The Golden Hotel Reviews

29 | Golden, CO
See photos, pricing and details

29 Reviews for The Golden Hotel

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

29
Order by:
  • Katie

    Katie Mundon · Married on 08/31/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You cannot go wrong with the Golden

    Let me tell you about how The Golden saved my wedding and made it the greatest day of my life. Six weeks before our wedding our original hotel, where we were having our ceremony lost our records, and reservations twice. My husband and I decided we were not comfortable with them and began looking for possible other locations and that's when we found The Golden and it couldn't have been better.

    Robby was very sympathetic to what we had gone through and worked to make our wedding incredible and it was. They took care of everything and made our wedding exceptional. Robby and everyone at the Golden were so kind and accommodating. They took care of everything from the food to the decorations. We even got a free room for the night included in with our wedding.

    The staff at the Golden even went so far as to take care of me on our wedding. We were in their parking garage breeze way waiting for the wedding to start and I started feeling faint from the heat and from forgetting to eat. As I'm about to sit on the ground, not caring about my dress an employee finds a rolling chair for me. I sit down and my cousin's SO gives me a snickers as I'm about to take a bite the same employee drapes a towel over me so that I won't get chocolate on my dress. He then rolls my into the area where the elevators are which was in the AC. He rolled me there! He was so concerned for me that he wouldn't even let me walk.

    Everyone the worked there went above and beyond to make our wedding the greatest day of our lives. They saved our wedding and made it perfect. Its been weeks and my husband and I still say everyday how great our wedding was and its because of Robby and the staff at the Golden. Do yourself a favor and have your wedding there. They will take amazing care of you.

    Sent on 09/26/2019
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 03/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah Bogdan, Paula and their entire front desk staff, as well as everyone else we dealt with at the Golden Hotel was wonderful, thoughtful and helpful.

    Sent on 03/15/2018
  • youngsil

    youngsil · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    lovely venue, great suite, nice staff and on top of that, you can't beat the location. they have lots of awesome photogenic spot that will make your wedding photos look wonderful. highly recommended. golden city is really beautiful and hotel itself is very clean

    Sent on 09/19/2017
  • L

    Lydia · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Golden Hotel is pretty all inclusive for our 59 guest wedding. Settings, linens, waitstaff, food and beverage, venue coordinator who worked with us the whole time and wrangled everything day of, champagne toast, bartender, a comped night at the hotel in a suite plus breakfast the next morning, centerpieces, ceremony setup and teardown, and probably anything else venue-related you can think of. I stayed at the suite the night before with 2 of my 4 bridesmaids and we had a little sleepover and then were there ready for the makeup and hair ladies first thing. The coordinator/sales manager of the hotel was a complete godsend. She tied tags on ceremony chairs, scattered flower petals, helped set up tables and took care of all of the things you need a coordinator for. She checked on me several times throughout the day, accepted deliveries, told the groomsmen where to go, and provided a lot of reassurance that I luckily didn't really end up needing! Because the catering was through the restaurant at the hotel, food was brought out hot straight from the kitchen and guests almost all cleaned their plates. Special orders for gluten free and 1 vegetarian were all handled with grace and no upcharge. I told the coordinator that I get hangry so she had a plate of appetizers brought out to us during cocktail hour while we were outside taking pictures the first time. We had an open bar and people loved it. The waitstaff were phenomenal and one overheard some inappropriate jokes from hour table and basically became our new best friend. They also were very kind in dealing with a disabled aunt who had an outburst. Special shoutout to them! The best part was that when we were tired and done dancing and everyone had gone, we took the elevator upstairs and went to bed. I wouldn't change a thing.

    Sent on 10/10/2016
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just had my wedding at this venue over Labor Day weekend and I cannot state enough how happy I was with everything! From the moment I contacted the hotel to inquire about venue information to the morning after when my new husband and I were enjoying our complimentary breakfast at their onsite restaurant, everything was wonderful! Kim Kalisch, the hotels event coordinator, was amazing to work with. She was very responsive to ALL of my questions and worked with me to accommodate anything I needed to ensure my "wedding day vision" came true. The process was smooth and I can honestly say I did not feel stressed at any point (which is a very rare thing for me). There was a small banquet issue during the dinner service, but the onsite manage worked quickly to remedy the situation, so it did not disrupt the night. I would highly recommend this venue for your ceremony and reception.

    Sent on 09/15/2016
  • G

    Jacqueline · Married on 07/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The #1 reason we chose this venue for our ceremony & reception was the location. We love Golden & the mountain backdrop for the ceremony was exactly what we were looking for. The food was moderately priced, and seriously SO delicious! Countless compliments from our guests on the food! Considering how much is included, the room fee was very inexpensive as well.

    We did our rounds visiting each table during the salad course, and by the time we got back to our seats, our dinners had been served & were sitting for a little bit. A waiter immediately came over as soon as we sat down & offered to bring us new, hot plates. I felt like that was a really nice touch, so we got fresh plates to enjoy after visiting our guest tables!

    The sales manager Kim was so helpful throughout the process of planning everything. From start to finish, she responded to every email or phone call promptly with answers to any questions I had. I was able to drop off all the decor & favors at the rehearsal & they took care of everything from set up to tear down. Everything was put into boxes so I could simply bring it all back home the day after the wedding. Everything was perfect!

    Sent on 08/12/2016
  • T

    terrie · Married on 10/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The perfect location, the perfect setting. We couldn't have asked for a better venue. The Golden Hotel treated us as if we were the only event at the hotel that weekend. Kim, Ashley and their staffs took care of everything. All we had to do was tell them what we wanted and they made it happen. We loved how so much was included in our package and how easy it was to determine the menus. The staff was so friendly and professional even if they were not directly involved in our wedding. We will be celebrating many anniversaries there now too. If you can make it work, have your wedding at the Golden Hotel.

    Sent on 10/30/2015
  • L

    Leslie · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff helped make or wedding day beautiful and flawless. The value was great and we couldn't have been happier with the process of planning our wedding.

    Sent on 08/20/2015
  • User5140132 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were so thrilled with how our wedding turned out at the Golden Hotel. The success of our wedding was in no small part related to Ashleigh Buhr. From start to finish she was such a pleasure to work with. She was very prompt in responding to e-mails and was very helpful with all aspects of the wedding. She really went out of her way to make sure that every aspect of our wedding was perfect. Even the day after the wedding, we got a late start to our morning and even though breakfast was over, she still made sure we got our room service with our breakfast voucher. Every request I made was fulfilled and our special day was absolutely perfect. She really made sure that there were no details left to chance. The hotel even set up our tables with the decorations for us which I could not believe. I was so stress free on the day of my wedding because I knew that everything was being taken care of. Thank you, thank you, thank you to the Golden Hotel for making my wedding a success!!!! My husband and I will absolutely recommend you to any other friends we have getting married!

    Sent on 06/02/2015
  • User4545050 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing time at our wedding. The staff at the Hotel was excellent. They provided professional and amazing service from the first phone call to them. My husband and I just showed up one day to check out the hotel and were able to meet with the wedding coordinator that same day. We were extremely impressed at the quality of service and attention to detail they provided. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is having an event!

    Sent on 11/13/2014
  • R

    Robert · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Golden Hotel is exactly what you would expect a Coloradan wedding to be: elegance, sophistication, with the right blend of natural wonder. When we saw the outdoor wedding venue overlooking the creek and viewing the mountains, we knew this was where we had to get married. From the moment we contacted them we knew we'd be taken care of and treated properly throughout our entire experience. Their event coordinator really worked with our time and budget constraints without hassle. The house staff was simply professional without any hiccups. Everything flowed and worked out beautifully and my wife and I didn't have a single worry on our special day. While staying at the hotel, the service was top notch. Although we didn't bring our four legged family members with us, it was great to know that they'd be welcomed later.

    Sent on 10/18/2014
  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 08/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Golden Hotel did an excellent job at accommodating our rehearsal dinner, despite our being late the day-of. The food was excellent as always, and truly a professional staff with excellent service.

    The Golden Hotel was a strong contender in being our wedding venue, especially for the food! We opted with another venue for other reasons, but we wanted to have The Golden Hotel in our wedding, somehow!

    Sent on 12/01/2014
  • D

    Dara · Married on 07/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The entire staff of the Golden Hotel made our wedding date a truly special and memorable event. We felt like a King and Queen for the day. Special thanks to Ashley and Sandi who went out of their way to make our visions come true! I wish it could happen again!
    -Dara

    Sent on 08/03/2014
  • C

    Christie · Married on 06/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Golden Hotel did a fantastic job with our wedding. The outdoor ceremony site is beautiful by the creek and the reception ballroom was the perfect size for our 80 person wedding. The people in the sales department were always very helpful and quick to reply to my emails and calls.

    Sent on 06/30/2014
  • User3941327 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at the Golden Hotel was absolutely amazing! Sandi was our main contact throughout the planning process and she was so wonderful! She was professional, organized, timely, and gave us valuable opinions and suggestions to make our big day special! The ceremony space by the creek was stunning, so naturally beautiful, and the ballroom looked gorgeous! The hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful to all of our guests and truly made our wedding so special!!

    Sent on 07/07/2014
  • User2353321 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sandi, the hotel's Director of Event Management was incredibly helpful through the process. She was prompt in responding to all of my questions. She was very detailed when explaining our options and incredibly accommodating when changes were made. I was worried going in that because we were having a very small wedding that we wouldn't receive the attention that a larger wedding was given, but this didn't turn out to be the case at all. We were treated as if we were the only event that day, but we were actually one of three or four events taking place. All of the event staff were knowledgeable and didn't let a single detail go unnoticed. Sandi worked on everything with our reverend and photographer, but more importantly, she settled my nerves a lot. After the ceremony, the staff set aside hors d'oeuvres for my husband and I to make sure that we had something to eat after pictures. Throughout the reception, the event staff checked in with us to make sure that we were taken care of, that we didn't need anything and to make sure we were staying within our budget. The food for the reception was absolutely outstanding. We opted for a plated dinner, and there were enough meal options to make every guest happy. I've eaten at the Bridgewater Grill (the hotel's restaurant) several times and had high expectations for the reception dinner and it was everything I had expected and then some. We were so busy talking with our guests we missed out on eating our wedding cake, and much to my surprise, when we arrived at our suite at the end of the night, the hotel had saved two pieces of our cake and had them waiting in the room for us with a chilled bottle of champagne. From beginning to end, the hotel and their staff exceeded our expectations. I highly recommend this venue and we'll be back to stay and eat in the future!

    Sent on 10/09/2013
  • M

    Margaret · Married on 07/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'd have to say that Sandi McCormick played the biggest role in helping our wedding come together. She is the main person we worked with on the event staff for our wedding reception. She was extremely patient, kind, and reassuring...all the qualities you would want in someone planning your wedding. At first I was hesitant to have a hotel wedding, but this venue made it perfect! They worked with us to provide AMAZING food...our guests were raving about the filets! There is nothing better than not having to deal with plates, setting up tables, or any other detail that takes away from relaxing and enjoying your wedding day. I have gotten many compliments on the front desk staff, Sandi, and everyone who worked to create a magical reception for us. I could not have imagined a nicer group of people to work with. If you like a small time feel with walking distance to fun things for your family to visit, and if you like being pampered then you should have your wedding reception here! All in all a wonderful experience.

    Sent on 08/09/2013
  • L

    Lily · Married on 06/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    loved the location and the service! It is diverse in that it has the nature/ outdoorsy feel as well as the city feel. The hotel staff was great! They were very helpful and accommodating! We were really pleased with the whole experience! Thank you!

    Sent on 12/10/2013
  • Gillian

    Gillian · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our situation was a little unique. My fiancee is foreign and we were planning a wedding based on the timeline that he was supposed to receive his visa to come to the states in February or March. We had an entire wedding planned in a different state for April. However, due to the US embassy losing some of our paperwork, they delayed our process and didn't even tell us until late March that his visa would not be granted until mid-April. As a result, we had to cancel everything we had planned for the April wedding.

    In the midst of the chaos of cancelling everything and trying to come up with a different plan, we decided to just have a smaller wedding in Colorado instead and we found the Golden Hotel. I headed up there one day without an appointment just to check it out and as soon as I got there, I knew this was the place. Jessica I., one of their event staff members met with me without an appointment and gave me the tour. She was so kind and so professional. Our ceremony was a morning ceremony on the patio. Clear Creek runs right next to it, so we had the river, the beautiful background and fantastic weather. We also had a brunch reception. The food was delicious, the staff was great and so accommodating. Jessica ended up having her baby a few weeks before the wedding, so Melissa M. was our onsite coordinator the day of; she truly helped everything run smoothly.

    Though it ended up being a last minute "Plan B" wedding, we couldn't have asked for a better day, staff, or location. I would 100% recommend the Golden Hotel as a wedding venue.

    Sent on 06/08/2012
  • P

    Patricia · Married on 08/26/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A beautiful ceremony and a great reception!

    Sent on 03/06/2012
  • J

    Jenn · Married on 10/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Golden Hotel made our wedding the dream we had imagined. The ceremony was outside along the creek and was so beautiful, we didn't need to do any decorating. The reception was inside and was transformed into a lovely, romantic reception area. All staff, especially Melissa Monnier the wedding planner from the hotel, was extremely friendly and accommodating. We had the best experience here and wouldn't have changed a thing.

    Sent on 03/25/2012
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 04/30/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sandi McCormick and the rest of the team at The Golden Hotel provided the most wonderful service for our wedding on 4/30/16! We booked a year in advance, and any time we contacted Sandi with questions or for assistance, she was always extremely prompt to correspond, and very courteous!

    Originally, we had planned to have our wedding ceremony outdoors on the hotel's beautiful Creekside Courtyard, however, Colorado's unpredictable spring snowy weather made this impossible. Amidst the confusion and changes in planning, Sandi and team were very helpful, attentive, and had great suggestions for alternatives (we ended up having the ceremony indoors in the reception space). They were also able to accommodate our somewhat last-minute decision to have the rehearsal dinner catered by the hotel in one of the smaller meeting rooms, which was very nice!

    Speaking of food, the catering was EXCELLENT! Hands down, best food I have ever had at a wedding. We had a Mexican buffet for the rehearsal dinner which all of our guests complimented, and the wedding dinner selections were amazing as well.

    Besides the weather, our wedding ceremony and reception (both held at the hotel) were even better than I could have imagined, and we can absolutely thank the hotel and staff for that!

    Sent on 05/16/2016
  • M

    Maria · Married on 06/20/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    When we were looking for reception venues, we tried to make it clear that we did not need the ceremony space because we were getting married at our church. Of all the places we looked at, the staff at the Golden Hotel were the only ones who remembered that when we went to look at the venue. This kind of attention to detail is why we chose them and what made our wedding day go so smoothly. The food was amazing and we got multiple compliments from our guests about it. The catering staff was professional and everyone was willing to go above and beyond for us. Sandi worked with us on all of the details and was willing to make changes and additions to ensure our day was special. The front desk caused some confusion with our room block, but Sandi took care of it as soon as it was brought to her attention. When we went up to our room at the end of the night, they had put some of our wedding cake aside for us. Eating wedding cake in bed together after a bath was the perfect end to such a crazy day.

    Sent on 07/09/2015
  • User6221551 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sandi at the Golden Hotel went above and beyond. She was very professional from beginning to end and took every detail into account.

    I really felt our package came with a true wedding coordinator. From start to finish she was very responsive making planning a wedding remotely a whole lot easier. She also understood a face-to-face meeting for me involved a plane ticket, so she came prepared and willing to spend time to discuss everything I’d hope to.

    The food we had was outstanding and we were able to meet the chef and taste certain items to select for our reception. I highly recommend the green chili bisque!

    The suite we had for our wedding night was also fantastic. We arrived to a spread of wedding cake and champagne on ice.

    We also felt like royalty at breakfast the next morning at the Bridgewater grill. We really enjoyed the buffet and pretty views of the creek.

    We’re so happy we selected the Golden Hotel for our wedding reception. Sandi and her staff went out of their way to make our day special.

    Sent on 01/17/2016
  • K

    Katie · Married on 04/05/2008

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It took a little while to get a response after we had paid, but 2 months before the wedding. Once it got closer, I had contact as frequently as I needed. The venue was plenty large inside, but the best part is the large, wrap-around deck by the river. The outside surroundings are beautiful. We also stayed at the hotel, and it was great. The honeymoon suite was amazing. Tanisha was very professional, responsive, and attentive at the ceremony. I heard that the food was fine, I was in no condition to eat. I had a great time and everything went well.

    Sent on 05/12/2008