The Heart of Makeup Reviews

26 | Valley Village, CA
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for The Heart of Makeup

Recommended by 100%

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
26 The Heart of Makeup Reviews
Sort by:
  • Elizabeth

    Elizabeth · Married on 09/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Honestly, you can't find a better vendor than Rachel and her team at the Heart of Makeup! The professionalism and personality of each team member were absolutley second to none! They helped make a perfect day happen flawlessly! Thank you Rachel for being the best at what you do!

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend The Heart of Make Up for a bride’s big day, as well as engagement photos or any special event for that matter. Rachel Pagan is not only a phenomenal make-up artist, she truly listens to your requests and brings a sense of peace and calm, which is so important on a big day. Not to mention she mastered every look I requested. Her assistant Jessica was also beyond lovely and all of my girls enjoyed having them there to help us get ready. Our make-up looked incredible and I am so pleased with how it turned out in photos. My husband cried when he first saw me and told me I looked beautiful – I am sure Rachel’s work played a big part in that!

  • B

    Bianca · Married on 03/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rachel and Diana did the makeup and hair for my wedding day at the end of March. They also did my bridal party. They transformed all the women in my bridal party and were we so impressed at how skilled and talented these 2 lovely ladies are. They were both professional from the get go and just a pleasure to work with. They made me feel so comfortable and listened to exactly what I wanted. They were so attentive to making sure I had what I wanted and helped balance out that with the bridal party as well. Not to mention how sweet both of them are! If you are looking for a makeup and hair person for your wedding... the heart of makeup is the place to go. I was beyond thrilled with how I looked and would love to use them again! Thank you for making me look so gorgeous on my wedding day... I barely even recognized myself. You two are the best!!!

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring The Heart of Makeup for my August wedding was a great decision! I had to scramble to find a new makeup artist a few weeks before my wedding and Rachel came to the rescue. She and Diana did a great job for me, my bridesmaids, and my relatives. They were professional, organized, and super friendly. They had a calm vibe and everyone really looked beautiful. I'd hire Rachel again anytime I needed professional makeup done!

  • D

    Diana · Married on 12/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have to say that Rachel is one of the most talented Makeup Artist I have ever meet. I remember seeing her work for the first time and I was stoked. She delivers quality work for every one of her clients and she is an experienced professional with all of the abilities to enhance ones features. The detail she puts into each application is definitely something that makes her stand out from the rest.
    No only she is an exceptional Makeup Artist but she is also a lovely person to be around, she is aware of her clients needs and she is always willing to go the extra mile to meet all of their expectations.
    You have to look no farther, she is the one who will make you look your best not only on your wedding day but also for any special ocassion.

  • User4526288 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rachel from Heart Of Make Up did my make-up for my engagement shoot and she was awesome!! She really makes you feel beautiful. She takes her time, listens to what style you're
    going for and creates it. She was very professional and definitely worth the price. I liked her so much I booked her for my wedding too!

  • User3845562 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rachel and her team from The Heart of Makeup were absolutely lovely and wonderful to work with. Rachel did my makeup for my engagement photos and was able to perfectly enhance my features while keeping my look natural and flawless. I booked her immediately for my wedding and was impressed by her professionalism and organization throughout the process. She coordinated the makeup for me, my mom, my mother-in-law, all 7 of my bridesmaids (including my sister who was maid of honor), and my two junior bridesmaids. She also coordinated the hair for all 7 of my bridesmaids. My wedding day started with a relaxing 20-minute yoga session with Rachel, which truly helped set the tone for the day. She and her team were calm and completely relaxed as they made us look beautiful. My eyes were stunning and I felt completely comfortable and like myself, just with a little more oomph, especially with my extra special lashes! The makeup stayed on all day and ALL night, the proof is in the pictures where we all look fabulous. Rachel is a dream to work with not only for her talents but for her warm personality, calming spirit, and all around good nature. I can't wait to find another chance to have her do my makeup, I wish I could keep her in my pocket for daily use!

  • M

    Mischa · Married on 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the things a bride wants the most is to be the most beautiful version of herself on her wedding day. Rachel did just that for me! Her easy and calm personality helped ME feel confident and calm and I felt so incredibly beautiful. She is professional and really knows her stuff. IWe got married on 11/15/14. She did the make up for me and my sister (my MOH) and she translated what we envisioned PERFECTLY. I've never felt so beautiful. - Mischa

    A note from the Groom: Thanks to Rachel, my baby looked flawless, natural, elegant and very much like herself. I loved it and I love my wife - Kurt (the now husband)

  • S

    Shoshana · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I LOVE Rachel! Besides being the loveliest of people, she is super talented. I had the best experience, I LOVED my make-up and felt really beautiful on my wedding day. She is a lovely calming presence to have around during such an intense time. My eyes looked incredible, I wish I could have her around every day making me feel that beautiful.

  • User4434633 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm an actress and Rachel has done my makeup for red carpet events, premiers and festivals for years. I'm pretty selective with makeup artists- I'm darker complected and I find not everyone knows how to work with my skin tone. Her work has always been impeccable so I was so thrilled she was able to do my makeup for my special day. I got so many compliments on my makeup, people kept telling me it was "flawless," and it lasted ALL day, into the night. She also did my bridesmaids, my mother-in-law and sister-in-law. Everyone had very different styles, looks and tastes- everyone looked stunning and felt beautiful. I truly could not recommend her more. Not only is she a brilliant makeup artist, she's such a wonderful person. You'll feel peace of mind just because she's there. :)

  • User4460105 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rachel did makeup for my seven bridesmaids and myself for my wedding. She did an amazing job applying professional makeup in a way that looked natural and complimented each woman's features. She listened attentively to all of the women in my bridal party, and was able to make each and every one of them look beautiful. To top it all off, her prices were really reasonable!

  • A

    Alana · Married on 04/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rachel is amazing at what she does! She has a true talent and is very patient. She takes her time and always makes sure you are satisfied. She has done make up for me on more than one occasion and every single time I have loved it! She is also very reliable and professional. Thanks Rachel!!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 04/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rachel did my make-up April 4th, 2014 for my beach wedding. My make-up highlighted my natural features and took my husband's breath away. The whole night he kept saying, "You look so beautiful!" I was so happy with Rachel's services and couldn't have wished for a better artist! Rachel is absolutely amazing!!

  • T

    Teri · Married on 12/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rachel from Heart of Makeup coordinated and/or provided the hair and makeup for 7 of us including the bride at my daughter's wedding last December. We were all thrilled with her services. We were able to relax and visit while everyone was taking turns being worked on. It made for a lovely time prior to the big moment and kept things calm for all.
    She did a great job doing makeup for various ages from a younger sister to the two mothers. We all loved the eyelashes that made us look complete. Kudos to Rachel and we highly recommend her work!!!

  • D

    Darlene · Married on 08/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rachel is a very talented makeup artist. I highly recommend her make up artist services for your wedding. She made my entire wedding party and mother look their best for the day of my wedding. She definitley has her own style and touch, but makes sure to listen to your needs. I felt great the day of my wedding and I am forever grateful! Thank you!!!

  • J

    Jaclyn · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rachel is truly one of the kindest souls you could ever meet - and she's incredibly talented, too! You may think you're just going to her so she can make you look beautiful on the outside. Then you realize she's actually made you radiate from within. (Not so easy to do!) Rachel made me look and feel my absolute best on one of the most important days of my life. She listened to what I wanted and delivered beautifully. I am so grateful for her knowledge of color, her easy way of playing with making you look gorgeous, her willingness to try new things, and her huge heart, too. She is wonderful and truly brings to life "the heART of makeup!"

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 03/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Rachel Pagan for any event. She is patient, kind and listens to what clients want. She did my makeup for my wedding along with my mother, mother in law and two bridesmaids. Everyone looked fabulous and loved their makeup. For such and important and hectic day you need someone like Rachel by your side.

  • User4410098 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rachel is a true professional! She listened to what I wanted to have my make-up look like and executed it perfectly. I loved my make-up for my wedding day and my mom looked amazing too!! I have also used Rachel for other occasions since my wedding and she is always spot on! I highly recommend Rachel not only for the quality of her work but for her work ethic and because she is extremely easy to work with!

  • User4421841 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rachel Is a gem! And she will make you look like a gem too on your special day. She knows all the tricks of the trade and even shows you pointers too. I still use a method for eye shadows that she taught me.
    She has a beautiful soul & truly wants the best for her bride. And all my family & bridesmaids loved their makeup too.

  • leonavictoria

    Leona · event on: 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rachel Pagan is on the forefront of today's innovative and creative make-up artist's generation. With her sacred humility, heart-centered approach + skillful talent, Rachel offers her clients premium results by allowing them to shine on the inside + out! She is professional, gentle, present, knowledgeable, immediate, inspiring + fun. As the Junior Creative Director for PynkNylon, I've worked with Rachel professionally for marketing campaigns and website photoshoots. I've also worked with Rachel personally for my pre-natal photoshoot. Because I fully trust Rachel's capabilities, the upshot - professionally or personally - is always STUNNING!

  • A

    Anissa · event on: 07/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My company hired Rachel Pagan from The Heart of Makeup for a 3 full day corporate marketing video shoot and couldn't have been happier. Rachel made up at least 30 women and 20 men over the course of the 3 days, each looking flawlessly natural, but her real talent is in the transformation she created for some of the women. She gently and kindly suggested new looks for some of the women and turned them from tired working women into refreshed, polished professionals. She also pitched in to give me a major glam make-over for a heavy duty tool grinding shot - so fun! And on top of that all, she is a consummate professional -- very responsive, always arriving early, fairly priced, and infusing a happy can-do attitude even at the end of a very long day. Working with Rachel is a true pleasure! I can't recommend her highly enough!

  • S

    Sigrid · event on: 10/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rachel did an amazing job on my make up. I haven't looked this great in years. One of my co-workers kept staring at me telling me how great I looked that evening! I felt very polished and still natural.

  • C

    Cindy · event on: 05/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rachel is a true gem of a person to work with! Her expertise in her field is stellar. Her professionalism and communication skills are the best. We have used her at least 8 times for commercial production shoots and she always creates the exact looks we request. She has become our #1 "go to" hair/make-up gal!

  • B

    B. · event on: 07/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rachel is a highly professional, talented make-up artist with serene and positive energy. I normally do not wear a lot of makeup and prefer a natural look. Rachel always listens and creates my look(s) exactly the way I/my photo shoot photographer desire. While we all had many ideas as to what my make-up should look like, Rachel was able to creatively and flawlessly put together several looks that made the actual photos an absolute success. Rachel gave me a distinctive (yet natural) look for each shot. Thank you Rachel for several great make-up sessions!!! :)

  • N

    Niki · event on: 01/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rachel is a pro! She is punctual, uses high quality products that don't feel heavy, is down-to-earth and knows what she is doing. She took my request for "natural but enhance my features," and nailed it. My make-up lasted all day and she even shared some tips for how to keep my lipstick up to par. I ended up using her twice more [so far] for other events and every time she has delivered the same high-quality, consistent service.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review