Skip to main content
Weddings

The Liberty Hotel Reviews

The Liberty Hotel View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.8 out of 5 rating
4.8 out of 5 rating
44 Reviews
96% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

44
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
Weddingwire
4.8/5 44 reviews
Google
4.4/5 3140 reviews
  • J
    Jake V. Sent on 11/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect venue.

    The liberty was quite literally, the perfect venue. The catering manager, Ashley Beck, made everything so easy from start to finish, and is truly a joy to work with. The actual venue speaks for itself - it's incredible. The food was far and away the best food we've ever had at a wedding (it's truly high end restaurant quality), and the staff are top notch.
  • Nicole
    Nicole C. Sent on 11/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An awesome venue for diverse portraits

    I'm a Boston wedding photographer, and having photographed at the Liberty several times, I wanted to share some of the reasons why I love photographing there.

    I can get a diversity of photographs so quickly because there are so many beautiful spaces within close reach. The courtyard has this cool green oasis vibe, and when the sun sets, there's a beautiful glow. Just over the bridge is the Charles River, and I love the docks and the Esplanade views. Even the bridge itself is gorgeous! The brick inside of the building is remarkable - and so Boston. Then, I can get a little edgy with portraits by the stone work around the corner from the hotel as well as inside of the hotel with the jail cell bars.

    I've always had an amazing time photographing here, and I wanted to thank the venue staff for always being so dang organized, kind, and meticulous. :)
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Susan K. Sent on 09/22/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional…in every way!

    I cannot adequately express how thrilled we were with our entire experience at The Liberty! From my very first email exchange with Ashley Beck, we knew we were in good hands! Ashley was so kind and patient, answering our questions and showing flexibility, organization and creativity at every turn! She was a calming presence on the day of my daughter’s wedding, and implemented our plans to perfection! The entire team—those setting up, serving, breaking down—executed the event seamlessly, and—best of all—the food was DELICIOUS! What a wonderful venue and experience!
  • Gena
    Gena W. Sent on 01/29/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Most amazing venue ever

    This place was absolutely perfect. I can’t describe how amazing it was. Everyone was amazing and everyone cared so much. It was amazing. I wish I could do it all over.
  • K
    Kylie M. Sent on 01/14/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Fabulous!

    We got married just after Christmas, so we got to make use of the stunning upside down Christmas trees in the Liberty's lobby, but this venue is stunning in every season! The food and service were second-to-none and the hotel staff was beyond lovely. From initial planning meetings to having our name up in lights on the big day, the team there really took care of every detail. Additionally, we got married in the ballroom and the turn over from ceremony to reception was quick, efficient, and beautiful! Not to mention the cocktail hour on the top floor rotunda! The layout is unique, but honestly so good for socializing with guests - the same can be said for the 4th floor brunch we held the next day! We were so thrilled with everything, but most especially with Ashley Beck!! She's a true rockstar and our day would not have been the same without her!
  • P
    Phyllis Sent on 09/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    This Boston venue is a gem!

    We held a wedding reception in the courtyard. It is such a unique and beautiful setting. Ideal for a summer evening. The venue looked great, the food was delicious, and everything exceeded our expectations! Every staff person at the hotel was so helpful and so accommodating. The planning went off without a hitch. From the moment we arrived until we checked out the next day after a fabulous breakfast for our hotel guests, the level of service was outstanding.

    The Liberty Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much for this exceptional review! We have shared your kind words with our team, and appreciate this exemplary feedback regarding our unique venue and friendly staff - thank you again and for choosing The Liberty for your special day!
  • R
    Rebecca L. Sent on 08/14/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue!

    We had an absolutely amazing experience at the Liberty Hotel! Christina was a wonderful coordinator and excellent communicator! The chef observed quietly from the corner as the guests loved their meals! My husband loved this as he is a chef himself! We also held our ceremony in the courtyard which was also seamless! The one thing that could be tricky was making payments but the finance department was also great to work with! Everything was absolutely perfect and could not have asked for a better overall experience!

    The Liberty Hotel's reply:

    Thank you for this excellent review! We appreciate the complimentary remarks regarding your wedding experience at The Liberty. To hear that every detail was exceptional is the utmost compliment, and we will share this feedback with our team. Thank you again!
  • Carly
    Carly R. Sent on 05/22/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Venue

    We had our wedding at the Liberty Hotel on a Friday in May 2019 and simply put, it was the best day thanks to Bridget and the Liberty staff. We had our ceremony and reception in the ballroom and cocktail hour on the 5th floor rotunda.

    The venue itself is beautiful and the atmosphere of the hotel contributed to the energy of our wedding and allowed us to keep the party going even after the reception ended - the lobby bar area serves for a great after party location! Our guests loved the history of the hotel, the space and are still commenting on how it made for such a fun and beautiful wedding.

    Bridget was fantastic in the planning process and during the weekend. She held my hand throughout the entire process and was patient with my many questions. On the weekend of the wedding, she flawlessly executed by making sure everything happened exactly as it was supposed to. The rest of the Liberty staff is fantastic as well, accommodating to our guests' needs throughout the entire weekend. The waitstaff during the wedding catered to the needs of our guests, as well as a few dietary restrictions and serious allergies. Our guests had nothing but positive things to say about the food, the staff, and the service.

    Would absolutely recommend the Liberty to anyone looking for a beautiful and FUN wedding at a reasonable price.

    The Liberty Hotel's reply:

    Wow, what an amazing review! To hear that every aspect of your wedding was flawless is the utmost compliment; we will be sure to share this complimentary feedback with our team. Thank you for choosing The Liberty for your wedding.
  • S
    Sharon Sent on 12/23/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Wedding Weekend

    We had a wonderful wedding weekend at the Liberty Hotel! We held our ceremony, reception and post-wedding brunch there. Bridget was patient and accommodating during the planning process. The weekend went smoothly as Bridget, Daniel, Mercy and the rest of the hotel staff were attentive all weekend long. Our guests were wowed as soon as they checked in and saw the hotel's multi-story rotunda, received champagne at check in and then went to their modern rooms with beautiful views of the city or the Charles River. The only complaint from some of our out of town guests was the $57 charge for overnight valet parking---we did tell them in advance of this price and explained it was normal for this part of the city. We loved the food options that the hotel offered for our event and their sensitivity to our guest's various food allergies and dietary restrictions. Our wedding photos in the rotunda, outdoor courtyard and the surrounding Beacon Hill neighborhood are one of a kind. Thanks for everything!
  • Laura
    Laura B. Sent on 01/14/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Day!

    Would have a wedding over and over and over again at the Liberty. First, because I know it's on couples' minds when they're doing their initial search: we looked at several venues at the Liberty definitely had the most bang for our buck. It was luxury, top notch service, food, and scenery for less than other venues in the heart of Boston cost. Now to experience: our guests absolutely RAVED about how beautiful and fun our wedding was. We even originally planned to have the ceremony outside and moving it inside did not sacrifice its beauty one bit. The photos are absolutely gorgeous and the wedding staff was AMAZING with whom to work. I do not have enough great things to say about Jacob, our event manager. He was so responsive to my 8 MILLION emails during the planning stage and extremely responsive the entire weekend we stayed at the Liberty. He keeps telling me I was totally fine and not to apologize but I just know I was a very high maintenance, intensely scheduled bride and he was so patient, friendly, and on top of things. The catering staff at our wedding was extremely friendly and helpful and the food was SO amazing. Those tacos... don't even get me started. Forget what people say about not eating at your own wedding - I was an absolute happy cow by the end. Our guests have told us, repeatedly, how great the food was too! It also is a HUGE help to have everything in one place. Our whole wedding party and family stayed at the Liberty which made coordinating so much easier. On top of everything, we had a few issues with some customer service with ancillary hotel staff and when I brought that to Jacob's attention after the wedding, I was almost immediately contacted by the Liberty manager who could not have been more gracious in apologizing and doing whatever he could to make sure we felt completely taken care of after our wedding. I have no doubt those experiences were isolated and will not happen again when we stay for our anniversary!
  • S
    Stephanie Sent on 09/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Liberty Hotel is a very special venue to me and my husband. We have celebrated anniversaries, had staycations and even got engaged at the Liberty Hotel. So it was obvious where we were going to have a wedding. We booked the venue in May 2016 for our wedding on 8/18/18. We worked with Bridget Luddy from beginning to end. She was enthusiastic, responsive and helpful throughout the whole process. She became a friend and somewhat a therapist when I was freaking out. Bridget's opinions were very helpful when we had to make decisions. She was like the perfect wedding planner that came along with the venue. During that day, everything was organized and she kept us happy and calm. Daniel and Mercy who are a part of the food/beverage team were very helpful throughout the night as well too. We had an American-British-Chinese wedding, and all the guests from the various cultures enjoyed their whole night. We received multiple compliments on how good the food was from start to finish ex. "everything at the cocktail hour was delicious, meat was cooked perfectly and creme brûlée was amazing." Good thing we do not have to go through this whole process again, but we highly enjoyed working with Bridget and the Liberty.
  • L
    Lisa Sent on 11/24/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing venue! Great Space, Great Food, Great Service, Great Staff!
  • T
    Tom Sent on 06/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Stefanie and Mercy were fantastic! My wife and I had the best wedding we could have imagined. Thanks to both of them and the whole team for an unbelievable experience.

    -Tom
  • S
    S Sent on 06/25/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Liberty Hotel was the setting for our Friday night wedding in April and it was without a doubt everything we wanted and then some. We worked with Bridget to coordinate the planning of our wedding and she was fantastic to work with - extremely detail oriented, responsive to requests and engaged throughout the entire process. From assisting with the selecting location for the ceremony onsite, to coordinating the reception venue, food and beverage, or ensuring that accommodations for out of town guests were top notch, Bridget and her staff went above and beyond on every detail. The catering service was exceptional and the quality of the food can't be topped. Bottom line, if you are looking for a unique, historic venue for your wedding, you can't go wrong choosing the Liberty Hotel.
  • V
    Veronica Sent on 11/27/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Liberty Hotel was the first and only venue I looked into when deciding where to get married. I loved the idea that is use to be the old Charles Street jail and felt that it was a perfectly unique location to have my uniquely perfect wedding! Bridget Luddy worked with and guided me through the entire planning process. She literally was by my side for 18 months with anything I needed, whenever I needed it. She became a built in best friend. The staff was always helpful and almost as excited for my day as I was. Then ensured things ran smoothly and were right there if I needed them. The location couldn't have been more beautiful for my day. (They even had beautiful new carpet put down the week prior.) I could never imagine getting married anywhere else and would recommend this location for anyone looking for a fun, non traditional and historic venue. It is full of glamour and elegance right in the heart of Boston.
  • User2614508 Sent on 05/19/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Bridgette luddy was our planner she was amazing she relieved so much stress! She was so accomidating and helpful. I would definitely recommend the entire staff to anyone
  • User2506557 Sent on 01/15/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely loved our wedding at the Liberty! It was such a unique, chic wedding venue - from the fifth floor cocktail hour to the ballroom with trendy chandeliers. We loved all the great spots to take wedding pictures as well - it makes for some really cool pictures (Ebersol suite, by the windows on the 5th floor, outside by the jail doors)! We had about 115 guests, which fit great in the ballroom. The food was delicious as well - we had so many compliments on how great the food was and what a unique venue it was. It was one of a kind! Our wedding coordinator was able to answer all of our questions along the way, although she was slow at responding at times. Definitely recommend the Liberty for an absolutely gorgeous wedding venue!
  • User2262779 Sent on 08/09/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The prison vibe got the obvious ball and chain jokes now but that those are out of way lets get to the review. The venue is funky, fun, and surprisingly cheap relative to similar venues in the area. The food was awesome and they were flexible in their accommodations. Our wedding hosted 130 people and giving the room the fullness for a great party. We held our reception on the rotunda above the main lobby providing a great and fun environment for mingling. For any couple that is seeking to get married in a modern, different, and trendy space the Liberty is for you.
  • E
    Eric A. Sent on 09/23/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    It was an absolute pleasure working with The Liberty Hotel. Bridget was our banquet coordinator and she did a wonderful job. She worked closely with us over the course of the year and was very accommodating. Bridget was friendly and professional throughout the entire process, especially during the final weeks when details were being finalized and last minute changes were made.

    The hotel staff from top to bottom made us feel like VIP's the entire weekend. We were made to feel as if the hotel was our home for the wedding weekend. All of our guests commented that the service was top notch. The food was excellent and the chef was very accommodating with the dietary restrictions of some of our guests.

    We would highly recommend working with Bridget and The Liberty Hotel. We could not have been more happy with how our wedding weekend turned out.
  • User1751469 Sent on 08/06/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I recently had my morning wedding and lunch reception at the Liberty Hotel and have nothing short of an absolutely fabulous and memorable experience! It’s important to note that to book early- we had our wedding booked out about a year in advance and had the pleasure of working with Erinne from the very start. Many folks remark that the closer the date the more troublesome it gets to work with the venue- but that was totally NOT the case with us. Erinne paced us throughout the year to make sure everything we needed for the wedding was on time and we completed several walk through visits with various vendors and coordination for the day of the event.

    I would also highlight that our wedding was a Persian/Pakistani wedding- Erinne handled all the cultural elements with perfection, she even organized my wedding procession the day of (because she made sure I wrote it out several days before and reviewed with her). I would also remark that we didn't do outside food for the day of the wedding- we met with the in-house chef and he did a culturally appropriate wedding menu specific to our backgrounds and the food was DELICIOUS! Everyone was talking about how it was just a perfect fusion menu- and we were happy that it was reasonably priced for the venue. For appetizers we had Veggie Samosas, Beef Skewers, Arancini Balls and Coconut Fried Shrimp in a Sweet Chili Sauce. For the Lunch Reception menu we had Harissa Spiced Lamb (cooked really well- Lamb is difficult to master), Organic Chicken with Cous Cous, Black Lentils with Veggies, Dolma (grape leaves stuffed with rice), Saffron Rice, Naan and Salad. We had folks asking to take the food home- and both Pakistani and Persian wedding guests are extremely picky about the food and wedding spread.

    Last but not least- my side of the family came in from all over the world and really enjoyed staying at the venue and also access to several restaurants on-site and the great location!
  • User1495022 Sent on 01/04/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What an amazing venue. We could not be happier with the amazing service, outstanding food, and fabulous time we had at our wedding. Our wedding coordinator, Erinne, made the process so easy and stress free!! So accommodating to our needs throughout the planning and during the wedding. We highly recommend the Liberty Hotel to anyone looking for a classy wedding!! We are still receiving compliments about the food and venue. What the most incredible night we will never forget! Thank you everyone at the Liberty!
  • S
    Stacy Sent on 10/22/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I'm struggling to put into words just how amazing and perfect our experience with the Liberty Hotel and specifically our coordinator Erinne Bundrock was. The venue, set up, food, and service far exceeded my expectations, and was well worth the money spent. Errinne is a seasoned professional, whos steady, knowledgeable hand in executing events will calm the nerves of any bride. She is extremely detail oriented, responsive, and confident. There is literally NO VENUE in Boston that can offer the "wow" factor that our guests experienced when they walked through the front doors into that beautiful rotunda, when they walked outside into the well manicured yard, and when they swung open the doors to the dimly lit, sexy, intimate ballroom. The food was bar none in presentation AND in flavor, the staff was pristine and floated through the dining room with grace and smiles. I would suggest this venue to any bride with a decent budget, who wants to have a stress free planning experience, and an evening that your guests will think you must have spent 3x the money on. Outstanding!
  • B
    Brittany Sent on 05/26/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Brides-to-be:
    We hosted our wedding reception at The Liberty Hotel. And though nothing goes entirely perfect on THE day, I can say it was of no fault of this vendor.
    We worked closely with Erinne Bundrock, the day-of-wedding coordinator, for eighteen months. Despite her relentless traveling demands and many other professional engagements, Erinne remained patient, present, professional, communicative, but (most importantly) pleasant. She is incredibly thorough and does not disappoint.
    Other important points of praise:
    The food presentation and quality was terrific. We had good but brief experiences with other hotel representatives: Mercy Budka, Brittany. The rooms, the hotel and the overall service is nonpareil.

    Brittany
  • C
    Courtney Sent on 10/08/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I was so beyond impressed with the Liberty Hotel. I'm not one for a typical wedding and the Liberty made my dreams come true to have a unique and fun party for a wedding. We had our ceremony in the yard and it was absolutely beautiful, and we had our reception on the 5th floor balcony with our dance floor in the Esplanade room. People loved how unique the hotel was and I loved the coziness of the dance floor.

    Our wedding coordinator began as Catherine, who was great but ended up leaving, and ended with Erinne who was so great to work with. She moved right in and took care of everything perfectly! I was so pleased with how everyone handled us and our unusual requests (dog for ring bearer!) I would do it all over again with the Liberty if I could!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message