The Indianapolis Propylaeum Reviews

11 | Indianapolis, IN
See photos, pricing and details

11 Reviews for The Indianapolis Propylaeum

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

11
Sort by:
  • L

    Linda · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My review is from the perspective of the wedding day (6/3/2017) itself from the mother of the bride. Everything looked lovely, the dining room, the grounds, the entire house. Everything went so smoothly, largely because of Elizabeth who was everywhere helping with all the little details, including several things which weren't really her responsibility. Thank you so much Elizabeth for making it a very special day, memorable for all the right reasons.

    Sent on 07/06/2017
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Propylaeum is a hidden gem in Indianapolis. The old Victorian mansion is gorgeous! I was searching for a vintage venue, and a friend recommended The Propylaeum. After our first visit we were in love! We had our ceremony on the front porch on a beautiful fall day. All my centerpieces and flowers were focused around the vintage feel of the house. On the big day everything looked stunning! My dream wedding had come true, without any hiccups! Elizabeth and her staff were fantastic! MBP was the caterer and the food was delicious!! My family stayed the night at house because it was so beautiful and affordable. They rented out all the rooms as a family reunion and had a blast staying there! The venue in general is so affordable for downtown Indianapolis. The Propylaeum will always hold a special place in my heart for giving me the most perfect day of my life. Thank you!!!

    Sent on 10/12/2016
  • G

    Ginny · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    event was wonderful it seemed well attended and food was lovely thank you so much for all your help.

    Sent on 04/25/2016
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 12/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was married there. Fantastic place!

    Sent on 04/25/2016
  • S

    Stephanie A. · Married on 07/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wanted to thank you so much for all of your help making our day such a beautiful day. John and I had some much fun and everything looked amazing! We certainly appreciate your patience we are sort of organized chaos. I hope you had a great weekend and thank you again.

    Sent on 04/25/2016
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wanted to take a moment and thank you again for how lovely everything was for the wedding. You and your team did a fabulous job! Thank you again for making my daughter's day so special.

    Sent on 04/25/2016
  • A

    Angela · Married on 06/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wanted to take a moment to thank your staff, specifically Elizabeth Turner, for an awesome job hosting our son's wedding rehearsal. The venue was beautiful. The carriage house was the perfect spot for the dinner and dancing. I loved the way the balcony became a dining spot and the main floor was cleared for dancing and live musicians. My guests loved being able to tour the historic grounds and the house prior to the dinner. Another highlight was having dessert on the lawn during the dance intermission. The lush grass, linen clad tables, and amazing view of the historic mansion added class and sophistication to our event It was peaceful and beautiful. Without hesitation I would recommend Elizabeth A.. Turner, Event Marketing and Coordinator of the Indianapolis Propylaeum, and the Propylaeum & Carriage House venues for weddings and other events!!

    Sent on 04/25/2016
  • T

    Tom A. · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you so much for making Tommy and I's wedding day the best it could be! We couldn't be happier with how the day went. It was absolutely beautiful! We feel like you went above and beyond to make everything perfect, and we thank you so much!

    Sent on 04/25/2016
  • Adam

    Adam · Married on 07/08/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This facility is absolutely beautiful and Elizabeth made everything run so smoothly on the day of. We had several opportunities to visit the site, including the day of the rehearsal for decorating. Our ceremony and reception were in the carriage house and dinner was in the mansion - and this was perfect for our 80 guests. The courtyard was also a great addition for folks to be able to come and go from the dance floor as needed.

    Sent on 07/23/2017
  • P

    Patty · Married on 07/08/2017

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Elizabeth and Staff, Thank you so much for making Kate and Adam's special day the happiest day ever. We appreciate all that everyone did to help us and guide us. You made this experience so much easier.

    Sent on 07/16/2017
  • Felisa

    Felisa B. · Getting married on 06/11/2022

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Great value- wish had more flexibility with catering

    I was looking forward to working with this vendor because they are one of the few offering a comprehensive, affordable small wedding package, and the location is gorgeous. Unfortunately they are pretty inflexible on allowing you to use your own caterer. I even offered to pay a fee and requested approval by the executive director but to no avail. When you are planning a smaller wedding, staying on budget, and being able to use vendors that provide meals that suit your culture and ethnicity is very important. They are a beautiful affordable venue and if you are fine using their required caterers i highly recommend them- they are a hidden gem in the city.

    Sent on 04/28/2021

    The Indianapolis Propylaeum's reply:

    Hi Felisa,

    Thank you for taking the time to review the Indianapolis Propylaeum. For clarification, we have contractual obligations with our preferred caterers do not allow for outside catering. We offer our wedding clients two different catering options, both of whom offer custom catering options, and allow for outside dessert to be brought in from a 3rd party vendor. I'm sorry that it didn't work out to have your wedding here, but we appreciate your kind comments about our wedding packages and beautiful Victorian Home.