The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore Reviews

112 | Baltimore, MD
See photos, pricing and details

112 Reviews for The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore

Recommended by 99%

112
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

20 User photos

The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 1
The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 2
The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 3
The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 4
The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 5
The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 6
The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 7
+ 14
Sort by:
  • A

    Anna G · Married on 08/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Experience!

    The Maryland Zoo was the perfect venue for our ceremony and reception. Jane and Jackie were amazing to work with from start to finish. After touring the space with Jane, we knew we didn't need to keep looking any longer. Jane was so helpful answering all of our questions and gave us a huge list of recommended vendors for all aspects of the wedding and went through it with us providing more detail for each. That list and all her experience and knowledge made the vendor search so easy. All of our vendors were thrilled to be working at the zoo and had a great history and working relaitionship with the zoo. Jackie was our day of coordinator and was instrumental in making the day run more smoothly than we could ever have imagined it would. She was there to answer any questions, direct traffic, coordinate with vendors, and drive the golf cart around. In terms of the physical venue itself, the zoo made for an amazing day. We had our ceremony at the Lakeside Pavillion which was a beautiful outside space. There was a shaded area at ground level (no stairs to navigate) for the eldery and a golf cart to shuffle them from ceremony to reception. The Mansion House can be used as a backup Ceremony location in the event of rain or excessive heat, so even though the forcast looked like it might be trouble we were not stressed at all. The Mansion House itself was a beautiful place to have the reception. All the glass windows let in a lot of natural light which made the space so inviting. The front steps of the Mansion House made for a great picture spot. The bar and buffet were placed at either end of the seating wings, so nobody felt bad about being near the back and allowed guests to mingle as they walked by. Both wings had great views of our sweetheart table and met at the dance floor. We opted not to add the hard surface for the dance floor and using the carpet worked out great. The Mansion House also had a separate room set aside for just us that allowed us to escape when we needed to and get ready/make adjustments. Also was useful for my elderly grandmother to take a nap in! The animal ambassadors (Peach the Penguin and Yang the Alligator) were also a huge hit. Overall, the Zoo was so much fun and so easy to work with. The staff were amazing and the event spaces (both the Lakeside Pavillion and Mansion House) were incredible. I recommend the Zoo to everyone!

    Sent on 08/05/2019
  • Sophie

    Sophie · Married on 07/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful and unique experience!! Getting married with Penguins!!

    Maryland Zoo has been wonderful from the beginning. Jane has been great to work with. They have hosted many weddings and events so they are very experienced.
    The venue itself (we did it at the Mansion House) is gorgeous!! The 200-year-old mansion house has an elegant and timeless feel. Most importantly, you can request animal ambassadors to the reception. So of course, we got the penguins. :)
    Maryland Zoo is also one of the most reasonably priced venues that we found. The package also comes with a day-of-coordinator (Brittany was amazing!!) and pre-wedding bridal shoots around the zoo.
    Our guests commented on how beautiful and venue is and how unique the experience was. We are truly appreciative of the Maryland Zoo and would highly recommend newlyweds get married here.

    Sent on 08/03/2019
  • S

    Stephanie Beer · Married on 05/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible and Unforgettable day

    The Maryland Zoo was the perfect place to host our ceremony and reception. The staff there is wonderful and responsive. We had a beautiful and unforgettable experience and I could not recommend them more.

    Sent on 05/28/2019
  • Melissa

    Melissa · Married on 02/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Best Venue in Baltimore

    Our wedding at the Mansion House at the Maryland Zoo was an absolute dream. It all started with the incredible team at the Zoo - Jane and Brittney.
    Jane joined us for our initial walk-through and helped my now husband and I visual the possibilities of our wedding. The absolutely fabulous Brittney Christian guided us through the rest of our planning and made our vision a reality. We couldn't have asked for a better person to see us through - thank you for being the best, Brittney!!

    Our winter wedding was indoors and the interior is so warm, it convinces you that you are in a bright, sunny room - even if your wedding is planned in the evening. There is so much space in the Mansion House, it was very easy for our 120 guests to move around.

    Your wedding photos will be incredible. There are several places around the Zoo, including a formally used tiger cage and the carousel, you can stop and take your bride and groom pictures.

    To save the best for last - yes, the penguins are an AMAZING perk to booking your wedding at the Zoo. My husband and I had our ceremony and then immediately met Sally and Eddie. It seems impossible that there will be a better hour for the rest of our lives. We spent about 15 minutes with the penguins for private photos and then the guests had the opportunity to pose with the penguins for the rest of the cocktail hour. There's nothing quite like looking through photos the next morning and seeing all of your family and friends posing with penguins.

    This is far and away one of the most unique experience you can imagine for your wedding. If you're still searching, the Maryland Zoo is absolutely a top notch option.




    Sent on 03/02/2019
  • L

    Lindsey Norris · Married on 01/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Venue!

    The Maryland Zoo Mansion House was a perfect venue. It's a gorgeous building inside and out, has an interesting history, and provides a comfortable, carpet-covered dance floor (if you don't pay to have a wooden one temporarily put in) that allowed my guests to enjoy dancing the night away without uncomfortable wedding shoes. :-) This venue made me feel extremely elegant with it's pale yellow walls, beautiful chandeliers, and expansive windows. It also provided us the opportunity to meet Sally the Penguin - an unforgettable experience for both ourselves and our guests. My husband and I also love that using the zoo as our venue helps bring money back to use for the care and maintenance of the animals and their habitats. We worked with Jane and Jackie, primarily, and both made our experience wonderfully fun and easy. I highly recommend checking out this fantastic venue!

    Sent on 01/29/2019
  • Staci

    Staci Kuehn · Married on 12/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I Do at the Zoo!

    Hi Brides!

    We got married on December 8th, 2018 at the Maryland Zoo. We love to visit zoos wherever we go so we felt this was the perfect wedding venue for us! The ceremony and reception took place in the mansions house which is a gorgeous building with windows all around and chandeliers hanging from the ceilings. If you are looking for one huge open room this will not be for you, as the area is split into three large hallways; but there is a ton of room, I loved it personally. We chose two animals to come for cocktail hour, the penguin and the skunk; the zoo keepers are so educational and kept the guests entertained. This venue is also so much more affordable then others in the area. You do have to use a caterer from their list, but there are plenty of options at different price points, we went with Hunt Valley Catering. Jackie and Jane were so helpful with the process. Jackie helped organize the wedding day and set up some of my small details. She also took us around the zoo in a gold cart for photos, I can’t wait to see them all! Our wedding day turned out 10x better than I ever expected it to, I couldn’t be happier and I give most of that credit to our beautiful venue, the Zoo!

    Sent on 12/30/2018
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 8
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 9
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 10
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 11
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 12
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 13
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 14
  • Carrie

    Carrie · Married on 11/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A fantastic unique and relaxing venue

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore was an absolute dream to work with. There are so many factors that made the zoo the perfect place to have our wedding ceremony and reception.

    Zoo Staff: Our primary contact at the Zoo was Jackie. She answered every possible question and predicted all of our needs. The zoo team has managed so many weddings that they know exactly what they are doing, but they made us feel so special at the same time.

    Unique Extras: Of course the animal ambassadors are an incredible feature that guests can't stop talking about, but the zoo also allows you to take photos throughout the zoo grounds either before your ceremony or during cocktail hour. So many special benefits.

    The Value: The mansion house is so beautiful that you can save on decorations. The staff are so thorough that we didn't need a wedding planner. It was worth every penny.

    Sent on 12/29/2018
  • Christina

    Christina Elder · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful + Unique Wedding Venue

    We loved having our wedding here! Brittney and her staff were professional and quick to respond to emails and questions and made the day go so smoothly. We had animal ambassadors and they were an absolute hit during the cocktail hour. Winnie the penguin stole the show. The Mansion House is a stunning property that guests loved and never knew existed!

    Sent on 11/27/2018
  • M

    Michelle Yingling · Married on 10/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Penguins Mate For Life

    Who knew penguins mated for life? Not us! How more appropriate then celebrating our 'special day' at The Maryland Zoo! We needed something different then your ordinary wedding. And, we got it and so much more. We live in Maine. Booked this venue site unseen based off of comments from others. We were completely satisfied from the start to finish. Jacki and her crew went over and beyond our expectations. 150 of our guest witness our ceremony on a gorgeous day on the Lake Shore Pavilion. Cocktail hour and reception were held in the stunning Mansion House. The zoo provided us with 'Peaches' our penguin ambassador during cocktail hour. She was a huge hit! Plenty of room to bust a move on the dance floor! Tons of photo opportunities inside the zoo area, which made for amazing pictures. Not one hiccup thanks to Jacki's outstanding attention to detail. Our guest said, "best wedding ever"! We can't wait to re-new our vows in 5 years with 'Peaches' at The Maryland Zoo! We HIGHLY recommend for an experience of a life time.

    Sent on 12/29/2018
  • Nicole

    Nicole · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Venue!!

    Getting married at the Maryland Zoo was the best decision we made! Jackie, our point of contact, was amazing! She was very quick to answer any of my many emails and on the day of, she was just amazing! She helped my day run so smoothly and everything was just perfect! The price point is very reasonable and my pictures came out amazing due to the scenery around the zoo and the animal ambassadors. I would do it all over again at the Maryland Zoo any day!!!

    Sent on 10/18/2018
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 15
  • B

    Brad · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing venue, amazing animals, amazing people!

    We held our wedding and reception at the Maryland Zoo last month and it was amazing! The staff were beyond exceptional and super helpful throughout our entire planning process and the day of. Britney, our coordinator, was extremely helpful in making sure everything went off without a hitch and was on point for contacting our other vendors to make sure things were in place for our big day.

    The venue itself is amazing as well. The grounds are incredibly beautiful and spacious, yet you're in the heart of Baltimore, so no long drives back to civilization. And yes, you can have animals at your reception if you book here. We had a penguin, a tortoise and a screech owl attend our cocktail hour, and it was the coolest! Our guests loved it, and my wife and I were given time alone with each animal so we could get to meet them and take photos. It ruled.

    I'll also rave about how affordable this place was. Seriously, compared to a lot of the other venues we looked at, for the price we paid, we felt like it was an incredible steal.

    Hands down, this was probably one of the best choices we made for our wedding day. I highly recomend this venue!

    Sent on 10/18/2018
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 16
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 08/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with the Maryland Zoo! They were amazingly accommodating and helpful. They made the wedding reception of our dreams. They were so friendly and made great suggestions. They regularly checked in to make sure we had matching expectations. Thank you Maryland Zoo for hosting a fabulous wedding reception! We had so much fun taking pictures with the African Penguin and Giant Flemish Rabbit on our wedding day. It was a magical experience to pet them.

    Sent on 08/31/2018
  • C

    Celia · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding at the zoo was so much fun! We were initially bummed to have intense rain on our wedding day (so we had our wedding in the Mansion House instead of at the Lakeshore Pavilion), but it was otherwise pretty perfect. Having our wedding indoors was still really lovely - the windows let in a ton of light and it's beautifully decorated. Our zoo wedding coordinator was Brittney, who was fantastic - she was super kind, flexible, and on top of everything, exactly the kind of person you want to help you out on a crazy day. We had a penguin and an eastern screech owl as our "animal ambassadors" and they were great! We felt like the zoo was the perfect place for our wedding - beautiful, unique, and really fun. Thanks so much!

    Sent on 06/20/2018
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 17
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 18
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 19
  • M

    Mary · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding day at the Zoo was even better than I could have imagined. Part of the reason we selected the Zoo was because of the outdoor ceremony location - beside the lake, surrounded by big, beautiful trees. BUT, unfortunately Mother Nature had other plans and we had to move the ceremony inside. Our inside ceremony was gorgeous despite the rain (and probably worked out better for my older relatives). Jackie (our coordinator from the Zoo) managed everything beautifully and went above and beyond to make sure our guests had a great experience. Additionally, the photography opportunities at the Zoo are unmatched by any other venue in the area. They have so many unique locations that provide amazing backdrops for photos. Finally, the penguin (Peach) was a HUGE hit at our wedding. Our guests were loving it and taking selfies and photos with her - it was definitely a fun added bonus! I highly recommend the Zoo - their staff, location, and experience will make your wedding unforgettable.

    Sent on 06/12/2018
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 20
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 21
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 22
  • C

    Cat · Married on 04/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely amazing. The Zoo was everything we wanted in a venue. The staff was spectacular and they had fantastic relationships with our other vendors so we were really able to enjoy our wedding and reception. They made it so easy flip our ceremony site into the sit-down dinner.
    And absolutely the best value for money in Baltimore.

    Sent on 06/11/2018
  • A

    Allison · Married on 03/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't rave enough about our Elopement package wedding at the Zoo! We had such a delightful time! Everyone at the zoo was so wonderful, I felt so taken care of so that I could truly enjoy my day. It was low key but classy, and Tetra the penguin was a serious star. Everything came together perfectly and we couldn't have been happier with our wedding day! I would definitely recommend weddings at the zoo to everyone!

    Sent on 08/07/2018
  • Chris

    Chris · Married on 11/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had our wedding at the mansion house at the Maryland Zoo in Baltimore and I cannot express how absolutely perfect everything was! From the very first contact, Jane and Jackie were extremely helpful and were there to answer any questions we had. Seeing as how this was our first (and only hopefully) wedding, we weren't sure of how everything works, but they guided us the entire time and I really didn't have to stress about anything! They were there at all times and very attentive to make sure that everything went super smoothly. On top of that, they are the nicest people you will ever get to work with!!! Even if it's not a wedding, I am hoping to get to work with them again because I know that for any event I may have in the future they are always going to make it special!

    Sent on 11/21/2017
  • L

    lauren · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful and unique venue!!! Everyone was so surprised and excited for the owl and the penguin. We even got pictures at the carousel I can't wait to see them :) staff was amazing especially Jackie and all of the zoo employees seemed very happy to be working there!

    Sent on 11/14/2017
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 23
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 24
  • A

    Anthony · Married on 10/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore exceeded all of our expectations and more. The venue was perfect and the staff was unbelievably kind and very attentive. Jackie was our event coordinator and she was amazing. We were in contact with her and the zoo a little over a year before our wedding. At that point, we weren't really sure what we wanted for our wedding. That didn't matter though because they were amazing and gave us different suggestions on various vendors that we could use. We never felt like things were getting out of control because Jackie and her staff always seemed to be on top of things. We planned to have an outdoor wedding, but on our wedding day it wound up being cold and rainy. They were able to switch everything around to bring us inside without adding any extra stress to us. Although we intended to have an outdoor wedding, the setup Jackie and her staff made was beautiful. Our wedding went off without a hitch and everyone had an amazing time. Our family and friends all talked about how nice and helpful the staff was. Jackie worked extremely well with each and everyone of our vendors. They were able to communicate and get everything done without adding a burden on us. When we were choosing our decorations they gave us plenty of suggestions and were very flexible and accommodating. This was the perfect venue, with a beautiful view, and great staff. I would suggest the Maryland Zoo as a venue to anyone that is thinking about getting married in Baltimore. Plus they brought out a penguin for the wedding! It doesn't get any better than that.

    Sent on 01/28/2018
  • M

    Marianna · Married on 09/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception at the MD Zoo on 9/29/2017 and couldn't be more pleased with the service and attention we received. From the beginning, Jackie was extremely responsive, kind, and professional. The Mansion House is truly a hidden gem - very reasonably priced, historical, and elegant. The penguins were a HUGE hit with our guests. I literally cannot say enough good things about our experience with the MD Zoo. It was the best night of our lives.

    Sent on 10/10/2017
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our September wedding reception at the Mansion House at the Maryland Zoo. We fell in love with the venue and every member of the staff was nice, helpful, and responsive. We had last minute questions and requests that were met with ease and a smile. Our guests loved the penguin we had our reception. People are still talking about it! I would highly recommend the Mansion House for your wedding or event.

    Sent on 11/16/2017
  • K

    Karen · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We highly recommend the Mansion House at the Maryland Zoo for a beautiful, elegant wedding. The staff at the Mansion House were top-notch and made sure that our wedding was an absolutely lovely event. We worked mostly with Jackie R, but initially met with Jane S. These two women did an outstanding job of ensuring that we had all of the necessary information whenever we had a question. Jackie was there for the wedding and made sure that the bridesmaids and the bride got to where we needed to be when it was time for the ceremony. We chose two animal ambassadors, and they were a real treat to have at the cocktail reception. We looked at a number of venues, and since the money spent went to the animals, we felt that it was worth every penny. Our wedding was lovely and the zoo is an awesome venue for a wedding!!

    Sent on 09/03/2017
  • M

    Megan · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    More then I could have even imagined.

    Sent on 11/26/2017
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect venue! Everybody was so easy to work with and very responsive to all of my questions! The animal ambassador was incredible and people are still talking about it months later! The Lakeside Pavilion was beautiful for the ceremony and the Mansion House was incredible for the reception!

    Sent on 12/03/2017
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 25
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 26
    The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore 27
  • M

    Megan · Married on 06/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A hidden gem for wedding venues! Jane is the best and she really accommodated our busy schedule. Can't wait to get married here in June!

    Sent on 02/16/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review