The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore Reviews

100 | Baltimore, MD
See photos, pricing and details

100 Reviews for The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore

Recommended by 99%

100
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
100 The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore Reviews
Sort by:
  • Nicole

    Nicole · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Venue!!

    Getting married at the Maryland Zoo was the best decision we made! Jackie, our point of contact, was amazing! She was very quick to answer any of my many emails and on the day of, she was just amazing! She helped my day run so smoothly and everything was just perfect! The price point is very reasonable and my pictures came out amazing due to the scenery around the zoo and the animal ambassadors. I would do it all over again at the Maryland Zoo any day!!!

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 1
  • B

    Brad · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing venue, amazing animals, amazing people!

    We held our wedding and reception at the Maryland Zoo last month and it was amazing! The staff were beyond exceptional and super helpful throughout our entire planning process and the day of. Britney, our coordinator, was extremely helpful in making sure everything went off without a hitch and was on point for contacting our other vendors to make sure things were in place for our big day.

    The venue itself is amazing as well. The grounds are incredibly beautiful and spacious, yet you're in the heart of Baltimore, so no long drives back to civilization. And yes, you can have animals at your reception if you book here. We had a penguin, a tortoise and a screech owl attend our cocktail hour, and it was the coolest! Our guests loved it, and my wife and I were given time alone with each animal so we could get to meet them and take photos. It ruled.

    I'll also rave about how affordable this place was. Seriously, compared to a lot of the other venues we looked at, for the price we paid, we felt like it was an incredible steal.

    Hands down, this was probably one of the best choices we made for our wedding day. I highly recomend this venue!

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 2
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 08/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with the Maryland Zoo! They were amazingly accommodating and helpful. They made the wedding reception of our dreams. They were so friendly and made great suggestions. They regularly checked in to make sure we had matching expectations. Thank you Maryland Zoo for hosting a fabulous wedding reception! We had so much fun taking pictures with the African Penguin and Giant Flemish Rabbit on our wedding day. It was a magical experience to pet them.

  • C

    Celia · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding at the zoo was so much fun! We were initially bummed to have intense rain on our wedding day (so we had our wedding in the Mansion House instead of at the Lakeshore Pavilion), but it was otherwise pretty perfect. Having our wedding indoors was still really lovely - the windows let in a ton of light and it's beautifully decorated. Our zoo wedding coordinator was Brittney, who was fantastic - she was super kind, flexible, and on top of everything, exactly the kind of person you want to help you out on a crazy day. We had a penguin and an eastern screech owl as our "animal ambassadors" and they were great! We felt like the zoo was the perfect place for our wedding - beautiful, unique, and really fun. Thanks so much!

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 3
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 4
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 5
  • M

    Mary · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding day at the Zoo was even better than I could have imagined. Part of the reason we selected the Zoo was because of the outdoor ceremony location - beside the lake, surrounded by big, beautiful trees. BUT, unfortunately Mother Nature had other plans and we had to move the ceremony inside. Our inside ceremony was gorgeous despite the rain (and probably worked out better for my older relatives). Jackie (our coordinator from the Zoo) managed everything beautifully and went above and beyond to make sure our guests had a great experience. Additionally, the photography opportunities at the Zoo are unmatched by any other venue in the area. They have so many unique locations that provide amazing backdrops for photos. Finally, the penguin (Peach) was a HUGE hit at our wedding. Our guests were loving it and taking selfies and photos with her - it was definitely a fun added bonus! I highly recommend the Zoo - their staff, location, and experience will make your wedding unforgettable.

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 6
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 7
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 8
  • C

    Cat · Married on 04/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely amazing. The Zoo was everything we wanted in a venue. The staff was spectacular and they had fantastic relationships with our other vendors so we were really able to enjoy our wedding and reception. They made it so easy flip our ceremony site into the sit-down dinner.
    And absolutely the best value for money in Baltimore.

  • A

    Allison · Married on 03/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't rave enough about our Elopement package wedding at the Zoo! We had such a delightful time! Everyone at the zoo was so wonderful, I felt so taken care of so that I could truly enjoy my day. It was low key but classy, and Tetra the penguin was a serious star. Everything came together perfectly and we couldn't have been happier with our wedding day! I would definitely recommend weddings at the zoo to everyone!

  • Chris

    Chris · Married on 11/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had our wedding at the mansion house at the Maryland Zoo in Baltimore and I cannot express how absolutely perfect everything was! From the very first contact, Jane and Jackie were extremely helpful and were there to answer any questions we had. Seeing as how this was our first (and only hopefully) wedding, we weren't sure of how everything works, but they guided us the entire time and I really didn't have to stress about anything! They were there at all times and very attentive to make sure that everything went super smoothly. On top of that, they are the nicest people you will ever get to work with!!! Even if it's not a wedding, I am hoping to get to work with them again because I know that for any event I may have in the future they are always going to make it special!

  • L

    lauren · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful and unique venue!!! Everyone was so surprised and excited for the owl and the penguin. We even got pictures at the carousel I can't wait to see them :) staff was amazing especially Jackie and all of the zoo employees seemed very happy to be working there!

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 9
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 10
  • A

    Anthony · Married on 10/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore exceeded all of our expectations and more. The venue was perfect and the staff was unbelievably kind and very attentive. Jackie was our event coordinator and she was amazing. We were in contact with her and the zoo a little over a year before our wedding. At that point, we weren't really sure what we wanted for our wedding. That didn't matter though because they were amazing and gave us different suggestions on various vendors that we could use. We never felt like things were getting out of control because Jackie and her staff always seemed to be on top of things. We planned to have an outdoor wedding, but on our wedding day it wound up being cold and rainy. They were able to switch everything around to bring us inside without adding any extra stress to us. Although we intended to have an outdoor wedding, the setup Jackie and her staff made was beautiful. Our wedding went off without a hitch and everyone had an amazing time. Our family and friends all talked about how nice and helpful the staff was. Jackie worked extremely well with each and everyone of our vendors. They were able to communicate and get everything done without adding a burden on us. When we were choosing our decorations they gave us plenty of suggestions and were very flexible and accommodating. This was the perfect venue, with a beautiful view, and great staff. I would suggest the Maryland Zoo as a venue to anyone that is thinking about getting married in Baltimore. Plus they brought out a penguin for the wedding! It doesn't get any better than that.

  • M

    Marianna · Married on 09/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception at the MD Zoo on 9/29/2017 and couldn't be more pleased with the service and attention we received. From the beginning, Jackie was extremely responsive, kind, and professional. The Mansion House is truly a hidden gem - very reasonably priced, historical, and elegant. The penguins were a HUGE hit with our guests. I literally cannot say enough good things about our experience with the MD Zoo. It was the best night of our lives.

  • K

    Katherine · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our September wedding reception at the Mansion House at the Maryland Zoo. We fell in love with the venue and every member of the staff was nice, helpful, and responsive. We had last minute questions and requests that were met with ease and a smile. Our guests loved the penguin we had our reception. People are still talking about it! I would highly recommend the Mansion House for your wedding or event.

  • K

    Karen · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We highly recommend the Mansion House at the Maryland Zoo for a beautiful, elegant wedding. The staff at the Mansion House were top-notch and made sure that our wedding was an absolutely lovely event. We worked mostly with Jackie R, but initially met with Jane S. These two women did an outstanding job of ensuring that we had all of the necessary information whenever we had a question. Jackie was there for the wedding and made sure that the bridesmaids and the bride got to where we needed to be when it was time for the ceremony. We chose two animal ambassadors, and they were a real treat to have at the cocktail reception. We looked at a number of venues, and since the money spent went to the animals, we felt that it was worth every penny. Our wedding was lovely and the zoo is an awesome venue for a wedding!!

  • M

    Megan · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    More then I could have even imagined.

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect venue! Everybody was so easy to work with and very responsive to all of my questions! The animal ambassador was incredible and people are still talking about it months later! The Lakeside Pavilion was beautiful for the ceremony and the Mansion House was incredible for the reception!

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 11
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 12
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 13
  • M

    Megan · Married on 06/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A hidden gem for wedding venues! Jane is the best and she really accommodated our busy schedule. Can't wait to get married here in June!

  • F

    F · Married on 01/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can we say? We could not have asked for a better venue for our wedding. The Mansion House was marvelous, the staff was stupendous, and Peaches the penguin was perfect. Jane & Jackie made us feel welcome, comfortable and excited from our very first meeting. They accommodated our every request and assured us that everything would come off without a hitch.

    And it did! This despite an early winter storm that left the grounds covered in 3 inches of snow. But rather than ruin the day, it added to the magic -- the zoo staff promptly shoveled and salted the lots so no one had trouble entering, the approach to the Mansion House was breathtaking, and our photos on the snow-covered grounds are wonderful. And since we rolled the dice on a January event, the venue was even more affordable than it normally is.

    We elected to hold our ceremony at the Mansion House as well. There was enough seating for our 170 guests and the winter sunset through the many windows was stunning.

    We selected a green-winged macaw and an African penguin as our animal ambassadors, which delighted our guests both young and old -- we have tons of great pictures from our cocktail hour. Our up-close encounter with the ambassadors was a special treat since we got to sit right next them on the inside staircase.

    Jackie worked with all of our vendors to ensure the day ran smoothly. No one had any trouble loading in or out, and we heard only good things about working with the zoo staff.

    The zoo was the first space we visited during our venue hunt but we knew right away it was the right place for us. From the friendliness of Jane and Jackie to the beauty of the building to the simple fun of hosting an event with animal guests, we had an amazing and unforgettable day. Can we give ten stars?

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so happy that we were able to hold our reception at the Maryland Zoo. My husband and I both grew up going to this zoo and loved that we were able to incorporate it into our wedding. We booked for the reception only in the Mansion House and it was very beautiful. The layout worked great and it was amazing to have Hope the Penguin at the cocktail hour. The Maryland Zoo is a great Baltimore gem.

  • D

    Debbie · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want an intimate ceremony and reception in a unique, beautiful setting, this is the venue for you. We have the most incredible photos using the zoo as a backdrop. The carousel photographs are magnificent. The staff were very accommodating and professional.

  • ParticulierSylphe

    Jessica · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I definitely recommend the zoo as a venue for those looking for a "non traditional" setting. Jackie was amazing and helpful very step of the way, and made sure the day was just as we wanted! There are so many fun setting for photos, and the animal ambassadors were a huge hit. We had initially booked our wedding for the spring, and the zoo was very accommodating and flexible with letting us move it to the fall. The best part is, the money we paid for the venue goes right back to the zoo and animals, which I love! I'd much rather give to this wonderful place than a hotel or other typical venue.

  • L

    Lilli · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    the ladies at the zoo are wonderful! So accommodating and friendly. A pleasure to work with.

  • R

    Ron · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We first met Jane when we were looking for a venue. Jane was extremely cheerful and knowledgeable about all the venue had to offer. After deciding on the Mansion House, we interacted mostly with Jackie and she was there for our walkthrough with our caterers, rehearsal, and day of. Jackie was also extremely helpful and knowledgeable and always answered our emails within a day. She helped us accommodate the rooms for our Korean and Chinese wedding ceremonies, create floorplans for the decor we wanted, and was helping clean up and move the wedding along the entire time. People loved the penguin, tenrec and screech owl during our cocktail hour too, and we still get compliments 2 months after our wedding of how beautiful the venue was. And another deciding factor was that the money used to rent the venue goes towards the animals at the zoo. We would highly recommend the Mansion House to anyone!

  • L

    Liz · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I got married at the Maryland Zoo on October 1st of this year. We could not have been happier with our venue choice!! Of course, it was pouring down rain that day but we were so impressed at the beautiful set up inside that we didn't even end up caring that we couldn't get married at the outdoor pavilion. The best, the ABSOLUTE best thing about the entire set up was the animal ambassadors. We had two penguins at our cocktail hour and our guests were so excited to take pictures with them! It really set our wedding apart from an ordinary venue. We were lucky to also have a great DJ and caterer, and that added to our experience as well. As stressful as planning a wedding was, we ended up being so thrilled with the result. It will be a day to remember for us and our friends and family as well. I would highly recommend this venue. We were originally hoping to find a winery, but the zoo was honestly way better, more memorable, and more affordable.

    ~Liz and Abby Lawless

  • K

    Kathy · Married on 09/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are considering an intimate wedding with no more than 20 attendees, the Elopement Package at the Maryland Zoo in Baltimore is the perfect way to go! We are an older couple each previously married, and considered an informal courthouse ceremony with family, but this package offered a 'real' wedding setting with fantastic memories! We held our ceremony on the Mansion Porch, which offered a beautiful setting and lent itself well to the photographs. Jackie Romoser, the Zoo's Group Sales Supervisor, professionally arranged for the ceremony, photographer and flowers and was exceptional to work with and very responsive and timely when i had questions, even effortlessly accommodating my request for extra flowers. All we needed to do was show up! The officiant and photographer were professionals, and got to know us and what we desired for our special day. Not to forget our Animal Ambassador, a delightful penguin named Peach, who continues to be the talk of our day! What started out to be an informal courthouse ceremony became one of the most memorable experiences we have ever shared with each other and our families - highly recommend this venue!

  • A

    Abby · Married on 09/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was more than wonderful! It was a dream come true! Not only is it a beautiful place for the ceremony, but the pictures in the old zoo are so eclectic and bring back memories of being a kid again wandering through the old exhibits. The ambassador is also such a great touch and the guests loved taking pictures with the penguin! I would highly recommend the Maryland Zoo in Baltimore for a wedding. It was the best day of my life :)

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review