The Makeup Dolls - Airbrush Makeup & Hair Artistry Reviews

15 | San Mateo, CA
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for The Makeup Dolls - Airbrush Makeup & Hair Artistry

Recommended by 100%

15
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • C

    Cristina Pruett · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Whole heartedly reccomend The Makeup Dolls!

    How you look (and most importantly how you feel!!) is such a huge part of a wedding day! Choosing a hair/makeup stylist that made me feel confident, natural, and stress-free was critical for me and I am so so glad I found Violet (The Makeup Dolls!). From our trial to the morning of my wedding, Violet was so easy to work with and took into account my vision and made it a reality. I can't thank The Makeup Dolls enough and highly recommend them for events/weddings! Xo

  • User6663755 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Violet is amazing! She did the bridal make-up, as well as make-up for the bridesmaids; she brought a friend to do hair for the bridesmaids. She makes a schedule, for which she stays on time, and encourages everyone to have fun the whole way. She's flexible, laid-back, and super fun to work with, and comes 100% prepared for wedding day (having very closely studied trial photos)! Highly recommend her

  • User2915872 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Makeup Dolls (sisters Violet and Indiana, friend Lisa) were truly The Dream Team for our wedding in August 2013. Aside from being uber talented, they carefully listen to your thoughts / ideas and make you look your absolute best. The Makeup Dolls did hair and makeup for a total of 10 people (full bridal party plus the Moms!) on our wedding day and worked seamlessly to get everyone ready on time for the ceremony. They also did hair and makeup for me for my engagement party and engagement photos---I could NOT be happier with how it turned out every time. To quote one of my bridesmaids: "I think I look better for YOUR wedding than I did for MY wedding!" These ladies are simply the best!

  • J

    Jen · Married on 08/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Violet did my hair and makeup for my destination wedding last August and I was sooo pleased with the results! I'm from NYC and needed to find a makeup and hair stylist for our wedding in Sonoma, CA and was a bit worried about finding someone that would be able to work with my Asian eyes. She listened carefully to what my concerns were and completely put me at ease during our trial!

    I had looked into about a dozen artists and I found that a lot were either severely expensive or seemed like they did outdated makeup and hair styles. Out of all of them, Makeup Dolls seemed to be the most contemporary artists that also accommodated my budget. The only complaint that I would have is that there was a minimum amount that needed to be spent, which would have been fine since I wanted to offer 3 others to get their makeup done, but because there was only 1 artist, no one wanted to get ready 5 hours before the event. In any case, it all worked out!

    Overall, Violet was very professional, so patient with all of my concerns and even helped calm me down the day of my wedding when I had a dress catastrophe! I would highly recommend them!

  • J

    Jaimee · Married on 11/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found The Makeup Dolls the good ole fashioned way...I googled. And fell in love with the work displayed on their website. I was actually lucky enough to first refer them to a friend and see the process for her wedding, which just made me that much more excited for my own day and the amazing services provided my Indiana and Violet. They were professional, amazing hair and makeup artists that were so much FUN to have around while getting ready! I loved them so much in fact I found an excuse to use them for maternity pictures I recently did! I cannot say enough good things about The Makeup dolls and cannot wait to find more fun excuses to use them again!

  • L

    Liz · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Makeup Dolls were fantastic. Everyone's hair and makeup looked amazing. Some of the girls and moms were worried about not looking like themselves, but everyone came out looking like the most beautiful version of herself. They also made getting ready for the wedding fun and relaxing!

  • Gina

    Gina · Married on 08/13/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Makeup Dolls are fantastic! Violet came to my house for my wedding last month and did makeup for myself, 4 of my bridesmaids, my mom, and my aunt, as well as my hair, my moms hair, and 2 of my bridesmaids hair. Everyone looked AMAZING and the looks stayed well through the day/night. She kept the mood stress free on what could have been an extremely hectic and stressful morning and even offered fun tips and tricks for hair and makeup. Our pictures came out beautiful, and I owe a lot of that to Violets amazing job!

    Both Indiana and Violet are very sweet and are truly professionals. Indiana was ALWAYS prompt in responding to emails and questions! I highly recommend them to anybody who wants to look flawless on their wedding day :) Thanks Ladies!!

  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 10/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Make-up dolls are amazing!!! They did an absolutely fabulous job on me, my bridesmaids, my mother in law and even my make-up phobic Mother :) The make-up dolls are made up of Indiana and Violet, 2 sisters. Beyond the great job they do, they are so much fun and so easy to talk to. It made getting ready that much fun because it was like having 2 more girlfriends around for the whole process.

    I would HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommend them...they were one of the best decisions we made for the day :)

  • leah

    leah · Married on 06/26/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had Makeup Dolls do my makeup for my engagement shoot, rehearsal dinner, and wedding. They were awesome! Pictures turned out great and the Makeup Dolls themselves were so friendly. I will definitely be calling them again the next time I have a big event to go to.

  • J

    Jacqueline · Married on 10/03/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gosh, saying that the Makeup Dolls are GREAT just doesn't seem to be enough! I'm so lucky I found Violet at the Makeup Dolls. She is absolutely a doll herself! She made me look and feel like a million bucks - 3 times! I used Violet for my boudoir photo shoot, engagement photo shoot and of course my wedding day. When she did my hair and makeup for the 3 occasions, I fell in love with each look - they were different from one another, but all classy, sexy and natural. On the "big day" she not only did my hair and makeup but also my 5 bridesmaids. They all had a different hair style and makeup to fit their personality and individual looks. Violet is such a sweetheart and really listens to what you want and also gives great advice and suggestions. Hands down, Violet is absolutely the BEST at her craft and I would recommend her in a heartbeat.

  • M

    Macie · Married on 09/19/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Violet is incredibly talented and passionate about her work!! She did an amazing job on my wedding day!! Violet has such a sweet personality which was incredibly comforting especially with wedding day nerves! I felt amazing and I am so thankful she was a part of my day!! I cannot thank you enough for making my bridesmaids and I look so beautiful!!

  • M

    Marlene · Married on 09/12/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Indiana did my make-up for my wedding last Saturday.
    She is very professional and efficient. She is calm and didn't stressed me at all that day. She arrived before time, she was very organized. She listened to what I was expecting regarding my make-up and made some wise suggestions. It looked perfect and very natural in the same time.
    I highly recommend her.
    Marlene

  • C

    Crystal · Married on 08/29/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Violet is incredible!!! I've had not-so-good results with other makeup artists, but she has "the touch" to make me look and feel beautiful!! I LOVED my makeup!!! She's very detail-oriented and doesn't skip or rush through anything.. Violet is also very pleasant to work with and a true professional. I would highly recommend her to any future bride!!!
    Violet YOU ARE THE BEST you made me look AMAZING



    Crystal Verduzco

  • J

    Jeri · Married on 07/04/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want to look absolutely stunning on your special day...look no further Violet is your gal! Violet did both my hair and makeup for my July 4th nuptials. She created a ceremony hair & makeup look as well as a reception hair & makeup look. I changed dresses so I wanted an overall change for my entire look. I expressed my vision (old hollywood glam) to her and she completely understood what I wanted.

    Violet delivered outstanding service to not only me but my bridesmaids also. I have never felt as beautiful as I did on my wedding day. My hubby, friends & family were absolutely blown away. I got so many compliments from nearly every single guest abut how perfect my hair & makeup were. I had people tell me that I looked like a movie star on the red carpet....that was such an uplifiting thing to hear and it made me feel so beautiful. I actually cried when I saw myself in the mirror for the first time...it was incredible.

    I really cannot say enough about how amazing Violet is! Not only did she deliver EXCELLENT beauty services she is very personable and punctual also. There is just no way you can go wrong with adding The Makeup Dolls to your team for your next big event.

    I will be recommending The Makeup Dolls to everyone I possibly can. I am 100% satisfied with their performance.

  • K

    Karen · Married on 12/01/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Makeup Dolls are the BEST!

    Indiana did the makeup for my wedding and I loved it. She was relaxed, professional, and eager to make each of us girls comfortable even though we were not accustomed to wearing much makeup. Indiana took the time to really listen to what each of us liked and managed to translate our descriptions into beautiful looks that enhanced our features. I loved the lashes she applied and I felt beautiful and not overly made up.

    And not only did I love our makeup, but we had so much fun with her as well. I have been in several bridal parties where the makeup artist and hair stylist were snotty or unpleasant- not these girls!

    I highly recommend The Makeup Dolls for the quality and professionalism of their services, and I wish I had an excuse to do it again!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review