The Marcum Hotel & Conference Center at Miami University Reviews

23 | Oxford, OH
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for The Marcum Hotel & Conference Center at Miami University

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

23
Order by:
  • L

    Laura · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As Miami Mergers our wedding day in Oxford was perfect from start to finish. Of course, this perfect day was months in the making thanks to the fantastic crew at Carillon Catering, most notably Neila Hanges. We live in Nashville, Tennessee, so Neila helped us through every aspect of the event planning process from assisting us with floor diagrams, providing us with vendor recommendations, and even whipping together a phenomenal Miami Mergers rehearsal dinner cake at the last minute.

    Our wedding ceremony took place at Kumler Chapel, and our guests had nothing but positive compliments. The chapel was beautiful, and the newly installed air conditioning was a huge plus! We did not decorate the chapel in any capacity, and I think it looked absolutely lovely. The stained glass, ornate woodwork and arched ceilings looked lovely as is -- our photographs reflect that.

    Following the ceremony, we hosted a cocktail hour and reception at the Armstrong Student Center. I cannot compliment the event staff enough. Unlike other venues we looked at, Miami was so transparent about charges and mysterious fees. The event staff set up all of our rented tables and wedding decorations at no charge. They coordinated with our other vendors including the florist, DJ, and chair rental company. What can I say about the Armstrong Student Center that hasn't been said? It was absolutely beautiful and again, needed minimal decorations. Food was delicious, and the prices were extremely competitive with other venues. Compared to anywhere else in Oxford, ASC was an absolute steal and by far the best space!

    We had the misfortune of having an MIA DJ (Great Day Productions - don't use). Luckily, the Armstrong Student Center staff was quick on their feet to help us with a Plan B.

    My only complaint was the lighting situation. It seemed as though the only settings were extremely bright lights, stadium lighting, or no lights. Hopefully that's being worked out!

    Sent on 10/05/2015
  • L

    Lynsey · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    While Kumler Chapel is difficult to book in the summer (and the process is a bit complicated!), Jane is a breeze to work with and the chapel is beautiful and affordable. A must-have for Miami Mergers!

    Sent on 06/04/2013
  • C

    C · Married on 04/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kumler was a beautiful site for our wedding ceremony and convenient for our guests! It provided a great backdrop for pictures and added to the overall elegance of our big day. You pretty much have to book 12 months in advance to get your desired date, but working with Jane at Miami University to book the chapel and coordinate the event was a breeze and helped get our wedding planning process off to a great start.

    Sent on 05/03/2013
  • Jasmine

    Jasmine · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jane was wonderful to work with. I do suggest to future brides to ask the following question: 1. Will parking for our guests be accommodated for our rehearsal on Friday evening? I completely forgot how literally every street on campus requires a parking permit. Luckily we found a parking attendant and let him know that we were there for a wedding rehearsal and to please not ticket us lol The Sesquicentennial Chapel is absolutely gorgeous. Guests kept saying how "intimate" the ceremony felt, and I credit a part of that to this chapel. It really was gorgeous. I do wish Jane would have been able to pop up at the rehearsal or even the ceremony, but that's largely because I wanted to thank her for everything in person :)

    Sent on 10/01/2012
  • R

    Ryan · Married on 06/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We didn't use the Marcum Conference Center, but we did use the Sesquicentennial Chapel to get married in. The process was easy, and we had plenty of time for rehearsal, and it was conveniently air conditioned. We had about 160 people attending, and with that number, the pews looked perfectly full and everyone had a seat.

    Sent on 06/28/2011
  • lyndz2002

    Lyndsay · Married on 03/20/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jane and the other staff there were AMAZING to work with. I received so many compliments from guests on how amazing everything was from the food to the people to the room! They made everything so easy!

    Sent on 04/29/2010
  • A

    Sveta · Married on 07/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Marcum Conference Center is a very beautiful facility inside and out. The reception rooms are very elegant with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment, and the outside grounds and gardens are stunning with beautiful scenic backdrops for pictures. The staff is very professional and have many resources they can utilize to accommodate your needs. My wife and I would like to thank Ms. Jane Gaitskill for all her help in making our wedding and reception a very memorable and special day. She is very organized, professional, and will make nearly anything you desire come true. The Kumler Chapel is considered one of the most beautiful places you will ever see. It sits in a picturesque historic part of the Miami University campus and has an outstanding newly restored pipe organ that will give your wedding a step above all your expectations. Everything that is needed to make your wedding tasteful and memorable is at one place.

    Sent on 05/09/2010
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 06/13/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was wonderful- the only thing was that we had a little trouble with the AV but your guys figured it out for us. The dinner was delicious and the service was superb. We appreciated the fact that you gave us a bigger room when it opened up. Thanks again

    Sent on 04/29/2010
  • B

    M · Married on 06/06/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall, we had a wonderful experience with Miami University and the Marcum Center. We worked with Jane, and she was great to work with. She was very helpful in organizing everything - she met with us frequently and was flexible in terms of when to meet. She did a great job of communicating with us and was very prompt in responding to any of our questions. She was amazingly helpful and had wonderful ideas.

    We used the Sesquicentennial Chapel. It was very clean. We asked that they tune the piano prior to our ceremony and they took care of it. It was a beautiful setting for our pictures.

    The reception was great. We had a cocktail hour prior to dinner, and the only hiccup all night was that we were short a bartender, which led to a long line at the bar. However, they were quick to get a second person in there, and they refunded us the cost of that bartender for the entire night.

    The food was amazing - we had quite a few people comment that it was the best wedding food they ever had. Everything went very smoothly - the transitions were easy, there were no long gaps between courses, and they did a great job of keeping wine glasses full. We had an amazing reception thanks to the great job of the staff at Marcum!

    Sent on 04/13/2010
  • T

    Teressa · Married on 05/23/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held my son and daughter-in-law's wedding rehearsal dinner at Marcum Center. It was AMAZING! I received so many compliments! The food, service and facility were all awesome!!! The wedding reception was also AMAZING! Can't say anything negative!!!

    Sent on 05/21/2010
  • G

    Ginny · Married on 08/25/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jane Gaitskill at Marcum was incredibly helpful in thinking of items I had not. This was a second wedding for both my spouse and me requiring some variations of the traditional wedding. She was also instrumental in providing accomodations for one of our wheel-chair handicapped guests.

    Sent on 04/13/2010
  • C

    Christina · Married on 04/22/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Place for a wedding!

    Sent on 09/28/2008
  • L

    Lynette · Married on 09/15/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was at Kumler Chapel September 29, 2012, it was SO GORGEOUS and made this Bride's fairytale wedding dreams come true. Our pictures were amazing with this beautiful stone chapel in the background! Couldn't have had a better place to say "I DO"!

    Sent on 05/06/2013
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/27/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall, we had a wonderful experience with Miami University and the Marcum Center. We worked with Jane, and she was great to work with. She was very helpful in organizing everything - she met with us frequently and was flexible in terms of when to meet. She did a great job of communicating with us and was very prompt in responding to any of our questions.

    We used the Sesquicentennial Chapel. It was very clean. We asked that they tune the piano prior to our ceremony and they took care of it. It was a beautiful setting for our pictures.

    The reception was great. We had a cocktail hour prior to dinner, and the only hiccup all night was that we were short a bartender, which led to a long line at the bar. However, they were quick to get a second person in there (I didn't even notice the issue until I was told about it later), and they refunded us the cost of that bartender for the entire night.

    The food was amazing - we had quite a few people comment that it was the best wedding food they ever had. Everything went very smoothly - the transitions were easy, there were no long gaps between courses, and they did a great job of keeping wine glasses full. We had an amazing reception thanks to the great job of the staff at Marcum!

    Sent on 07/14/2009
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/04/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were great, very helpful and informative!

    Sent on 04/29/2010
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 10/19/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was fabulous!

    Sent on 05/01/2010
  • smeelay

    Michelle · Married on 07/12/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at Marcum Conference Center was absolutely amazing. They made sure everything went smoothly and that everyone had a great time. We had soooooo many compliments on the food, the beauty of the campus and the building. Everything at Marcum was absolutely perfect.

    Sent on 07/14/2008
  • J

    Julie · Married on 08/23/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was married at Sesquicentennial Chapel. The newly renovated chapel was lovely. The booking process was simple.

    Sent on 05/03/2010
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 07/26/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was very happy with how well they worked with me on my wedding. I couldn't have asked for nicer people! The only disadvantage was the bar selections and pricing.

    Sent on 04/29/2010
  • D

    Dawn · Married on 05/01/2004

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I had an amazing experience getting married in the Formal Gardens at Miami University. I would suggest it to anyway. However, beware of the HOT months. It's a perfect venue for late spring, early summer, and early fall.

    Sent on 10/23/2007
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 07/30/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used the Marcum Center as well as the Formal Gardens and the Miami Inn. All three were perfect. They were able to reserve that garden for our ceremony which was wonderful. We were also able to use rooms in both the Inn and the Marcum Center for the wedding party to get ready in.

    Sent on 08/03/2011
  • S

    Steph · Married on 05/24/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Marcum staff was really great to work with for our reception. Their hotel room blocks got a little tricky and it seemed like their staff struggled with the system for those reservations but it all ended up working out in the end. All the staff is very friendly and incredibly helpful. The weekend of the wedding the coordinator would meet with us in our personal hotel rooms so we wouldn't have to run around the hotel! They walked through everything with us as many times as we wanted and went out of their way to make all of our guests feel welcome. Dinner service was a little slow as they were low on available servers as it was a holiday weekend but the food was fabulous and everything went off without a hitch! Although it's one of the smaller venues on campus every event I've been to there (I attend alumni events held there) has always been top notch and far exceeds some of the other available options in town.
    As an out of town bride they made things as easy as possible for my family and I by requiring minimal in person meetings prior to the wedding.
    They set up a perfect spot for my bridesmaids and I to get ready that morning as well as let us in to each hotel room to provide welcome bags for our guests.
    I highly recommend the Marcum and their fabulous staff!

    Sent on 10/13/2014
  • A

    Alicia · Married on 10/24/2009

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    My experience working with Jane and the Marcum Conference Center was extremely positive. I wasn't sure what to expect with having dinner and dancing in two separate rooms, but it worked out very well and I have no complaints on having to change rooms. Jane answered all of my many many questions thoroughly and timely. We did not do a tasting, but the two meals we ended up picking from the menu were amazing. The staff that helped the day of made sure everything went smoothly and I didn't have to worry about a thing. The only thing I would have found to be more helpful would to have had an FAQ in the planning process and the decor of the rooms might be a draw back for some brides since the decorations/wallpaper/carpet are not the most contemporary. I would recommend this facility to any bride since the staff helped to make my reception a huge success.

    Sent on 04/13/2010