The Housing Works Bookstore Reviews

38 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

38 Reviews for The Housing Works Bookstore

Recommended by 99%

38
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

4 User photos

The Housing Works Bookstore 1
The Housing Works Bookstore 2
The Housing Works Bookstore 3
The Housing Works Bookstore 4
Sort by:
  • A

    Ari M · Married on 07/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Venue of our dreams!

    Working with Tomek was awesome. He was very professional throughout the entire process. He was quick to respond to all our emails and answered all our questions. We met several times to discuss our vision, including attending an open house event that housing works offers. We felt very confident that the venue was going to look perfect the day of and it did. Thank you Tomek for all of your help. We highly recommend HWB and Tomek for your event!

    Sent on 09/08/2019
    The Housing Works Bookstore 5
    The Housing Works Bookstore 6
    The Housing Works Bookstore 7
  • Jackie

    Jackie Moncada · Married on 05/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing venue and staff!

    If you're tired of the same traditional wedding, look no further! This place was so incredible from the set up to the very end. Josh is amazing! Plus it goes to charity so it's really the best venue!!

    Sent on 05/14/2019
    The Housing Works Bookstore 8
  • Connor

    Connor Buttner · Married on 04/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Venue for a Memorable Wedding

    We got married at Housing Works this May and we are so happy with the decision on every level. Working with Tomek and his team was great - they're responsive, professional, have very useful advice/suggestions based on how you want your wedding to go and executed everything flawlessly the night of. The venue itself is a lot of fun - we had 115 people with a cocktail-type set up with seating for 80 and it worked great with the space. It wasn't too crowded but was comfortable and had people up and mingling everywhere you looked. The layout worked great for food as well as for dancing and we got rave reviews from friends and family alike for the unique set up.

    Sent on 06/03/2019
  • Claudia

    Claudia Re · Married on 01/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Constant praise from my guests

    My guests couldn’t stop talking about how much they loved this venue. A quaint bookstore by day, Housing Works Bookstore transforms itself for special occasions into something quite magical. Spiral staircases, dozens of votive candles, soft strung lights and draped walls created a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The staff was most accommodating throughout the process and the evening flowed smoothly from one moment to the next. And it’s close to the F train stop! Totally perfect!

    Sent on 06/07/2019
  • F

    Frank · Married on 10/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful venue for a wedding. Friendly, efficient, responsive, experienced. Tomek and his staff organize and run a great event and Housing Works is an outstanding tax-exempt charity. Delightful environment. Highly recommended.

    Sent on 10/10/2018
  • J

    J · Married on 04/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot rate this venue highly enough. The space was gorgeous and the staff were beyond professional. It was a magical night!

    Sent on 04/12/2018
  • A

    Amelia · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have been happier to hold our wedding reception at Housing Works! The whole process of working with them was amazing. It is such a unique place to have a wedding (all your guests will think so, too!), but they are true professionals and know exactly what to do every step of the way. Amanda and Josh were great to work with and our tasting was such a fun preview of the wedding! The day of the wedding, everything was beautiful and went perfectly! The food was delicious, too! Great veggie and vegan options as well!

    Sent on 05/28/2017
  • J

    John · Married on 10/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From start to finish we could not have been happier. Planning with them was fun and easy. The price could not be beat and the convenience of having the caterer and rentals included and on site made coordination a breeze. They quickly and effortlessly addressed any question that came up prior to the event. Their recommended DJ exceeded our expectations. The food and service were superlative. The wait staff was especially friendly and attentive. We received a myriad of compliments from our guest on the space and the quality of experience. Amanda and Josh are both extremely organized, efficient, friendly and attentive. We would recommend them, their staff and the entire facility without qualification. We are extremely grateful to the entire team for helping us realize our dream wedding. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

    Sent on 10/24/2016
  • M

    Monique · Married on 09/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don't go overboard with decoration - this venue is magic all by itself and I ended up overdoing it. There is so much character to the bookstore already and little details are just icing! Use the food tastings to inspire you on set-up. Listen to the recommendations of Amanda and Josh, including their list of vendors. They are wedding superstars! When I walked in the room for the reception, I was absolutely blown away, and I know my guests were impressed too.

    Sent on 10/24/2016
  • V

    Victoria · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was the perfect location for our family. If you have more than 120 guests, this venue could be tight. If you have between 80 and 120, this location is perfect! Go to the tasting and you'll be treated to an evening of tasty treats, more than you can eat! Go nuts on table flowers but keep them small. No need for any other decorations as they got you covered! The staff is SO nice and professional and crazy organized! My daughter was as happy as I was with Housing Works!

    Sent on 10/24/2016
  • J

    Jade · Married on 08/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are from the UK and we booked Housing Works as our wedding venue without ever having been there ourselves. We knew we wanted somewhere different from the norm and the reviews and pictures we found of Housing Works were amazing! When we visited we weren't disappointed, it's such a beautiful venue.

    Before we even got there we had the most helpful correspondence with Amanda who made us feel at ease even when we were arranging our wedding so far away. Amanda, Josh and all of the staff we met were so friendly and professional and just wanted to help us have the best day!

    The venue doesn't need a lot of decoration which was great for us, all we needed were a few personal touches and candles to give it more of a 'wedding' feel. Everyone at our wedding said it was the best wedding they've ever been to! The food was amazing and there were so many choices to cater to everyone's tastes.

    We knew our wedding was going to be great but having it at Housing Works made it perfect!

    Sent on 10/26/2016
  • User6895642 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about Housing Works Bookstore and the staff. We got married at a Catholic church nearby and celebrated our reception here afterwards. My parents have repeatedly told me how impressed they were: the food was great and the staff was outstanding! Working with Amanda and Josh was a dream. Josh was the event captain on the night of my wedding and he was a star! The rest of the staff was also very attentive and made sure I and my husband had plates made up for the cocktail hour and dinner, and a drink whenever necessary. We received so many compliments from guests about the atmosphere, the food, and the staff. It is truly a unique venue with a staff that throws a flawless event. It made my NYC wedding so special and I cannot thank them enough! If you are thinking of booking here, do it! You will not regret it!

    Sent on 06/28/2016
  • B

    Becky · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at the Housing Works Bookstore was flawless! The venue itself is incredibly beautiful and affordable (for Manhattan) and it completely transforms from a store during the day to a really unique and romantic event space at night.
    Josh was our event captain and I cannot even put into words how amazing he was. I received compliments about him and his staff the entire night. He was accommodating, organized, friendly and just super fun to work with! The food was really delicious and they accommodated all types of dietary restrictions with absolutely no hassle or issues. If you are looking for a rare and exceptional event space in Manhattan, I highly recommend Housing Works!

    Sent on 06/16/2016
  • S

    Suzanne · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The experience from start to finish was INCREDIBLE. Amanda helps you plan and map out your event and Josh works his magic the night of to ensure top service. I don't have adequate words to express how wonderful the venue, the event planners and The Works Catering team are!

    The venue is magic. Honestly, it surpassed every expectation I had. With books, hanging lights, and candles everywhere, it is a very romantic and authentic New York experience. Every single guest was raving. And the food was AWESOME.

    Best part? The proceeds of the event go to support the fantastic Housing Works charity that supports New Yorkers battling with HIV/AIDS and homelessness.

    If you are considering this venue for your wedding or event, do it!! You will be so happy! Best night of my life!

    Sent on 10/28/2016
  • M

    Maya · Married on 04/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where do we begin?! Could there be a more perfect wedding venue for two professional word nerds living in NYC? Nope, there's no place more fitting. We feel so grateful to have found it!

    Honestly, we could on and on about all the virtues of getting married at Housing Works Bookstore: the romantic, magical backdrop from every angle; the awesome, professional yet personable staff and EXCEPTIONAL event planners, who actually care about how special this day is to you, your spouse and your family; the delicious food by The Works Catering (and we mean delicious and plenty of it!) that was adjusted to our tastes and our party vibe; how everything is handled out of one venue (food, linens, tables, chairs, staff, bar, schedule, etc.); how you'll only deal with a couple of people from beginning to end; and maybe most of all, the fact that you are donating to an exceptional cause. Yes, there is still more we could rave about, but you get it.

    If we could do it all again (we kind of want to), we would do it at this bookstore, no question. It will be a part of our hearts always!

    Sent on 10/24/2016
  • P

    annie · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BEST decision we ever made. I honestly don't know what more we could have asked for. Housing Works made planning so easy (seriously, all we had to do was select our food options, pick a linen color, and show up--THAT'S IT) and the night was just absolutely perfect. The space is beyond gorgeous, people raved about the food/bar, and the entire staff was just so helpful and kind both the night of and during the entire planning process. I can't say enough good things about this venue or about Amanda and Josh, who were helpful, patient, and all around an incredible calming force. Plus the fact that proceeds go to a good cause made it a lot easier for us to justify the cost of the wedding in our minds.

    I should maybe add that I had some reservations about going with a less traditional space that were happily proved wrong. I was concerned that the layout would deter people from dancing. The dance floor is in the front of the store and the tables are in the back, and I thought this would make the party feel disconnected. NOPE. We had quite the epic dance party and most people mingled toward the front near the dance floor. It was definitely a cohesive event and my concerns were entirely proved wrong. I'm including this only to address others who may have similar concerns. Seriously, it could not have been a better night.

    Sent on 11/05/2015
  • Jill

    Jill · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A wedding venue that supports activist work on behalf of those with HIV/AIDS in a historic building with character, books and charm would be more than enough. But rolled in with superb catering and incredible flexibility (we wanted a Lower East Side theme to the food and they did it exquisitely) and it's a dream. Then add to that they do everything and essentially roll in a wedding planner and it couldn't possibly get better.

    Sent on 06/17/2015
  • User5376157 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot rave about Housing Works enough. Every aspect of our wedding was fantastic. The space is beautiful, the staff is amazing, the food was delicious. We did a cocktail-style dinner, and there was plenty of food, all great. The only drawback is the size of the space - while our 160 guests did fit, there wasn't much room for people to circulate. Guests who settled in the front of the store missed out on food that was set up in the back, etc. But for a smaller wedding - I'd say 125 or fewer? - it could not be more perfect.

    Sent on 08/24/2015
  • User4324773 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This truly is a unique place for a wedding. Everybody was very professional, helpful and really catered to your every need. The food was wonderful and all our guests commented on what a great place for a wedding.

    Sent on 08/14/2014
  • User415249 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Housing Works was simply the best possible venue that we could have ever asked for. The location and style were ideal for our fun, New York wedding. Josh and Amanda were incredibly kind and helpful and made the process so easy and fun. The space is wonderfully unique and doesn't require a lot of extra decorating. The food is FANTASTIC - more than I expected! Reasonable pricing is not something we expected to find in Manhattan, and we found it here. We were able to do the ceremony and reception (including band, cocktails, and heavy appetizers including one station) for close to 100 people. For us, it was perfect!

    Sent on 01/20/2015
  • User4328968 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Housing works and their event manager Amanda were incredible! I can’t express how much they brought our event together and how grateful we are that we found them. We are a queer couple who really didn’t want a “traditional” ceremony and had phobias about the whole marriage/wedding thing. We honestly didn’t know how we would do it in a way that wasn’t cheesy or uptight. Amanda and Housing Works helped us realize we could have an event that was totally our own and reflected our own values and creativity and was just incredibly intimate, relaxed and down to earth. They are totally responsive on email, very reliable and then add a bunch of extra touches in so you have nothing extra to stress about on the night. I can't recommend them highly enough!

    Sent on 08/17/2014
  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Housing Works Bookstore was the perfect venue for our wedding. The venue itself is unique and beautiful - wonderful to get married surrounded by books. All of our guests loved the space and ambiance. The staff is wonderful. We are still amazed at how quickly they were able to turn over the space from bookstore to wedding in two hours, but they did it. Housing Works in-house catering company, "The Works" produces delicious food featuring local ingredients. We got lots of compliments on the food.

    On top of all that, one of the reasons we chose this venue was that a good percentage of what we spent on the event would go to support the Housing Works organization, which we've been long supporters of through book donations for years. The things you need to know that could be challenging are that you have very limited access to the space until after the bookstore closes on that day (for a 7:00 wedding, that is 5:00) and there is no refrigerator on site. However, it is well worth working around those relatively minor inconveniences.

    Sent on 07/22/2014
  • J

    Jackie · Married on 06/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Housing Works was such an amazing venue! The store itself is gorgeous and they way the crew transforms it into a soft-lighted venue from a bookstore café is awesome. A friend likened it to stepping into a world from Alice and Wonderland. The food is delicious, and the serving staff is extremely attentive. Also, a shout out to Amanda and Josh, the awesome coordinators - they keep everything running smoothly and they take care of all of the details. I cannot recommend Housing Works highly enough. It's also a bonus that it's super affordable and you are making a donation to their charity by booking them for your wedding.

    Sent on 06/10/2014
  • A

    Abbie · Married on 05/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Housing Works is an amazing place to get married in New York City. Not only are they an extremely affordable option, but the staff is helpful and fun to work with. They are very accommodating to our needs, as we wanted a vegetarian wedding. Their staff made sure we got exactly what we wanted within our budget. The bookstore itself is a quirky and unique venue, and it is definitely a memorable location.

    Sent on 05/23/2014
  • User4110506 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amanda and everyone at Housing Works were WONDERFUL! During the planning stages, they offered lots of helpful guidance and made sure that all our questions were answered - the whole process was very clear and straightforward. The group tasting before our event also gave us the opportunity to see the venue in "party mode", which was really nice. During our reception itself, all the staff were so solicitous; they were always in good spirits and ready to help, without being in your face. Also, the bookstore looked BEAUTIFUL. We got a lot of compliments from guests about how great the venue looked and how good the food was. Bottom line is that this venue and its staff are really great. From the beginning, they made us feel comfortable and didn't try to up-sell us on anything. They just really wanted us to be happy and have a great party, and we did!

    Sent on 08/19/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review