Weddings

The Historic Thomas Center Reviews

The Historic Thomas Center

The Historic Thomas Center

Gainesville, FL
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 134 Reviews
View more information

134 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 134
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

37 User photos

Sort by:
  • M
    Morgan E. Getting married on 10/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Very helpful and responsive

    Long story short, I had to cancel my wedding, but I did work with this venue for almost a year preparing for the event. I worked with Kathy and her coworker, both of whom were amazing!! I worked mostly with Kathy who was reassuring, extremely responsive, took time to explain things, and really put my mind at ease. She was wonderful. Plus, you can’t beat the price here!
  • Nicole
    Nicole P. Married on 03/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Venue with Vintage Charm

    The Thomas Center holds a very special place in my heart. In my opinion, it is the perfect venue space. Located in the heart of Gainesville near downtown, it has beautiful historical charm, several photo shoot locations and to me is the most perfect venue space! My husband and I used to have picnics under the large, magical oak tree and under that same tree is where we said our vows to each other. Honestly, for us there weren’t any cons to this place. Some people may not be happy if you want to use sparkles and they do have a limit on how many people fit inside the venue space. However, those restrictions were not an issue for us at all.
    To us the pros included:
    -Ceremony and reception in the same location
    -Beautiful venue space inside and out
    -Accessible parking
    -Helpful and organized staff
    -Great network of vendors to work with
    -Reasonably priced for everything that it included
    The staff at the Thomas Center went above and beyond to make our wedding day feel extra special! Kathy Nguyen and Jessica Loveless were phenomenal to work with, especially planning a wedding with several COVID restrictions in place. They answered all of my questions in a timely fashion and helped us plan a safe, intimate and beautiful wedding during a pandemic. The day of my wedding everyone greeted me so warmly and I will never forget everything they did to make us feel welcome and comforted. From the bottom of our hearts, want to thank the entire Thomas Center staff for all of the work they did to make our wedding day a dream come true!
  • Marlin
    Marlin N. Married on 02/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gorgeous Wedding Venue at an affordable price

    Leslie Ladendorf and Jessica Loveless with the City of Gainesville and Thomas Center were so helpful and enthusiastic. They worked closely with us so we could have the dream wedding we wanted despite all the COVID restrictions imposed by the county. Leslie and Jessica went above and beyond to ensure that the event was perfect, safe, and every detailed was covered. Our wedding theme was lights and stars. Leslie and Jessica were even able to convince the city of Gainesville to allow us to keep the gorgeous Christmas lights that were in the magnolia trees around the fountain. Those lights which were blue and gold (our wedding colors), added an unforgettable feeling and made the ambiance feel like a true fairy tale. Leslie was on premises the day of the wedding making sure everything was going well. We are very appreciative of all the time and effort put forth by both Leslie and Jessica. The event would not have been the success it was without their help and support.
  • Matshia
    Matshia L. Married on 08/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gainesville’s Hidden Gem!!!

    This venue is BEAUTIFUL and the staff is incredible. I had my wedding here and I could not have asked for a better location. The venue provides rentals à la carte which makes it perfect for any budget. I’m so happy I went with the Thomas Center. Venues can be so crazy expensive but The Thomas Center gave me the beauty and elegance that i wanted for my wedding without the crazy price tag. Highly HIGHLY recommend.

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words Matshia! Our team had the pleasure working with you and your family to create the perfect day that we hope you will cherish for a life time. Congrats on your new journey together!
  • M
    Michele R. Married on 02/07/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our beautiful wedding!

    Very helpful staff! Couldn’t have been easier. We had a beautiful wedding reception!

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Thanks for the nice review and for sharing the lovely photos. We enjoyed working with you and were so glad we were able to help you put together a beautiful reception on relatively short notice. Congratulations to you both!
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer S. Married on 02/02/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Friendly and helpful with a lot of info to get us started planning

    The events coordinator at the Thomas Center is fantastic! So helpful...so much information and offered ideas that we had not thought of. We ended up not even having to ask many questions. She answered everything with all of the information that she provided. I am so pleased that my daughter chose this venue! We cannot wait for the big day to get here!

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Thank you so much! I am looking forward to working with your families to create a day that will launch decades of joy for H. and J.
  • Tara
    Tara T. Married on 10/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful venue!

    Erica and Kathy were great in helping me with venue decisions for my wedding.
    I was a little complicated and wanted an all outdoor wedding in the gardens. They happily helped me write up an outline and everything.
    We had a tropical storm come through the day of my wedding, but the staff was really great about helping us move everything inside.
    My wedding day went sooooo smoothly--thank you to the staff who helped set up the room as well as worked with my coordinators. You did amazing!
    Thanks!
    Photos are from June Rose Photography

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Thanks so much for the kind review. A little tropical storm is no match for us! We loved working with you and your coordinators to make the day memorable in every possible way. Thanks for the beautiful photos!!
  • D
    Darian Married on 10/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Choice!!

    We loved everything about the Thomas center. Although we got rained out and couldn't have the outside wedding that we wanted. Our wedding was still beautiful. Our guests are still talking about it!

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    We are so glad that the rain didn't dampen your joy. We are pleased to know that your whole group will have happy memories of the entire day. Congrats to you both!
  • Tatyana
    Tatyana K. Married on 09/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Thomas Center is a beautiful location!

    I really enjoyed having my wedding here. The space inside and outside is just gorgeous. I was able to take beautiful pictures and have plenty of space in side for food and dancing the night away.

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Thanks so much for letting us be a part of it. We are really glad the experience met all of your expectations. Best wishes for a happy life!
  • M
    Mpena1127 P. Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful!!

    The venue is beautiful! Working with Erica Chatman was a blessing. She was very accommodating; she even made some adjustments we had the day before the wedding. The Thomas Center is very well kept, with many beautiful areas. Would definitely recommend this location for weddings and any other gathering.

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    We have enjoyed working with your family . . . twice! Both weddings we have assisted with have been a pleasure and we are happy you chose the Thomas Center. Best wishes to all!
  • Kellie
    Kellie Married on 05/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Venue!

    The Thomas was amazing for our whole wedding experience! We had the change the date six months in, and they were so accommodating and understanding. Erica communicated with us every step of the way and was super helpful! The day of our wedding we couldn't have asked for a better set up. The best part of using the Thomas Center was the value and not having to worry about a thing! They took care of set up, break down and clean up after everyone had left. We truly encouraged our wedding there and couldn't have asked for a better day.

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Thanks, Kellie! You are so kind! Our team enjoyed working with you to create an experience you would always remember fondly. We are so happy that we succeeded! Congrats on a bright new future!
  • Jerri
    Jerri Married on 02/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Ceremony!!

    First, I must say that the Historic Thomas Center was a beautiful location for our ceremony. We used the Turtle Court and we didn’t have to decorate much as it was an already gorgeous space. We worked with Erica Chatman to reserve the space and she was pleasant, communicative, and thorough. She made sure that we had everything we needed. This place is a gem in Gainesville and I am so happy that we decided to make it a part of our special day!

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Thank you for your feedback. We loved working with you and are so pleased that everything turned out as you imagined it would. Congrats on a lovely event. May you enjoy many, many happy years together.
  • S
    Svitlana M. Married on 01/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding celebration

    We were happy our wedding ceremony was in this historical place. We invited up to 25 people, but the created atmosphere was incredible. Although our ceremony was in the evening, we were still able to take some wonderful pictures. It is really beautiful and magic place.

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    We were so happy to be a part of an event as lovely and genuine as yours. We hope you and Dave will make the Thomas Center a part of your future for a long time to come.
  • D
    Dan E. Married on 12/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    beautiful wedding

    Beautiful wedding and setting, responsive and professional staff, amazing experience

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    It was fabulous working with you! Your families are a joy and we wish you both many, many happy years together.
  • A
    Annette B. Married on 12/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible wedding experience. A very special day that we will cherish for a lifetime

    Our wedding day was beautiful and will forever be a precious memory etched in our hearts and minds. An all around awesome experience.

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Congratulations on planning such a lovely event. We are proud to have been a part of it! We wish you both the very best.
  • S
    Shannon Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This venue was absolutely stunning. I couldn’t be happier that we chose The Thomas Center. The event coordinator, Erica Chatman, was so helpful and the day of the wedding was very organized. Thank you!

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Thanks for sharing the lovely photos! We enjoyed working with you these last few months. It was our pleasure to help in creating a wonderful beginning for you both. Congratulations!
  • A
    Andrew Married on 09/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent communication and wonderful space

    We can't thank Erica and the whole team enough for how easy and carefree they made our celebration. Everything was setup perfectly and on time, staff was very courteous and accommodating. The space is, of course, beautiful.

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Your families were a joy to work with (and sneaking a peek at your first-dance Tango rehearsal was just a bonus for us). We are happy to hear that the experience was carefree! Congratulations to you both.
  • B
    Barbara Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Beautiful, historic venue and really good price for the area that gives you option of inside/outside ceremony. Would definitely recommend.

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Congrats to you both! Our staff enjoyed working with you and we're so glad you had a terrific day!
  • Christine
    Christine Married on 09/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Erica was the fastest to respond out of all my vendors to every email. The venue was the least expensive of our options and also looked the most expensive. Great staff, great venue!

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Thanks! We do pride ourselves on offering a service to the community for a reasonable price. We're so glad everything turned out well for you. Best wishes!
  • W
    Weier Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I really enjoyed having the Thomas center As our wedding venue. The staff were really nice, and the coordinator was always responsive and answered all of our questions. The Spanish court is especially beautiful in the evening. The added benefits are that many wedding vendors in Gainesville are familiar with the Thomas Center, It is city and so it is cheaper than private venues, end it is big enough to have both the ceremony and reception at the same venue. We had our ceremony at the fountain which was nice, but the water was pretty loud and made it hard to hear our voices on video tape. They Recently cleaned the fountain which was great because it looks a lot better. The other great thing is that if the ceremony is outdoors and it looks like it will rain, the staff will be happy to remove the outdoor chairs up to an hour before the ceremony and not charge for that outdoor chairs.

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Congratulations on a lovely event. We enjoyed working with you and appreciate your kind words. We wish you many happy years to come.
  • B
    Benjamin Married on 07/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This place is amazing! We did our ceremony at the Baughmen Center and then did our reception at the Thomas Center. It is beautiful and Erica is amazing to work with! We had around 100 people at our wedding and it was the perfect size. Would high recommend having an event here :)

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Congratulations! We are thrilled to hear that it all turned out just as you had hoped it would. Thanks for being terrific clients! We look forward to crossing paths with you both again someday.
  • S
    S. Married on 06/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From start to finish, all staff that I came in contact with was helpful, friendly, and professional. They definitely helped me have the best wedding day I could have ever hoped for.

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Congratulations! We are so thrilled that everything turned out just as you wanted it to. We enjoyed working with you and wish you the best!
  • R
    Rebecca Married on 05/26/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Had our wedding at the Thomas Center in the spring and it was wonderful! Erica and the rest of the staff were great in accommodating everything. Price was very reasonable. A couple tips I would give for anyone looking- we had about 85 guests and anything more than that would have been a little too crowded. Also, it is a public park, so be prepared for a couple people from the public to be on the grounds. Also: no kegs, no candles, and no rice/confetti/anything that is thrown. But overall, such a great venue! Especially for our daytime wedding with the light coming through the skylight.

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Congratulations on a lovely event! We enjoyed working with you too. Best wishes to you both!
  • E
    Emily Married on 05/26/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding on 7/15/18 was so incredibly amazing. All of our out of town guests were amazed by the beauty of our venue! We received so many compliments. It provided great value to us because it had so much beauty and character on its own that we could be very minimal with our decorations. Everyone we spoke with at the Thomas Center in the planning process was helpful, responsive, and detailed. They are experienced and made the process easy for us. It's difficult to beat the natural and historic beauty and amazing location. This is truly one of Gainesville's gems. We couldn't be happier with the entire experience working with the Thomas Center. I will always look back with so much happiness on the memories made there. I feel so lucky that we found such an amazing spot to celebrate the start of marriage with all our family and friends. I sincerely recommend the Thomas Center!!

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    Wow! Thank you so much! I love the idea that we might have actually exceeded your expectations and not just met them. We've been making memories for over a century and we are proud to add you to the Thomas Center family and to our staff's Thomas Center memories. Best wishes to you both!
  • T
    Tyanna Married on 05/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We are so very happy that The Thomas Center was the place we got married! They were so flexible with us and they helped us make it day so special. For to my husband having a very bad sunburn, we had to move the ceremony inside and the staff was quick to make it happen and we are so thankful for that. It was a wonderful experience that we will appreciate and cherish for the rest of our lives.

    The Historic Thomas Center's reply:

    We were so happy to be able to accommodate your needed changes and help make it the day you both dreamed of. Congratulations and best wishes on a wonderful life!