it! I would highly recommend the Mansion House for your wedding or event.

  • K

    Karen · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We highly recommend the Mansion House at the Maryland Zoo for a beautiful, elegant wedding. The staff at the Mansion House were top-notch and made sure that our wedding was an absolutely lovely event. We worked mostly with Jackie R, but initially met with Jane S. These two women did an outstanding job of ensuring that we had all of the necessary information whenever we had a question. Jackie was there for the wedding and made sure that the bridesmaids and the bride got to where we needed to be when it was time for the ceremony. We chose two animal ambassadors, and they were a real treat to have at the cocktail reception. We looked at a number of venues, and since the money spent went to the animals, we felt that it was worth every penny. Our wedding was lovely and the zoo is an awesome venue for a wedding!!

  • M

    Megan · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    More then I could have even imagined.

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect venue! Everybody was so easy to work with and very responsive to all of my questions! The animal ambassador was incredible and people are still talking about it months later! The Lakeside Pavilion was beautiful for the ceremony and the Mansion House was incredible for the reception!

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 25
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 26
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 27
  • M

    Megan · Married on 06/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A hidden gem for wedding venues! Jane is the best and she really accommodated our busy schedule. Can't wait to get married here in June!

  • F

    F · Married on 01/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can we say? We could not have asked for a better venue for our wedding. The Mansion House was marvelous, the staff was stupendous, and Peaches the penguin was perfect. Jane & Jackie made us feel welcome, comfortable and excited from our very first meeting. They accommodated our every request and assured us that everything would come off without a hitch.

    And it did! This despite an early winter storm that left the grounds covered in 3 inches of snow. But rather than ruin the day, it added to the magic -- the zoo staff promptly shoveled and salted the lots so no one had trouble entering, the approach to the Mansion House was breathtaking, and our photos on the snow-covered grounds are wonderful. And since we rolled the dice on a January event, the venue was even more affordable than it normally is.

    We elected to hold our ceremony at the Mansion House as well. There was enough seating for our 170 guests and the winter sunset through the many windows was stunning.

    We selected a green-winged macaw and an African penguin as our animal ambassadors, which delighted our guests both young and old -- we have tons of great pictures from our cocktail hour. Our up-close encounter with the ambassadors was a special treat since we got to sit right next them on the inside staircase.

    Jackie worked with all of our vendors to ensure the day ran smoothly. No one had any trouble loading in or out, and we heard only good things about working with the zoo staff.

    The zoo was the first space we visited during our venue hunt but we knew right away it was the right place for us. From the friendliness of Jane and Jackie to the beauty of the building to the simple fun of hosting an event with animal guests, we had an amazing and unforgettable day. Can we give ten stars?

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so happy that we were able to hold our reception at the Maryland Zoo. My husband and I both grew up going to this zoo and loved that we were able to incorporate it into our wedding. We booked for the reception only in the Mansion House and it was very beautiful. The layout worked great and it was amazing to have Hope the Penguin at the cocktail hour. The Maryland Zoo is a great Baltimore gem.

  • D

    Debbie · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want an intimate ceremony and reception in a unique, beautiful setting, this is the venue for you. We have the most incredible photos using the zoo as a backdrop. The carousel photographs are magnificent. The staff were very accommodating and professional.

  • ParticulierSylphe

    Jessica · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I definitely recommend the zoo as a venue for those looking for a "non traditional" setting. Jackie was amazing and helpful very step of the way, and made sure the day was just as we wanted! There are so many fun setting for photos, and the animal ambassadors were a huge hit. We had initially booked our wedding for the spring, and the zoo was very accommodating and flexible with letting us move it to the fall. The best part is, the money we paid for the venue goes right back to the zoo and animals, which I love! I'd much rather give to this wonderful place than a hotel or other typical venue.

  • L

    Lilli · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    the ladies at the zoo are wonderful! So accommodating and friendly. A pleasure to work with.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review