100 Reviews for The Heart of the Wedding

5.0
out of 5.0
User Photos
todo alt text
todo alt text
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Non-religious (9)
No Denomination (9)
Customized Vows (8)
Licensed (8)
Rehearsal (7)
Civil Union (2)
Interfaith Ceremony (2)
Jewish (1)
Agnostic (1)
Sort by:

5.0

Having Gerald as our officiant is definitely one of the best decisions we made during wedding planning. He is very professional, nice and very important, open minded and creative. We have Harry Potter as our wedding theme and I like the idea of making an Unbreakable Vow. Gerry accepted the idea immediately and even brought out more good ideas such as casting a Patronus Charm with my wand. He finished the draft in a very short time and it came to be very beautiful and exactly what I want. During the last month before wedding, I send him a couple of emails to adjust the details and Gerry always replied in time and was always patient. The ceremony turned out to be very successful, everyone keeps telling me how special and touching it is. Trust me, Gerry can realize whatever you want without a single doubt.

Profile Picture Shuang, 6/16/18, 3 Reviews
Category: Officiant
Services Used: Customized Vows, Licensed, No Denomination, Rehearsal, Civil Union, Non-religious
5.0

Gerry was amazing!! It was exactly the ceremony that we wanted- full of love and down to earth. Gerry was open, flexible, and genuine. Our guests said it was the best wedding ceremony they’ve ever been to. One person even told us that it made them believe in love again!

Gerry’s the best!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Emily, 6/3/18, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

Gerry was great - professional, timely and a good sense of humor

Profile Picture Joelle, 6/2/18, 2 Reviews
Category: Officiant
4.9

Highly recommend ! Customizes the wedding just the way you like !

Profile Picture cara, 5/26/18, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

Gerry went above and beyond to make our day perfect. We met a few weeks before to come up with a personalized and very unique Ceremony. I must say he has a very vast knowledge of different cultures and traditions, which definitely helped in merging our families and the different backgrounds. The day of the wedding we had a quick rehearsal, which made everyone very comfortable with the proceedings. Most of all, however, I believe it was Gerry's personality and way of speaking that just put us all at ease and made the day go by smoothly. Would not hesitate to recommend Gerry to my family and friends in the future.

Photo for The Heart of the Wedding Review
View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Anna, 5/20/18, 3 Reviews
Category: Officiant
Services Used: No Denomination, Rehearsal, Non-religious, Customized Vows, Licensed
5.0

We are so lucky that we found Gerald to be our officiant! We interviewed 10 officiants until we met him, and from that first meet-up, we knew he would be perfect. His demeanor is genuine and enthusiastic, and he commands presence in a subtle and sweet way. Some of our favorite things about working with him were:

1) He is a pro at weaving together a ceremony that is meaningful for each couple. We weren't sure exactly which elements of a ceremony we wanted, but his suggestions captured exactly the feel and vibe we were going for. For example, we wanted to honor my Bulgarian roots by using Orthodox crowns, but in a subtle and not weird way. We were leaning towards nixing it all together until we saw his suggested phrasing and timing, which we loved. I'm so glad that we were able to have this ode to my heritage as part of the ceremony, all thanks to Gerald!
2) He is reliable. Gerald always replied promptly to any emails, he showed up on time for the rehearsal, and he kept our rowdy crowd of bridesmaids and groomsmen in check during the rehearsal.
3) He has a background in the performing arts but doesn't make the ceremony theatrical. He approached the ceremony a bit like a play - e.g., he knew where to stand so as not to block the photos - but kept it down-to-earth and more about us than him.

Profile Picture Alice, 5/18/18, 4 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

We hired Gerald to officiate our recent wedding in NYC. He was fantastic from the very beginning! He first chatted with us via Skype for about an hour to get to know us as a couple and to find out what our vision was for our wedding. He was extremely easy to talk to, and it was clear that he had a lot of previous experience. After the initial Skype call, he sent us each a document with questions to fill out in order to find out more about our background as a couple and our preferences for the wedding. With this information he went to work to find pieces to use during the ceremony that fit our personal story. We talked once again via Skype so that he could explain the entire wedding ceremony he had drafted specifically for us. We could not have been any happier with the pieces he found to include in our ceremony. Each one that he reviewed with us was a perfect fit for our relationship. He then sent a word document with the entire ceremony outlined so that we could review and make any changes.

Gerald also came to meet us at the venue the day before the wedding to participate in a walk through. He once again went through the entire ceremony, but this time we were able to practice under his guidance so that we were totally comfortable during the wedding ceremony. We really appreciated him taking the time to come do this with us.

Working with Gerald was an incredibly easy experience. We are so happy that we decided to go with Gerald and could not be happier with the overall process or outcome. We very highly recommend Gerald!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Michael, 4/28/18, 2 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

Gerald was absolutely amazing!

We would like to thank Gerald so much for making our wedding so memorable! My husband and I were already married, but we wanted to have a wedding to share with our family and friends. We wanted to have something fun, meaningful and interactive. Gerald captured just that and more.

Gerald is very responsive and kept in touch via email. He made the whole process seamless. We had our first meeting and he took the time to get to know us as individuals and as a couple. We then had another meeting, where we all collaborated and shared ideas. It was a very open and fun process. I have to say it again, but Gerald takes the time to get to know you, to create a ceremony that is perfect for you.

On the day of, Gerald arrived early and had a quick run down with us and everyone involved on timing and where to stand, etc. He was not just a wedding officiant, but he was like a friend. Things were going off track and I started to feel the stress, until Gerald came in the Bridal Suite. We talked and he helped take my mind off of everything that was going on.

The ceremony was beautiful. He created a ceremony that captured the essence of who my husband and I were. He used our actual words into the ceremony, which made it so much more intimate. All of our guests complimented and talked about how unique and moving our ceremony was throughout the night and days later. They told us that they have never seen a ceremony like ours before. It was a beautiful balance of light hearted laughs, tears and emotions. More importantly, he created a ceremony that had our guests involved and interacting. Our loved ones weren’t just there to watch, but to really be a part of our special day.

We absolutely loved working with Gerald and we highly recommend him! He was friendly, warm, thoughtful, punctual and very open to ideas and collaboration. We are so thankful that he was a part of our big day and cannot thank him enough!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture J, 3/24/18, 4 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

Gerry was such a pleasure to work with! He was super professional and we got so many compliments on our ceremony. A lot of our friends and family told us that it was literally the best ceremony they’ve seen and they thought Gerry was great. At our initial meetings with him, we got to talk through and create the entire ceremony from beginning to end - we were able to incorporate some unique things such as a statement of love and a wine box. Gerry also incorporated some personal experiences from my and my husbands love story, and our guests especially liked those parts. We would definitely recommend this vendor if you want a unique and personalized ceremony! Our expectations were definitely exceeded on our wedding day! Thanks for being such an important part of our special day =)

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Jessica, 3/17/18, 4 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

Gerald was a perfect fit for our wedding ceremony! He was very flexible about the ceremony script and allowed us to contribute a lot of our personal beliefs and preferences into it. We had a perfect balance of tradition and our own modern twist. Our meetings with him always went very smoothly and he accommodated our busy schedules. He always responded to emails or phone calls promptly. He also made sure he was available for a rehearsal the night before the wedding, which was so helpful for us. We got a lot of positive compliments from our guests about the ceremony and how moving it was. There wasn't a dry eye in the house!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Jill, 3/10/18, 5 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

Gerry, you provided us with the most touching, sweetest ceremony that was fitting to our personalities!!! You made the process so easy and seamless, and we are so happy with everything!!! Thanks so much for everything!!!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Valerie, 11/11/17, 8 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

Gerry, you are amazing! It was such a pleasure to have you as our officiant at our wedding! You created a beautiful ceremony for Matt and I. It was so touching and really showcased our love for each other. Our guests were also blown away and loved how sweet and unique our ceremony was. Thank you for making our day so special!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Jill, 11/5/17, 3 Reviews
Category: Officiant
Services Used: Rehearsal, Non-religious, Customized Vows, Licensed
5.0

We where so appreciative to have Gerald officiate our ceremony. We went into our search like most ppl ok who's highly rated how legit are these reviews. When I came across Gerald on this site and went on his website there was a sense that here is someone who gets it. That we can bring friends and family together in a way that is far from typical. Gather round grab a hand and help us start this journey together. We all search for ways to express our inner self in a way that is true without getting lost in the moment. Gerald was our conduit to the world that day with his ability to tell our story with careful attention to our incite of each other. All of our guests felt engaged in the ceremony and not too many dry eyes among then. Thank you sir for making the entire process easy, fun and most of all special.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Erick, 10/21/17, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
Services Used: Rehearsal, Customized Vows, Licensed
5.0

Gerry was a pleasure to work with! He helped us create a beautiful ceremony and executed it perfectly! Something that we loved about our ceremony was the fact that Gerry helped tell our story and really personalized it for us! Our ceremony was loved by all!

Profile Picture Lauren, 10/14/17, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

Gerald recently officiated our wedding in October. We chose Gerald because of his unique format and delivery of wedding ceremonies, and the day of the wedding he gave us exactly what we wanted. It was so personalized and it truly felt like he was invested not only in that day but also in our relationship as much as our friends and family that were present for the ceremony. Gerald was by far the easiest of all of our vendors to work with, and exceeded our expectations at every step. He includes you in each major step of the process including the planning and revisions of what he prepares to say that day and the overall script of the ceremony. We highly recommend Gerald for anyone who is looking for a one of a kind and personalized wedding ceremony.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Megan, 10/14/17, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
4.8

Gerald was great! Awesome to collaborate with over the course of a few months. He took care to get to know us, our history and interests, in order to devise a ceremony everyone was pleased with. I will say, he runs a tight ship hahaha very punctual, and he'll whip your party into shape - so be ready to get rehearsed! Overall would totally recommend. A really sweet and funny guy, and very professional.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Matthew, 10/13/17, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
Services Used: Rehearsal, Non-religious, Customized Vows, Licensed, No Denomination
5.0

Gerald was amazing, from beginning to end! We met with a couple other officiants and he was the only one who really took the time to get to know us and make sure that the ceremony was personal and meaningful, and allowed us to review and request minor revisions several times. He was quick to respond and extremely flexible and accommodating! Some other officiants just have a Mad-Libs-esque template but Gerald's ceremony was obviously written with thought and care, and we've gotten nothing but compliments over how beautiful it was. He even managed to wrangle everyone at the rehearsal and make sure that everyone involved knew their roles for the next day. It was truly a pleasure to work with him - we cannot recommend him enough!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Stacy, 10/13/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

We could not recommend Gerry more – he was absolutely fantastic when he officiated our wedding ceremony on Sept 30, 2017. Not only did he meet with us on two separate occasions to get to know us and learn about our story, but Gerry also met us at our wedding venue for the rehearsal. His creativity and personalization made our ceremony special, heartfelt, and meaningful. At the ceremony, the microphone malfunctioned but he didn’t miss a beat and projected loud and clear for everyone to hear. Afterwards, countless guests told us that our wedding ceremony was the best wedding ceremony that they had ever seen. The wedding ceremony is the most important part of the wedding and we are so happy that Gerry was there with us!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Andrea, 9/30/17, 3 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

Working with Gerald was an absolute pleasure! Everyone loved him and our ceremony. He made the whole process simple and is very informative when it comes to what steps you need to take to get your actual marriage license. When we were working on our ceremony outline he was very open to any suggestions but also gave much needed input. You really get a unique experience since he involves you every step of the way. I’ll admit we were a little worried at first when we were trying to come up with ideas for the ceremony but once we met with Gerry he was so helpful and reassuring. He is really there for you from start to finish. On the day of the wedding he was there early making sure everything was in place. I would recommend him to anyone who is looking for a beautiful ceremony and experience.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Maria, 9/16/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

Gerry is amazing! He is excellent and wonderful to work with. We read a lot of reviews while searching for officiants and were very pleased with all of Gerry's positive reviews. He was prompt throughout the whole process and very uncomplicated to work with, he was very accommodating to us. He listened to what we wanted, was flexible with our changes, and he customized the ceremony to make it special for us. He made the process easy and clear for us, and we are grateful that he officiated our absolutely perfect wedding day. The ceremony & Gerry will always be in our hearts. Thank you, Gerry!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Jessica, 8/31/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

My husband and I had the pleasure to have Gerald celebrate our wedding. He spent time getting to know us, know our story and customized the ceremony for us by adding a lot of culture elements.

The day was very memorable and sweet, thank you Gerald!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Mandy, 8/12/17, 3 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

We got married on 07.23.17 at The Manor in West Orange, NJ. Gerald really helped us to make our wedding ceremony personable and unique. He took the time to answer our questions and made everything seem like a breeze. He was very accommodating to our crazy/busy schedules. We are so happy that Gerald was our officiant. It made our wedding day exactly what we wanted it to be, perfect!!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Tara, 7/23/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

We found everything we wanted for our wedding officiant with Gerry. After doing an exhaustive search online, we read a number of Gerry’s positive reviews on a number of different sites. From our first email, Gerry was responsive and very flexible. He was able to work around our crazy work schedules to meet with us. Gerry also has a wealth of knowledge of various wedding customs and traditions, across different faiths and cultures, and can help you create the perfect ceremony for you. For us, we were looking for a simple, yet meaningful, non-religious ceremony. Based on our meetings and the questionnaire Gerry had us fill out, he created a ceremony that truly told our story. Gerry has a true talent and we got so many compliments on our ceremony. It was exactly what we wanted. Some advice: when filling out the questionnaire, you get what you put into it. Take the time to think of meaningful stories from your relationship and Gerry will craft those into a beautiful ceremony.

Profile Picture Meghan, 6/18/17, 4 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

Having Gerald officiate our wedding was a great decision. We were planning our wedding from out of state and Gerald worked with us to make the process as easy as possible conducting phone meetings in place of in-person meetings and working around our schedule to accomplish everything that needed to be completed. The ceremony was unique to our guests but customized to represent our personality and relationship. Thank You Gerald for making our wedding unforgettable.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Jake, 5/13/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Officiant
Services Used: No Denomination, Rehearsal, Non-religious, Customized Vows, Licensed