Skip to main content
Weddings

The Landing Reviews

The Landing View more information

Reviews

2.8 out of 5 rating
9 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    2.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    2.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    2.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    2.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    2.8 out of 5 rating
44% Recommended by couples
  • T
    Teresa Sent on 11/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    the BEST venue

    What a shame to see there are actually negative reviews here for this wonderful venue. I had the best experience for my wedding. The barn and the grounds are exquisitely beautiful. Communication with the owner was smooth and easy. She is pleasant and so easy to work with. The workers made sure the grounds were well kept and tidy for the ceremony. They were friendly and gave our guests rides around the area. I had a wonderful experience and I'm so glad we were able to book this venue for a wedding. It was like a fairytale come true. Thank you!!

    The Landing's reply:

    Thank you, Teresa!
    Your wedding was so beautiful and you and your families and guests were so wonderful. Everything about your event, including your amazing planning, went so smoothly. I enjoyed your officiant's ceremony very much.
    It is a true pleasure to work with happy people! Best wishes always, JoJo
  • E
    Emmanuel C. Sent on 12/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Wedding 🎩

    I can't believe there are people who trash talked this beautifull venue. Do not believe what the nay sayers wrote on site. I looked at their review, I personally think they had it out to ruin the day. I don't know who they think they are but nothing can change the way I see our helpful lady Jojo. Very professional and kind.

    Our wedding was perfect. Everything about the barn just called to us, I was a little worried about our guests not finding the place but they did and everything worked out perfectly. Everyone working that day felt more like guests. My wife and I were very happy and pleased with the exceptional help we had that day. All our guests had a great experience 👌Everyone there is super nice and lovely to be around. Just great, nice people.
    Cute little barn 😌
  • P
    Paula P. Sent on 11/22/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful so far!

    We are going to be able to have the wedding of our dreams outdoors with tree stump benches for our guests, overlooking a pond. They offer help during the wedding, valet parking, and a room to stay for the bride and groom the night of the wedding. The barn for the reception is beautiful. It's perfect!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Linsey
    Linsey Sent on 07/19/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I'm so happy we chose The Landing!

    It was everything we asked for, agreed to and paid for. Something worth bringing up is the sound system. There's nothing wrong with it but from what I understand it was installed by someone who did so in an untraditional way Jojo didn't pay for and made it more confusing to use because they didn't leave any instructions or give her any information to help her maintain it for her clients. She's doing this on her own from what I understand and there also isn't always reliable service people to hire in small towns. She knew enough about it to get it up and running for us and my husband took over on the extra things he wanted to include. People usually bring in DJs if they are worried about things like that. My husband can work his way around a sound system and we didn't want to pay for a DJ so he took care of it and we had no issues whatsoever. At any venue, you should clarify if the owner can/will make adjustments to the system for your event or if additional help is required. They aren't actually required to do all of that for you. She was kind and took great care of us. She didn't get to attend the day of because of her daughter's wedding, I believe. But even so, she texted us throughout the day to check on us and the help she hired, who did their jobs. The land around the venue and ceremony area were all taken care of in a timely manner. It looked stunning! We chose to stay the night before in the bridal suite and decorate early so nothing got in the way day of. The venue was very clean and we had no issues setting up. The contract was clear and we were perfectly satisfied with the venue/service. I recommend The Landing for anyone looking for a good price point/relaxed setting. You have more freedom to do what you want here compared to some pricer options in the area. There wasn't anything left out or inappropriate about the service. I'm grateful for the time and effort she dedicated to getting to know us and our needs. The rehearsal dinner and wedding all went smoothly. Thanks, Jojo!

    The Landing's reply:

    Oh, Linsey, I am so grateful you chose The Landing. I still think of you often and so wish I'd been able to attend your wedding. The photo of you laughing after ceremony is one of my most favoritist ever!
    Thank you for this review. Just want to say the recent bride who complained about my not knowing how the stereo works has twisted how it really went down. She was supposed to test it on Friday if going to use it and a guest came up to me at reception and asked to use the stereo. It hadn't been paid for yet (previously discussed) so I was a bit surprised that they were going ahead with it. I looked in closet and the aux cord was not hanging over the stereo so the guest told me she had one in her car and went out to retrieve it. The stereo still sounds gorgeous!
    A month after the wedding, the woman claimed it worked on Friday but I know it isn't true because I would have went to WM and bought another aux cord for Saturday!
    I will never forget your help with the stereo downstairs and all our good convos.
    Hope you are doing great and enjoying Missouri!
    Best wishes always, JoJo
  • A
    Amaya L. Sent on 07/06/2022
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Do not get married here.

    the owner was unprofessional and ruined our wedding day without a care in the world. she also lives in the basement and is extremely intrusive. She did not do any upkeep of the entire venue, she mowed the day of and like an hour before the wedding started she was weedeating by the wedding arbor. My dress was covered in grass and flies. we spent over an hour picking them out. Then, she had no idea how to work her own sound system. She ate our cupcakes before the ceremony even started, she told our photographer how to take our pictures and what SHE expected out of them, she told my bridal party to clean up around outside even though she had told me all morning that there were people coming to clean up, etc etc. This place is a scam. I spent $2000 for no reason, and I bawled on my wedding day because of her.

    The Landing's reply:

    I ask every photographer to photoshop the Exit sign from the dark wall. I also ask every photographer to be aware if someone moves a trash can or places a cooler within site before Grand Entrance. I walk around to make sure they are not seen but I've seen where they have been moved within sight after I move them away and if the photog notices something like that to let me know.
    I did have an issue with the weedeating around the benches that day and I apologize. Staff did not show up on time and I asked one of your guests to help me move a bench and asked for his Venmo so I could give him some money but he said it was no big deal. He was very sweet and helpful to you and me the whole day.
    I did not ask your bridal party to clean up anything -- there was grass in the bubble basket and when I saw a lady fixing it, I mentioned that I had planned on getting that done before ceremony.
    You asked me for some items last minute and I provided them the best I could -- we had several meetings so I was surprised to be asked for these items the day of. As for the sound system, at our last meeting, you mentioned you may want to use it so I said it must be determined and figured out on Friday when you arrive to decorate to avoid any confusion on wedding day!
    I did not walk into your bridal space during your event, so I don't know what intrusive means. I did not and never have eaten a cupcake before the event and most often, do not even eat one! Unless they are from a fab new bakery and I want to know if I should recommend! If I do eat a dessert, I make a point of taking one near end of day to make sure there are enough for guests.
    You were overheard stating that you refused to give me the Damage Deposit before the event, which I was shocked that you would brag about it. There was damage caused by one of your guests and she was tearful so I assured her that she should not feel bad about an accident.
    In the bridal group you were in for about a year, I explained that I do a lot of the yard work the day before and early on the day of due to staffing issues.
    I'm sorry you feel I ruined your wedding as I would never intentionally cause grief. I treated you with respect and kindness throughout all the meetings and texting and on your wedding day.
  • E
    Emily H. Sent on 07/06/2022
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Maid of Honor

    This place is AWFUL. Save your money and book elsewhere. So many issues with this place. The lady was intrusive, rude, and not helpful at all. She didn’t have the area taken care of at all tall weeds at the property and uncut tall grass it just looked awful. She was asleep during the reception and was no help with issues that came up like the sound system not working etc. The place was very dirty and she only started cleaning it while we were decorating for the wedding and then forced us to move all the tables and such and kept offering her advice over and over when we didn’t ask for it. The lady is sleeping here and living here therefore the bridal suites that were promised were not available or ready for anyone to use it was just sad. I felt so terrible for my sister and her wife but we tried to make the most of it.

    The Landing's reply:

    I do not understand why you said the bridal suite was not ready as it was open when dresses were brought in. Once they are hung, I do not enter that room except to adjust lights or lock it overnight.
    I did not sleep during the reception -- if I needed to sleep, I would have gone to the house. I did prop my knee up due to a torn miniscus. If someone walks into a room and my leg is propped, sometimes I am praying that I can rest it and recover quickly! I have never been able to sleep in crowds or during daylight hours. And, I just wouldn't sleep when on the job.
    I always let decorators know such things as to place the tables 5 feet apart to accommodate chair movement. I am as helpful as I can be as you start to decorate the space and then I leave to work outside and usually try to check in a couple times during the afternoon to see if you need a stool, accessory tables, etc.

    I did not force anyone to move tables since that is a responsibility of the wedding party as they decorate. I provide tables and chairs and the party places them where they want them. You did not sign the contract nor were at any meetings where this is discussed.
    The sound system worked beautifully but I could not find the aux cord that usually hangs on stereo system and a woman (you?) told me she had one in her car and retrieved it. The music sounded fabulous and I was very impressed with the playlist.
    You don't have to like the owner to rent the space. Just saying.
  • L
    Luke Sent on 07/06/2022
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    RUN and don’t look back

    Literally if you wanna do yard work go ahead and go here. I was covered in dirt, grass, and so many ants my hand turned black. Literally she was mowing the grass WITH A WEED EATER right next to me and one other when we were trying to get everything together. She made me help her with so much till the moment I had to get dressed. She was sleeping in the basement the whole time and there was stuff everywhere.

    The Landing's reply:

    Well, that is bizarre. If you were one of the ladies attempting to decorate the arbor, I did apologize for weedeating but I was not right next to you! I waited to do near the arbor until you were done. You did help with a bench and laughed it off as no big deal so you were not honest that day, either. You knew I was having difficulty walkng due to the torn miniscus and were very polite about it to my face. I see how you have forgotten the timeline when you actually spent less than five minutes near me. The decision to wait to decorate outside until later in the day has nothing to do with me. I was under the impression that the bride(s) hadn't even designated an outside decorating crew and it was just a "last minute rush job."

    I can see how your words here can put a whole different spin on the day.
  • M
    Macey G. Sent on 07/06/2022
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Do not recommend

    The owner was rude and did not offer any help or privacy for the wedding party or guests. She slept in the basement during the ceremony and reception and sat on the couch watching as we were cleaning up afterwards. She had people in the bridal party helping with yard work/ moving things around that should have been done prior to the day of the wedding. It was so much added and unnecessary stress to the day by having something that was promised but not delivered by the owner.

    The Landing's reply:

    I asked two people who had decorated the arbor to help with a bench that was in the way and they happily helped. Or, so it seemed. It was less than a five minute interaction.
    I sat on the couch while you cleaned up because I don't touch your items. I was also resting my injured knee, which the bridal party was aware of that issue but maybe you were not.
    I was not rude to anyone at this event and I don't understand this impression. I am always happy to have people here and show appreciation.
    Was there stress that I was not aware of and it has been attributed to my presence?
    A few days after this wedding, I texted the bride to ask if there was an issue that I could resolve (I had overheard her complaining about my requesting a damage deposit, which is standard, and how she had refused to pay it.) It is the first time, I think that I didn't insist on it and the first time a guest has caused damage, so that won't happen again!
  • Amaya
    Amaya V. Sent on 07/17/2022
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    this venue is a scam!

    I have a second review. The venue owner messaged me about my review asking if the reason I was so upset was because of the mr & Mrs pictures she had up (I’m gay) and the Bible verses that were up, I had said no, because I never once mentioned that in the review, I had stated multiple times as to why I was upset with her and her venue. I had bug bites all over my legs from the fact that she had us get married on freshly mowed grass that had the clippings all over it, and upkept land. And I want everyone to know that there were so many other things wrong I couldn’t even begin to count them. She was extremely unprofessional and has no idea what she’s doing owning a wedding venue. She will literally leave a giant balloon arch from another wedding that isn’t even your colors in the loft, so it’ll end up in all your photos, she literally told us that it was our fault that the sound system didn’t work because we didn’t test it the day before but we had no idea how it worked, it’s not our job to test her equipment, and we were there already for 9 hours decorating the venue while she sat on her butt and slept on the couch downstairs. She also will tell you that she has staff that will help clean up the outside and help set up your wedding but be prepared to hire your own crew to mow the lawn, clean up all the clippings, and to clean up random things she just had lying around in the venue and outside the venue. That’s another thing! She literally lives in the venue downstairs and admitted to me that she stays in there a lot of nights (after we got married there) which I feel is something she should disclose. She also took a bath in the bridal suite before someone got there for their wedding, and when I asked her about it she was like “why does it bother anyone that i would do that, they didn’t come until a lot later” like?? It’s weird lady. you also can’t store much in the fridge because it’s full of all her personal food and stuff left from other weddings. I went ahead and asked for a refund after she had messaged me and told me I lied about everything in my reviews and my bridal party lied in their reviews too, (because obviously 5 people who say the same thing are all wrong, right? Lol) and she accused me of only asking for a refund because “obviously something unexpected financially came up and you’re asking for a refund” to which I was APPALLED because my wife and I aren’t those type of people, and we literally were in great terms for a year and she liked us alot, so for her to just come out the blue and accuse us of something like that is ridiculous.

    The Landing's reply:

    I already told you I can not give a refund to you due to the lies you keep repeating.
    The balloons had fallen off or were taken down from the wall behind the futon and should not even have been in any photos.
    If someone wanted to use the frig in the Gathering Room, I make sure the shelves are cleared. I don't use that frig so if there were leftovers from another wedding, I could throw out if needed space, but the only thing your party put in there was a bag of cheese. Why are you bringing this up now when you could have asked the day of wedding if you needed more than the bar frig and a drawer for the cheese? Unreal.
    The bath thing -- you brought it up and I told you that was a review from last year that stated I had bathed before bride arrived and it was not true. I haven't used the tub since two times in 2017 when new and I explained that the reviewer was not in the room when I told the bride I had just washed it out but you are twisting it! Shocking.
    We already discussed that no one tested the stereo on Friday. That is discussed the day you sign contract -- if you want to use the stereo, it must be tested on the day before the wedding. You told me a month out you were coming to bring the $100.00 for use of the stereo (contract) and when you didn't pay, I assumed you had changed your minds about using it. I was surprised on Saturday when a lady came to me to ask about it! The aux cord was not hanging on stereo and your friend said she had a cord in her car and she'd be right back. She was friendly about it and I was happy she was able to solve the issue. The music was gorgeous. The issue now is that even tho you did not test it on Friday (and I told you if you had, we would have known aux cord had been taken and I would have gone to WM on Friday night to buy a new one!) you have stated twice now, that it worked on Friday. We have discussed all of this in texts and I don't understand why you are pursuing this if "it isn't about the refund...."
    After the wedding, I heard you make outrageous statements and I was about to go in and contradict you and tell the truth, but then I heard you say, "and, I've just turned 21..." and I thought, Oh, my goodness, she is still so young and probably emotional. I heard you tell your BIL that you weren't going to pay me for the use of the stereo, so that is a breach of contract. I let it slide because it was over and it was so beautiful, with a great playlist that everyone seemed to enjoy. And, since I was NOT sleeping, I heard every song!
    I did sympathize that you got bit on your leg and if I'd known that day, I would have gladly given you a salve to apply that takes bites away in minutes. On a farm, it is often a factor to have bugs in the grass and especially since everyone knows I refuse to use chemicals. I explain my Hippie worldview on every tour.
    As for all the art being turned backwards to the wall, I asked you in a text when you contacted me month later, because I wondered if that is what set you in a sad mood for the day. One of your guests came up to me and said that your parents didn't attend so that made you sad -- I hadn't asked, so I wondered why she came to tell me. So, I had no indication otherwise that you were sad about the venue.
    I really do not understand why you continue to say that your guest did yard work. Luke and a lady who helped with the arbor moved a bench a few feet and it took them about two minutes and they were very polite and willing to help. In a public review, you wrote that it took an hour to pick the bugs out of your dress but in a text to me, you wrote that you spent 15 minutes cleaning the bottom of dress. That is quite a lot of time difference on a wedding day.
    I am so sorry you have sad feelings about your day but like I said already in texts and here, I will not give a refund to someone who lied about SO many issues. Like, some of it was just fantastical!
    And, that you were in breach of contract with no damage deposit (guest did cause damage but it was not very costly and I assured her I was not upset and go enjoy the day.) and bragged about not giving it to me as well as the use of stereo.
    You can continue to leave reviews, but I will respond.
    As I sent in a text, I wish you a happy life. And, I don't understand your Sponge Bob responses.