Skip to main content
Weddings

The Inn on Main Reviews

The Inn on Main View more information

5 Reviews

Rated
4.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 80% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4 out of 5 rating

Awards

5
  • S
    Steve T. Married on 02/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional venue

    The Inn on Main / O'Bistro Restaurant is an exceptional property owned/managed by folks who care about their customers. We just had a great wedding reception here - the rooms at The Inn are large, clean, and well maintained. The barn is an exceptional venue - with very little needed to make it the perfect atmosphere. The back patio/lawn areas also extended the opportunities for everyone attending our event to enjoy themselves thoroughly. As great as the property is for this type of event, it is the people here who make it a joy to have met them. Shannon up front is very much about working FOR the customer. Patti who is the event manager is quite simply irreplaceable and has the type of kind heart we should all aspire to represent. The rest of the staff as expected emulates the positive attitudes of their leadership. The food prepared for the wedding was exceptional and received rave reviews. In addition, we had dinner at O'Bistro multiple times during the week prior to the wedding, and each meal was simply delicious. This is a "not to be missed" gem of the Lakes Region!
  • M
    Melissa F. Married on 10/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Your moments

    As parents we mark our children’s progression though their milestone. Birth, first steps, that big yellow bus, dorms with a keg camouflaged in the corner, to their marriage with their own children.
    These days pass very quickly and before we are ready, we are all planning a wedding. The day must be perfect. In our story our daughter wanted a Barn venue in NH. We had many happy memories of family vacations on the lake. We saw many wonderful venues. But none could compare to the warmth, elegance and professionalism of the INN On Main, in Wolfeboro NH.
    We Arrived at our first appointment to be greeted by Shannon. She was lovely. The Barn was gorgeous. Truly the bride and groom’s vision. We toured the property that had 14 guest rooms. This included handicap accessible and pet friendly rooms. Then rooms were clean and steps away from the venue which made it easy for guests to return to their rooms during and after the reception.
    We were introduced to the irreplaceable Patti. Throughout the months of planning, Patti guided us through florist, hair stylists, makeup artists and limousine services with pristine reputations. We spent a night at the Inn a few weeks prior to wedding to review the menu and details. We arrived at O Bistro to be greeted with literally open arms and a warm hug from Patti. Working with her felt like we were all planning our daughter’s wedding with family. Her experience, leadership, attention to detail, and sheer joy is un-matched.
    The Barn was large enough to hold our 100 guests with ease during Covid. The dance floor supported the band and over 60 wild dancers! The barn featured a cozy fireplace elegantly decorated as a backdrop for the bride and groom’s table. The PA system worked perfectly for wedding speeches. The kitchen is attached to the barn assuring the prompt delivery of hot service and specialty meals for our gluten free and vegan guest as well as any special requests from the guests. Patti suggested a variety of options, keeping our budget in mind. We choose the family style menu to accommodate both our younger robust guest and our petite appetites.
    The loft overlooks the venue. Our photographers were able to capture some fantastic memories for us. The well-stocked bar is strategical placed out of the way however easily accessible. As are the handicap rest rooms. Outside of the barn there is a peaceful patio where our guests relaxed after dinner enjoying cocktails. The patio overlooks the property while still being close enough to enjoy the wedding atmosphere and the music.
    The big day finally arrived. The bride and groom were excited beyond belief. Guests were embarking. The Venue was beautifully decorated. Patti had arrived early to make sure the day was perfect. She helped set up the memorial table, the projector, the sound system (synching the slide show with music), when she noticed a light bulb out over the bride and grooms table. She summoned a ladder to change a light bulb on a 20-foot ceiling! The lighting helped to make all photographs perfect. She also noticed that the bride’s seating charts had not arrived and called to have those delivered. She assisted our vendors as they arrived. However, I was flabbergasted when I learned of something else, that Patti had quietly maneuvered!
    On her way to The Inn on Main, for the final preparation for our daughter’s wedding. Patti recalled there was construction at the pier on lake Winnipesauke. The wedding portraits would be taken there at the gazebo. She realized a backhoe would be in photographs. She appealed to the drivers asking him to please move the backhoe from the camera’s view! Patti wasn’t just making sure the venue was perfect. She was making sure that the entire day was perfect. Patti’s service is above and beyond perfection.
    As all weddings do, ours had a glitch which delayed the church service and thus everything else for 45 minutes. Patti greeted all of our guests before the wedding party arrived. Her staff was wonderful in keeping the appetizer’s flowing, and our guests happy and entertained. The bar was well stocked including the Signature Drink. The Bartender Jerry was efficient as well as humorous. Having the wedding at the Inn On Main was like having it among family. People who cared for you and your moments.
    The chef prepared each meal with elegance. The food was delectable. Your chef is amazing!
    Your entire staff is amazing. However, there is one person who we are afraid may go unnoticed. She quietly tends to the needs of others. Undiscerning of notoriety. We want to tell you how wonderful Cheryl is. She tended to our lodging guests every need. Many of them commented how personable and fantastic she treated them.
    In closing we want to reiterate many of our guest remarked “this was the best wedding we have ever been to”. We want to thank all of you for being part of one of the most precious moments of our lives. For making our experience at the Inn On Main truly everything we could have dreamed of for our daughter and son in law.
    The Fantasia"s


  • Kaela
    Kaela Married on 08/17/2019
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great location, and many choices!

    This venue is a little gem, tucked away from the busyness of downtown. The barn is gorgeous, and the staff is very accommodating and takes time to listen to what you want for your big day. The hotel rooms are in great shape! This is a great spot for your big day!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Sarah P. Married on 06/25/2022
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    June 2022 wedding

    We had a beautiful wedding and rehearsal dinner at the Inn on Main this summer and were very pleased with the final results. Jenn the new manager was very easy to work with, communicated well, and made our day feel very special and stress free. Jenn took over about two months before our wedding date and was able to jump right in, answer all our questions, and gave us great suggestions. This felt like such a relief as the manager prior to Jenn, that we had worked with for about 8 months, always left us feeling frustrated, uncertain/unclear and would take weeks to get back to us each time we asked a question. Overall, with the new management we would definitely recommend this venue, the food was delicious and we were happy with the staff/service. The Inn on Main is a very reasonably priced venue in a beautiful area.
  • Hannah
    Hannah Married on 12/11/2021
    1.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue and inn

    I'm not one to write bad reviews, so this is very hard for me.

    My partner and I booked the venue in January 2020 for an estimated 55 guests on 12/11/21. We put down the deposit and we were so excited. Shannon was a delight to work with and was so, so helpful. We were in the VERY beginning stage, and she made us so happy.

    Forward to the summer of 2021 - COVID is still in the air, and we're getting closer and closer to our wedding. The catering menu was incredibly challenging to decipher, so I had reached out to Shannon as I wanted to schedule an in person meeting/tasting to go over details. This is when Patti was introduced as the new event manager. I reached out and we planned a meeting.
    My partner and I live 2 hours away from the venue, so it's quite a drive. When the date came for the meeting, we were on time, but Patti got the time wrong and was an hour late to the appointment. Also, we found out it wasn't a tasting at all, and she let us try some left over dessert shooters from a previous event. We hired a planner, and that's when a lot of things started to go down. Patti stated that "planners were not allowed as they take care of everything in house". I stated I told Shannon about it previously, so I was able to keep my planner (but like, what? I already hired her and there's so much she was going to do that the venue would not do.)

    We talked timeline, special needs as I had a bridesmaid who is wheelchair bound, and I wanted to make sure the day could be totally accessible for her. I requested a hot apple cider bar, as I was getting married in December. We also made it very clear that we (the couple) were paying 100% of the wedding, and that we weren't wealthy, and we had to work very hard for this wedding.
    Fast forward to September and October - we gave some estimates of people being invited and forwarded them to Patti to get things set into motion.

    On November 24th, we gave (soft) final numbers for Patti as we had gotten our RSVP's back. On December 3rd, I confirmed EVERYTHING as Patti had the estimate for 60 people, rather than our 37 guests, and had the entire timeline for the event wrong, as well as not having the apple cider bar on it. There was nowhere in the contract that the guest count had to be in by a certain time, so I gave as much information as I could when I had.

    Fast forward to December 8th (the Wednesday before my wedding) and Patti wanted us to pay for the catering. I was traveling for appointments, so Amanda (our planner) was communicating with Patti (as that's what we hired her to do - work with the vendors for the month before the wedding to take some weight off of our shoulders). While traveling for appointments, Patti informed her that since I didn't giver her enough time for the numbers, I was going to have to pay for the 60 people that I estimated - doubling our budget. I explained that with 3 days to go, there is no way I could get that money to cover the additional amount, and that it wasn't right that I had to pay it as I had kept her in the loop with lower numbers more than a month before the event. My planner had to go above Patti and get in touch with the owner, and they granted paying just for the people attending.

    Forward to Friday. We blocked the whole Inn, so only our guests could stay there for the weekend. We did a reservation at the bistro for 25 people, as it was going to be a casual dinner after the rehearsal. We were put in the tavern, which was high tables and bar stools. My friend who is wheelchair bound was on her way to the inn to start the weekend. I explained to Patti that we needed a shorter table for her. Patti asked "if she could get into a bar stool", which she is not able to, and I found that to be an inappropriate question - then, she said that she was able to sit in the dining room - alone. That is also unacceptable. Thankfully, she was able to make it so the party could move into the dining room where we could eat as a group, and everyone could be included. The food and the service was great, and I really appreciate it.

    That evening, after the dinner - a friend of mine who had quite a bit to drink went to the bistro and asked if he could have some bread, and was absolutely willing to pay for it. The response he received was "We're a fancy establishment and do not offer bread or sandwiches". He was offered a shrimp cocktail, and with his order, he got a piece of baguette. He was so confused as to why they denied him bread, but he ordered something else and received bread with it.

    The day of the wedding. Patti was showing a couple the venue, and my planner was spoken to stating "she is the last planner we will allow for this venue". Patti did not respect my planner at all, and was incredibly hard to work with. When we started the ceremony, things were fine. The drinks were OK, and I had a few people complain that they had multiple drinks made incorrectly. The cider was behind the bar, and it was mixed with alcohol, which is not what we wanted at all. Due to the guest list being shortened, she only had one waitress, and one bartender for a wedding of 37. Patti herself was running out some food as she didn't have enough staff.

    When it came to my vendors eating, she forbade them from eating on the main floor, and they were banished to the loft as it was "incredibly inappropriate", but I didn't care at all. The ceremony went off without much of an issue other than those little things. The planner started to break stuff down around 7:30pm for the ending of the wedding at 8pm, which I was absolutely fine with. Patti expressed how unprofessional it was - while her server was clearing all dishes and silverware (even though dessert was still being enjoyed).

    Overall, I'm glad we had our wedding there. The night was stunning, and was a steal, as it was $1,000 to rent the venue, with an additional $250 for the ceremony fee. The food was $65 a person. Drinks ranged from $8-$14 a piece. It's unfortunate that Patti is the manager there, as the Inn on Main is just so stunning.

    I wouldn't recommend the venue for anyone I know, as it was really a nightmare to deal with. They probably made about $10,000 from my guests and I for the whole weekend. All 14 rooms were booked, and we had the dinner with 25/28 guests the Friday night before, as well as the bar in the wedding. For that amount of money - you'd think that the event manager would want to work with us and make us happy, but she did the opposite. It hurt a lot, but I'm incredibly thankful for Amanda (planner) for helping us navigate, because that problem on the 8th almost made me have a breakdown. I don't regret the wedding, but I certainly will never give the Inn on Main another dollar of mine again, which is a shame. I wish I had better things to say.

    The Inn on Main's reply:

    On behalf of OBistro and The Inn on Main, I strongly stand by my staff and our policies. After my team ((those that worked your small wedding)) reviewed your review we are all at a loss for words. Although we disagree with your statements you are certainly at liberty to write whatever you want. With that said , we hope you find the happiness you so deserve.